@@@ Mac Mini Fans @@@, Talk Abt Mac Mini

TScuoreboy
post Sep 22 2006, 01:01 AM, updated 19y ago

81 posts

I just bought a Mac Mini i wanna to know more abt this cute n small PC rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

anything can discuss here
prasys
post Sep 22 2006, 03:27 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Using PowerPC Mac mini here with 256MB of RAM. Since it only has 256MB of RAM and OSX itself 'lags' far behind , I am using it as a 'server'....Its pretty small and cute !
woi
post Sep 22 2006, 07:49 PM

Has anyone upgraded the RAM in their Intel Mac Mini ? Care to comment on cost and usability before and after the upgrade ?
dragna
post Sep 24 2006, 04:14 PM

5,252 posts

Pretty cool, well i'm not sure is it still wise to get 1 mini now or not?
I was tempted to get one 2 years back when it first launched but i knew that they we gonna upgrade it since 256MB and 1.25Ghz was just something not really powerful to run on, especially OSX

And now they have released the mini's in 1.66Ghz and 1.83Ghz, 512MB ram. Well my primary usage for the kit will be just for Garageband and the usual Art/Design softwares and soemthing to make my iPod feel at home. So what do you guys think? Advice is appreciated, Thanks.
TScuoreboy
post Sep 24 2006, 10:56 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(woi @ Sep 22 2006, 07:49 PM)
Has anyone upgraded the RAM in their Intel Mac Mini ? Care to comment on cost and usability before and after the upgrade ?
emm the ram now is very costly i just as my supplier Amble Action it quote me 2 x 512MB DDR2 667mhz RM 5XX (cost price) than ask at Mac Studio quote me RM 600++
last month i ask is only cost me RM 3XX sad.gif

now my MAC Mini still stock didnt upgrade anything ..... running Dual Boot

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Sep 24 2006, 11:00 PM
TScuoreboy
post Sep 24 2006, 10:57 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 24 2006, 04:14 PM)
Pretty cool, well i'm not sure is it still wise to get 1 mini now or not?
I was tempted to get one 2 years back when it first launched but i knew that they we gonna upgrade it since 256MB and 1.25Ghz was just something not really powerful to run on, especially OSX

And now they have released the mini's in 1.66Ghz and 1.83Ghz, 512MB ram. Well my primary usage for the kit will be just for Garageband and the usual Art/Design softwares and soemthing to make my iPod feel at home. So what do you guys think? Advice is appreciated, Thanks.
i think is more than enuf ..... u got used any Final Cut Pro bcoz Mac Mini cant support

chizzu
post Sep 24 2006, 11:14 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

I wanna get a mac mini soon but there is one thing that hold me back from getting the mac mini. Just wanna ask anyone tried gaming on mac mini? planning to get the one with core duo 1.83 with 1gb ram and 80gb sata

the only issue that i have now is the graphic card. should i pump some more cash to get an imac?
TScuoreboy
post Sep 24 2006, 11:23 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Sep 24 2006, 11:14 PM)
I wanna get a mac mini soon but there is one thing that hold me back from getting the mac mini. Just wanna ask anyone tried gaming on mac mini? planning to get the one with core duo 1.83 with 1gb ram and 80gb sata

the only issue that i have now is the graphic card. should i pump some more cash to get an imac?
Mac Mini not suitable for game is only running Intel built in graphics

if u wanna go for gaming go for imac 17" that have Radeon X1600 i think now is selling abt RM 4799
dragna
post Sep 25 2006, 02:46 AM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 24 2006, 10:57 PM)
i think is more than enuf ..... u got used any Final Cut Pro bcoz Mac Mini cant support
So 512MB of RAM won't make things lag? in terms of running a couple of application and rendering stuffs. Just need to get a clear view before i really put cash into it's paw.
lokgotz
post Sep 25 2006, 09:13 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 25 2006, 02:46 AM)
So 512MB of RAM won't make things lag? in terms of running a couple of application and rendering stuffs. Just need to get a clear view before i really put cash into it's paw.
512mb is not enough to run OS X smoothly.....

but if u are running XP via Bootcamp.....it is fast....

just bump it up to 1gb.....and u should be fine with OS X
TScuoreboy
post Sep 25 2006, 01:40 PM

81 posts

512mb just gam gam for OSX ..... but in XP i get more worst heheheh just remember to quit the application after used if still stay on ur system will get slower n slower heheheheh

1GB i think is more than enuf ...... but need to wait bcoz now the RAM price is going up due to shortage of stock
dragna
post Sep 25 2006, 09:17 PM

