Teeth braces, for the perfect smile

shepherddream
post Jan 19 2015, 03:24 PM

35 posts

i have done xray and mold. Just extracted one teeth 2 days ago. Still 2 teeth have to extracted in next appointment plus install a screw in upper jaw..... the dentist never ask me which kind of braces i choose and the price. No consultation at all.....

This post has been edited by shepherddream: Jan 19 2015, 03:25 PM
shepherddream
post Jan 19 2015, 03:50 PM

35 posts

Anyone have damon braces and at the same time how many tooth has been extracted? i read from damon website it said no extraction needed. but still in malaysia i heard lot of people need extraction with damon braces
shepherddream
post Jan 21 2015, 03:54 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Jan 20 2015, 11:40 PM)
I usually purchase from Berjaya Times Square but I have also seen it in Publika Caring Pharmacy... not sure about other outlets...
Their marketing is just that good... =P If you read foreign forums dedicated to braces... there is a lot more feedback on it and you will find that a lot of Damon's claims on their website is pretty over-hyped... cause at the end of the day damon is a brand of braces like colgate is a brand of toothpaste...
Now i wonder should i go for Damon braces or traditional braces? since if both required same number of tooth extraction. Anyone can advice?

shepherddream
post Jan 26 2015, 10:12 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Jan 24 2015, 09:07 PM)
Don't think there is much of a difference, some people say that self ligating (Damon is a type of this braces) braces are less painful... I have this type but have not tried traditional braces so I can't attest to the claim. Just pick an ortho which you like and are comfortable with because what you want is the skills of the doctor not what type of braces he uses... After all it is just a tool to straighten teeth. pick one and get started! smile.gif

Btw I just found out that Jaya Grocer in Intermark also sells oral b ortho tooth brushes.
is damon really less painful? how u feel after put on damon braces? becoz damon vs traditional around 3k different in terms of cost. so i'm thinking want choose which one.

shepherddream
post Jan 27 2015, 09:44 AM

35 posts

already extracted one teeth, this thursday will extract another 2 plus install a button on upper jaw..... but the dentist never ask me want to put which kind of braces, wondering will they ask?
shepherddream
post Jan 30 2015, 10:22 PM

35 posts

because i have overbite rabbit teeth, dentist suggest i take damon better. Just now i did floss to my teeth accidently fall out a rubber spacer / separator. should i go back dentist to get for replacement ? or should i just ignore it.... the rubber spacer is to make space prior to put metal bracket band
shepherddream
post Feb 2 2015, 05:59 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Feb 1 2015, 12:08 AM)
It came out because u flossed? If yes then get it replaced if not, it just means there is enough space already...
yes it come out when i did floss. However i'm lazy to visit dentist to get replaced. Since i'm going to put on braces next week tongue.gif
shepherddream
post Feb 2 2015, 06:00 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 2 2015, 11:54 AM)
Hi all, recently I just finished removing all 4 wisdom teeth... Now I plan to have my teeth bracer. I went to two dental clinic, both gave me totally two different advice.

1) Dentist A told me that I do not need to remove any tooth during the bracer. And I just need to grind 0.5mm on each teeth on top and it should be fine. He told me that I just need to wear it for 9 months.

2) Dentist B told me that I need to remove total of 4 teeth in order to do the bracer, and grinding is not necessary. She told me I need to wear it for 2 years at least.

