Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

infernoaswen
post Dec 25 2014, 01:00 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Want to ask, when you guys topup your funds, how long does it take with FSM?

I been using eunittrust, when I make my transaction it takes around 3days to process. E.g if today market crashes so nav is pretty low & I decided to buy some but by the time my transaction succeed the nav increased already & they followed the latest price hmm.gif

Also what are the pros & cons of using FSM with eunittrust? eunittrust having promo, SC for KGF is 1% which is why I topup couple of days ago since nav dropped.
infernoaswen
post Dec 25 2014, 11:50 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 25 2014, 09:11 AM)

Thanks a lot, I guess for now I should take advantage of both platforms. If eunittrust SC is lower then topup using that otherwise FSM laugh.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 25 2014, 10:55 AM)
Wow Unker yklooi already replied to so many...unker no go yamseng ar? biggrin.gif
With FSM, it takes 4 working days to FINALISE, for u to see them in your summary of holdings. But the 4 days lag is just processing time, as long as your buy transaction is completed (click buy + make payment + payment received by FSM) by 3PM on a business day, u get NAV for THAT DAY, your money ain't gonna disappear during that 4 days. laugh.gif

By the way, don't get too overly bothered with NAV, u are not trading UTs (well, u should NOT be!), over the long term, a few % difference would not make much difference.

WAC showed in FSM includes your sales charges.

With FSM, u could invest GLOBAL. Why think only of local equity market? wink.gif

But as some would say, it's good to make local market the "anchor" of your portfolio, if u are not already invested in local equities yourself. Main reasons:
(1) no foreign currency translation loss
(2) local market is "inefficient", i.e. fund managers can easily beat the market. But this argument is also valid for most developing countries stock market

As for myself, I'm already invested in local equities, so my UT portfolio is mainly overseas-focused.

Err...find some under-covered gems and buy them? blush.gif

The stocks which contributed the most to my portfolio, most fund managers would not even look at them.

Apollo - makes your favourite snacks
Hup Seng - makes your Ping Pong cream crackers

Gems are not easy to come by. I've already dumped these 2 stocks. Of my current holdings, DiGi and Karex brows.gif are the most profitable stock. But don't blindly replicate my portfolio oh...some stocks are already overvalued. sweat.gif
I see, well trying to squeeze as much profit as possible laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 9 2015, 12:50 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 8 2015, 11:35 AM)
Assuming super paranoia mood.

My 1-month FD giving 3.55% (effective rate about 3.6%) but CMF is already giving 3.71%…

What’s the only reason to NOT move?

PIDM? All hell break loose? Putting too much money with FSM? Laziness?
UOB offers 3.85 for 3 months, so the 3.6% is not really a big deal if you have more than 10k & dont mind the 3 mths term hmm.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 10 2015, 04:25 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Jan 10 2015, 04:08 PM)
I just make a small top up around 2pm, surprisingly the PO number only reach ...103. So little people make use of the 0.5% promotion ???
But not all the funds are at 0.5% it seems, non of my funds are at 0.5% laugh.gif Maybe time to expand my portfolio laugh.gif Now need to check which fund to buy doh.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 14 2015, 12:19 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jan 13 2015, 05:44 PM)
brows.gif  buying cheap oil stocks...in meanwhile..

time will make u money....
Speaking of oil stocks, since this is a UT thread. What are the options we have hmm.gif

I know AmCommodities Equity is one of it. Benchmark : 50% Dow Jones Islamic Market Oil & Gas + 50% Dow Jones Islamic Market Basic Mat

edit: Manulife Investment - India Equity Fund is performing good, not bad. Should have bought more during the end of year promo laugh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Jan 14 2015, 12:31 AM
infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 11:37 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 17 2015, 11:19 AM)
hmm.gif I got standalone China and most of my Asia X Jpn funds have some holdings in HK/China...
India??? will I be buying high, am I following the herds, am I investing based on past performance??? should I get it??, how much % of allocation do I have in India?? hmm.gif
thanks for the suggestion.... notworthy.gif  will do some thinking during the next few hours...
India is doing good, I just bought this last month during the 1% promo laugh.gif

Bolehland fund on the other hand is what I lost the most doh.gif But it recovered a bit for the past few days, before this was around -7% laugh.gif

Edit: still new, got lots to learn tongue.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Jan 17 2015, 11:37 AM
infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 11:51 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 17 2015, 11:40 AM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  same too.. but i have top ups every month to sensex..
What do you mean by top up every month to sensex?
infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 11:54 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 17 2015, 11:45 AM)
thanks for the encouragement....
wow 1 month 11.36% vs KGF 9%
need to see how much my other funds have allocated in India accumulatively.
But its a bit risky la I guess since concentrate on a single country only, RHB-OSK CHINA-INDIA is india & china. laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 05:02 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Ok done. CIMB-PRINCIPAL ASIA PACIFIC DYNAMIC INCOME FUND

Don't have enough money to buy more, now can eat grass till end of the month laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 07:46 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 17 2015, 06:58 PM)
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity Fund - Class A 20%
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund 10%
Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund 10%
Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund 20%
Kenanga Growth Fund 30%
Manulife Investment - India Equity Fund 10%

What about mine? ^^
can give comment?
Looking for some feedback too laugh.gif Yeah I know too much equity funds wink.gif

AmCommodities Equity - 13.5%
CIMB-Principal Asia Pac Dynamic Income - 13.5%
Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund - 9%
Kenanga Growth Fund - 13.5%
Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Target Return Fund - 9%
Manulife Investment - India Equity Fund - 9%
PB Islamic Equity Fund - 9%

infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 08:14 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 17 2015, 08:05 PM)
With so many posting their portfolio asking for opinion...

