Movies The 300 ---in cinemas 8/3/2007, We will stand and fight... and die!

TScajun2de
post Mar 19 2007, 02:04 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

review frm comic-dom

A few months ago, I was having lunch with my dear friend Heidi MacDonald. She had just seen an advanced screening of 300 and wasn’t sure how she felt about the film. Now if you place two people on opposite ends of the political spectrum that would be Heidi and I. Even though I think she’s nuts we still love each other and always have a great time together. So (and I quote my dear friend) Heidi proclaims that “you would love it,” for as one critic put it, the film is “a Fascist’s dream.” The critic’s statement has since been repeated by many of his peers, but I don’t see the connection. What does defending your homes, ideals and family have anything to do with Fascism? It doesn’t. The simple fact of the matter is that the entire army of the Xerxes’ Persian empire invaded Greece with a force that comprised of Libyan, Egyptian, Ethiopian, Babylonian, Chaldean, Phoenician, Syrian, Assyrian, Palestinian, Armenian, Cilician, Cappadocian, Thracian, Parthian, Bactrian, Caspian, and even Indian warrior/slaves. An army of over 2 million men -- more men than in all of Greece for God Sakes!

Leonidas saw the danger, and knew of the coming the destruction, so he gathered a force of 300 Spartans and several hundred Thespians and, as most of the city-states’ politicians were busy debating whether or not to surrender, led them north to imminent slaughter but more importantly, immortality at the “Gates of Hell.” For it was to honor the sacrifice of this tiny fellowship that all of Greece mobilized and as I believe, saved the world. The war would continue for another year, but the battle cry of “no retreat, no surrender” pushed the now united Greeks to win the naval battle of Salamis and (as seen at film’s end) the ultimate defeat of Xerxes’ Army at Plataea, which was again lead by the Spartans.

Now imagine if all of Greece had fallen to Xerxes in 480 BC. Imagine the destruction of all Greek culture, their ideals and their way of life. There would never be an Alexander, or a Roman Empire either wouldn’t there? I’m a Christian and strong in my faith, but wonder that if there were no Roman Empire, is it fair to say there would be no Jesus Christ, at least as we know him today? I know that’s a lot to swallow, but it is a theory. At least one can surely argue that there would be no democracy. Remember, Xerxes was a king who sacked, pillaged and destroyed all native culture to the lands he conquered. So is it possible that had Leonidas stayed behind and the Greeks surrendered, that there would be no United States of America? If so and I don’t care how you feel about the US one way or another, I dare you to name one nation that has done more for greater-good of mankind.

That is why the film is breaking box-office records around the world – people do believe in the fighting oppression, conquest and slavery. Scott Lamky had the incredible opportunity to see the film premiere in Athens where the entire theatre repeatedly cheered out loud at all the great historical quotes (“Spartan, come back with your shield… Or on it!”) and the courage laid down by their forefathers. Man I wish I were there to experience that!

TScajun2de
post Mar 20 2007, 12:51 AM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

definately not a remake though....as the 300 spartans was based on history and the 300 is based on history wit a mix of fantasy
TScajun2de
post Mar 20 2007, 02:25 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 20 2007, 11:33 AM)
this 300 is based on frank miller's graphic novel: 300
yeap i knw that my fren, i opened the thread wink.gif
TScajun2de
post Mar 20 2007, 05:27 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 20 2007, 05:17 PM)
oh is it?
didnt notice that. and i am sure some of us here didn't as well as they were commenting it about how historically wrong this movie was if would to compare to the history book.  wink.gif
yeapz , actually i dun care if it was historically accurate or not...it was a movie made to entertain....n for me it served it's purpose
TScajun2de
post Mar 20 2007, 10:47 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(tomahawk @ Mar 20 2007, 06:21 PM)
so did you learn anything? xD
learn wat? i read the comic long time ago, n i read the historical version in wiki a few months before the movie was released.....so practically jus watch n enjoy....let the movie entertain u visually wit all the cool fighting n effects
TScajun2de
post Mar 21 2007, 02:53 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(Gladys @ Mar 21 2007, 02:35 PM)
i love this movie ...

their body build is soo... yummmy blush.gif
wit the exception of the main characters, the majority were wearing body suits

This post has been edited by cajun2de: Mar 21 2007, 03:03 PM
TScajun2de
post Mar 21 2007, 10:44 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(Jckk @ Mar 21 2007, 10:33 PM)
300 undead spartans fighting?
yea and wat do we cal the sequel? -300? so will we finally see them dining in hell laugh.gif
TScajun2de
post Mar 21 2007, 11:29 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(IEE @ Mar 21 2007, 11:03 PM)
i have one question:

why the King did not ask more soldier for reinforcement from the council instead go to war with 300 men.
the council forbids him to go to war....
TScajun2de
post Mar 22 2007, 07:09 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Mar 22 2007, 04:44 PM)
Sequel to 300: 299 (since one of them survived)

Story Sypnosis

Leonidas, after his heroic stand in Thermopylae, arrives in hell along with his 298 fellows. They laugh in the desolate realm of Hades, and tell his men to conquer all of Hell. In a battle roar, they charge towards the throne of Hades.

But as they reach the courtyard, they hear glaring music beyond comprehension. The deep ryhtmic beats trample their hearts much like the great war elephants that the persians brought with them, but in a much different way. Curious, the band of 299 spartans enter the courtyard, to see...

A bunch of hip hop guys battling on the dance floor. The leader of one of the gang challenges Leonidas to a battle, and Leonidas almost kills his opponent before realizing the true meaning of a hip hop battle. Humiliated on the dance floor, and his men frustrated as all women in hell see them as geeks and refuse to bed them, they practice hard on breakdance, swearing revenge.

Let the battles begin again.
interesting hmm.gif ....n then leonidas shouts "tonight we dine in heaven" and then we have a second sequel laugh.gif

if the make a sequel it could follow up the Battle of Plataea as the ending of 300 shows the beginning of the Battle of Plataea

TScajun2de
post Mar 23 2007, 09:18 AM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Mar 23 2007, 05:31 AM)
the sequel will be about the battle that occured after this 1

10000 vs 30000 greeks tongue.gif
uh? spartans vs greeks? laugh.gif

suppose to be 10k + 30k
TScajun2de
post Mar 24 2007, 01:46 AM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ Mar 24 2007, 12:55 AM)
saw the movie
impressive crap

the dumb smeagol brought the 300 spartans to thier feet.

is the persian king size real size?
bladi huge!!!
fantasy themed size
TScajun2de
post Mar 30 2007, 10:50 AM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(herzeleid @ Mar 30 2007, 01:49 AM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonidas
according to what listed here, the movie 300 potrays around 98% truth ? @@

is there really such a king ? hard to believe ~ !!
yea there was really such a king and there's a statue of him as well

TScajun2de
post Mar 31 2007, 12:05 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

only nudity

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0256sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:31 PM