So now both dentist perceptives are totally different... And I do not have time left for the other one....Anyone has any suggestion or feedback after reading this? Thanks.
I ever heard grind teeth not good for teeth. I remove 3 teeth before put on braces. coz my teeth is quite crowded

shepherddream
post Feb 4 2015, 11:09 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 3 2015, 04:26 PM)
Actually, the only thing I worry is.... Those are good teeth, if they remove it, will it have any impact in the future or not. Cause usually people have like standard number of teeth... Removing those are like..... stabbing knife to myself....haha

I have gone through the bad days during wisdom teeth removal and suffer nerves numb for 4 months. I don't have issue in removing the 4 teeth. I just worry those are good teeth.. Maybe someone can enlighten me or educate me in regards on these good teeth removal? Thanks. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I have removed 3 teeth. Actually suppose during teenage time i should go do braces, but when i heard dentist want to remove 4 teeth (good teeth, feel wasted), i have decided not to do braces anymore. Until now age 30++ i found out my rabbit teeth moving more out. So i got no choice but decided to do braces recently. I have overbite problem and my lower teeth is mess (in in out out) hard to clean also. Dentist said no matter i use damon braces or not i have to remove some teeth. so ok, i go for it, lucky the remove teeth process is not pain (little pain) only and recovery time is short and well. I'm glad with my decision, previously was affraid of extraction pain so not dare to do braces. Now i regretted i'm too late to do ah. I should have done b4 i married smile.gif

Removing teeth is to free up some space for ur teeth to get aligned

This post has been edited by shepherddream: Feb 4 2015, 11:26 AM
shepherddream
post Feb 6 2015, 09:39 AM

35 posts

recently i ask traditional around 5k++, damon around 8k++. they are going to put braces for me next week (can't wait for it)
shepherddream
post Feb 6 2015, 04:59 PM

35 posts

Day 1. cleaning teeth, Xray & Mold (upper and lower) - RM390
Day 2. extract 1 teeth & put rubber spacer for back teeth - RM400
Day 3. extract 2 teeth & put metal braket for lower back teeth - RM700 (including RM500 deposit)

so far i have done the following and have paid total RM1490 for all these. I have not yet have my braces on, next week will put damon braces it cost me 7k. The 2nd appointment which cost RM400 make me wondering what they charged, when i ask the nurse said RM300 is for the rubber spacer. i thought it is included in braces cost....

May i know is the price reasonable?

This post has been edited by shepherddream: Feb 6 2015, 05:01 PM
shepherddream
post Feb 7 2015, 11:30 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Feb 6 2015, 11:14 PM)
I think you better get a breakdown for the RM 7,000.00 . Or else they will simply charge you. Haha, you better ask them whether this RM 7k include the de-bonding. Mine damon cost me RM 6,800.00 3 year back, and it does not include the de-bonding cost. (the Rm 7K should exclude those extraction of teeth)

I thought normally the doctor will ask the patient to pay like RM 2,000.00 first, then subsequently when you visit the doctor you can pay it by instalment. Not this???
They ask me pay half 3.5k first. But i not yet do braces already spend RM1490. maybe i should ask the dentist next appointment as they didn't give me consultation at all, no chance for me to talk just straight extract teeth liao

shepherddream
post Feb 7 2015, 02:03 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Feb 7 2015, 12:27 PM)
From what I know, you have the right to insist of not extracting the teeth for braces. But the doctor will tell you that, he/she will try the best to make your teeth aligned and in the future if your teeth is realigned or out of shape then you can't blame them for that.
What clinic is that. No consultation? The first day after your x ray session , the doctor did not explain or review the mold to you. That odd, no sign any agreement?
need sign agreement? they review the mold but did not explain clearly. just said will extract 3 teeth. the dentist clinic always full of crowd, so did not explain tat much
shepherddream
post Feb 9 2015, 10:43 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Feb 7 2015, 06:30 PM)
I think you should ask the dentist for a detailed breakdown and all the extra costs which he will/might charge... And ask if there are charges for breakages while you are at it... I certainly did not pay for spacers... Let alone rm300 for it x.x
I didn't sign any agreement though... sweat.gif
Actually Day 3 when they extracting another 2 teeth, they actually do mold again for upper teeth. i dunno whether the mould charge, but also can't be 300 bah. Ya i doubt for the extra 300 i paid in Day 2. i will try ask the dentist
shepherddream
post Feb 11 2015, 05:18 PM

35 posts

today ask them, they said 300 is one of the deposit also. now officially put on damon braces with arch bar at upper jaw. but due to my lower teeth keep bite the metal arch, they put two "hard cream" on lower teeth molar, which make me hard to chew food. this CNY no need eat already....
shepherddream
post Mar 4 2015, 09:33 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Mar 3 2015, 11:58 AM)
I'm going to have my teeth bracer installed next Monday. Yesterday I went to see dentist, and she explained to me about my situation now after the x-ray, and show me the estimated result through simulation.

