Fully BF but low birth weight, can formula milk help?
TSshin_daria
Dec 24 2014, 04:32 PM, updated 11y ago
Our baby is 1 month old. we weighed him today and he only gained 200g he was fully breastfed, almost every hr, and every session takes up to 30 mins. I thought he was well-fed, he has no problem with latching and breastfeed schedules. The doc warned us if the baby still has low weight gain he's gonna refer us to the hosp. I was thinking to supplement his feeds with formula milk. What would be the good ones for newborn? this is my first time as a parent, be nice. tq!
TSshin_daria
Dec 24 2014, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(kucibyakuya @ Dec 24 2014, 04:43 PM) 200 gram increase for 1 month old is normal. What is his total weight now? it's not normal said the doctor. QUOTE(cheechongfun @ Dec 24 2014, 04:44 PM) Is it normal delivery? Is the baby full term? birth weight? Any complication after delivery? All these info are needed. From growth chart, how many percentile is the baby? normal birth, no complication. once had jaundice, but all good now. he's in the low percentile. his birth weight is 2.7, his current wt is 2.9 This post has been edited by shin_daria: Dec 24 2014, 04:57 PM
TSshin_daria
Dec 24 2014, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(FoxSeaTiger @ Dec 24 2014, 04:42 PM) At 2 months I give my baby drink formula milk. Because BF not enough for my baby. He eat alot. i was thinking of doing the same lah..is he of normal weight now? what formula is good for newborn QUOTE(CHIP CN @ Dec 24 2014, 04:44 PM) suruh ibunya minum/makan supaya byk susu.... sudah makan gemuk also but baby tarak gemuk maybe the bf milk not much nutrients in it?
TSshin_daria
Dec 24 2014, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(cheechongfun @ Dec 24 2014, 06:00 PM) According to growth chart, baby is between 25-50th percentile, still within normal Just observe the weight in few more months , as long as weight stays between this percentile, baby are doing fine. Please don't feed plain water to baby, plain water definitely not needed yeah..the doc pointed out the chart to me and tell me it's 'worrying'...he's scared he might never gain wt. but here's the weird thing though, the baby is completely fine. poop/pee all fine, no jaundice, can grip things with his hands, turns head from side to side, responds to TV, talks to us in his own baby language so could it be possible that he's just...small? cuz i am a small person too.
TSshin_daria
Dec 24 2014, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(cheechongfun @ Dec 24 2014, 06:17 PM) You don't have to worry. We don't look at weight alone. As I said, we want look at the 'trend', over the few months if baby is gaining weight As long as baby is fine and active and gaining weight, you are doing fine. But purely breast feeding cannot last over 6 months, baby will need extra supplement due to more active. By 6 months, you might have to add some porridge, or others And definitely no egg before 1 year old, scare develop allergy to milk protein oh i understand now. guess as long as his development is healthy i dont need to worry lah
TSshin_daria
Dec 28 2014, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(hanishoney @ Dec 26 2014, 11:46 AM) bf milk always have more nutrients than formula milk. This one every single scientist who ever study comparing breastmilk and formula milk already confirm. Even every can/box of formula will write on the package that breastmilk is best. There may be not ENOUGH bf milk, but not that the milk not much nutrient. so most likely in my case, it's not ENOUGH milk la right? so frustrating since he sucks very very frequently. I thought he feeds a lot...