17 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2015, 05:01 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Feb 3 2015, 04:54 PM)
Climb climb just a few post before.
rclxms.gif wow, you spotted his posting....missed it under all this avatar things.
Pity him...have to read back some postings....Thaipusum day....
Ponzi 1.0 Affinhwang Select Asia Quantum fund
Ponzi 2.0 Cimb Pricipal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income fund
SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2015, 10:13 PM

8,188 posts

rclxms.gif notworthy.gif woonsc and polarzbearz
thank you.

SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2015, 11:17 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(wan_109 @ Feb 3 2015, 10:56 PM)
Thank you very much for your swift reply.

I'm currently targeting 3 unit trusts, namely Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund, Eastsprings Dana Investment al-Ilham and Aberdeen Islamic World Equity Fund - Class A.

Currently I'm leaning towards Eastsprings. Would you guys think that would be a good choice?

Thanks again.
while waiting for more value able replies.....
hmm.gif
Unknown to your % of allocation into the 3 funds with your investable monies? Kenanga & eastspring both are focused in heavy M'sia equities....am I right?
IF they are 1/3 each....then you are 60% malaysia focused, and 8% in US and 14% in Europe...
do you want a more diversified portfolio?
if you want try download the Polarzbearz portfolio summary file in post#1, then READ the instructions before key in the details to see where is the allocation goes to in your portfolio.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2015, 11:29 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 3 2015, 11:26 PM)
laugh.gif  u used the allocation yourself? no problem??  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I am now about 38% in m'sia
if used the above allocation for the past few years...good rewards....
but if used it in 2014...with M'sia being the worst under performing mkts in Asia......then kena teruk lah.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2015, 11:37 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 3 2015, 11:30 PM)
haha yeah.. i invested 40% in MY last year  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Bloody red..

What i meant was u used the excel??
oh...I am still using my own not so perfect low level excel format....
still hesitate to really DARE to try out "polarzbearz"'s creation.
noob in that kind of higher level excel stuffs.
just like a "vir....." (Madonna song) touching that thing for the very 1st time...so exciting and scare of getting hurt and don't know what to do....
will have to try it someday....after learning how to insert the rows first.

SUSyklooi
post Feb 3 2015, 11:45 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 3 2015, 11:40 PM)
haha i googled and hear the song.. sooo old school..
tongue.gif
the allocation got a bit problem for me still.. but the IRR is nice~
vmad.gif mad.gif Old school for old people......she is like a goddess idol to some... wub.gif wub.gif blush.gif
tongue.gif biggrin.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 10:30 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 10:27 AM)
no no no bukan that..
the formular that calculates the percentage in portfolio..
to help polarz
what is the name of that worksheet?
location you already mention...
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 03:01 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 4 2015, 02:49 PM)
Can someone update me what's new in the spreadsheet ah? Like iPhone iOS update like that. Must say what's news one ma or fix what bug? Haha!
hmm.gif in the "Changelog" worksheet in the excel file.....got list down what has been changed.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 03:21 PM

8,188 posts

hmm.gif wouldn't it be nice IF inside the portfolio Summary worksheet....
can add 1 or 2 more charts that cater for Regions....
now can see by countries...cannot see by regions
Guess have to add in the existing worksheet the Charts required. hmm.gif

also,...in the investment detail worksheet just beside the current Profit/loss (RM)...would it be nicer to have Current Profit/loss in %...just before the IRR?

Btw,.... rclxm9.gif just managed to learn how to add in the rows in the Investment details worksheet.....not yet test whether any thing else needs to be added/modified to make the newly added rows "link able" to other required areas.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 4 2015, 03:42 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 06:04 PM

8,188 posts

woonsc...after i had inserted rowS and rowS into the "Investment details" and "Fund allocation" worksheets.
do i need to add in any linkages? like the formulas and others?
if yes, where & how?
icon_question.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 07:31 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 06:39 PM)
Erm.. when u press on the rows, do it have any formula?
FOr my Excel 2010, i need to insert blank rows into the funds..
Then i will.. erm.. how to say.. like select the top row ( with formula) then drag down using the small square at the bottom right..
when I clicked on the newly added rows....no formula....the old one has.
will try your method on the next version of the excel file.

SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 08:11 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 4 2015, 07:50 PM)
Regions chart is in my plan, but was pushed down to lowest priority due to other stuff laugh.gif

If you don't mind, maybe you can help me with tagging countries to regions; and how "specific" do we need to go on regions (i.e. ASEAN, xxx asia, etc) or just a simple ones like " Asia Pacific | European Union | Americas | Others" ?
hmm.gif pink and others...what is your suggestion?
I think make a charts that are "open"...which means users can opt to select or include the countries at their own fancy, and user can change the title of the grouping to their fancy too.
like for me,...I consider China and Japan as North Asia region...but some sifus say Japan should be under develop countries classification.
currently I have
M'sia
Asean
Asean x M'sia
North Asia
Europe, US, UK & others
BRI

mine (above) may NOT be correct....just that I liked that. icon_idea.gif

a good reference is follow MSCI

http://www.msci.com/products/indexes/

click at the MSCI country and regional indexes will list the countries covered
(for EM.....it has 3 regions)

for your ease of programming and to avoid dispute...follow the MSCI indexes is best. thumbup.gif
(group some countries into "others" as some countries are not in FSM funds...some have but the % allocated is very minimal to have impact to the overall portfolio)

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 4 2015, 08:26 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 08:22 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 08:18 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
OH no.. can i just clear content and copy the allocation only??
may I suggest that you don't do anything first...wait for the new version with added charts?
BUT in the meantime...try to PLAY around this Version 1.6 and try to detect bugs and provide improvement suggestion
notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 08:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 4 2015, 08:27 PM)
The new version with new chart etc. won't be out so fast laugh.gif

I wanna rest tongue.gif

For now I'll only focus on fixing bugs and make this version stable whistling.gif whistling.gif
doh.gif oh no....
that is soooo not you tongue.gif
yes, take some rest...
all users would appreciate your effort and work. notworthy.gif
20 hours REST should be ok right? laugh.gif rolleyes.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 08:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 08:36 PM)
oh my.. haha horrible boss spotted ;P
without him can happens meh? doh.gif

SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 08:45 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 4 2015, 08:40 PM)
20 hours mana cukup. at least 1 month whistling.gif (except got bugs lar)
thumbup.gif ok-lah.....those who know some basic excel can do charts
if they know how to do chart...they can just add into your worksheet the charts, to display the data required.

but ...just so incomplete....
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 10:58 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 10:33 PM)
Ur spreadsheet need tambah ROI too~
hahaha  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
doh.gif WHAT? the excel file got no ROI?
ROI for each fund, IRR for each fund
ROI for the portfolio, IRR for the portfolio.
what about XIRR? is it same as IRR?
SUSyklooi
post Feb 4 2015, 11:17 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 11:12 PM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
don't tipu tipu rclxub.gif laugh.gif
you can add into the excel file the ROI.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 5 2015, 07:42 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Feb 4 2015, 10:33 PM)
IRR  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Ur spreadsheet need tambah ROI too~
hahaha  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
just like quoted by
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 4 2015, 09:45 PM)
my portfolio ROI & IRR macam super-inflated and fake one, because of short term
ROI for Manulife India is at best 60% unless sell buy sell buy sell buy

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 5 2015, 07:48 AM

SUSyklooi
post Feb 5 2015, 01:35 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 5 2015, 01:16 PM)
You can easily customize the spreadsheet tongue.gif
That's the reason I didn't password protect those worksheets and open it for everyone to edit; I only password protect the "CHANGELOGS" to prevent frauds laugh.gif

but like pink spider said, calculating is ROI is very tricky - how you define "Cost of Investment"? do you include funds received from selling the units OR should you exclude them? it's not as straightforward to calculate ROI as compared to ROI for other stuff -i.e. one time purchase, then sell it off at a go

an example would be:

Invest RM1000, zero service charge, NAV at RM0.50; total holdings 2000 units; current portfolio value = RM0.50 x 2000 = RM1000

Sell 1000 units at RM0.55 NAV, gained RM550 from it (actual profit = RM50); current portfolio value = RM0.55 x 1000 = RM550 (another paper profit of RM50); total profit = RM100

so RM100 / RM1000? or RM100 / RM500? technically speaking your current investment is only RM500, since you cashed out the another half already.
I might be wrong tho notworthy.gif
hmm.gif i was thinking of adding into the excel file ROI
ROI of each fund.....Cost of purchase vs current cost of the fund
ROI of portfolio.....Total cost invested vs current cost available
Simple BUT not sure if that is correct...
notworthy.gif unsure.gif icon_question.gif

17 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:45 PM