The quote is from AVS forum.
1080p doesnt matter ! Game or movie, Unless u have a >60in display!!
Sep 22 2006, 03:14 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
5,756 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sri Kembangan |
Okay .. all this 1080p hype by Sony that force MS to support 1080p and Toshiba to support it in their HD XA2 HD DVD player is actually doesnt matter !! Well unless u have a <60in 1080p display. Why? Smaller than that size, 1080p vs 1080i is simply indistinguishable.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The quote is from AVS forum. |
Sep 22 2006, 03:20 PM
1,495 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Damansara Perdana - KL |
Better provide a link to the source.
I mean, I've read on and off in many online forums that 1080i vs p is nearly indistinguishable on TVs smaller than 43". However it would be great to have an actual quote from an expert. |
Sep 22 2006, 03:40 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 22 2006, 03:14 PM) Okay .. all this 1080p hype by Sony that force MS to support 1080p and Toshiba to support it in their HD XA2 HD DVD player is actually doesnt matter !! Well unless u have a <60in 1080p display. Why? Smaller than that size, 1080p vs 1080i is simply indistinguishable. it doesnt matter what you say,sony is still launching the ps3 with 1080p » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The quote is from AVS forum. |
Sep 22 2006, 05:47 PM
2,652 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
seriously g5sim, u kept talking about fanboys n such, but i see these kinds of thread created by you.
what are you so afraid of? why are you feeling so insecure of your recent purchase? please do share this with us. i know u have opinions but chap, i have to say, its getting pathetic. japanese would give a rats arse over the tech specs, they and MOST OF US HERE want good games.not the same fps over and over and over over over over well you got the idea. people like you who dispalys hate and spreads confusions are the one who are to be blamed, not the fanboys. taking fanboys to another level, psychotic. |
Sep 22 2006, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 22 2006, 05:47 PM) seriously g5sim, u kept talking about fanboys n such, but i see these kinds of thread created by you. u are welcome what are you so afraid of? why are you feeling so insecure of your recent purchase? please do share this with us. i know u have opinions but chap, i have to say, its getting pathetic. japanese would give a rats arse over the tech specs, they and MOST OF US HERE want good games.not the same fps over and over and over over over over well you got the idea. people like you who dispalys hate and spreads confusions are the one who are to be blamed, not the fanboys. taking fanboys to another level, psychotic. |
Sep 22 2006, 06:24 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 22 2006, 06:22 PM) QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 22 2006, 05:47 PM) seriously g5sim, u kept talking about fanboys n such, but i see these kinds of thread created by you. what are you so afraid of? why are you feeling so insecure of your recent purchase? please do share this with us. i know u have opinions but chap, i have to say, its getting pathetic. japanese would give a rats arse over the tech specs, they and MOST OF US HERE want good games.not the same fps over and over and over over over over well you got the idea. people like you who dispalys hate and spreads confusions are the one who are to be blamed, not the fanboys. taking fanboys to another level, psychotic. |
Sep 22 2006, 06:49 PM
1,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOU.ESS.JAY |
I dun think g5sim is a psychotic fanboy.
Sep 22 2006, 08:43 PM
570 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: KL |
what matters is PS3 PROVIDES FULL HD gaming and media center in a single box!!! I want the best, and I see PS3 being the Best... extra features the better rigght...
Sep 22 2006, 10:15 PM
10,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: GMT +8:00 |
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Sep 22 2006, 05:49 AM) I dun think g5sim is a psychotic fanboy. LOL perfectly articulated. I was thinking the same thing except in 1 word. But of course what you said is more politically correct so i'll go by that |
Sep 23 2006, 01:12 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
Sep 23 2006, 04:09 AM
Yea hopefully Nov 17th... still need to update with the video store in spore if he still having the PS3 on launch.. coz he said he will.. but wth the latest news of SONY not gettin its production goal... I think its a slim chance of gettin one... but lets hope.. maybe the dude has already pre-ordered it earlier or something.
Sep 23 2006, 06:33 AM
522 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: sa? |
Meh, this thing isn't really new. 1080p/i has always been reserved for bigger plasma TVs and LCD TVs, so I never really cared about all the hype surrounding PS3's 1080p capabilities. Maybe if we're in Japan, where plasmas and LCDs are cheaper (by their living standards), but since we're in Malaysia, I think most of us are using our LCD monitors, or 26-32" LCD TVs at best.
