Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

-kytz-
post Apr 25 2015, 09:57 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Apr 24 2015, 10:44 PM)
What about just oat in the morning and other in noon?
My current practice is oat+banana+2 half boiled egg. for breakfast. Not hardcore diet food eater btw, only avoid sweet stuff and condense milk(that means no teh tarikĀ  cry.gif ) hehe.
my case is if i have fresh milk i will keep farting. that's embarrassing. lol
You can try a ketogenic diet if you want hmm.gif

However it may not be very feasible if you're living in Malaysia because carbohydrates like rice or noodles are still staple foods hmm.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 25 2015, 10:17 PM
-kytz-
post May 14 2015, 03:15 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(winkytoe @ May 14 2015, 02:27 AM)
Hey so I've recently lost quite abit of weight (105kg - 68kg /167cm) and I'm no longer interested in losing weight.

But I also don't want to gain weight, so with this I wanna ask ,
1. How much calories should I take? / calories per meal
2. Will it be easy to gain back the weight?

Getting very insecure about slight weight gain on the scale even though I know it might be water weight/ food still in stomach.

Thanks!
Just eat the same amount of calories as your TDEE (google for TDEE calculator). TDEE is basically the energy your body uses in a day.

My TDEE is 2.6k calories. So i have to eat around 2,600 calories to maintain my weight smile.gif
-kytz-
post May 15 2015, 10:25 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(wkyrichie @ May 14 2015, 08:01 PM)
Hi all,

I'm currently 168cm 64kg, plan to lose about 10kg of weight. Previously I don't exercise at all, I just bought a bike and plans to cycle to and from a park near my house (about 500m) and jog 2 rounds (about bout 2km) 2 times per week.

Do you think it is a good plan or I should add more exercise?
Weight loss is not only about exercising. It's 3 things:

Eat right (nutrition) + exercise (health) + sleep (enough rest)
-kytz-
post May 18 2015, 06:47 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ May 18 2015, 03:42 PM)
Hii  blush.gif

hope i did not post in the wrong place :|
haha,

anyway,
i plan on losing weight (ahbuden sweat.gif ),
currently (estimating 78KG - 173cm)
and i hope to lose any weight to be honest :|

just to let you guys know,
I'm doing this losing weight thing cause..

I'm currently part time working in a restaurant where walking is all i do,
non-stop walking, maybe will take a breather any chance i get(for my knee's sake)
and I'm currently studying in a Uni nearby.

and i thought "this is a good chance to lose SOME weight"

and i plan on losing weight mostly on my legs (thighs, etc..)

i walk alot, but the walking keeps making my leg bulky/muscular.
the more i walk, the more muscle is formed
i tried walking slowly, gently,
but still muscle grow due to over-walking :|
my uni is made out of stairs -__________-

and i heard from my gym teacher back in high school,
to lose thighs fats, just climb stairs
but using thighs to climb, not the lower legs part(idk the name)

but i never asked "how to use thighs"
cause i just overheard the convo :|

i googled some workout on leg loss,
but mostly at home or gym kind of workout,
so it's kinda hard for me to do so,
Cause once i reached home,
i have to study and rest.
the point -
i want to lose my lower body part/my leg's weight
to simplify, change my walking style as my currently style just keep increasing muscle more than losing weight of the legs.
when i press onto my legs,
is hard as stone :|
kick people also can fly hard :||||||

so any idea on how can i stop increase muscle and have it turn into losing leg's weight ? sad.gif

PS, i'm an idiot in weight loss and exercises.
so please help ;-;...
Lol. Let me give you an example. 2 guys, both weigh at 78kg and have the same height

A is all fat. B is all muscles.

Who is overweight?

Stop looking at weight as a measure of being "overweight" or not. Use body fat as a target instead of weight.
-kytz-
post Jun 6 2015, 04:20 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Josh41 @ Jun 3 2015, 01:05 PM)
you should run as often as possible. Force to burn it, never give up... Not getting the job you want can be stressing, but you should not give upĀ  exercise.Many good advise here about nutri. avoid saturated fat (all deep fried junk) go for less gravy and do any kind of aerobics. Trust me, no shortcut.
How did you lump saturated fat and deep fried food together? No such relationship at all.

