The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V6, Bigger than bigger
THTgadgets.com
Feb 2 2015, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(Manlet @ Feb 2 2015, 02:21 PM) ive upgraded to 8.1.3 for 3 days already so far battery seems normal, not affected even though for 8.1.2, from 100% to 99% it takes like 4 hours idle + 40mins usage in 8.1.3, from 100% to 99% takes like 3 hours idle + 30mins usage, but thats just the difference, from morning 8am sampai night 8pm battery still got 56% with moderate safari + moderate fb messenger + heavy whatsapp, on data all the way Hmmm, you're lucky, as I've seen others complaining about the higher battery drain after updating! Looks like I'll still hold back from doing the update for now, as I'm very particular about the battery usage on my iPhone, especially when I'm always on-the-go and don't have my Power Bank with me at all times!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 5 2015, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(celdric @ Feb 4 2015, 03:07 PM) This battery life kinda bad compared to 8.1.2. I mean for the usage time. I can get near to 12 hours usage last time but not now.  iPhone 6 plus. Hmmm, the reminder to update to iOS 8.1.3 has come up on iTunes once more, when I connected the iPhone for syncing. I'm still on two minds on whether to update or not!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 5 2015, 01:02 PM
Guys, we know that the GST will take effect on April 1. But I just wonder how this will impact on the price of Apple products here in Malaysia. Will they keep the prices as it is, and just state "inclusive of 6% GST"? Or raise it up further, and making Apple stuff even more unaffordable to most Malaysians (even if the iPhone 6 is being heavily promoted by AAPL themselves here - notably via the big billboards you see on the LDP)? This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 5 2015, 01:03 PM
THTgadgets.com
Feb 9 2015, 12:23 PM
Battery life? That's why I'm still holding back from updating my firmware... I'm very particular about battery as I'm always on-the-go and need to ensure that this is sufficient, because I don't want to kena an embarrassing situation when the phone dries up at the wrong time!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 9 2015, 05:18 PM
Hahaha, too much hoo-haa regarding battery life eh?
THTgadgets.com
Feb 9 2015, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 9 2015, 05:27 PM) What sort of taboo that talking about battery life is a problem? It's such a petty thing complain about. Some of the other forum members complained that this thread became one talking about the iPhone's battery life, especially several pages ago! And looks like I'll go for iOS 8.1.3 soon, as I've already downloaded it, but yet to have it installed into the iPhone. Gotta grab the update anyway! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 9 2015, 07:01 PM
THTgadgets.com
Feb 9 2015, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(666devil @ Feb 9 2015, 09:43 PM) Actually can't blame them. Nothing much else to complain about iPhone. When I was in s4 thread, non stop complain bloat wares, battery/data leaks, what apps to detect leaks, how to root to disable them, lag, lousy camera etc. so many thing to complain. So stick to 1 same old topic means near perfect os I guess? Well, that's so very true, as the iPhone 6 and 6+ have had great reviews overall! And thankfully, there has also been lesser complaints about "Bend-Gate" as well, if you noticed, compared with when the iPhone 6+ was first launched!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 10 2015, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Feb 10 2015, 03:02 PM) ios 9 will have better stability and performance That will take some time before it is released, and in the meantime, we have to make do with iOS 8.1.3 first!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 10 2015, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Feb 10 2015, 03:31 PM) You updated already?  Probably when I get home. I'm in the office and left the sync cable behind, how absent-minded!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Feb 25 2015, 09:43 AM) I seldom use the home button in my iphone 5 because I am afraid that it will not functioning one day so i keep using the power button. At last, the power button is the one that not functioning. LOL Why don't you just activate the virtual home button instead? I.e. the one that looks like a grayish circle you can manually place at some corner of the screen, no matter what app you are using? At least it's a better alternative to frequently pressing the home button! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 25 2015, 10:00 AM
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 09:58 AM
By the way, I've already updated my firmware to iOS 8.1.3, during the Chinese New Year holidays. So far the new firmware is doing fine, with that issue about poorer battery life not cropping up thus far, although it's pretty much the same as the previous version! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 25 2015, 09:59 AM
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Feb 25 2015, 02:44 PM) I'm not a fan of the virtual button coz it kinda blocks the content of the screen most annoyingly. So my thought behind it is if the button is going to go, it better go while it's still under warranty! Hahaha, I know right? It gets irritating when playing games that need you to tilt the screen sideways, notably Asphalt 8, and you see that virtual home button on one side!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Feb 25 2015, 03:00 PM) no wonder. Iphone 6 plus definitely have better standby time than iphone 6  Hmmm, no wonder my wife told me that she is planning to get an iPhone 6+. Must be due to the bigger size (no problem for her as she will put it in her handbag) as well as FAR better battery life!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(nvidia134 @ Feb 25 2015, 02:52 PM) Haha, i did that since day 1 i got the phone. Once i press home button, only found out the clicking sound is different. I had tried few units of my friend iphone, their home button sound is solid. Mine is even you didn't press down all the way, it does have the click sound. I think the "not-solid" home button sound only affects a few unlucky buyers of the iPhone 6, am I correct? When I press mine, the sound that emits from the pressing is those "solid" click-cluck type, by the way. Button's also stable and does not feel shaky, which is good!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(butetzzz @ Feb 25 2015, 04:31 PM) anyone using 6+ with keyboard, doing some real work. Is there such a keyboard in the market today, in the first place? Reminds me of those Palm Portable Keyboards though, if available!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 25 2015, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Feb 25 2015, 06:34 PM) I lose to you by a "mere" two-plus hours, haha!  (My Nissan Teana requires the iPhone to be plugged-in, when using the Aux, by the way!  ) This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 25 2015, 06:43 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
THTgadgets.com
Feb 27 2015, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Feb 26 2015, 08:30 AM) i don't know back in malaysia but from amazon i can see a lot.  N97 style This looks good, and how much is it going for, by the way? I still find the Palm Keyboards the best designed ones for any mobile devices though!
THTgadgets.com
Feb 27 2015, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Feb 26 2015, 09:03 AM) Just to look cool. Ha ha... Actually I wouldn't mind a foldable one that opens to something close to a full size keyboard to make it easier to reply emails. Now you know why I always advocate the Palm Portable Keyboard. It's the best full-sized keyboard for any mobile device and foldable into the size of something slightly bigger than the iPhone 6 Plus! I wish someone like Targus or one of the other manufacturers in the Apple ecosystem can design something like that, for us power-users who utilize our iPhones for work! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 27 2015, 03:43 PM
THTgadgets.com
Feb 27 2015, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Feb 27 2015, 02:26 PM) Omg it's worse now. The phone getting hot easily and the battery drain very fast and I just notice that top left of the screen has Pop up a little. If I send it back to maxis will they fix the phone for me? You can do that but at the same time, do give Apple Malaysia's tech support a call and let them know about the problem. Is it due to the new firmware or something else altogether, by the way?
THTgadgets.com
Feb 27 2015, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Feb 27 2015, 03:55 PM) it's $9.99  This is better:  Looks nicer. But it's around $60. Might even get one and try it out. If it works then i'm keeping it. Still prefer physical buttons tho. That's why I always liked BBs but ended up getting iPhones. Makes the iPhone look like one of those old-school flip-open Nokia phones, haha! It's also sold only on Amazon, right? Or is there any shop selling this keyboard in LYP / Digital Mall / etc (so that I can see and try out a physical unit)?  But speaking of Amazon, I thought the retailers there don't ship to Malaysia? Or maybe I'm wrong and the rules have since been changed! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Feb 27 2015, 04:08 PM