8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V6, Bigger than bigger

THTgadgets.com
post Jan 26 2015, 04:39 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stevenyii84 @ Jan 26 2015, 10:38 AM)
Hi all, anyone have such experience ? More than 3 days before charge your iphone 6 plus ( 64G ) all the battery information has gone ? Only show : Usage - Minutes , Standy - Minutes.
This reminds me of the problem with the old-school Palm handhelds - if you do not replace the empty AAA batteries, the data will be gone and you have to sync with Palm Desktop to get everything back!
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 26 2015, 04:42 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 26 2015, 12:11 AM)
Yes, you should. smile.gif
Rumour says it should be this Friday. smile.gif
Wow, really? Then I've got to make sure I have my Safari set to Apple's website on Friday, and see what good deals are available for us Malaysian consumers! rclxms.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 26 2015, 04:43 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(xmattx @ Jan 26 2015, 01:45 AM)
Yeah i know. but is it true that i have to pay about 1k to change the screen?
Do you stay in PJ? If you do, why not check out this fellow who specializes in iPhone repairs?

His shop is at the first floor of Centerpoint Bandar Utama, FYI (although I can't remember the name of the shop, sorry!). thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jan 26 2015, 04:43 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 27 2015, 09:34 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(lolabunny123 @ Jan 26 2015, 11:45 PM)
So I decided not to use a case for my iPhone 6+. Do you think the chances of it bending is higher? I saw the video of a guy who easily bends his iP6+ and I don't want the same to happen to my iP6+  yawn.gif
Too bad you're using an iPhone 6 Plus. Because I have a simple iPhone 6 silicon casing given to me by one of my company's tenants, who is a mobile phone accessory wholesaler (I met with the director yesterday, to discuss on tenancy renewal).

Since I'm already using the Spigen one, I want to sell this one off! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jan 27 2015, 09:38 AM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 27 2015, 09:39 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jan 27 2015, 09:10 AM)
I bought my phone from Lazada. How should I know whether it is Malaysia set?
Enter your serial number into the Apple Support page and see whether the information you need pops up or not! thumbup.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 27 2015, 04:55 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Jan 27 2015, 04:42 PM)
these are materials that can affect the signal.

Cases for Apple devices must not contain materials or coatings that absorb radio frequency energy. Such materials can impair or degrade the performance of cellular communication antennas or GPS, Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth antennas. Examples include (but are not limited to) the following:

- Metals (e.g. steel, aluminum, magnesium, titanium, etc.) Plastics with any carbon content
- Plastics with any glass content
- Plastics with metallic plating
- Metallic paints
- Black paints with high carbon loading
- White paints with high titanium dioxide loading Metallic Physical Vapor Deposition (PVD) coatings
Wow, so in short, anything with metal will almost certainly affect the WiFi signals on our iPhones then! ohmy.gif

Thankfully my Spigen Ultra Hybrid casing has a plastic back with rubbery sides for better grip, and which also shouldn't knock out the WiFi signals unlike the metallic ones! rclxms.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 27 2015, 05:09 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jan 27 2015, 10:58 AM)
Each country will have its own government agency to control, check, test many types of things. Malaysia is SIRIM.
In this case, any RF (radio frequency) products, such as mobile phones, fax machines, WiFi access points, etc. need to have Type Approval under SIRIM.

If the product is not certify, either the company/person need to apply and this can be a long and tedious process. That is why some people are complaining their product stuck and can't release by Customs, since they need the Type Approval.

When UPS brings in this device, they need to clear Customs and provide the reference for Type Approval. This is the sticker to certify for it. It's fine whether you stick it or not. No police or customs or sirim will stop you on the road to check it.
Now this is something new!

But when I bought my iPhone 6 from Singapore, was there any SIRIM sticker on the courier box (didn't really notice, to be honest). Other than the Model Number which has "MY" as the last couple of characters, how can I see that the iPhone is indeed a Malaysia-certified set, out of curiosity?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 27 2015, 05:10 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(celdric @ Jan 27 2015, 05:04 PM)
That's why I am avoiding metal casings as my area having poor reception, else I already buy devilcase from connect2u already. lol
Hahaha, good on you, my friend! thumbup.gif

How does this Devilcase look like, by the way?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 27 2015, 10:34 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Jan 27 2015, 07:26 PM)
Should be on the small warranty sticker no? Both my wife & my 6+ sirim stickers are on the warranty card
I don't see any SIRIM sticker in the package that the iPhone 6 came from. Maybe its because the phone was bought from the Malaysian Online Store? hmm.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 28 2015, 07:21 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Jan 28 2015, 03:26 PM)
IP6+ Updated to 8.1.3:

Before Update:

After Update:

After Reboot:

