7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

SUSNew Klang
post Dec 14 2017, 01:29 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(Kekikan @ Dec 13 2017, 03:57 PM)
You are right. I recently lost 4kg to reach my ideal weight by doing 5 X 1 min sets of planks morning and night. Plus, I also controlled my diet...ate less oily and fatty stuff.
Keep doing planks. It is the best exercise to get 6 packs.
SUSNew Klang
post Dec 29 2017, 09:24 AM

4,998 posts

Organic oats are higher priced and the ones sold in bakery supply shops are lower. The difference between them is the cheaper one is rough.

Oats give a feeling of fullness as it is high in fibre. However I cannot live on oats as I am a high carb person.

SUSNew Klang
post Dec 29 2017, 09:27 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Dec 22 2017, 06:16 PM)
Everything is about having a good balance, especially meals. You'll need some starch/ carbs in your system as well. Totally eliminating it is just as bad for your health.

Also, note that excessive protein consumption over a long period of time may increase the risk of developing kidney stones. This is case-by-case basis, but just something to take note.
And gout ?
SUSNew Klang
post Jan 16 2018, 07:43 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(mrbimbang @ Jan 5 2018, 03:24 PM)
eat oats. more veg esp celery is negative calorie. no sugar
Food is not negative calorie.

QUOTE(Kekikan @ Jan 9 2018, 12:18 PM)
Yeah, excessive sugar consumption is the root cause of weight gain and many health problems...
Failure by body to manage sugar is the problem i.e. production of insulin and insulin resistance. Both are different but related.
SUSNew Klang
post Apr 13 2018, 07:47 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 6 2018, 06:06 PM)
+1

I've been doing 4x HIIT & other 3 days light workout.
(I feel my skin tighten & look refreshed too)

surprisingly, I lose 4kg in a week.

it was a mere experience.

I ate 1 apple, 1 sweet potato, protein shake for a week. laugh.gif
In general when someone lose 4 kg per week, one will not look refreshed and one's skin will not tighten.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

SUSNew Klang
post Jun 2 2018, 07:37 AM

4,998 posts

Most fat people are lazy as they don't really workout a lot. They snack a lot all day but become calory conscious and eat a little during main meals. And claim losing weight is hard.

End of my observation.
SUSNew Klang
post Jul 20 2018, 08:20 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(ariffdude @ Jul 18 2018, 02:08 PM)
anyone here experiencing itchy skin due to weight loss? I've lost 40kg over the past 2 years and ever since then my skin has been dry and itchy , especially near my biceps and shoulder area.

Been eating clean for the past 8 months, have lots of good fat (tuna, eggs, olive oil, etc) so I don't know why my skin is so dry.
40kg...that is more than half my weight.

What is your skin condition called?
SUSNew Klang
post Aug 20 2018, 10:11 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Aug 17 2018, 05:01 PM)
Hi all, wanting to ask all weight loss sifus here. I've started my weight loss journey since 5 weeks ago. 165cm male weighing in at 110kg initial. For the first 4 weeks, I've done cardio (like jogging, running and walking) and also some light weight lifting at a gym. After 4 weeks i lost a total of 6kg, but now after the end of my 5th week going to 6th, i didn't notice any weight loss at all. It stayed the same at 104kg currently. Have i plateau-ed? Or should i monitor in week 6? Some advice needed. Thanks.
What is 6 weeks? Be consistent and patient.
SUSNew Klang
post Mar 29 2019, 01:14 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 27 2019, 12:50 PM)
Guess belly fat is so common that everyone's only focused on losing that hmm.gif

Well as spot reduction is myth meaning you can't choose to eliminate fats only in 1 concentrated area. When you workout, you lose overall. Suggest you practice a healthier diet/ meal plan + workout. You should see changes to your overall body and health.
Do females have common belly fat issues?
SUSNew Klang
post Mar 14 2022, 11:22 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 14 2022, 10:12 AM)
Just wanna share a little of my weight loss journey here.

I started planning to lose weight in May 2021. I was WFH and one day when I decided to revamp my house, I realised that my body didn’t have the energy nor strength to move furniture or to even last the entire day cleaning. On top of that, I tried my usual dress pants and I couldn’t even button them. So I realised that I needed to do something about it.

I didn’t really want to give up my favourite pasta or that cuppa tea, and besides I want my body to actually have better stamina and strength, so I decided that exercises are must on top of some form on conscious diets.