1) I do not need to remove any tooth at this moment as there is gap everywhere between teeth, but she will monitor for 6 months first, and ask my opinion whether I am fine with the result or not. If not, then she will remove the wire and take out 4 teeth. But I saw the result before and after removing 4 teeth... Is really significant. It really make my mouth area push back.

2) Right now my teeth has separator in it. And it seems like she will use molar bands method to pull my teeth. She will choose the last teeth instead of second last is because she will need to have all tooth in position first.

3) She also explained to me that she might need to apply teeth bone nail after four teeth have been removed as simulation shows that my lower teeth will only show half of them if I smile, but she said is depend on me whether I'm perfectionist or not.

4) She always said after 2 years of bracer, she will apply some other thing such as cut the meat border around the teeth to make all of them to have even looking, also some of my teeth are in pointing shape, and she also said she will grind it to make all of them even.

She is patience in explaining everything to me.

So I only left a week for me to "spam" eating whatever things I want.... Definitely my first food is RAMLI BURGER!!!
ur dentist explain well and detail to u. my dentist didn't tell me anything nor about estimation of the braces period. about the teeth bone nail to correct the teeth gum and grinding teeth, i wonder will it affect teeth health or not. yap separator is to put molar bands. what type of braces u plan to put?

i just have my damon braces last month b4 cny, i did not have tighten feel at all since the first day until now. but cannot chewing food by front teeth, it will give strange weaken feeling
shepherddream
post Mar 6 2015, 12:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Mar 6 2015, 12:36 AM)
Don't worry the ability to chew with your front teeth will come back after a couple of months smile.gif don't remember how long exactly it took but I did eventually go back to biting into hamburgers and sandwiches XD
yap i miss hamburgers and the feel of tearing drumstick meat. hehe. between dentist put 2 biji of cement on my lower molar teeth to prevent lower bite upper, as my upper jaw install a nance appliance (worry it drop down after bite kena it). however i experiance a headache problem, which i grind teeth while sleeping everyday, the cement very fast to drop off when i grind teeth. can't even tahan for 1 month at all. it seem i grind teeth more often after put on braces. anyone experiance it?
shepherddream
post May 7 2015, 04:49 PM

35 posts

May i know which type of retainer is the best? transparent removable one or permanent steel behind teeth one? and how much it charge
shepherddream
post May 18 2015, 11:24 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(katejp @ May 16 2015, 11:43 PM)
i just done my consultation today at Signature dental clinic at kota damansara
they quote me rm7300 for metal braces(exclude extract,X-ray everything),is this normal or over-priced?
they are not using damon tho so I'm thinking is this a lil bit expensive coz as i know if use damon is around this price
consultation fee rm50 but can claim back if I'm going to do my braces there
but i can feel the dentist is very nice cos visiting dentist used to be my nightmare so i am very concern of whether the service comfortable to not 
anyone know any other good dentist in KD area?or kuchai lama area
metal braces is traditional or damon braces? coz damon braces got 2 types: metal and ceramic. i doing damon metal braces which cost me 7k (exclude xray, extraction and etc). it is better to choose a clinic that near to ur work place or home, as need to follow up often
shepherddream
post May 22 2015, 09:32 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(katejp @ May 20 2015, 03:52 PM)
its traditional for rm7300
now i think it's reli pricey,cos i ve consult another 2 dentists n they quote me about 7k+ with damon braces
7k for traditional braces no worth, better go for damon braces which give faster result and less pain

0.0640sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:47 AM