Which amp match dual voice coils woofer?

howiechoo
post Sep 25 2006, 01:38 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Sep 25 2006, 12:38 PM)
hmm.. if it is, then maybe it's the alternator that u need 2 change..
i ON my HID, ICE & AIR COND... it remains above 14v all of the time.. i know cz i got the digital meter reading on top of my dashboard..  icon_rolleyes.gif
wah ur myvi so geng? my fren change to 75A battery also can get above 14 when he on headlight aircon and ice.....u changed alternator? how many A? i think myvi icer would like to know....
howiechoo
post Sep 26 2006, 01:12 AM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(jojo902156 @ Sep 25 2006, 05:39 PM)
Car battery is only 12V, altenator also will be supplying 12V+-, how to get 13.8V also I don't know. Anyway a sub if power is 300W, it can take power range from 50W-300W, normally the manual will state it. Only when using low power amp, it might overheat it and the bass punch is less compare to power it on higher power amp.
If a car's pwer supply is >13V, eletric parts like bulb sure will blow already.
a running alternator will give out about 13.8-14.4 v..car electronic are voltage tolerance ranged from 11-15.5/16v. some parts allow more lower power to work...example 9.5v....btw, the ampere will effect the voltage read by multimeter...u try use a 0.5A 12v power supply and read it...then use a 20A 12v power supply and read it...the 20A power supply will have a bigger value..

btw, a healthy battery will give u a reading of 12.4-12.6
howiechoo
post Sep 26 2006, 08:47 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(jojo902156 @ Sep 26 2006, 07:39 PM)
Is Lightning Audio considered as chap ayam? What I trying to stress here is every eletronic parts has its lifespan. It might be shorter than norm if kept hot all the time. What components are an amp used? Special type of capacitors and resistors used?
Anyway if using some mid-lower end ICE is considered as ICE knowledge low standard is abit childish. For me, people that have low knowledge on ICE is the people that only know how to buy expensive amps and will listen to what the acc shop people says without think twice.

My setup : Pioneer 5750, LA amp B300.2 for sub, LA amp B300.4 for MB Quart and Pioneer speakers. The gains for amps are at 50%. As the B300.2 is 2nd hand, I only know it when it thermal cut after blast at 75%for 2hours. Why it cut? Just simple, some components is time to retired already. As the amp is >4years old.
may i know how much u bought the LA amp? if i tell u LA in foreign country is just like mohawk or even brother in here will u believe? btw, malaysia got a lot refurbish LA stuff....make sure u not buying refurbish+sec hand stuff....

btw, thermal cut for blasting at 75% for 2 hour is normal as every amp got diff efficienc and heat dissipation ability...but i wonder how u know it's 75% ? using age to define a amp is good condition or not is also wrong.....i had met some guys using kicker >6 years amp until now still now prob......
howiechoo
post Sep 26 2006, 10:30 PM

1,919 posts

drift, u cant compare LA and genesis la...diff category edy....
howiechoo
post Sep 27 2006, 07:11 PM

1,919 posts

actually agako amp are more expensive due to it's actually export model....in US, u can only see agako and in korea i think, it's bass acoustic.....here are prokick....Agako are quite famous in USA due to it's power delivery and also durability in SPL......
i think most ppl think agako is overrated is because they public both max output and true rms together which seem to be very identical....

the model number is not the rms power of agako amp...eventhough many amp manufacturer name the model as their amp power, but agako rated it with the amp highest output...if wan get the real output power, u need to get the user manual...

i think a agako/prokick monoblock model number 2000D will only give about 800RMS @ 1ohm....many ppl will say it's actually 2000rms @ 1ohm but it;s actually the max output.....
howiechoo
post Sep 27 2006, 07:15 PM

1,919 posts

btw, i know it cos i had met some foreign icer from US forum last time..they told me agako is not bad for SPL especially the monoblock....but i dun think anyone can differenciate a spl and sq monoblock (class D) while they are powering the same sub
howiechoo
post Sep 27 2006, 09:55 PM

