Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling V3!, Viva la gunpla!

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 10:53 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Im new to this ... im interested in getting myself a Strike Freedom that was piloted by Kira Yamato in Gundam Seed Destiny but the problem is ... I want a detail version that is fully painted and I do not need to construct it or paint it myself. Any ideas .. perhaps can post some picture for me to see and also the location to buy it. Thanks
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 12:07 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 27 2007, 11:51 AM)
How detailed do you mean by detailed? Also, fully painted ones, depending on how fully painted too. One option is to get a PG then request for a custom job for it to be professionally painted, but that might cost a bomb though.

Other than that, I've not seen a ready made one with the level of detail as a PG.
As detail as this one ...

Im still thinking if i shud get it.

Btw, what the meaning of PG ?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 12:41 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 27 2007, 12:34 PM)
Ah ok. The plastic for those already comes in the right color out of the box. I guess the only things to do is to do the panel lining to give it a more finished look. While you can paint them if you want, it really depends on the individual. However, the figure of the pilot is likely to be in the original white plastic though.

PG is Perfect Grade, in a way, you can say that its the final word in Gundam Models. Complete with a very detailed internal frame, with fingers where each joint is fully articulated too. Stands at 1/60 scale while most others including the one that you had posted stands only at 1/100
I see ... meaning if i buy the that, the parts are already colored, i just would have to construct it myself .. its that easy ??
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 01:06 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 27 2007, 12:56 PM)
Well, the ease of construction tends to differ from model to model. As for the Strike Freedom, I've not done one before, so hopefully others here who has will be able to let you know what r the areas to watch out for.

As for colors, from what I had noticed from the box contents, the strike freedom's plastics r a pretty close match to what it should be, unlike the plastic color of a Kampfer which is damn ugly if unpainted.

However, one thing in common to all plastic kit construction is that you will need to take care when cutting out the pieces, and removing the excess plastic. That part although not really that difficult does require some patience to do lar...
Im still abit blurr .. thats why I dun like to paint and assemble myself, i would prefer somebody else to do for me.

The picture that I showed u will be my 1st gundam model fully assemble and painted and im getting it for RM110 .. izzit worth it ??

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 27 2007, 01:07 PM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 01:59 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(phantasm0110 @ Jan 27 2007, 01:42 PM)
u might wan to search in garage sale which got forumer selling it much cheaper..
edison will be the guy u looking for..
Izzit fully assemble and painted ??
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 03:52 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Jan 27 2007, 03:30 PM)
Thats why... start lookin a bit 'seed'-ish
it izzint fully assembled, but its abt 95% fully colored according to the anime/design colors... gundams hg,pg, or mg mostly are all colored this way.. so u don hv to worry abt the coloring parts..

as for the assembly.. i doubt u can get a fully assemble SF. but if ure willing or u hv the money, there r some ppl in this forum may hv the skills to assemble,mod, and color model kits, just that u have to buy the kit first, then send to them to assemble-mod-color and might cost u extra rm300 + the kit price, so u go around rm500 plus minus..

if ure wondering how 'hard' is the assembly process, i dare to say to u its quite easy if ure aged 12 and above that is.. its quite simple really...

what u get out of the box? example:

[attachmentid=186896]

this is a typical HG kit, so u get colored runners.. mostly u dun need any sort of coloring..

[attachmentid=186897]

these are the whole runners.. so u need to have a cutter of sume sort to cut away these parts away frm the runners.. fret not, the runners/parts are all coded in like runner A part no. 23 for example, so the manual represents the part as A23 to assemble.

[attachmentid=186898]

this is an example of the assembly manual.. even tho its 100% japanese, the pics are enough to guide u thru the assembly process.. trust me.

and if u need good deals on gundam kits, u can always go HERE to one of our forummers for good deals..

hope that helps...
Thanks bro ... now im not so blurr liao. I have also visited Edison garage sales .. damn nice but currently I have made a HUGE mistake liao.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 05:21 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jan 27 2007, 05:16 PM)
wat HUGE mistake?
I bid this from Lelong earlier ... until someone told me about Edison garage sale

and u wanna know how much im paying for it ... RM100+ cry.gif

Please someone tell me its worth it.

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 05:28 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jan 27 2007, 05:24 PM)
guess worth it, if u buy it frm Kuching, Sarawak. it cost 120+ here. but it not worth it if u knw Edison.
Errr ... guess its worth it then, errr .. how u know the item is from Sarawak, u when and check izzit ? hmm.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 06:46 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

I see .. well thanks for the information. At least I know is a good buy .. after this .. im going to Edison.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 09:19 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Jan 27 2007, 08:59 PM)
lol.. mostly everyone has at least bought thier gunpla's at high prices.. all before knowing edison or even good shops like Time Machine, Fantasy Toys, Grafitti, etc..

consider ureself undergone a 'rite of passage' to be a gunpla collector.. icon_rolleyes.gif

anyways.. why dun u withdraw frm the bid..? sure it may look bad for ure reputation, but 100++ is quite a lot of money.. if i were u i just FFK tongue.gif just my 10 sen..
Wat the hell is Gunpla ??.