QUOTE(lisacolnett @ Jun 3 2015, 01:06 PM)
Eat foods with high calories, vitamins, proteins. avoid oily and junk food. Instead of 3 divide your meals into 6.and a good exercise.
Correction:

To the both of you:

Saturated fats are not the devil. Saturated fats do not make you fat. Saturated fats do not necessarily raise cholestrol in your blood. High cholestrol do not necessarily increase risk of Cardiovascular diseases (CVD). It's all dogma based on bad science (mainly by Ancel Keys) which has been debunked time and time again for many decades now. It's a myth.

http://www.dietdoctor.com/?s=saturated+fat....x=0&submit.y=0
http://authoritynutrition.com/top-8-reason...saturated-fats/
http://theconversation.com/were-so-indoctr...e-science-34993
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/journalists/sar...rt-disease.html
http://www.examiner.com/article/saturated-...ning-time-cover

If you would like some readings, please read the books "New Atkins New you", "Cholestrol Clarity by Jimmy Moore", "The Big Fat Surprise" and many more books.

High calories? Do you even know what that means? Not trying to offend but the person you're replying to wants to lose belly fat and you're asking him to eat high calorie food?
Instead, you should restrict calories, that is go on a caloric deficit. That's the only way you can lose weight. Same goes to "bulking", you have to eat a surplus so that your body can grow.

I would equate junk food to highly processed foods, highly refined carbohydrates, excessive amounts of sugar and high amounts of preservatives and artificial sweeteners (the bad sweeteners as there are good ones).

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jun 6 2015, 04:23 AM
-kytz-
post Jun 15 2015, 10:14 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(NothinUnusual @ Jun 15 2015, 09:50 AM)
Yea I understand that concept but I am not good at calculating calories and most of the time I do not even know how much calories in the food. I am looking a diet plan so that I can follow and without calculating much. With that diet plan, I can adjust a bit here and there.
Eating out is gonna be a headache to count calories for sure but you could probably get rough estimates by googling.

So yeah, cook your own food so that you have control what goes into your tummy smile.gif

There are so many apps out there to keep track of calories, one of the best would probably be My fitness Pal!

P/S: if you're a huge sugar addict, it's best to keep that to a minimum as they take up huge loads of calories but yet doesn't even fill up your tummy. Thats why refined sugar is also called empty calories smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 15 2015, 10:52 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(NothinUnusual @ Jun 15 2015, 10:26 AM)
Not sure if I am a huge sugar addict but 3 meals a day - each meal also got a drink with sugar like milo, coconut and etc. Cooking my own food will be hard cause I live with my house mates and we usually eat out side. So I am trying to figure out which food has the least calories; which is a headache as I need to go Google before I order the food XD

So far what I had in mind is:

Breakfast - Sandwiches or roti with fruits juices like carrot milk without sugar
Lunch - Wan tan mee, Loh mee, Kari mee, porridge or nasi campur with less rice
Dinner - Headache  as I usually eat heavily for dinner; I am thinking of...mee soup, telur ayam bistik + nasi, white rice + soup + meat and sweet&sour pork rice

What do you guys think? Can reduce calorie intake ma?
Try to eat complex carbs like oats, whole grains instead of refined carbs like white bread/buns as they contain a lot more fibre which helps keep you full longer. Pastries or breads may also be high in margarine which are usually high in trans fat, which is not good.

Eat rice instead of noodles because of the fibre in rice.

But wait, you should cut down on carbs IMHO and eat more protein and healthy fats (yes those damn saturated fats in the meat) instead. Protein and fats are more filling.

Keep track of your calories. You said your TDEE is around 2k, I guess you don't do exercise? You can try a 200-300 caloric deficit, try less if you fail.

