The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V6, Bigger than bigger

jin_akira
post Dec 24 2014, 02:34 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Dec 23 2014, 08:42 PM)
Hello all, first timer here.

I'm a long time Android user, looking to switch to an iPhone. I was planning on getting a 6+ from the Apple store, but after reading through some of the threads in this section and I seeing that there are some complaints (especially about the signal quality and some slight lag on the 6+), I'm a little worried. Any 6+ users here who can share their experience with expected problems? I'd like to know if it's worth switching yet, or if I should hold on until a software patch is released.

P.S. Would it be worth considering the 5s instead of the 6/6+? The only major issues I see people complaining about for the 5s is battery life and bugs from the latest iteration of iOS.
the lag may be due to the 1gb RAM and poor software optimization. not sure how laggy though (would appreciate if a user could replicate the lagginess and record it on video for us to see). yeah based on what i've read so far; if you're using a 5S, stick to iOS 7. iOS 8 is still buggy.

QUOTE(Blank Space @ Dec 23 2014, 11:23 PM)
LOL. At least, it is still smoother than Lagdroid
come on bro, it's 2014 already. Android is not on Donut or Eclair. it doesn't lag any more (at least not on my Nexus 7 2012 4.4.4). iOS 8 on the other hand is clearly problematic, even for the iPhone 6/6+.
jin_akira
post Dec 28 2014, 05:40 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 26 2014, 11:02 PM)
I'm a petty person I guess smile.gif
after watching the Erica Griffin comparison video (a forumer mentioned it a few posts back), it's definitely not you. if i experience the kind of stutter and lag i saw on her video, i can go crazy man.
jin_akira
post Dec 30 2014, 11:24 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Dec 30 2014, 05:23 PM)
Can suggest good app or game for 6/6 plus?
It would be easy to recommend to you if you would share your preferences, like for example i myself like board games so i got Monopoly, Scrabble, etc. as for action games, i got myself Shadowgun, Wild Blood, etc. so yeah what exactly are looking for and what do you prefer?
jin_akira
post Jan 7 2015, 01:02 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(wschew @ Jan 6 2015, 10:47 PM)
I read online that iOS 8.1.2 has :
"Adds an option to select between 2G, 3G or LTE networks for cellular data"
But my iphone 6 has only options to toggle cellular data & LTE...

How do i make the phone to only select 2G/3G network?
yeah wanted to use that option as well as i don't need 3G/LTE most of the time. i asked in the DiGi thread and a member said that it depends on the carrier's settings whether they offer that option or not. apparently none of the carriers here offer that option.
jin_akira
post Jan 14 2015, 09:21 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

You guys experience a bug where sometime the phone is muted (no camera sound when taking pictures and no sound when locking the phone) despite being un-muted? Noticed it when i stopped using the silent toggle button above the volume buttons and when i started to fully rely on the assistive touch feature (can mute and un-mute without flicking the physical toggle) as i silent my phone quite often and try to avoid using the physical buttons of the phone
jin_akira
post Jan 15 2015, 03:41 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Jan 14 2015, 10:19 PM)
when taking first photo it's muted and second photo onwards is not? i have that bug too.

i even had the bug where you try to see the photo you taken from camera app but it just jumps back to the camera app
QUOTE(Pyjamas999 @ Jan 14 2015, 10:32 PM)
Eh yeah I have it too... But very rarely though I thought it was just me. lol
Yeah it happens at random, though i have encountered it a couple of times; enough for me to deem it as a bug/issue. Another scenario is when you lock your phone. It's the same like the camera mute bug; when lock first time no sound then unlock and lock again got sound back.

As for you second scenario regarding the photo jumping back out, i've never encountered it..yet haha. Hopefully i won't.
jin_akira
post Jan 17 2015, 03:14 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jan 17 2015, 12:37 AM)
My 6 Plus detects Bluetooth devices fine but doesn't connect automatically to my car player unlike most of the Androids I owned before. Quite annoying coz I usually get into the car, turn on the phone Bluetooth and it will connect automatically. Need an additional step with this one...
Yeah last time my 4S would connect to the car automatically as soon as i turn on my phone's bluetooth. For the 6, sometimes it would automatically connect, at most times it won't. Have to go to the settings in bluetooth and connect it manually. Quite annoying as i would have to take my phone out of my pocket everytime i want to connect..

Another annoying part about the bluetooth audio (not sure if iOS issue or phone issue because my 4S was on 6.1.3 and i did not update to iOS 7 or iOS 8) is that if you last used the browser (i use Chrome), it would not automatically play your music in the Music app. With my 4S, as soon as i turn my car's radio on and choose the phone, it would play any song at random. For the 6, i have to make sure that i played a song first after browsing. If not, it won't automatically play any music and be blank.

0.0167sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:36 AM