Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

champlaos11
post Dec 8 2015, 08:58 AM

312 posts

Been losing 0.5kg steadily every week for the past 2.5 months. Still have probably another 2 months to go until I achieve my dream body smile.gif

Some tips and advice:

- Check your BMR + TOTAL ENERGY EXPENDITURE
- Download MyFitnessPal to track your calories intake
- I go to gym 4 times a week; doing HIIT at least once a week
- Always go for whole food if you can
- No fastfood and avoid fried food
- Try to move around more during working. In one day you probably only burn 50-100 calories but in one month it is a lot.

champlaos11
post Dec 8 2015, 04:36 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Dec 8 2015, 01:27 PM)
bro... whats your height and weight? notworthy.gif
172cm and 73.5kg cry.gif
champlaos11
post Dec 8 2015, 05:26 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Dec 8 2015, 04:41 PM)
taller than me 4 cm and I am heavier by 3kg. you still better hahaha
Haha you can do it bro. I can not wait to strip down all my fat before start to bulk again rclxm9.gif
champlaos11
post Dec 9 2015, 07:46 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Dec 8 2015, 05:42 PM)
why not bulk first then cut later? why want to cut first then bulk again
I think for me I would like to have a lean body first then slowly build up my muscle with clean bulk. So when my bulk starting to result in higher bodyfat percentage, I will cut it back for one month and then continue to bulk again. It is just my preference bro.

When you bulk first, most of the time it is hard enough to get rid all the fat later on. It is mentally exhausting though.
champlaos11
post Dec 9 2015, 11:20 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Dec 9 2015, 09:01 AM)
I see... whats your skeletal muscle percentage? and bf %?
Not sure how to count that bro haha. Bf around 15% cry.gif Hope to get to 12% in one month time shocking.gif
champlaos11
post Dec 17 2015, 07:52 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(ray9292 @ Dec 16 2015, 06:03 PM)
Hi, i need some advice on my diet plan for losing weight.
For breakfast, due to I cant stand with the taste of oat,i wish to switch it with other food but i not sure which food can replace the oat.For lunch, usually i will eat mixed rice (1 meat, 2 vege). For dinner, currently only eat fruit like apple or orange. But easy to get hungry. Its there any way to get rid of it? For exercise, i choose jogging in place for 40 minutes everyday early morning after i wake up. Any more comment on my diet plan?

My Profile-
Weight: 122kg
Height: 170CM
TDEE: 2607 cal
BMI: 40+ (Obese)
Goal Weight: 75kg

Please help me all sifu T^T
Thank you so much.
I think you can try to swap your fruits to the morning. Try not to eat fruits at night because it contains sugar. And since you are jogging in the morning, so I would say it would be good to have your fruits after your jog.

For dinner, try to eat vege and meat only. Salad plus lean meat.

I think you need to do more than just jogging in the morning. Try to get into weight lifting as it burns more calories. And try to incorporate HIIT as well. All these will help to reduce your calories. At the end of the day, if you want to lose weight, just make sure you are in calories deficit. Hope this helps.
champlaos11
post Dec 17 2015, 01:11 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(ray9292 @ Dec 17 2015, 11:55 AM)
Thanks for reply biggrin.gif
Actually I am quite hurry, Wish to see a visible result before cny. If follow what u said, breakfast eat food like brown rice plus meat and vege then lunch eat mixed rice (1 meat 2 vege) and dinner eat fruit and boiled egg plus milo is that ok?
Again, if you want the best result, please please avoid sugar during night time. Fruit has sugar and milo has even more sugar. I understand after taking those fruits and milo, you might be still in calorie deficit. But as I said, if you want the best result, no sugar during night time especially milo. I would even suggest totally cut out milo from your diet. Only drink plain water and tea (without sugar or cream of course).

Also may I suggest you walk around more during working and take stairs instead of lift. It will help greatly.

champlaos11
post Dec 17 2015, 01:53 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(ray9292 @ Dec 17 2015, 01:24 PM)
Thanks again for ur advice. I will avoid milo and fruit at night.  I will try eat vege + meat + green tea for my dinner. How much the portions i can have for my dinner? Because of my working time, most of the time i reach home at 8 something, most probably having my dinner at 8.30 or sometime even late.
Hmm I would suggest you prepare your food the day before. Then bring to office to eat before you left work?
champlaos11
post Dec 17 2015, 02:17 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(ray9292 @ Dec 17 2015, 02:13 PM)
i did plan to do so but i worried that food will be not fresh anymore for keeping too long time in lunch box. ><
No need to worry about that. A lot of people prepare their food the day before or some even prepare for one week. Good luck in your weight loss! And most importantly, do not give up.
champlaos11
post Dec 19 2015, 08:23 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Dec 18 2015, 05:58 PM)
Hey, I am sorry to ask. I wonder why some people recommend others to eat for like 6 small meals instead of 1 large meal (Breakfast) then moderate meal (Dinner) ?

