Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

sweet_pez
post Mar 4 2021, 12:56 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 4 2021, 11:22 AM)
thanks a lot for your advise... i will try to follow it

will  this be ok

breakfast:
2 eggs +  oats
lunch: skip
dinner: 2 x eggs + 2 slices bread?

cut off coffee completely and only take water. will this help? say for 2 weeks?
Breakfast is good that way but you'll get bored after 1 week, trust me! When you're bored you tend to have relapse. So remember to have a good mix of different stuffs for brekkie.

In fact, if you can make them, just simple scrambled eggs or sunny side up eggs + a slice of bread, or eggs and then a bowl of muesli with some milk. Play around with combination/ different things. Don't restrict yourself too much nod.gif

Oh my, don't skip lunch. Like Doremon said, might as well skip breakfast.

Skipping breakfast you can read up more on IF = Intermittent Fasting. You can opt to start with 12 hours fast, then progressively to 14, and finally 16 hours fasting.

With IF, your window of eating shrinks. And you'll also start to eat less due to the long hours of fasting (making you less hungry even during lunch hour). So if you can try IF, it's great. Comes with health benefits too.

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/well...ow-does-it-work
https://www.webmd.com/diet/a-z/intermittent-fasting

Dinner --> makan. It's okay to eat. Don't start feeling guilty when you have your meals. Dinner maybe can look for mixed rice stalls? Order half portion of rice, stack on vege and some protein. That'll be a good dinner.

If no mixed rice and only bread.......... then i guess occasionally make yourself a sandwich. Eggs + bread + lots of vege, or a side salad (with minimal dressing).

Coffee
You don't need to cut it off completely! I love my coffee. It's awesome with sugar but i changed it to ala americano style - just coffee without sugar and milk/creamer. It's a bit hard at first but after a while, i'm fine with it. Still take my fav kind of kopitiam coffee/ 3-in-1 and frappes occasionally laugh.gif where's the enjoyment when your favourites are taken away hahaha
sweet_pez
post Mar 25 2021, 11:03 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(PCLover2010 @ Mar 18 2021, 03:40 PM)
I want to ask in this thread since it is still related to weight loss.

I know my body weight hasn't change much for past 2 years, maintaining between 58-60kg most of the time.

My exercise pattern is not regular nowadays even during MCO (and what-nots) since 2020.

I still got do weight training (more often than cardio), say even in 1 week, may have at least 2 times of weight training of 10 minutes (non-stop), cardio is depends on my mood (lack motivation now).

I have a digital weighing scale, weighing my own body weight without any cloths (in bathroom, locked) seems to show rather constant numbers between 58-60. Overall, I still got body fat, mainly in tummy area.

My question is, should I go and get a body analysis digital scale like this one or similar kind of product that is priced not more than RM100 (with free shipping would be good for the pocket) as I want to know (roughly) how much fat body I have as the normal weighing machine or digital weighing scale is just showing the weight in kilograms.

My objective is to lose more body fat, probably can bring down to 10% or less with just home exercise and able to track my body fat (roughly got some numbers is better than none!). I don't have a gym membership and no intention to apply for a gym membership and go to gym to exercise as I know can lose weight with the correct food diet (no junks, no/less carbs, no/less sugar, more healthy fat and protein, plenty of water blah blah blah)

But not seeing the weight moving much giving me doubts on my exercising habits. So any advice from LYN guys and gals?
I guess if you want progress, something in your current workout routine/ diet must change.

Example, you mentioned weight training of 10min or so x 2 times in a week. That's not really sufficient ya in my opinion - then again, it depends on what sort of workout you're doing. But in any case, weight loss usually go for HIIT if you can. Just find in Youtube "HIIT workout" --> high intensity interval training. Other workouts you can try is Tabata training.

Sure, if you feel you really want a weighing scale then by all means go for 1 within your budget. AFAIK though, the more accurate ones are like Tanita weighing scale; not so sure about the rest.

Of course, people sign up for gym membership for various reasons. Home workout is just as good, no qualm about that.
But imo, knowing and doing is 2 different thing. People who knows may not have the discipline and motivation, so they fall into a vicious cycle, for example:

resolution/wanting to lose -> workout often + diet -> sees progress -> continue -> progress slowed down/ hit plateau -> motivation drops -> started to binge eat -> cut down workout -> went back to original weight

So if you're someone who is similar like the above, then you'll have to find ways to overcome that lack of discipline/ plateau.
sweet_pez
post Mar 29 2021, 10:41 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DPZ @ Mar 25 2021, 05:21 PM)

This is awesome, thanks for sharing!
Keep it up thumbsup.gif
sweet_pez
post Jun 29 2021, 06:00 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(KeonG118 @ Jun 18 2021, 12:20 PM)
I saw my friend posted in FB that he did fasting for 72 hours.. i wonder if this will harm our body?
Purpose of this is...?

QUOTE(ahwang12321 @ Jun 20 2021, 08:56 PM)
Im not really looking to be muscular just thinner
But yes i do heard lifting actually helps losing weight too

any dumbell brand to recommend?
I do have 1 last time but lost it when i move house
Now i only have 1 and its light..i think 5kg not gonna do a thing i guess

I also bought the push up equipment but demn..turns out to be plastic
Dumbbell - you can consider Decathlon. I think there's free shipping nationwide.
Personally think the brand doesn't matter.