5,252 posts

So it's okay that I buy the Mini first and then upgrade the RAM at a later date when the price for RAM goes down?
vandetta
post Sep 26 2006, 01:03 AM

658 posts

Of course it's OK dude tongue.gif
TScuoreboy
post Sep 26 2006, 03:23 AM

81 posts

i also not sure hehehehe i also wait than now i can get Apple Care Pack .... but also need RM 500+++ sad.gif
carpathia
post Sep 26 2006, 01:18 PM

2,619 posts

1) can mac mini run 3rd party rams ?what type of rams do the new mac mini use?
2) anyone tried upgrading the hdd ? i understand mac mini uses notebook size hdd (3.5?)
3) problems so far with the mac mini ?

am really tempted to get one but the price is still so high!
prasys
post Sep 26 2006, 04:59 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Yeah , it works. It just picky , thats all
2) anyone tried upgrading the hdd ? i understand mac mini uses notebook size hdd (3.5?)

Its 2.5 , and its possible...There iseven a book called Mac Mini upgrading for dummies !. So you could upgrade the RAM , the HDD and even the processor. I heard someone is going to try Merom on Mac Mini !

Problems ?...No , !
SUSMike3300
post Sep 26 2006, 06:55 PM

6,866 posts

My friend had a Mac Mini in his living room, use it as the media center/home theatre/ and TV. Apparently, it runs very silent... works like charm! Bout the only satback is it does not have CD eject button? It would have been better if it does...
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 02:46 AM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Sep 26 2006, 06:55 PM)
My friend had a Mac Mini in his living room, use it as the media center/home theatre/ and TV. Apparently, it runs very silent... works like charm! Bout the only satback is it does not have CD eject button? It would have been better if it does...
So each time he gotta use the keyboard to eject the CD?
TScuoreboy
post Sep 27 2006, 09:36 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 26 2006, 01:18 PM)

am really tempted to get one but the price is still so high!
1) can but not all can work ..... ? Intel Mac Mini using 2 x 256mb DDR2 667mhz SODIMM ... using HYNIX ram
2)for old Mac Mini G4 is using 3.5 IDE but for Intel Mac mini running 2.5" SATA
3)for me soo far is heating ...... smile.gif
TScuoreboy
post Sep 27 2006, 09:38 AM

81 posts

got another way if not eject just restart the MINI and hold the mouse click button wait until the CD come out if still cant eject just send back to apple center smile.gif
prasys
post Sep 27 2006, 03:12 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Correction

Its using 2.5" ATA...AFAIK , its on 2.5

www.barefeats.com/mini01c.html

Eithanius
post Sep 27 2006, 03:14 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 27 2006, 09:36 AM)
1) can but not all can work ..... ? Intel Mac Mini using 2 x 256mb DDR2 667mhz SODIMM ... using HYNIX ram
2)for old Mac Mini G4 is using 3.5 IDE but for Intel Mac mini running 2.5" SATA
3)for me soo far is heating ...... smile.gif
any idea how much heaty is the mini...? both idle and loaded... unsure.gif
wei
post Sep 27 2006, 03:18 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

at first wanna get a mini as media center. now with iTV on the way... kih kih kih....
goldfries
post Sep 27 2006, 03:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 22 2006, 03:27 PM)
Using PowerPC Mac mini here with 256MB of RAM. Since it only has 256MB of RAM and OSX itself 'lags' far behind , I am using it as a 'server'....Its pretty small and cute !
care to share what kind of server is that? and why did you choose a mac mini for this task?
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 04:52 PM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 24 2006, 10:57 PM)
i searched this up in some other forum and came up with someone replying a random question asking if a mini could run FCP.

You shouldn't have any problems with putting FCP5 on a mac mini, i have it on one at work and it runs nicely. I am personally running all my editing on a Powerbook G4

prasys
post Sep 27 2006, 05:57 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 27 2006, 03:36 PM)
care to share what kind of server is that? and why did you choose a mac mini for this task?
Well its my :-

1. File Server
I usually store all my music files here , i even use this as a downloading machine as it does not consume lot of power and its quiet. No noise or what-so-ever .

2. Web Server
Since OSX uses UNIX Core , I took advantage of this situation by running my own Home Web Server.

3. Folding@Home Client
Heh , fold fold fold fold fold fold

4. Music Streaming Server
With iTunes on the mac and with AudioHijack for OSX , it allows me to stream internet radio or any sort-of-audio from the computer to my Home Theater via Airport Express. Now aint that nice , you could get full 5.1" Surroundsound , wirelessly. I would just use VNC from my laptop or PDA to control it. Now , thats a true music entertainment system !

