Teeth braces, for the perfect smile

nicky87
post Jan 24 2015, 09:07 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(shepherddream @ Jan 21 2015, 03:54 PM)
Now i wonder should i go for Damon braces or traditional braces? since if both required same number of tooth extraction. Anyone can advice?
Don't think there is much of a difference, some people say that self ligating (Damon is a type of this braces) braces are less painful... I have this type but have not tried traditional braces so I can't attest to the claim. Just pick an ortho which you like and are comfortable with because what you want is the skills of the doctor not what type of braces he uses... After all it is just a tool to straighten teeth. pick one and get started! smile.gif

Btw I just found out that Jaya Grocer in Intermark also sells oral b ortho tooth brushes.
nicky87
post Feb 1 2015, 12:08 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(shepherddream @ Jan 30 2015, 10:22 PM)
because i have overbite rabbit teeth, dentist suggest i take damon better. Just now i did floss to my teeth accidently fall out a rubber spacer / separator. should i go back dentist to get for replacement ? or should i just ignore it.... the rubber spacer is to make space prior to put metal bracket band
It came out because u flossed? If yes then get it replaced if not, it just means there is enough space already...
nicky87
post Feb 6 2015, 12:39 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 2 2015, 11:54 AM)
Hi all, recently I just finished removing all 4 wisdom teeth... Now I plan to have my teeth bracer. I went to two dental clinic, both gave me totally two different advice.

1) Dentist A told me that I do not need to remove any tooth during the bracer. And I just need to grind 0.5mm on each teeth on top and it should be fine. He told me that I just need to wear it for 9 months.

2) Dentist B told me that I need to remove total of 4 teeth in order to do the bracer, and grinding is not necessary. She told me I need to wear it for 2 years at least.

So now both dentist perceptives are totally different... And I do not have time left for the other one....Anyone has any suggestion or feedback after reading this? Thanks.
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 3 2015, 04:26 PM)
Actually, the only thing I worry is.... Those are good teeth, if they remove it, will it have any impact in the future or not. Cause usually people have like standard number of teeth... Removing those are like..... stabbing knife to myself....haha

I have gone through the bad days during wisdom teeth removal and suffer nerves numb for 4 months. I don't have issue in removing the 4 teeth. I just worry those are good teeth.. Maybe someone can enlighten me or educate me in regards on these good teeth removal? Thanks. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Wow that is two very different opinions! I can relate to the feeling of removing teeth... I was very happy to know I didn't need to remove that many teeth! But I guess sometimes if your teeth are really crowded then it becomes a necessity to remove teeth. If you are not comfortable with both opinions then I think you should make time for a third opinion.

QUOTE(crash29 @ Feb 5 2015, 03:58 PM)
Hi guys,

I wanted to get braces for my teeth. Been doing some research but most of the post are like 5 to 10 years old. Straight to the point:

1. How much is it going to cost me? (estimate/range)
2. Any good orthodontist recommended by u guys near setapak area?

Uh when I did my research about 1 year ago, traditional braces was about rm5-6k, self ligating was about rm6-9k, lingual was about rm15k and Invisalign was about rm20k. The higher end of the range was usually for the ceramic versions

Can't help you with the number 2 cause I was looking for one in KL. Point to note since I was looking in KL my price range could be higher than say a clinic in klang... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by nicky87: Feb 6 2015, 12:54 AM
nicky87
post Feb 7 2015, 06:30 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(shepherddream @ Feb 6 2015, 04:59 PM)
Day 1. cleaning teeth, Xray & Mold (upper and lower) - RM390
Day 2. extract 1 teeth & put rubber spacer for back teeth - RM400
Day 3. extract 2 teeth & put metal braket for lower back teeth - RM700 (including RM500 deposit)

so far i have done the following and have paid total RM1490 for all these. I have not yet have my braces on, next week will put damon braces it cost me 7k. The 2nd appointment which cost RM400 make me wondering what they charged, when i ask the nurse said RM300 is for the rubber spacer. i thought it is included in braces cost....

May i know is the price reasonable?
I think you should ask the dentist for a detailed breakdown and all the extra costs which he will/might charge... And ask if there are charges for breakages while you are at it... I certainly did not pay for spacers... Let alone rm300 for it x.x

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Feb 7 2015, 02:49 PM)
When I did mine, I did sign some agreement. How about other, do you guy sign any agreement while doing the braces??
I didn't sign any agreement though... sweat.gif
nicky87
post Mar 6 2015, 12:36 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(shepherddream @ Mar 4 2015, 09:33 AM)
ur dentist explain well and detail to u. my dentist didn't tell me anything nor about estimation of the braces period. about the teeth bone nail to correct the teeth gum and grinding teeth, i wonder will it affect teeth health or not. yap separator is to put molar bands. what type of braces u plan to put?