First 3 months (approx. May – July 2021):
As I always had knee pain issues, I usually just confined myself to just swimming. With the pandemic and etc, pools were always closed. And thus I had also been giving myself excuses not to exercise. After my wake-up call (above), I decided to test out some “knee friendly, low impact” cardio exercises on Youtube. For the first few months, it was hell. I could barely last 30 minutes. I tried my best to perform about 3-4 times per week, 30 minutes each sessions.
Another thing that demotivated me a lot was that I didn’t see any changes from the scales! In fact I even gained 1 or 2 kg! It was demotivating but after reading tons of articles online on why this was happening. I decided to just throw that damn machine out of the window. Instead I started taking measurements of my body (thighs, waist, arms and etc…)

Next 3 months (approx. July – September 2021):
One thing I noticed, my stamina improved! Instead of 30 minutes, I pushed for 1 hour each session. And the knee pain issue? They disappeared. I suspect it’s because the muscles are building up around the area. And I started doing exercises that are more intense, like cardio boxing, which is absolutely fun! And that motivated me to exercise even more.

From October 2021 – Now:
At this point, all my measurements have reduced. The dress pants that i couldn't fit in? Now I need a belt to hold them, for all my shirts, dresses and everything else as well. I could see my body toneing up and in places that I never notice before, have been forming defined muscles. Of course now i have ventured into different exercises as well, like cycling too! And with the better stamina, it feels fun to workout too!

I still haven’t given up those sweet sweet teh tarik or pastas or that dry ramen that I’m so addicted to. But I do eat them sparingly and watch my calories intake, give or take.

I think I would have lost my weight faster if I just stop eating or just cut calories entirely but I really didn’t want to give up some of the foods that I love. So exercises are the way to go for me. But of course, I stay conscious of what I eat and the calories count just so that all the blood and sweats don’t go to waste.

Since returning to the office, I have unfortunately cut down my workout time cause it’s just way too tiring sometimes. But I try my best to fulfil at least 3 hours per week.

And on top of losing weight, gaining muscles and toning the body, it’s the freaking sweet endorphins! That one is really addictive and when you take rest days, or when the body is losing endorphins, you really do feel the differences in your moods! Also, my back pain, knee pains have disappeared (*touch wood*) and I find myself having better memories. 

Seriously though, if you are embarking on this weight loss journey, don’t forget to incorporate some form of exercises. Even walking for 30 minutes or 1 hour is good enough, that’s how I started too!

Good luck!  :thumbsup:
Interested in your progress since returning to office. Are you still on a routine?
SUSNew Klang
post Mar 23 2022, 01:33 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 14 2022, 11:55 AM)
Yes ah, i still fulfill 3 hours per week. About 3 workouts each per week, 1 hour each sessions.

Sometimes when i feel like it i separate it into 30 minutes workout instead, just need to do more days.

Some weeks I managed 3 hours and 30 minutes. If i'm too tired also i will just throw in less intense workout like walking only.

though my workout days differ now. like sometimes i do every alternate days or once every 2 days depending on the schedules. But i always squeeze in 3 hours per week minimum.
How hard is devoting 30 minutes per day for health?
SUSNew Klang
post Mar 29 2022, 10:38 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 23 2022, 02:12 PM)
Not hard, why?
QUOTE(renmejustin @ Mar 26 2022, 11:30 PM)
If disciplined, it becomes a routine
QUOTE(MicroInvest @ Mar 27 2022, 12:36 AM)
Discipline is the key
The key is making workouts a main priority and as a daily routine
SUSNew Klang
post Mar 29 2022, 10:39 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(skyze.quek @ Mar 28 2022, 11:06 PM)
86 kg to 68 kg in 5 months and now back to 74kg in less than 2 months due to inactivity caused by leg injury and covid....i'll be back soon to achieve my target of 65kg and to the ultimate 55kg....key success to the weight loss of more than 15 kg is consistencies in exercise and diet that leads to calorie deficit...
What's your height and why target 55kg?
SUSNew Klang
post May 4 2022, 11:14 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ May 4 2022, 07:19 PM)
A month has passed since I began being on a strict keto diet, intermittent fasting, strict exercise regime and mostly don't read news or follow anything on politics or get worked up over anything that isn't important as well as had a significant review of what's to be considered important.

On 30/4 I did a weight check, (done first thing in the morning after visiting the toilet and weighing done completely nude except for the Apple Watch) and weighed 108.4kg. A big change from the times I was in the 130 and 140 range. The diet and exercise hasn't really accelerated the weight loss as its still within 4-5kg per month which is absolutely fine by me.