QUOTE(patrickthissen @ Jun 29 2021, 01:05 PM)
Just asking how you guys monitor body fat percentage?
Is the smart scale like xiaomi one reliable?

Last time I tried in my bro house, it shows my body fat % below 20% (vs lab blood test Inbody 26%)

I got big fat belly as a skinny guy, got muscle on my leg. (Is it this cause my body fat looks low when on smart scale?)
Yes smart scale - the higher end ones will be Tanita which is also commonly used by commercial gyms. They cost more.

Scales like Xiao Mi should be okay to use. You can do 2 readings on smart scale - body fat % reflects the fats around your body and then there's the visceral fat which is of equal, if not higher concern. These are fats inside your body such as the abdomen area, organs etc that potentially causes heart disease etc.

Check out how to read the Body Fat % on scale:
https://www.tanita.com/en/understanding-your-measurements/

sweet_pez
post Jun 30 2021, 10:57 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 30 2021, 10:28 AM)
I am using Aukey smart scale. I have been working out at least 4 days a week for the last two months. Recently I feel that i can sustain longer and I can start jogging a little more as well (in the past i could only manage to walk). My legs muscles are getting stronger which help to elevate my knee pains. Even though I control my calories, and use MyFitnessPal to track. Whenever I weigh myself i still see the KG not losing, in fact it's increasing a little like 0.5Gram or so. And the the muscles, body fats mass don't seem to have any changes? What am I doing wrong?
Possibility of hitting plateau? Maybe you'll want to consider shaking your workout routine and food a little. Meaning to do something different and try to break out of it. I believe plus minus 500gm to 1kg could be due to water weight sometimes.

Changing routine is like incorporating something new/ different to it. For example, since you have knee pain, maybe you can introduce some functional training like push ups, planking (start with small target of 15sec, 30sec, then 40sec, etc), crunches etc apart from running.
sweet_pez
post Jun 30 2021, 10:13 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 30 2021, 11:32 AM)
But it didn't change even after i started working out? As in like I didn't even experience weight loss in the first place. Granted I feel better and more stamina, but I still wanna lose the weight. And I do different cardio workout following YouTube.

Why ah?
What about your food intake?

Water, stress level and sleep plays a part too.
sweet_pez
post Jul 6 2021, 10:42 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 30 2021, 10:37 PM)
I drink a lot of water.

Food I eat 1200 calories. Though I don’t really know how much calories the food has, just gauge and try not to eat too much. Avoiding sugar.

Sleep just 5 - 6 hours a day. Stress just sometimes, during work hours. I do meditate every day.
I guess you probably can try changing your workout routine to see if there's any progress from there. Probably try getting more sleep as well ie. 7-8 hours a day if possible.
sweet_pez
post Jul 30 2021, 01:31 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chailim @ Jul 25 2021, 07:15 PM)
I was trying to find the motivation to exercise sad.gif hope I can be more like u haha. Will try to look up on YT for cardio videos.

Wow, good to hear that your knee pain is gone! Congrats!!

Thanks for the suggestions. Really appreciate it!
Its easy to drop out of the motivation once the variable in your life changed. It's OK to take a rest and sit back for a while then reignite it when you're ready. Start off with small effort like walking/ brisk walking at the park/ around yr house taman. Up your intensity level when you feel it's time to bring it to next level.

QUOTE(chailim @ Jul 25 2021, 07:17 PM)
Btw, I have one ques totally unrelated to fitness, sorry. I'm having problem with Lowyat. My comments on other forums were not visible (or maybe deleted) right after I posted it. Is it because I am still under probation? Is that the reason?
I don't see any of your comment/ reply had been removed from view. No postings are removed unless due to violation of rules. If you still have concern or encounter issues, you can PM me.
sweet_pez
post Jan 27 2022, 04:34 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Sahixo @ Jan 23 2022, 11:21 AM)
What is 16:8
16 hours of fasting, 8 hours window to eat.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/16-8-i...mittent-fasting
sweet_pez
post Jan 30 2022, 03:24 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jan 27 2022, 07:31 PM)
Feels like it's just limiting calories intake. If you overeat during that 8 hours, it will also lead to weight gain.
Yes and no. It entirely depends on what you're trying to achieve by starting this.

IF is only a mean that can facilitate or support weight loss. Some people do it for health reasons. It has to be complemented with a reasonable diet/ food intake.

If you overeat, regardless of whatever method you try, it wont help so this is point, imo, is invalid for people who wants to lose body fat yet refused to take care of food intake.

Read up more about IF
https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/10-hea...TOC_TITLE_HDR_2
sweet_pez
post Jun 30 2022, 09:46 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ Jun 27 2022, 05:47 PM)

Couple goals!! That's just awesome to keep track of each other's progress and continue to motivate one another. Keep it up!
sweet_pez
post Sep 1 2022, 02:11 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ Aug 29 2022, 05:04 PM)

Suggest you create a Journal or thread to track your progress/ workout here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/MemberWorkoutJournals

This thread would be more for sharing/ Q&A on more general H&F related topics.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0804sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:24 AM