Editing Splitting/Joining Video Files, How to split/join/merge/cut etc

TSnexus-
post Mar 4 2004, 01:22 PM, updated 20y ago

The intrepid coward
3,744 posts

Utilities/Programs:Guides:Credit to all members who have contributed. PM any of the software mods to report any dead links.

This post has been edited by keyz: Jun 22 2006, 06:41 PM
allenultra
post Mar 26 2004, 11:28 PM

9,027 posts

I wondering what is the best software to split/cut avi file which is a dvd-rip that I download from kazaalite.

I did used virtualdub b4 but the output not so nice.
The sound not sync with the video though.

Any suggestion?
strynch
post May 30 2004, 05:15 PM

254 posts

QUOTE (unregistered @ Apr 7 2004, 10:30 AM)
when i tried to do a direct stream copy on virtualdub... i got this error.. can anyone help? and how can i split a movie file into fragments by using this software?

then you must use full processing mode
allenultra
post May 30 2004, 06:55 PM

9,027 posts

unregistered, wondering is it mpeg file?
u might want to try TMPGenc
ruffstuff
post May 31 2004, 02:01 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE (Uzumaki NaruTo @ May 18 2004, 09:50 PM)
hi guys. any idea to split a 3ivx.mov file? i tried vcd cutter,virtual dub all cannot detect ar. help senpais out there.

i dont know any software to split .mov any than apple iMovie i think
but u can try radtools to convert .mov into avi... this kinda hassle to do.

d3x
post Jun 18 2004, 01:10 AM

The atheist with the GoogleBrain™ Plugin.
1,540 posts

QUOTE (xswoosh @ Jun 11 2004, 05:32 PM)
izit possible that u convert it to divx(smaller size), then baru cut the movie??
i have a 60 mini DV tape & when i capture it into my pc, it took me a whopping 25GB+ of space!!!

60 minutes of DV (assuming you're using SP, not LP) only takes ~12GB, which is roughly 5 minutes per GB. 25GB is nothing nowadays, plus it's only temporary. smile.gif

can explain how to split movie file using TMPGEnc? i only know how to convert to mpeg only.

- split avi first, then convert to mpeg
or
- convert to mpeg then split file

or any method?

Open up TMPGEnc, close the wizard. Go to File, MPEG Tools. Go to the Merge & Cut tab. "Add" your video, then "Edit" it to cut to a specific time. Add more files if you want to merge them or just set the output.

Make sure your Type dropdown box is set to the proper format. Self-explanatory.
Gecko
post Jun 19 2004, 08:20 PM

437 posts

QUOTE (chickenducksoup @ Jun 19 2004, 02:17 AM)
which software 2 use 2 join 4 cd movie >1
thank

if its vcd format *.dat files i normally use VcdGear350 (TMpeg oso can) to convert them into mpeg files then can join all 4 mpegs using TMPeg as explained earlier by Dex, unless u want to make it smaller i.e. compress in into avi DivX then i'll use VirtualDub
for more detailed explaination u can try the links posted in this thread

p/s: most of the stuff i learn was from doom9.org
d3x
post Jun 22 2004, 01:19 AM

The atheist with the GoogleBrain™ Plugin.
1,540 posts

Virtualdubmod can open .OGM files and export the streams. After that, use your usual cutting/editing methods.

I no longer have any ogm files, but I've done ogm to vcd before, so the extraction step is similar. Note that you will have seperate audio/video streams and you'll need to multiplex them back together.
Gecko
post Jun 28 2004, 12:03 PM

437 posts

QUOTE (adri4n @ Jun 28 2004, 11:59 AM)
can tumpang anot.. since its all about splitting and joining medias...

btw wat sw to use if i were to join mp3... like those remix songs .. i wan to join all of them to become 1 large file...so tat when i burn to cd it will be a long song instead of having stopping intervally b4 continuing to nex song (i tried using nero's "no delay between song" )

any decent sound editing software will do
btw im using Sony Soundforge
x86phre3x
post Jul 6 2004, 06:01 AM

End User
731 posts

QUOTE (navilink @ Jul 4 2004, 10:41 PM)
any software to split join WMV file? i can do with AVI using VirtualDub, but VirtualDub cannot split join WMV...

Windows Movie Maker 2.0
navilink
post Aug 2 2004, 03:41 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE (x86phre3x @ Jul 6 2004, 06:01 AM)
Windows Movie Maker 2.0

the windows movie maker 2.0 cannot cut the .wmv files at exact file size and segment i wanted...any other better software? like virtualdub can cut .avi files anywhere...
Gecko
post Aug 2 2004, 11:05 PM

437 posts

QUOTE (navilink @ Aug 2 2004, 03:41 PM)
the windows movie maker 2.0 cannot cut the .wmv files at exact file size and segment i wanted...any other better software? like virtualdub can cut .avi files anywhere...

checkout ASF Tools - able to manipulate ASF and WMV files and try out this link as well abcAvi Tag Editor - change what you've always wanted to change in an AVI AsfTools
cheers~
ghostky
post Nov 12 2004, 11:57 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(alchemisT @ Sep 24 2004, 04:11 PM)
hMmm...is there any software by rotating the video file?
In this case...an *.avi file

I recorded a video with my digicam but i placed it 90 degrees tilted!
Can try Windows Movie Maker 2.1 to rotate the video by adding Video Effects ( Rotate 90, 180 or 270 )
though the output quality is not so good ...
ghostky
post Feb 25 2005, 07:42 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(strooper @ Feb 22 2005, 10:41 AM)
Hi!

I'd appreciate it if anyone can recommend a software I can use to join .wmv files.

I have Win2000.

Thanks!
Best is to use Windows Movie Maker ... thumbup.gif
Alternative-Pinnacle Studio
rainmankl
post Mar 11 2005, 12:32 PM

478 posts

Avi splitter to split avi files.
MPEG splitter to split mpg\mpeg files.
Not sure why, nowaday VCD cutter cannot split mpg files.Possibly too many
different codecs.

Other splitter can do the jobs but there is the enormous time different in the time.
Eg. I forget which splitter but one took 4 HOURS and one took 40 minutes to split
into 650 MB (for burning).
Converting from avi to mpg\dat will lose the advantage of avi.Avi is decoded from
DVD quality so you are degrading the quality.
And converting takes another 3 hours.
Better spend that time downloading more goodies.

Danger ! When you convert to VCD , then any one can accidently watch it on a player.But when in avi,etc, you need a PC.

My friend's wife accidently watch a movies she was not supposed to watch.
My friend had a hard time explaining to her.

smwah
post Apr 29 2005, 12:22 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Can any one help how to split rmvb files.
lingling
post Apr 29 2005, 03:47 PM

535 posts

downlooad the free version of real producer basic
install it and rip out the real media editor ...
for join and cut rm/rmvb
ngeseng
post May 16 2005, 01:29 AM

мŗ. ŝęήġ(tm)
1,022 posts

total files are less than 300mb
why got error??

i wan to merge rmvb

super macgyver
post May 16 2005, 06:23 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,321 posts

QUOTE(tsg @ Feb 28 2004, 06:51 AM)
how about the rmvb video? yang mana boleh?
big_nenen
post May 16 2005, 08:28 PM

79 posts

i use tmpgenc ! best of the best !

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:22 AM