If you constantly feel that you're always hungry and always exceeding 2k, cut down on carbs and sugar (if you insist on carbs, eat more complex carbs), eat more protein and fats.
-kytz-
post Jun 15 2015, 11:28 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(NothinUnusual @ Jun 15 2015, 11:21 AM)
Yea I seldom exercise. Maybe I can try to jog for 30 minutes - 3 times per week. What food has complex carbs or protein and healthy fats?
You can start going to the gym too, do those heavy lifting smile.gif

Complex carbs? Read back my post.

As for protein, just eat meat, drink milk, or eggs (cheap source of protein and fats). For healthy fats would be fats from meat, eggs, milk, monounsaturated fats like Olive oil, butter, lard, heavy cream etc.
-kytz-
post Aug 17 2015, 11:01 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(rageLE @ Aug 16 2015, 07:11 PM)
First and foremost , I would like to thank you all sifu in this thread for assisting me before or after this post . Here's a little bit about myself.

I'm an 18 year old male with height of 161cm and my weight is 80kg which resulted to me to be categorised as an overweight/obese person in terms of BMI.I ate 2 meals a day(lunch 12-3pm) and dinner(6-7pm) which normally consist of 1 plate of rice + chicken/fish . I have tried cutting down the intake of rice but it doesn't seem to do anything . My body is not that fat but compared to normal people, it is . My belly sticks out but my biggest concern is my butt because its too big and so does my thigh that it sticks out too much that people keeps making fun of it. I even bought a 34" pants just so my butt can fit in although my waist is much smaller than that.So here are a list of my question.

1)Is a fitness tracker relevant in assisting me to lose weight or is just a hype?
2)Is taking supplement recommended (example: detoxifying teas)
3)Is there any way to increase metabolism?
4)What is the recommended intake of food daily?

Although I think my daily intake of food is not much , there are those eating more than me yet they remain skinny despite doing nothing or not exercising . I've been depressed of how I look and make fun of since my school year and because of that I had been a bit anti social that tends to be shy when I'm talking to a girl.Thus, I am determined not be laugh at/looked down upon anymore. As a student , I might not afford most of items that would aid me in my mission but I'm willingĀ  to my money if it will bear a result. I would greatly appreciate any helpĀ  given .Btw, i also some white dots on my face which are not acne , is there any way to get rid of them?

Thanks and have a nice day.
Only 2 plate of rice +chicken/fish daily? I don't believe only this would be the cause of why put on weight, if the portion is normal sized.. Not like a huge plate.

What about snacks in between? Carbonated drinks? Sweet stuff? Chips/fries etc?

The main reason for 99% of the times why people are overweight (myself last time) is because of what and how much you eat. Exercising won't help much to be honest, controlling your intake of food is much more effective than exercising. I used to do 1k calories deficit and lost around 3.5kg a month.

Try keto if you find yourself getting hungry really quickly and don't mind abstaining from carbs, which is so easy to overeat and pack the pounds.

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Aug 17 2015, 11:03 AM
-kytz-
post Aug 17 2015, 11:30 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nazfaliq @ Aug 17 2015, 11:18 AM)
Hello shifu's,
Just started on my journey on losing weight..
I am male, 170cm tall, and 121kg weigh..

Last month, I started doing gym routine, mainly on strength training..
After nearly 1 month, my weight now is 118.5 kg..
I only eat 1 scoop of rice + "malay lauk" once at lunch, and steamed broccoli + chicken at dinner..
Is there any other way to boost the results?
Do I need to take fat burner / any supplements? If yes, can recommend me?

Thank you in advance smile.gif
No offence, but do you know what's the main reason you got overweight in the first place?

And let's say your current meal plan does make you lose weight over time. Is it sustainable? Can you do it for long periods of time?

A lot of people restrict themselves to peanuts for meals and workout like hell for a short period of time, yeah they do lose weight, but after that they eat back the SAME thing that made them overweight in the first place.

