Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 10:37 AM

150 posts

Hello everyone, i'm new in fund investment. I came across this nice forum and was any experts out there have any advice in my portfolio. The following are my portfolio (have invested around 5 months):
1) Kenanga Growth Fund (53%)
2) CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund (39%)
3) Eastpring Investments Small-Cap (8%)

So far I'm quite pleased with CIMB and KGF fund, though KGF fund can be very volatile ie during times of OnG crash, it went to as low as 0.93 and i missed the chance to top up during that time:( any advice where i can add in more? I'm looking for aggressive, at least 10% return per annum. would greatly appreciate advice on this. Thanks:)
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 01:33 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 27 2015, 10:42 AM)
U need some Developed Markets exposure

and, "at least 10% return per annum"...that is not realistic. U need to adjust your expectations. Do not be spoiled by spectacular gains of recent years. It's not sustainable.
i see, thanks for the advice. what sort of returns should i be targeting that may seem sustainable?
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 01:34 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 27 2015, 10:41 AM)
Beli lah SenSEX a.k.a Manulife India Equity Fund..  brows.gif  brows.gif
3 month sudah 14%..
i see, indeed india is one of the booming markets now, will take a look at that. Thanks:)
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 01:36 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 27 2015, 10:45 AM)
Aberdeen Islamic World also can
CIMB global titan? but i thought US markets are now considered expensive? will take a look at both of them. thanks:)
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 01:43 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 27 2015, 11:24 AM)
hmm.gif may i know why you "missed".....
hope is is NOT panic....because both your KGF and EISCap is 61% of yr portfolio and BOTH of them down 10 % at the same time....
from an FSM article...
It is not only important to understand the risks of the investments you are looking at, but also to understand your personal risk appetite. Sometimes, it is not a matter of what kind of risks you want to take, but a matter of what kind of risks you can take given the circumstances that you are currently in. And the best way to do it is to assess your actual experience in investing.

For instance, you might have thought that you are an aggressive investor who can cope with a high level of risk based on the results of the risk profiling test. However, in practice, if you find that you always panic too soon every time the market dips, and get overly euphoric and pump in more money whenever markets are on a roll, then high-risk investments are not so suitable for you because they are likely to cause you to lose money.
Thanks for the extract, very insightful. Nope it's not panic, i just sat there and watch as my goal is 3-5 years and what i meant by missed is that i got greedy and wanted to top up more eg as the price reduce, put in little by little to average out the risk with the bottom of 0.99 as threshold but i got worried as i don't have much experience investing in funds...but it was great experience ...i'm trying to cultivate the opposite of the crowd mentality, when people are fearful, you be greedy...guess it didn't work out for now:P
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 01:45 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 27 2015, 01:39 PM)
Matching or around EPF dividend rate (5-7% p.a.) would be more realistic.

Aim lower and u might be surprised on the upside.

Aim too high and risk getting disappointed and giving up and/or expose yourself to too much risk.
Developed Markets are called Developed Markets for a reason...

World-class companies are located there...
Better corporate governance...
More transparent reporting...
Better rule of law...

And if u have been observing long enough, when markets fall...Asia and Emerging Markets will fall in tandem with Developed Markets, if not fall more.
woah, thanks for sharing your experience, much appreciated. will try and grab them before the offer ends smile.gif
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 02:28 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 27 2015, 01:57 PM)
you gained the short experience about how yr emotion, greed, joy and curse of making and not making the investment call.... rclxms.gif

hahaha this is so true, can't get any better accurate description than this... thumbup.gif
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 03:52 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 27 2015, 02:33 PM)
Keep #2 and choose either #1 or #3, but not both. Discard the other. I prefer to keep #3.

Xuzen.

p/s Why should you listen to me? Coz I am an expert in crystal ball gazing.
Thanks for your advice, would like to understand the logic behind discarding #1 or #3? Btw, KGF is no good anymore? trying to learn how you experts think and invest; which is essentially the crystal ball gazing skill that you have.

This post has been edited by Celestine: Feb 27 2015, 03:53 PM
Celestine
post Feb 27 2015, 05:25 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 27 2015, 04:01 PM)
I am happy you asked and I am happy to answer:

CIMB Asia-Pac Dynamic Income Fund aka Ponzi ver 2.0 amongst long time forummers here has the best risk-adjusted return. Hence keep it.

KGF and Small-Cap are essentially invested into the same market and they both have a correlation coefficient of 0.8 which is the numerical/mathematical way of saying you are invested in the same market. 1 is the max value. 

KGF's Corr-coeff vs Ponzi is 0.60 whereas Small cap Corr-coeff with Ponzi 2.0 is 0.54.

To be a logical investor, you need to choose the component of your portfolio to have low Corr-coeff with each other, hence choose small-cap with Ponzi 2.0.

Now you ask me, how I get to have access to all these data?

I told you, I have a crystal ball.

Xuzen
Wow, that's awesome, thanks for sharing your thoughts, learnt something new. So basically within a portfolio, to be considered logical, one would need low Correlation between the funds within one's own portfolio. that's a pretty awesome technical perspective there:)

Found a link for the benefit of those who would like to know more:
Link 1
Link 2

I'm not gonna ask where/how you get access to the data but am grateful that you're sharing your expert insight;) instead i'm gonna ask this, should one completely diversify one's portfolio completely (look at link 1's umbrella-sunscreen graph) - somehow (from a newbie point of view) it seems like the philosophy of risk mitigation by means of diversification contradicts the aggressive investor nature (assuming the investor is categorized as this). could you enlighten us on your view on this? much appreciated:)

0.0448sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:56 AM