I meant I have went through google and found that there are reports about eating big meals during Dinners time help to lose weight , while some mentioned breakfast eat like King is good and the rest 6 small meals a day.

However, many people also said fasting is good and fasting typically you have large amount of foods in the morning as breakfast and then straight till dinner.

With all these conflicting each other, i was rather confused.  sweat.gif 

Therefore, i wanna ask you guys' opinions on this. smile.gif
I personally eat at about 9.30-10.30 am for my brunch then straight have moderate dinner. smile.gif
I think the key here is everyone is different. You just have to try and see which method WORKS for you and is most CONVENIENT for you.

The reason for 6 small meals spread out the whole day is to so called "increase" your metabolism. It also helps to reduce the chances for you to over-eat because you are eating constantly throughout the day and you will not really feel that hungry. The problem arises for some when they feel hungry, they tend to go overboard - eat like an elephant which will result in over-eating and subsequently calories intake is higher. Another key point from the fitness industry to eat 6 small meals is to have constant supply of food to feed your muscle which I think is only a myth.

On the other hand, eating one large meal for breakfast and then smaller meal in dinner is another perception that you will be able to burn off those what you ate in the morning (hence you are allowed to eat more in the morning and the food will be burnt off at the remaining of the day; while eat less during night time because if you eat too much then those food will be stored as fat).

I think you will find plenty of reports contradicting each other. Some advocate big dinner while some say 6 small meals is better. I think this is the reality. People like to argue everything and everyone has their own views. So at the end, it is all up to you to try and choose. The best is to choose the one method that is most convenient for you.

Let's say your work life is really busy and you hardly find time to eat in between so it will be a problem for you to have 6 small meals throughout the day. In this case, you can try intermittent fasting or something else which might easier for you to implement.

I never fast before so I cannot comment on that. If you are getting positive result from your fasting, then just keep doing it. If the result is not what you wanted then change another method.

But I have seen a lot of people successfully incorporate fasting. And you can try to look into intermittent fasting by Martin Berkhan. It is slightly different from your fasting method.

This post has been edited by champlaos11: Dec 19 2015, 08:25 AM
champlaos11
post Jan 12 2016, 07:55 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jan 10 2016, 12:15 AM)
I'm 135 cm tall. Previously, my weight was 67 kg, and after nearly 2 months of diet, my weight drops to 55 kg now. Previously, my stomach was really bloated, very big tummy until it is very obvious when wearing normal shirt, got insulted for it and it became my motivation to diet. Now, I don't have the bloated stomach and I can manage to reduce my double chin to single chin lol.

But there's a problem....I can't seem to go below 55 kg since few weeks ago....
What I did since the very first day of my diet until now:
1. Stops eating rice for lunch. Only two vegetables.
2. Eat little rice for dinner, cause dinner at home, my parents will nag if i don't eat rice.... doh.gif

3. Stops eating deep fried and fried chicken, butter milk chicken, KFC, MC Donalds

4. Everyday jogging for 1 hour in the evening, sometimes rest once a week

5. I have my own "Cheating" day, once a week when outing with friends....at most I will eat ABC, Special, or popcorn for movies

now, my weight cant drop below 55kg already....any idea how to go slimmer?

Edit: the comments above this are discussing about the same problem lol...but I don't go for gym (Expensive, don't have time, can only jogging everyday)...i just wanna know if there's any problem with my current diet
Incorporate some HIIT workouts or tabata exercise. Avoid ABC and popcorn.
champlaos11
post Jan 12 2016, 01:02 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jan 12 2016, 11:55 AM)

Thanks for this, I'm starting a new diet after reading through the comments in this thread....my new diet is to eliminate sweet stuffs, like what you said, popcorn and ABC. Regarding the workouts, I will try go search..,

Last time I got do sit ups, but it's very tough and painful
You need to do more higher intensity exercises as well as bodyweight workouts in order to enhance weight loss.
champlaos11
post Jan 16 2016, 07:57 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jan 15 2016, 05:52 PM)
Don't think you are 135cm. That's like a midget size (no offense if you are one or anyone out there). It's probably bad in measuring. Just go to any shopping mall and use  the measurement tools they have.

I am too wanting to slim down as I am slight obese accordingly to the scale chart. Family have the rice eating habit as I am from traditional chinese family. Wanting to slim down as it is not doing any good to my health as well.

I do go to gym as I have membership nearby my place. Wanna ask which tools/machine I should go for to slim down? I use treadmill but after 15 minutes later my leg tend to sore easily.

Can anyone recommend me what kind of meals I can take daily and exercise I can do?
It is all about calories. If you want to lose fat then first you have to know your TDEE and then minus 500 to it.

You can eat rice but please don't go overboard. Moderation is key.

There are a lot of tips already being shared in this forum.

0.0703sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:58 PM