The most important thing when losing weight is to first understand why you're overweight. Next, learn the basics of nutrition like what does carbs, protein and fats do to your body and metabolism. Third, change your mindset and strive for a long term goal, for example, cut down on sugary food/drinks will definitely help a lot. Forth, always workout whenever possible, this will help to minimize the effect of high carb consumption on the formation of adipose tissues in mainly your belly (fatty tissues)

90% of the time why people are overweight is due to the high/excessive consumption of refined carbohydrates, like chips/pasta/flour or sugary foods/drinks. Refined sugar don't fill your tummy (and spikes your insulin) and this is why it's so easy to overeat them. It packs a lot of calories too.
-kytz-
post Aug 17 2015, 06:09 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nazfaliq @ Aug 17 2015, 02:21 PM)
Yeah, I am overweight since I am 8-9 years old, and before this I really cant control my cravings for food and I ate 2-3 servings of food, each session (lunch, dinner).
I am 23 now, realizing the fact in Malaysia that first impressions really count in job interviews, I decided to start losing weight. That was my purpose. But of course who didnt want a fast result, haha.  drool.gif

Okay then, in ur opinion, am I doing good on this rate, or not?
Do I need to increase BMR first or straight on cardios?
And do supplements/fat burners really helps a lot in losing weight?

Sorry for this question spams, and thank you in advance. biggrin.gif
You need to reduce your food intake.

Obesity poses a high risk for other metabolic diseases such as hypertension, high blood pressure, diabetes and even heart diseases.

Cardio is good to do but the main thing will still be your food intake. Eat less carbs (rice/noodles) and eat more meat and fats if you notice you keep getting hungry very quickly.

Don't need to take all those fat burners. They are nonsense.

p/s: If you wanna count calories, first calculate your TDEE and eat less than it and you'll lose weight.

QUOTE(rageLE @ Aug 17 2015, 05:22 PM)
Being a student, I could only afford 2 meals a day which consist of rice (1scoop) + 1 (dish) . As for, fast food or sugary intake , I do eat/or drink when I go to a mall or when I see some sweet drinks but not often like daily(it's like I can't resist from buying them). Perhaps less than 3 times a week . As for snacks , I rarely eat them to avoid msg . However , I do eat oreo and maggi from time to time because I keep feeling hungry even after a meal . With that said , I'm interested in this keto you're saying although I don't know what that is. People says you need to eat a lot of small meals daily from time to time to avoid getting hungry, is this true? I've tried eating yogood as a replacement when I'm hungry but its too expensive , is there any cheaper alternative? Would you recommend me buying a supplement (detox tea or fat burner to aid me in losing weight) and a fitness tracker along with it. Being fat made my confidence fell when I keep getting making fun of my appearance.

Thank you for your help
There you see, you do take a lot of sugary food/drinks. All these are high in calories. And you admit you're addicted to sugar. You're definitely not alone as a lot of people are in the same situation. So easy to eat so much sugary food and yet still feel very hungry. Your weight will baloon up in no time. Talking from personal experience, observing others and also reading a lot of materials online (science).

I did keto and I lost roughly 8kg in less than 3 months. It wasn't suffering. It was just minimizing carbs and eat proteins and lots of fats. You can't eat rice/noodles/bread/pasta/sugary foods/drinks/fruits. Less than 20g of carbs a day if possible. Protein and fats are satiating, meaning you feel full longer than eating refined carbohydrates.

Although I have stopped doing keto, more like doing moderate carbs right now, I still know what carbohydrates does to my body. If I eat a piece of bread, I will feel hungry faster and will crave for more. If I drink something sweet, this will rekindle my sugar cravings and this isn't good.

My meals are simple, usually 5-6 eggs or some roasted chicken/meat for lunch. Dinner would be the same, mum's cooking minus the rice. I do eat some buns/bread/something sweet but I cut down quite a lot already.
-kytz-
post Sep 2 2015, 05:59 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Sep 2 2015, 12:01 AM)
Hey guys I need some advice.

I'm 17, weighing at 85-90 KG ( this is after raya ) and around 174cm. So I'm aiming to burn some of these fats. I tried jogging and it's quite taxing for me since I has asthma and my knees went sore the day after.