1,919 posts

hehe...give it a try for the fake jl sub...tested power it with 100rms bridged each coil...not until 10 minute the voice burn edy..lolz....
howiechoo
post Sep 28 2006, 12:18 AM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Sep 27 2006, 11:11 PM)
My budget up to RM1k++ for subwoofer..! Can get which JL subwoofer?
last time saw two subwoofer liao... JL & Hertz loh...
My 4 channel amp 80x4 @4 ohms, 160x4 @2 ohms, & 320x2 @4 ohms bridged enough?
wah ur amp can double up the rms by dividing the ohm ar?
wat amp is it?
howiechoo
post Sep 28 2006, 02:46 AM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 28 2006, 12:24 AM)
shud be not dividing the ohm but 2ohm stable kot?
i might be wrong =\
there's seldom got real rms tat can be double up when the ohm drop....
example 100@ 4 , 200@ 2

usually amp will degrade the rms when into lower ohm..
like 100@ 4, 150 @ 2...

but i think there's some amp tat can do like the first example..just curious to know wat amp is tat
howiechoo
post Sep 28 2006, 07:15 PM

1,919 posts

loon ur amp can use with the sub..no worry...it will blow ur sub also...

since ur amp can do 320x2, then u just connect ur sub each voice coil to each bridged channel....then it will be okay...

but is the ARC true rms? as i know it's also some overrated product wor....
howiechoo
post Sep 28 2006, 07:17 PM

1,919 posts

but no worry la...as long bridged can output 150-200 rmsx2 then it will blow ur sub edy....i dun think JL can handle >450 RMS with low low freq >50...
howiechoo
post Oct 11 2006, 12:51 AM

1,919 posts

v2 go deeper(more vibrate area,more air) while v3 is harder(less vibrate area,less air).......v3 will be more punchy than v2...so it depend on u...if i were u, i will get the v2 for the wiring options and the deep bass.....but if u like harder bass than v2, then u should get v3 since the rated power are 300w for the only 1 voice coil...needless to say it's more powerful for hard punchy bass......(punchy and punchier are compare within this 2 sub only)

as a conclusion from my opinion, v2 is like usa sPL sub which are good in low freq, while v3 is like malaysia spl sub which is good for higher freq...

this is wat i understand from my experience and the spec shown....if wanna flame, then........
howiechoo
post Oct 14 2006, 01:31 PM

1,919 posts

not really..SQ doesn mean must go low and deep..it's all on personal preference.....
howiechoo
post Oct 18 2006, 01:34 AM

1,919 posts

2 ohm stable is enuff as not really every mono can go 1ohm stable...but got an 1 ohm stable amp will help u in the future if u wan to make any changes
howiechoo
post Oct 18 2006, 11:55 AM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Oct 18 2006, 07:15 AM)
I saw Sony old model 2 channel amp (Not Xplode) can go to 1 ohm stable...
i even saw agako can go 1ohm bridge and o.5 ohm stereo stable.....2ch also
howiechoo
post Oct 18 2006, 11:55 AM

1,919 posts

he wont intro 1 la...so many ppl wanted to know yet he always find some other things to talk about and keep his stuff secret

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Oct 18 2006, 11:56 AM
howiechoo
post Oct 18 2006, 07:46 PM

1,919 posts

so tell now low....no need to keep it secret....btw i had saw a guy in zth always wanted to know about ur spec....y dun show us?
howiechoo
post Oct 18 2006, 11:23 PM

1,919 posts

lolz...then i must be lucky mattchin....i had tried bridge a 2ch prokick to go down to 2ohm and it work wonderful........on my dvc 4ohm sub..lolz
howiechoo
post Oct 20 2006, 05:57 PM

1,919 posts

if woofer power needed > amp power output, nth spoil..
if amp power output > woofer only woofer spoil

the first scenario will spoil the amp only if u wrongly tune the amp gain or incorrectly connect the amp to lower ohm than the amplifier can accept......

0.0218sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:40 PM