I would like to see who here will be the first to fully utilise the 1080p capability of the PS3. I'm looking at a few potential suspects.... |
Sep 23 2006, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Sep 23 2006, 06:33 AM) Meh, this thing isn't really new. 1080p/i has always been reserved for bigger plasma TVs and LCD TVs, so I never really cared about all the hype surrounding PS3's 1080p capabilities. Maybe if we're in Japan, where plasmas and LCDs are cheaper (by their living standards), but since we're in Malaysia, I think most of us are using our LCD monitors, or 26-32" LCD TVs at best. the Dell 30in LCD monitor at >RM6K is actually MORE than 1080p in resolution !! .. That is becaused computer monitors are supposed to be viewed from close range .. unlike gaming or video display. I would like to see who here will be the first to fully utilise the 1080p capability of the PS3. I'm looking at a few potential suspects.... one thing about the 1080p as the HD holly sh1t (sorry i mean grail) .. is that, when most of the households are equiped with 1080p displays .. Sony and the rest of his gangs (Toshiba included) will preach more "p"s. 13**p lah 1234p lah yadda yaddy yaddu to make us spend more money .. its amazingly sad consumers buy into this crap !! ... me planning a maximun 42in plasma with 1080i. Thats it !! |
Sep 23 2006, 03:13 PM
864 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Unknown |
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 23 2006, 01:19 PM) the Dell 30in LCD monitor at >RM6K is actually MORE than 1080p in resolution !! .. That is becaused computer monitors are supposed to be viewed from close range .. unlike gaming or video display. Wah 6k one thing about the 1080p as the HD holly sh1t (sorry i mean grail) .. is that, when most of the households are equiped with 1080p displays .. Sony and the rest of his gangs (Toshiba included) will preach more "p"s. 13**p lah 1234p lah yadda yaddy yaddu to make us spend more money .. its amazingly sad consumers buy into this crap !! ... me planning a maximun 42in plasma with 1080i. Thats it !! Anything lower than that? |
Sep 23 2006, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Sep 23 2006, 03:13 PM) Dell 24in is also slightly over 1080p .. $2.6K (one year installment oso can) Resolution 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...c=my&l=en&s=dhs this is a PC monitor ... i need to reemphasise that 1080p doesnt matter on 24in or 30in monitor .. PC monitor maybe because u are starring at the monitor VERY CLOSELY not display .. |
Sep 23 2006, 08:08 PM
1,886 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: world above you |
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 23 2006, 03:52 PM) Dell 24in is also slightly over 1080p .. $2.6K (one year installment oso can) really?? thn wat these people staring at thn?? Resolution 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...c=my&l=en&s=dhs this is a PC monitor ... i need to reemphasise that 1080p doesnt matter on 24in or 30in monitor .. PC monitor maybe because u are starring at the monitor VERY CLOSELY not display .. ![]() ![]() yr points are totally nonsense.. how far do people usually sit away frm their screen?? i mean most people would even sit like more thn 1.5 m frm the screen. my 29 inch also the most i sit is 1 m away if not nearer.. QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Sep 22 2006, 04:06 PM) IGN: What are your thoughts on 1080p? You're rendering some stuff out at that resolution now, do you think it's necessary for games to be standardized as 1080p and is it doable? hmmm maybe u should jus stick to yr old console thn dont migrate to any new tech. cause for all u know its still the same thing lookin on a small screen.Eggebrecht: First of all, we are not only rendering some part of Lair in 1080p. The whole game is in 1080p native, from front-end to all in-game bits. We absolutely love 1080p because of the detail that you can see. When we went up from 720 to 1080 I was blown away how much more of the artwork was visible. We started out being true 720p proponents, but since switching over to true 1080p via HDMI a few months ago I can't go back. Lair is not upscaling or cheating to get to 1080p, we are natively running at the full 1920x1080 progressive resolution. Earlier this year we were quite skeptical if that would be possible, but the final kits really were a revelation in terms of power. Sony delivered what they promised and after a bit of tweaking we had the game up-and running. One thing that did help us was that our engine always was heavily reliant on data streaming, so the larger frame buffer memory never was an issue. By now half of our staff has 1080p monitors, and believe me, the 720 guys are jealous. IGN Interview This post has been edited by ruztynail: Sep 23 2006, 08:09 PM |
Sep 23 2006, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Sep 23 2006, 08:08 PM) really?? thn wat these people staring at thn?? yr points are totally nonsense.. how far do people usually sit away frm their screen?? i mean most people would even sit like more thn 1.5 m frm the screen. my 29 inch also the most i sit is 1 m away if not nearer.. hmmm maybe u should jus stick to yr old console thn dont migrate to any new tech. cause for all u know its still the same thing lookin on a small screen. again what are u trying to say with ur second point. If u care to read properly, u would know that i said computer monitors are meant to be view from closer range as compared to video displays (HDTVs) and on ur extremely emotional third point, my thread wasnt meant to attack or look down at people with smaller displays. I appologise if u are offended! |
Sep 23 2006, 10:02 PM
1,886 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: world above you |
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 23 2006, 09:05 PM) again what are u trying to say with ur second point. If u care to read properly, u would know that i said computer monitors are meant to be view from closer range as compared to video displays (HDTVs) and on ur extremely emotional third point, my thread wasnt meant to attack or look down at people with smaller displays. I appologise if u are offended! if i was anymore emotional thn u are.. my sentences would hv winks or emoticons. but i dont find as many compared to yr statement.. like snipersnake said. QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 22 2006, 05:47 PM) seriously g5sim, u kept talking about fanboys n such, but i see these kinds of thread created by you. totally agree what are you so afraid of? why are you feeling so insecure of your recent purchase? please do share this with us. i know u have opinions but chap, i have to say, its getting pathetic. japanese would give a rats arse over the tech specs, they and MOST OF US HERE want good games.not the same fps over and over and over over over over well you got the idea. people like you who dispalys hate and spreads confusions are the one who are to be blamed, not the fanboys. taking fanboys to another level, psychotic. if u didnt know the least.. its a sarcastic remark.. if u didnt.. |
Sep 23 2006, 10:40 PM
Forget the LCDs guys, spent RM13 K on a SUPER FILM PROJECTOR SCREEN. Yes the bloody screen cost 13 K.... cool this is, the screen is made out of 4 high tech films that absorbs light, so no matter how bright your room is, the screen looks bright without the need of closing the lights like in the cinemas.
The other great thing is, it makes any budget projector looks superb on the screen. So if you have a high end projector with HDMI it will look WAY WAY more stunning!! Didnt got to try to see how it will looks like, coz the dude was just using the budget AV projector.. and yet it still looks gd. |
| Change to: | 0.0153sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:52 AM |