I was thinking of getting a bicycle and try cycling since the area around my neighborhood is like a hillside. I'm staying at the bottom of the hill so climbing up the hill might be a good way to exercise I suppose. What do you guys think?
Actually, doing cardio like running/cycling doesn't help much actually. Usually around 200-300 calories which can be easily used up by drinking 2 cans of coke or something..

It's the diet that's the most important and the most sustainable in the long term.

Ask yourself, what made you overweight in the first place?

Ate a lot of food? Always feeling hungry? Always drinking sugary drinks/cakes/biscuits?

Once you know what made you gain weight, then it's easy to know what to do next. Minimize consuming them to the max until you have reached a point where you are not a slave to food. Been there done that so I know what I'm talking about smile.gif

p/s: Forgot to mention the most basic formula. To lose weight = Eat less than your TDEE (google it). Basically eat less calories than what your body burns

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Sep 2 2015, 06:00 PM
-kytz-
post Jan 12 2016, 12:29 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jan 12 2016, 11:55 AM)
Can I know what's the meaning of BEE? I can't understand that and can't google also hahaha

Btw, I'm 23 years old and I think my size can't grow any bigger....the 135 cm just an estimate by using 15cm ruler, my height is as tall as a normal class white board, shorter than any door
Thanks for this, I'm starting a new diet after reading through the comments in this thread....my new diet is to eliminate sweet stuffs, like what you said, popcorn and ABC. Regarding the workouts, I will try go search..,

Last time I got do sit ups, but it's very tough and painful
Are you sure you are 135cm?
-kytz-
post Jan 25 2016, 12:30 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Hantu641 @ Jan 23 2016, 08:05 PM)
my problem right now is eating disorder and no motivation. need someone to curse me.
not a M by the way. lol
i know how to work out and do body lifting but no motivation make me lazy and skip lots of my time by playing pc game, surfing internet and sleeping/eating. i don't know what make me lazy also.
since i'm a introvert, that gives but i wanna change. sorry for the rant. haizz
Are you willing to change to see a change in your weight?
-kytz-
post Feb 4 2016, 01:23 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ Feb 3 2016, 09:12 PM)
I have a question.

Can i go exercise like jogging/bristwalk after mastu****?

*currently on my weight loss journey and this is not troll question.
Why not?
-kytz-
post Mar 4 2016, 12:30 PM

12,573 posts

As with all diets, you have to find something that's sustainable for you yourself in the long run. No point losing a lot of weight within a short time by starving yourself or doing tons of cardio and then giving up after a few months, consequently, gaining all the weight back.
-kytz-
post Jul 19 2016, 11:46 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(terrabogard @ Jul 19 2016, 09:09 PM)
Hi guys. I'm new here. Wanna ask something related to Fat Free Mass (FFM).

How accurate Tanita machine calculating our FFM? I'm getting skeptical here.

I've read online that we might gaining muscles on our workouts. Hence, we loss less weight due to that.

Any input will be appreciated.

Thanks!
How can u lose weight by gaining muscle?
-kytz-
post Jul 20 2016, 12:17 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(terrabogard @ Jul 20 2016, 11:50 AM)
Still losing weight by losing the fat. Muscle gain is good tho
How to build muscles?

Most important is caloric surplus followed by consuming enough protein, working out and having adequate sleep/rest.

As for burning fat?

Caloric deficit. Eating enough protein as not to burn muscles instead of fat. Working out also helps to burn calories.
-kytz-
post Jul 20 2016, 04:44 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(UntilUComeBack @ Jul 20 2016, 12:52 PM)
so going to the gym not making u loss weight, but make ur fat to become muscle only?

o_O
It's impossible for fats to convert into muscles.
-kytz-
post Jul 20 2016, 06:31 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(UntilUComeBack @ Jul 20 2016, 05:22 PM)
burn that fats it become muscle.
no?
No. Refer to slimey's reply.

One tissue cannot possibly convert to another.

Where did u hear of that actually because apparently this is a well known myth hmm.gif

0.0677sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:27 AM