Nah .. ill already bid it liao. After I buy this, I will move my next gunpla laugh.gif purchase and onwards from Edison.

You guys shud say "Welcome to the Gundam model World, Xeno" laugh.gif Thanks anyway bro.

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 27 2007, 11:09 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

I wanna learn how to assemble my own Gundam model in the future. Can anyone teach me what I need to buy .. i heard u need some sort of Bandai blade and Bandai marker .. is that true ?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 07:41 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Thanks for the warm welcome StarGhazzer and Ah WanG. Well .. i decided to start this hobby while I was playing the Gundam War TCG and spend a week watching Gundam Seed and Seed Destiny and then I was hook, told myself I must get one of those models.

Then i started thinking about the assemble and painting cause at that time my mind was thinking that all model kits have to be painted and glued together. Thats why I decided to buy pre-fix models or buy a model kit and pay someone to assemble for me. But I heard from Edison, that all Gundam model kits comes with color already and that really solve some of my problems liao.

The next step is to get a proper tools but I have no worries liao, thanks to kingkong and ah wang for the information.

I know most surely im going to burn a hole in my wallet but I really dun mind, cause im going to luv every moment of it. Currently, im just waiting for my Infinite Justice Gundam model .. yeah rclxm9.gif

Thanks to everyone.

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 28 2007, 07:42 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 07:58 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jan 28 2007, 07:51 AM)
Wish u the best of luck, atleast u knw Edison faster than some of us, some of us may already burn 1000+ than find out Edison selling it cheaper. vmad.gif  thumbup.gif Maybe next Gunpla for u is a MG?
Thanks. Btw, MG is Master Grade right but whats the difference between PG and MG ? and is there any other grades besides this some more ?.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 10:14 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jan 28 2007, 08:13 AM)
ok, hope i right about tis, PG is bigger than MG wif more detail than MG, that why itway more expensive than other Grade. For how many grade there is, i try to list out.

Non grade, High Grade(got in 1/144 and 1/100), Master Grade, Perfect Grade, and there a bigger grade, dont remember the name but the Gundam is HUGE. But if u want to buy 1/144 HG, nv buy the seed and destiny series, not that well make by bandai(some are still great), Better go buy HGUC 1/144
Thanks for the info on the seed and destiny series. Im a HUGE fan of seed and destiny and will only buy model kits from that series. U advice not to buy HG on seed and destiny series .. then ... whats HGUC ?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 11:13 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jan 28 2007, 10:19 AM)
hguc is high grade gundam from U.C. time line,eg zeta,rx-93..You try to watch UC series,you'll love it!..More action than seed and seed destiny!

Added on January 28, 2007, 10:20 amand for information of gunpla,you can go to dalong.net..There will give you clear pic of wat you're buying..
UC series ... whats that .. im still blurr.

@Jim: Whats AOZ also ... hopefully u guys can keep me updated, if u dun mind.

Thanks biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 28 2007, 11:14 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 11:48 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

I just when thru dalong.net .. and still going thru it now. After seing that site .. all i can say .. damn u guys laugh.gif now im drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif all the way. The PG is so darn good but sadly dun have the Gundam i want ... Strike Freedom and Infinite Justice.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 12:00 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jan 28 2007, 11:51 AM)
LOL, welcome to the Gunpla train, maybe u should get the MG Strike Freedom.
Honestly .. i really want to .. but i dunno how to assemble it .. afraid if I assemble wrongly, then wasted.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 12:17 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Alright thanks. I got another question, do u use the black marker 1st of the parts before assemble or after assemble ?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 12:31 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(kct-86 @ Jan 28 2007, 12:23 PM)
Depends, but I prefer marking before assembly.
Which is easier and will make less mistake while marking bcos im still very new at this.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 28 2007, 01:43 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jan 28 2007, 12:37 PM)
if like me, using the Gundam lining marker, if i make mistake, i use eraser to rub it off.
Errr ... how does a Gundam Lining Marker looks like ?? izzit still a marker ?

Added on January 28, 2007, 1:59 pmI dunno whats its called .. but after seing this .. i when like this drool.gif drool.gif

Check it out

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 28 2007, 01:59 PM

0.0391sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:57 PM