QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 24 2015, 11:24 AM)
red is fun to poke, eh? Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!
Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!
Jan 24 2015, 11:25 AM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Jan 24 2015, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 24 2015, 11:29 AM) :noted: Coming back to dividend (@unker looi, don't start your theory again pleasee Actually u don't even need to put NAV price for the reinvested distributions. In fact, if u like to keep track of AVERAGE COST, putting NAV price might even mess it up.How do you handle it in the transaction? From your sample excel, the way I understand for Dividend transaction in excel is: Add X units worth of the fund, distributed by them, at current NAV price. Which NAV price will GO DOWN as they distribute the dividends, bringing your total Current Portfolio Value to maintain the same, right? Just manually insert the units received. Let me paint u a scenario... Let's say Fund ABC distributes dividend on 23-Jan-2015. The dividend is reinvested on the same day. And the share market for some funny reasons, was suspended that day. So, share prices all unchanged from 22-Jan-2015 closing prices. Thus, the AGGREGATE VALUE for Fund ABC's holdings would remain the same as the previous day Fund TOTAL assets (means total units in circulation x NAV price) unchanged, betul? So, assuming RM1.0000 NAV on 22-Jan-2015 Distribution 10 sen per unit held U hold 1000 units, thus total holding RM1,000 On 23-Jan-2015 NAV would go down to RM0.9000 U get 1,000 units x 10 sen / RM0.9000 = 111.11 units You now hold 1,111.11 units Holding value: 1,111.11 x RM0.9000 = RM1,000.00 Then when u update 23-Jan-2015 NAV price AND insert your additional units received, u get back the same portfolio value Unker Looi start again, we take baseball bat steering lock wallop him This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 24 2015, 11:40 AM |
Jan 24 2015, 11:46 AM
Jan 24 2015, 12:51 PM
Walaoeh
semakin canggih liao |
Jan 24 2015, 12:56 PM
Jan 25 2015, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 12:26 AM) after changing the -1.26 into a detail switch buy/buy row, this manual adj works. When u switch out (all units) of Fund A and make a profit of RM1K, it will be recorded as a profit for Fund A (forever).another point to raise...how do i add in the total profit/loss amount for the funds that i've switched out over the years? for eg i switched from fund A to fund B and make a profit of RM1000. how do i add this profit of RM1000 into the portfolio profit? Let's say total switched out from Fund A is RM11K... RM11K becomes your cost for Fund B, zero profit. And the RM1K profit from Fund A is locked as PORTFOLIO profit. |
Jan 25 2015, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 24 2015, 09:20 PM) i'm referring to Line 5 in the section How to add new row in the Instructions worksheet. polarzbearz if u are doing it right, there shouldn't be ANY rounding difference at all.I'm compiling the historical data for Cash Management Fund based on the historical record in FSM into your xls file and i found a discrepancy of 1.26 unit/-RM 1.5. I've compared the number of lines/number of units/unit price in FSM and the data i entered into xls file and they match each other. no idea where does this 1.26 unit difference is coming from I also started my worksheet halfway, i.e. I created my worksheet, and then copy and paste all transactions from FSM's historical transactions. My units is exactly the same as FSM summary. Maybe it's best that jutamind share his historical data with polarzbearz and let him do some testing? |
Jan 25 2015, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 11:38 AM) the only drawback for this method is that you will see all your old funds in the single worksheet which is kind of messy if you switch funds over the years. Excel got 2 functions called "hide" and "grouping" Normally I list my funds in alphabetical order. After I've fully switched out from a fund, I'd move it from my "current holdings" list to "disposed holdings" list, and then group them all together and hide it, under 1 header - "disposed holdings" so that should I need to refer back any time, it's just a click away. QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 11:36 AM) pinkspider, how big is your data size? for me, my CMF is over 100 buy/sell transactions over the years. I think u can't match mine for volume *check check* 274! |
