125 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

adele123
post Jan 6 2015, 01:47 PM

4,724 posts

Just wondering (especially the regulars), the fair next saturday... is it remotely informative or waste of time and vague outlook by fund managers?

SUSPink Spider
post Jan 6 2015, 02:14 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 6 2015, 01:47 PM)
Just wondering (especially the regulars), the fair next saturday... is it remotely informative or waste of time and vague outlook by fund managers?
My feeling is, if u have been following FSM's articles on their website, basically nothing much new to take from their talks.
xuzen
post Jan 6 2015, 02:27 PM

4,436 posts

My feeling is if you read and follow their article all this while, you too can speak and talk like a fund manager wink.gif

Xuzen
river.sand
post Jan 6 2015, 02:47 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 6 2015, 02:14 PM)
wanna ask... do unit trust have lot size like stocks blush.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 6 2015, 02:48 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 6 2015, 02:47 PM)
wanna ask... do unit trust have lot size like stocks  blush.gif
u trolling? hmm.gif

UT...u cannot buy based on the published price, which is at least 1 business day behind - HISTORICAL PRICING

we buy and sell in RM or units

aurora97
post Jan 6 2015, 04:01 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 6 2015, 02:48 PM)
u trolling? hmm.gif

UT...u cannot buy based on the published price, which is at least 1 business day behind - HISTORICAL PRICING

we buy and sell in RM or units
Can just that such funds are rare. Normally money market funds.
nexona88
post Jan 6 2015, 04:05 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,426 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jan 6 2015, 04:01 PM)
Can just that such funds are rare. Normally money market funds.
such as? can give example hmm.gif
aurora97
post Jan 6 2015, 04:34 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 6 2015, 04:05 PM)
such as? can give example  hmm.gif
Why historical, it’s probably the Fund’s underlying instrument consist of fixed published rates (overnight rate or fixed deposit or savings/current account). The change is so infrequent that it would not be practical to do forward pricing, more work for back office. NAV will probably remain constant most of the time.

Who would invest in UT that gives fixed return with such petty rates!? Well, don’t be surprised, there are actually companies willing to subscribe to such Funds. I believe they are called Cash Management Solutions. This corporate intend to squeeze the living juice out of their investment and make every dollar and cent work very hard. Wouldn’t make much different when your talking about 1million but the amount increases exponentially when it reaches 10m 100m and so on.

It pays slightly higher rates as opposed to keeping monies in a commercial bank i.e. savings/current. The main attraction is such income are non-taxable or exempt.

To add, normally this monies are operating expenditures require for day to day business, IPO proceeds or monies that are idle (which has not been allocated for any specific purpose), the other key reason why CMS is opted for because prices are pre-determined monies can be moved in and out of the funds with ease. Generally, the Client would expect to receive their monies next business day subject to cut-off times. This cannot be achieved by funds that are forward priced.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jan 6 2015, 04:42 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 6 2015, 04:39 PM

16,872 posts

Seems like lost communication here doh.gif
aurora97
post Jan 6 2015, 05:20 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 6 2015, 04:39 PM)
Seems like lost communication here doh.gif
No miscommunication. I did highlight in bold the subject of interest.

Btw, isn't funds forward priced?
nexona88
post Jan 6 2015, 06:10 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,426 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jan 6 2015, 04:34 PM)
Why historical, it’s probably the Fund’s underlying instrument consist of fixed published rates (overnight rate or fixed deposit or savings/current account). The change is so infrequent that it would not be practical to do forward pricing, more work for back office. NAV will probably remain constant most of the time.

Who would invest in UT that gives fixed return with such petty rates!? Well, don’t be surprised, there are actually companies willing to subscribe to such Funds. I believe they are called Cash Management Solutions. This corporate intend to squeeze the living juice out of their investment and make every dollar and cent work very hard. Wouldn’t make much different when your talking about 1million but the amount increases exponentially when it reaches 10m 100m and so on.

It pays slightly higher rates as opposed to keeping monies in a commercial bank i.e. savings/current. The main attraction is such  income are non-taxable or exempt.

To add, normally this monies are operating expenditures require for day to day business, IPO proceeds or monies that are idle (which has not been allocated for any specific purpose), the other key reason why CMS is opted for because prices are pre-determined monies can be moved in and out of the funds with ease. Generally, the Client would expect to receive their monies next business day subject to cut-off times. This cannot be achieved by funds that are forward priced.
thanks for the long explanation rclxms.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 6 2015, 06:19 PM

16,872 posts

Just my wrong choice of term; yeah UTs are forward priced save for the exception for some money market funds e.g. RHB-OSK Cash Management Fund 2.

The key point I was trying to convey was, don't bother about NAV price or number of units that u gonna get, it just ain't important at all. As long as your

RM / NAV = units

is correct, ok liao.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 6 2015, 07:16 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 6 2015, 01:47 PM)
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 6 2015, 02:14 PM)
My feeling is, if u have been following FSM's articles on their website, basically nothing much new to take from their talks.
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 6 2015, 02:27 PM)
My feeling is if you read and follow their article all this while, you too can speak and talk like a fund manager wink.gif

Xuzen
Asia ex Japan talk whistling.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 6 2015, 07:21 PM

52,874 posts

Both WTI and Brent crude drops > 2% at the time of posting:

WTI: 48.XX (below 50)
Brent: 51.XX (nearing 51)
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2015, 07:50 PM

8,259 posts

Looks bad on my portfolio...

IRR 3.47%
SUSyklooi
post Jan 6 2015, 07:54 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 6 2015, 07:50 PM)

IRR 3.47%
rclxms.gif well at least better than FD and still + and better than some people... notworthy.gif hmm.gif

SUSDavid83
post Jan 6 2015, 07:59 PM

52,874 posts

IRR 3.47%
Mine dropped to 2.7% as of today valuation!

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 6 2015, 08:06 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 6 2015, 08:15 PM

16,872 posts

IRR 3.47%
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 6 2015, 07:59 PM)
Mine dropped to 2.7% as of today valuation!
My IRR now...5.14%

Wait, your IRR include or exclude CMF? If include CMF...mine 4.25%

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 6 2015, 08:18 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2015, 08:41 PM

8,259 posts

Not include CMF..

My peak IRR was like almost 6%.. It has drop quite significantly
SUSDavid83
post Jan 6 2015, 08:44 PM