i just have my damon braces last month b4 cny, i did not have tighten feel at all since the first day until now. but cannot chewing food by front teeth, it will give strange weaken feeling
Don't worry the ability to chew with your front teeth will come back after a couple of months smile.gif don't remember how long exactly it took but I did eventually go back to biting into hamburgers and sandwiches XD
nicky87
post Mar 11 2015, 02:23 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(shepherddream @ Mar 6 2015, 12:02 PM)
yap i miss hamburgers and the feel of tearing drumstick meat. hehe. between dentist put 2 biji of cement on my lower molar teeth to prevent lower bite upper, as my upper jaw install a nance appliance (worry it drop down after bite kena it). however i experiance a headache problem, which i grind teeth while sleeping everyday, the cement very fast to drop off when i grind teeth. can't even tahan for 1 month at all. it seem i grind teeth more often after put on braces. anyone experiance it?
I used to clench my teeth a lot after putting on braces but nowadays I don't do it anymore I think?

Go and get the buildup replaced?
nicky87
post Jun 5 2015, 10:51 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ May 9 2015, 01:07 AM)
Hi, everyone.

I didn't even think about having teeth alignment until recently I realized my teeth are getting worse after extraction of rotten teeth few years back.

I am studying in Johor Bahru and my hometown is in Kuching. I am not that rich and most of my expense is from my scholarship.

So I wanna ask a few questions here :

1. I am planning to do the alignment in JB and is there any recommended dentist or orthodontist in JB?
2. How much will it cost? I am looking for cheap and good dentist. Thus I think I will go for traditional braces.
3. Should I do it now by using my scholarship fund or should I do it after I graduate and have a steady income? I am 22-year-old and I have 2 more years until my graduation. Is there any disadvantage to do it around 24 or 25 years old? Will it be too late for me?

Thanks in advance. Wish everyone has health and beautiful teeth.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Can't help with 1 (in KL) & 2 (using self ligating)...

as for 3... I started at 27 so no issues with age... just do when you can afford it... I only decided to get it after working a couple of years and saving... but then again I do wish every now and then I did it earlier! As the instalments offered make it quite affordable.

QUOTE(xoomie @ May 20 2015, 01:27 PM)
Anyone knows if government can do Invisalign ?
No way you can do invisalign there... I would be very disappointed with the government if they waste tax payers money on subsiding invisalign as well when there are cheaper alternatives!! and only teenagers aged 18& below qualify to do braces at a government hospital.

QUOTE(katejp @ May 20 2015, 03:52 PM)
its traditional for rm7300
now i think it's reli pricey,cos i ve consult another 2 dentists n they quote me about 7k+ with damon braces
Agreed with shepardsdream may as well get self ligating (damon) braces... but I wouldn't attest to the less pain bit lol! never tried using the traditional type before... that or find an ortho who charges less for traditional type braces... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nicky87: Jun 5 2015, 10:52 PM
nicky87
post Aug 23 2015, 11:12 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(HyeMoon @ Aug 12 2015, 05:01 PM)
I am 26 years old and i wish to fixed my teeth with braces. Do you people think it's too late for me?
It's never too late hehe =D I started at 26/27 as well XD
nicky87
post Aug 30 2015, 10:42 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(HyeMoon @ Aug 24 2015, 10:18 AM)
I see. Which clnic did u done ur braces? =)
WhiteSmile in Berjaya Times Square smile.gif

@justcallmelarry: no idea have not reached that stage yet....
nicky87
post Nov 6 2015, 01:56 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(HyeMoon @ Nov 3 2015, 02:58 PM)
Which braces did u use? How much they charged u for it? and have u debond?
The cheapest available... Normal metal self ligating ones and it was around 7k

Nope not yet debond
nicky87
post Nov 10 2015, 10:11 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(HyeMoon @ Nov 9 2015, 09:10 AM)
I see. Thx. how long have u been on braces? Why u havent debond yet?
Not too long... About 20+ months.... Why.... Don't know teeth not ready so not yet lo... Usually it takes about 2 years mah
nicky87
post Nov 24 2015, 02:42 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(justifyer @ Nov 23 2015, 07:08 PM)
I saw their website have ads for invisalign. Do you know how much it would cost for that?
Better to call it the clinic but it should be around 15k the promo price...
nicky87
post Dec 28 2018, 12:29 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Dec 25 2018, 09:46 AM)
Dentist wants to get my full-mouth impression, but I am having problems with gagging. how to minimise that? dentist say impression would take around 10mins..
I feel you... always had this problem... the last time the doc used a smaller tray and a less full tray of putty... and on my part I tried concentrating on wiggling my toes and breathing through my nose...

That said whole process is probably 10mins but the trays don’t sit in the mouth for the whole 10mins... hate it but let’s just say it’s necessary before and after braces... just got to deal with it.

0.0213sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:02 PM