Thanks for the info, mate! rclxms.gif

Now let me see whether I want to update the iOS version on my iPhone or not... laugh.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 29 2015, 02:00 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(yuy_hikaru @ Jan 29 2015, 11:46 AM)
Hi there
need some advice on screen protector. i heard that there is a type of full curve screen protector that cover the curvy face part of IP6, but the not so good part is that the edge at the curve will break easily. any comments on this?
Mate, you can post your question in this thread - iPhone Accessories - and the experts there can help you with the query! rclxms.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 29 2015, 03:22 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jan 29 2015, 02:42 PM)
Ya!! drains faster leh.... so sad  cry.gif
Ugh, now that's stopping me from upgrading! ohmy.gif

I'm very particular about losing battery life and if this happens when installing the latest version of iOS, then I'd better skip it until this issue is addressed by AAPL! shakehead.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 30 2015, 02:04 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Jan 29 2015, 08:31 PM)
anyone turned on apple genius playlist?
Hardly ever used it, to be honest! laugh.gif

Although it's indeed a good alternative to the "standard" random playback of songs stored in the iPhone, for sure! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jan 30 2015, 02:06 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 30 2015, 02:06 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(jychow @ Jan 30 2015, 01:04 PM)
On the contrary, it makes my wife's iPhone 6 last longer between charges. Usually, she has to recharge by 5-6pm prior to 8.1.3. Now it lasts till 10pm with 10%
What does she use the phone for? If it's just for phone calls, texting, photography, and a bit of Internet surfing, then for sure the iPhone can last long! thumbup.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 30 2015, 02:10 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 30 2015, 02:09 PM)
I always enabled everything except bluetooth
Well, I guess that explains why your battery drains much faster!
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 30 2015, 02:47 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(helmiex @ Jan 30 2015, 02:12 PM)
How good this iPhone 6 camera performance, i mean in low light.
Actually, it's not too bad, surprisingly. Check out this photo I took, when I was at an event in One City last December! rclxms.gif

THTgadgets.com
post Jan 31 2015, 12:06 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Jan 30 2015, 09:15 PM)
I'm using 8.1.3 ... so far dont really noticed any battery drain.. more or less the same.. probably because my usage is high?
I'm still stuck on iOS 8.1.1 and seeing your comments about the greater battery drain has stopped me from proceeding with the upgrade, to be honest! blink.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Feb 2 2015, 04:19 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Feb 2 2015, 04:15 PM)
understand on the contract portion but what is I just want buy plain phone set?
By "plain phone set", you mean a "normal" phone with no contract?

Just get it via the Apple Online Store! thumbup.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Feb 2 2015, 04:23 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 2 2015, 12:39 PM)
Guys, wanna ask regarding "Background App Refresh".

Which of you guys have it all on? Why?
Which of you guys have it all off? Why
Which of you guys have certain app on only? Which and why?
From Apple's Support site, this is what is meant by "Background App Refresh":

Some apps will run for a short period of time before they're set to a suspended state. This means they're not actively in use, open, or taking up system resources. When you return to these apps, they'll open instantly.

Some apps can continue to run in the background. You can allow these apps to refresh themselves by turning on Background App Refresh. This settings lets apps check for new content and download updates, or retrieve updated content in the background when they receive push notifications.

To save battery, apps running in the background refresh at certain times, like when your device is connected to Wi-Fi, plugged into a power source, or being actively used. iOS learns patterns based on how you use your device and tries to predict when an app running in the background should refresh. It also learns when the device is typically inactive, like at night, to help keep apps from refreshing when you're not using your device. Apps can also schedule background refreshing based on your location.

As for me, I have most of my apps being refreshed in the background, especially those related to social media, news, a couple of games, and even my Fantastial calendar + todo app. Since I'm always on the go, it's easier for me to have these apps refreshing themselves automatically, rather than having to update them manually (like when I was using my iPod touch previously).
THTgadgets.com
post Feb 2 2015, 04:25 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Feb 2 2015, 02:01 PM)
But just dont feel good, when u purchased a new unit and they gave you a used unit back.
It's called "refurbished" but that unit looks just like new, trust me! thumbup.gif

My sister-in-law had her iPhone 5 sent in for a warranty claim back in March last year but at the same time, she bought a 5S. She didn't know what to do with the 5 as it was redundant, and decided to sell it off in the end. Coincidentally, I was looking for an iPhone to replace my Samsung Galaxy S Advance and eventually bought my sis-in-law's previous phone, when she got back the phone.

Using it for the past nine months (it was replaced by the 6 in December), I never once felt that the 5 was a refurbished unit as it ran just like any new phone you buy from the shops! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 2 2015, 04:27 PM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0575sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:02 PM