Rather than giving opinion which may or may not be helpful, I'm gonna teach u guys how to really see how your portfolio looks like...

Go download the latest fact sheet of your funds
Then see what are the countries/sectors/asset classes that it invests in

E.g. CIMB Global Titans as at Nov-14 fact sheet has 51.8% in US, 35.7% in Europe, 11.8% in Japan and the remainder in Cash. U have RM10,000 worth of holdings in CIMB Global Titans.  Your total portfolio is RM50,000.

Thus, RM10,000/RM50,000 x 51.8% is exposed to US

Do this for the other funds.

Then u can construct a picture of the allocation of your portfolio.

U don't have to do it 100% the way I did it, improvise and find a way which suits u.

Attached is mine:
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 17 2015, 09:01 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(mark_hew @ Jan 17 2015, 08:31 PM)
You guys can try using morning star. URL as followed.

http://my.morningstar.com/ap/main/default.aspx

Sign up, create a portfolio, put in your holdings and it has a button to "X-ray" your portfolio and see how it compares to benchmark.
This is a good site thumbup.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 18 2015, 12:39 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 18 2015, 12:19 AM)
hmm.gif Total % = 76.5% only. Balance ?
Took it from my excel sheet which consist of my total portfolio of other investments as well such as gold, FD laugh.gif

infernoaswen
post Jan 23 2015, 01:52 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 22 2015, 02:36 PM)
any funds heavy weighted on O&G counters?

As far as i've researched, it's only AMCOMMODITIES EQUITY. or is there other funds that i've missed out?
Come join the ride with me laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 23 2015, 11:26 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Kenanga Growth Fund is recovering a bit, now its at -2.33% in my portfolio doh.gif
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund not bad wor, might consider topping up more end of this month to enjoy the 1% SC laugh.gif
Manulife Investment - India Equity Fund - This I have nothing to say shocking.gif

infernoaswen
post Jan 26 2015, 01:18 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Is there a way to categorized it by year? E.g I keep filling the excel up until next year but I want to know how much I gain for last year, this year & end of next year instead of the whole portfolio hmm.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 26 2015, 10:35 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2015, 10:33 PM)
Interesting from CIMB Asia Pac Dynamite Income Ponzi 2.0 Dec-14 fact sheet:
Definitely topping up this fund once my salary is in rclxms.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 28 2015, 01:27 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 27 2015, 11:22 PM)
Released v1.4, can be downloaded via clicking here. This will be the last major update for a while (except critical bug fixes) 

Change log:
p/s: as usual, let me know if spotted any errors ya blush.gif
p/s#2: If you're already existing user of v1.3, there's no "fully automate" way to copy&paste into new template; but what you can do is, utilize the "uber-many-rows-fund" i have prepared in new template; copy those fund values (i.e. all those Negative Transaction Amounts for Fund A) and paste it in those detail rows , then copy the date and paste, and SC% then paste, then manual adjustment then paste.. (MAKE SURE YOU PASTE AS VALUES ONLY!!!!!)
i know it's quite anal for each and every update you'll have to re-enter the details sweat.gif
But I'm looking into how to improve mass-copy-paste data from FSM so less works are required (although you'll still need some basic works to PREPARE the placeholders and create enough rows to "hold" those values....)
notworthy.gif

KNOWN BUG (minor): In subtotal's line, check the date, make sure it's showing today's date with the formula
CODE
=TODAY()

Some of the rows have wrong fixed date (i.e. 2014) which may give you some wrong IRR values (was doing some IRR testing, forgot to change it back).

I've updated the version in dropbox to rectify it.
Thanks man, was about to update my excel with the latest fund nav anyways biggrin.gif

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 27 2015, 11:39 PM)
it's ok tongue.gif
I think i am the only one keying in all the past 3 times tongue.gif
Started last year. dun have that much to key in thou..  laugh.gif

Thx Polar!
Same here. I only have very few funds with very little transaction. I started even later than you tongue.gif

QUOTE(Jeck10 @ Jan 28 2015, 01:08 AM)
Thanks guys for the replies, really appreciate. smile.gif still considering when to open it, still trying to learn more deeper before I open the acc..
You can always open the account first & buy funds later on. I opened mine like few months ago & only started purchasing when they had the SC promo laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Jan 30 2015, 03:15 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Jeck10 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:57 PM)
Ah I see, thought need to fund the account when opening haha😅 btw what's the average age are you guys sifu here? If don't mind😁
Nope no need, I started at 22. Youngest would be woon I guess laugh.gif You can even open account & put your money in CMF first to enjoy the 3.75% while studying which funds to buy. If you ask me at the scale of 1 - 5, how good is my UT knowledge I think its probably around 2? laugh.gif lurking around this thread every night helps to gain more knowledge.

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 29 2015, 03:00 PM)
started ma... not now...tongue.gif
hmm.gif

QUOTE(Jeck10 @ Jan 29 2015, 09:24 PM)
And what are the average returns we can make? Do I need to know a lot to get like 10% annually?
Just like any other investments, everything has risks. Equity funds can give you high returns but it can make you lose a lot as well. You will need to diversify it, use the excel file to key in the fund allocation, that helps I guess lol. It all depends on your risk appetite

E.g I bought some india equity funds last year dec, as of today my IRR is 427.39% but the KGF that I bought last year nov IRR is at -8.07%. So as you can see you can lose/gain a lot.
infernoaswen
post Jan 30 2015, 03:57 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 30 2015, 03:31 AM)
hmm.gif pls reconfirm %  notworthy.gif
Use the FSM fund returns function for a quicker analysis...
goto FUNDS INFO, then FUND RETURNS, then select the fund name, key in date to compute....
I was referring to IRR. If you want to compare % returns then its 16.32 %.

0.0494sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:04 AM