What's changed is my blood pressure, the trend is 115-120/70-75 and down from the 130/85 average. Another reading that went down is my blood sugar levels, 5.4 for 3 mornings in a row where it used to be closer to 6.3-6.7

What else changed? My general walking speed, previously was closer to 14mins per km, now closer to 12mins per km and could walk an hour without stopping both on pavement and on treadmill. Also feel stronger and don't feel lethargic on most days.

Weirdly, I don't seem to be able to consume rice any longer, it makes me feel nauseated, then sleepy and if eaten together with anything spicy, a long trip to the throne is an absolute certainty. 

My gf is also following the same diet and mostly the same exercise regime. She used to be 76kg, physically fit and was a scuba diving instructor and rock climbing guide, then Covid and she had what is known as long covid, which means she kept being tested positive for 2 months though no or mild symptoms and the symptoms stayed with her for 4 months, it saw her becoming 129kg and last December she also saw her BP and blood sugar levels rise. Unfortunately her weight loss efforts isn't quite yielding a consistent result as her weight fluctuates a lot. However her BP and blood sugar levels is on the down trend. She is now stuck at that plateau of 111.2kg but her BP which used to be 140/100 range is now closer to 130/80 while her blood sugar levels which used to be 6.8-7.5 (fasted) is now closer to 5.5
What rice did you eat that caused your nausea?

Did your GF diet and workout after getting long COVID-19?
SUSNew Klang
post May 5 2022, 05:15 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ May 5 2022, 05:07 PM)
The rice
1) At a chapfan.
2) At a Thai restaurant.
3) At a banana leaf restaurant.
4) At a Chinese restaurant.
5) Briyani at a middle eastern restaurant.

GF.
Diet? She used to throw up or get diarrhea each time she ate for 2 months, therefore on a liquid only diet of mainly juice, soymilk and protein powder. After that the maximum she could consume was a slice of bread every 3 hours together with liquids.

Workout? The 2 months she kept being tested positive she could barely walk to the bathroom without panting or feeling a sharp pain in her chest. After that she could slowly walk around for 2-5 minutes before she began panting for 10 minutes. She first contracted Covid 4/21 and she began doing some very light exercises since last December. Now she follows my diet and a similar exercise regime.
How much rice did you eat before you get nausea?

Your GF didn't eat much, yet she gained so much weight.

SUSNew Klang
post May 5 2022, 11:06 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ May 5 2022, 06:49 PM)
3-4 tbsp.

I think it was the protein powder that caused the weight gain as well as hormonal imbalances.
Rice is a neutral food, if small amounts can cause nausea, have you ever thought that something is not right? You had rice in the past, right?

Protein powder can help body gain 40 kg?
SUSNew Klang
post May 10 2022, 10:20 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(R231_SL65_AMG @ May 9 2022, 06:30 PM)
We both wear an Apple Watch as our fitness tracker.

Weighing ourselves? We don't do it everyday but once every 2 weeks though it's extremely tempting to do so everyday but we've chosen not to do so for the reasons you mentioned.

In reality, as long as you're happy with yourself and everything else is healthy then there's nothing really wrong about your situation.
How long did it take for your GF to gain 40kg?

How much calorie surplus is that per day?
SUSNew Klang
post May 26 2022, 09:49 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 20 2022, 11:38 PM)
Read your signature, just remember that there is a clinic at Damansara that provide fat loss program. Approx 1kg per week of weight loss achieved.

Feedback from a good friend of mine.
My weight loss journey started 10 years ago

I ran, built muscles and reduce calories.

My weight was like a yoyo.

SUSNew Klang
post Jun 26 2022, 11:46 AM

4,998 posts

I reduce my intake to 70% for 2 years and workout a lot. BMI dropped to 22, fat belly becomes 6 packs abs.

But my body is always feeling starved and sometimes I cannot sleep due to hunger. I drink water to get the full stomach feeling most of the time

This post has been edited by New Klang: Jun 26 2022, 12:04 PM
SUSNew Klang
post Sep 12 2022, 08:23 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 1 2022, 02:11 PM)
Suggest you create a Journal or thread to track your progress/ workout here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/MemberWorkoutJournals

This thread would be more for sharing/ Q&A on more general H&F related topics.
You can move his posts back into his own journal

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5259826

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0299sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:08 PM