Jan 25 2015, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 12:10 PM) yup, i think the next version should have a Switch Out worksheet (with the instructions how to do so) so that we can move those funds that has been switch out, but we need to bring the profit/loss from this Switch Out worksheet to the Investment Details worksheet. For now, i will just hardcode the profit amount into the Profit/Loss field in addition to the existing Profit/Loss formula. Err...U cannot move the switched out funds to another worksheet, cos it will mess up your portfolio IRR calculation. In order to calculate portfolio IRR, u need ALL transactions from Day 1 to-date in one place, on the same columns. What u can do is to reorganise, group and hide. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 25 2015, 12:16 PM |
Jan 25 2015, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 12:29 PM) ok thanks for the feedback. Aiyo, I'm on mobile, don't have polarzbearz's worksheet with me. I dunno what is column what and what for historical funds, i just want to put it as the last detail row in the table as Sell transaction and put in column E -1000 (for the profit i had over the years over many funds) and the Price of RM 1. for the last total row in the table, i put Current Value: RM0 (c0lumn F) so that column H will become -1000. Column M (Profit/Loss) will become RM1000. is this the correct way to ensure IRR, entrance value, portfolio value, and summarized profit/loss are correct? Just bear this in mind... In order to have the correct portfolio IRR, u need EACH AND EVERY HISTORICAL TRANSACTIONS (the individual transaction value + date)! U can hide the rows, but u cannot delete ANY row. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 25 2015, 12:33 PM |
Jan 25 2015, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 12:33 PM) Wanna be lazy try tipu u also susah Nah, here's how I treat disposed funds (see attached screenshot) 1. All the historical transactions are still there <- this is an ABSOLUTE MUST! 2. Last "summary" row for the fund, "total units" cell is zero because I've fully switched out 3. No more date, no more amount. 4. XIRR for that fund, covers rows 438 to 446 5. Profit/(loss) for that fund, also covers rows 438 to 446 I kept this fund's transactions totally hidden away from sight, but they're all there, covered by portfolio XIRR calculation and profit/(loss) calculation. U cannot just keep 1 row with the profit/(loss) from that fund, portfolio XIRR calculation needs each and every transaction details (value + date). This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 25 2015, 12:51 PM |
Jan 25 2015, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 25 2015, 01:41 PM) Or, u could chose to omit transactions from a galaxy far far away...u got Public Mutual transactions too? Or your UTs are all with FSM?If FSM only, u could just copy and pasta everything from FSM historical transactions listing. |
Jan 25 2015, 03:05 PM
Jan 25 2015, 05:15 PM
Jan 25 2015, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(TakoC @ Jan 25 2015, 05:42 PM) This thread lately new wind direction. All so technical. Must discuss about regional exposure, moving forward in FY15 strategy and stuff also la. Those more value adding - where you invest, what you invest make you money If dunno analyse profits, profits lower than FD rates, might as well dump all UTs and park in FD |
Jan 25 2015, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(David900924 @ Jan 25 2015, 09:34 PM) Hmm i tot fsm website and ios app already show %profit/loss? What was missing from it? Curious to know. I don't wanna answer u directly, give u an example...Mr A invested since 2008...his profit is 20% Mr X invested since 1998...his profit is 22% Whose portfolio is more profitable? And by how much extent? |
Jan 26 2015, 10:02 AM
LOL
I kesian polarzbearz |
Jan 26 2015, 05:58 PM
Jan 26 2015, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 26 2015, 07:14 PM) Actually who's iFast? I'm like you also, was skeptical with fsm and I'm still worried, what happens to me investment if suddenly one day fsm / iFast close shop? Altho it's highly unlikely but still scared iFast Singapore under Singapore Press groupiFast Malaysia is affiliate/associate of RHB Group U can go see RHB Bank Berhad annual report under Group Structure chart |
Jan 26 2015, 10:33 PM
Interesting from CIMB Asia Pac Dynamite Income Ponzi 2.0 Dec-14 fact sheet:
QUOTE The fund has no exposure in Malaysia, Thailand and Philippines. For Malaysia, weak oil price is not beneficial to the country. Bond yield is expected to move up and currency to weaken for these three countries. http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/fund_pdf/...und_MYR_FFS.pdf This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 26 2015, 11:34 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0519sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:05 PM |