Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

fadzy640
post Oct 20 2015, 02:33 PM

131 posts

I am an obese and since a few weeks ago have started being active again.

30 YO male
171cm
113kg in June
98kg as of yesterday

Activities include jog, run, and some weight lifting. Oh weekly hiking as well.
I am quite detail on food intake to make sure calorie deficit everyday.

However lately i realised that Ii am losing weight faster especially after taking up hiking. More like 2kg per week. I drink plenty of water every day and I dont think it is cause by dehydration.

I workout every day, 1 hr each time and sometimes goes to twice a day. So my question is, is it normal to lost that much weight in such a short time? blink.gif blink.gif
fadzy640
post Oct 20 2015, 02:48 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 20 2015, 02:40 PM)
wah congrats!

the 'healthy' amount is ~1kg per week. need more info about your food. if you are working out 2x per day and eating very little, then yes. its  not good for you. after all your exercise, how many calories are left for your body to use for normal functions?
Honestly I dont eat much less. just that i control what i eat. no more kfc or mcd or canned food. more to vege, fruits and lean meat. and almost zero sweet beverages. And the workout part i really give my all. at least once a day.
fadzy640
post Oct 21 2015, 04:37 PM

131 posts

its not that hard la..just a bit of discipline..especially over the yummy fast foods..hehe and since im living at the 31st floor of an apartment..i decide to take the stairs for cardio..
fadzy640
post Oct 31 2015, 05:31 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(kiasu6 @ Oct 30 2015, 03:54 PM)
don say edi....

im cheated on mcd few meals jo...

oh please give me strength to stop it!!!
QUOTE(Intrigue @ Oct 30 2015, 06:40 PM)
Just took KFC few days ago and regretted like  doh.gif
Lol that is normal la ppl..must have felt like s**t afterwards..haha
fadzy640
post Nov 2 2015, 10:06 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(kiasu6 @ Nov 2 2015, 02:16 PM)
oh KFC...  drool.gif
i pass by everyday.. the smell...
NOOO!!!!
the fish burger was ok..
but the fries... oh no...  doh.gif
Lol i understand how u feel..same goes here..stuck at 96kg due to lots of rubbish food intake..overall managed to lose 18kg since i started few months ago..18kg more to go..haih long uphill battle it will be..

Yesterday started taking whey protein..lets see how well it goes
fadzy640
post Nov 3 2015, 10:16 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(kiasu6 @ Nov 3 2015, 09:55 AM)
please let me know the whey protein feedback.

its not meal replacement rite?
definitely not. i use it as post-workout supplement. will update on this in the next few weeks.
fadzy640
post Nov 5 2015, 06:04 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(kiasu6 @ Nov 5 2015, 05:03 PM)
haha.. sorry, not me...

waiting for positive result from fadzy640
Not sure about muscle gain coz not sure how to measure. But definitely helped in breaking weight loss plateau. Stucked at 96. As of today 94.7. That is around 1.3kg already since i started.
fadzy640
post Nov 5 2015, 07:12 PM

131 posts

Not really. Basically everything remains the same. Just some cardio plus rojak weightlifting. Hahaha

Btw today i started stronglift. Super intense to my ability. Will see how it goes along the way.

fadzy640
post Nov 7 2015, 09:56 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 6 2015, 09:24 AM)
`good to hear from a fellow weightlifter. I am also struggling to lose weight and gain muscle. Rojak lifting and i hate cardio LOL i do 10 mins macam wanna die.
Haha cardio is a pain in the arse, especially for an obese like me. But i deal it with hiking. Every sunday i go up bukit gasing in pj. At first surely la almost died. Now my body is able to adapt to cardio. Run for 2 or 3 km straight no problem though im literally still under the obese category.
fadzy640
post Nov 7 2015, 11:26 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(TC-Titan @ Nov 7 2015, 09:59 AM)
Just downloaded MyFitnessPal app.
Seriously a big eye opener on food intake n on the nutrients part.

Calculated my breakfast this morning n the usual weekend starbucks venti green tea latte sessions =
a. Long way to go for protein intake. Achieved about 10%
b. Carbs already at 95% achieved for today (Omgggg)
c. Sugar already at 200%
d. Barely even 2% for fiber.

I am so screwed haha
Long way to go to fine tune my food intake to lose weight

Need to cut down on pastries, sugar food n taking big portions of mixed rice d.
Honestly the 1st thing u should do is less eating out, at least at those sugar bombs. Be very selective. Less processed food, canned stuff. And yes its gonna be expensive to eat healthy. But u'll make your way around.

fadzy640
post Nov 7 2015, 12:45 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(TC-Titan @ Nov 7 2015, 12:02 PM)
i just decided to take my food consumption very seriously and increase my home work out (simple ones).

It can be very depressing figuring out what to eat and where to eat. Especially when checking out decent/nice diet meal plans.

There aren't a lot of Organic Stores and Healthy Restaurants out there. Those that are around usually charge u at a premium.

The tough part is when you are busy at work and with all sorts of other things, eating the right things at the right time can be really tough

Susah betul ni  rclxub.gif  cry.gif

So need to spend more time eating and exercising smartly. Hmmmm let's see how things work out from now onwards.
Doesnt necessarily hv to be organic stuff all the time..just study the correct portion of everything u eat. U may enjoy all your regular food, but know their calorie first. Hehe

Quite hard especially in malaysia. And if u go over ur calorie limit, just hit the gym. Lol
fadzy640
post Nov 9 2015, 11:31 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 7 2015, 12:50 PM)
I been taking of taking casein and protein powder as a form of cutting since casein and protein powder has high protein content and low calorie values. What if i add oats and eat it as a meal replacement? Use those to fuel the gym workouts by adding oats...

Do you guys think it is good?

Not sure if this is the right way.....
not sure of pre workout..but i read somewhere if u mix whey + oat, can help in slowing down digestion during sleep.

0.0644sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:49 AM