The main reason why I choose my mini for this task is that , OSX requires lot of RAM to handle my daily tasks , this includes syncing with my Phone and PDA , Checking my e-mail , Web-surfing , ripping MP3s. 256MB does not 'cut' it right , as most of the time the system gets out-of-sync [in other words , it lags behind]. Futhermore , it discourages me to upgrade my RAM as the prices of RAM are soaring high. Not to mention that Apple Malaysia charges a lot for upgrading the RAM itself. The small form factor plus the 'no-noise thingy' is a plus point there , it is easier for me to place my server anywhere in the house. One more thing , the beauty of OSX is that its maintenance -free. I use just make full use out of it. Its simple and elegant . That sums it up
goldfries
post Sep 27 2006, 06:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

nice. very enlightening on what mac mini can do. smile.gif
prasys
post Sep 27 2006, 06:31 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Yep , its cute and small. Thats the beauty of it , if you're thinking of setting up an Entertainment Rig for your Living Room , I would go for Apple's Mac Mini. Just bump the RAM to 1GB at least and you're set. Enjoy with Front Row !
Eithanius
post Sep 27 2006, 06:41 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 27 2006, 05:57 PM)
3. Folding@Home Client
Heh , fold fold fold fold fold fold
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

is it still cooler than the core duo version....?
goldfries
post Sep 27 2006, 07:31 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 27 2006, 06:31 PM)
Yep , its cute and small. Thats the beauty of it , if you're thinking of setting up an Entertainment Rig for your Living Room , I would go for Apple's Mac Mini. Just bump the RAM to 1GB at least and you're set. Enjoy with Front Row !
yeah - just found out price is RM 2,399 only. smile.gif with all the goodies and the size - i'd say it's worth it.
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 07:51 PM

5,252 posts

And yeah i asked about the RAMs for the mini, it costs RM800 for 1GB!
as Prasys said.. it's soaring high.
SUSMike3300
post Sep 27 2006, 09:14 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 27 2006, 02:46 AM)
So each time he gotta use the keyboard to eject the CD?
Great, it works...

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 27 2006, 09:38 AM)
got another way if not eject just restart the MINI and hold the mouse click button wait until the CD come out if still cant eject just send back to apple center smile.gif
My friend just bought like 2-3 months, tried your method... not working... should send to the Apple Center for checkup? sweat.gif
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 09:28 PM

5,252 posts

quite mafan right each time want to eject cd gotta reboot..
TScuoreboy
post Sep 27 2006, 10:09 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 27 2006, 09:28 PM)
quite mafan right each time want to eject cd gotta reboot..
not every time hehehe if can eject from GUI than just reboot smile.gif
soo far touch wood not yet happen
i seldom used the mac Combo drive ..... bcoz i got firewire external DVD-RW
dragna
post Sep 28 2006, 12:30 AM

5,252 posts

thats why i am planning just to get the 1.66Ghz enuf.. my PC can act as the printing server since it has the DVDwritter.
but the RAMs are so expensive for me to upgrade... gRrr...
prasys
post Sep 28 2006, 08:22 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Nah , if you could press and hold F12 or the Eject Key [if you're using an Apple Keyboard] to eject

On the other hand , you could open and upgrade it by yourself. Its possible , its just that I dont want to do that , thats all. I have seen people upgrading their RAMs on the mini !..

OSX is the way to go , dragna I am telling you ...You would not feel the Windowsish on OSX. Its just stay cool and go !
TScuoreboy
post Sep 28 2006, 12:01 PM

81 posts

hhahahaha yeah is cool now ram is expensive wait until next year
wei
post Sep 28 2006, 12:20 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 28 2006, 08:22 AM)
OSX is the way to go , dragna I am telling you ...You would not feel the Windowsish on OSX. Its just stay cool and go !
hahaha. what can i add? wait till u get 10.5, this bugger fly!!!
TScuoreboy
post Sep 28 2006, 03:54 PM

81 posts

hahaha i also wait for Leopard but dunno how long to wait

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Sep 28 2006, 03:56 PM
SUSMike3300
post Sep 28 2006, 04:26 PM

6,866 posts

Mac Mini with Intel Core Duo is Vista Capable?
siawgu
post Sep 28 2006, 05:21 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Sep 28 2006, 04:26 PM)
Mac Mini with Intel Core Duo is Vista Capable?
I think is compatible cos Macbook already been installed Microsoft Vista liaw..
SUSMike3300
post Sep 28 2006, 05:38 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Sep 28 2006, 05:21 PM)
I think is compatible cos Macbook already been installed Microsoft Vista liaw..
Same with the iMac, but Mac Pro cannot do Boot Camp...

Macbook Pro can also huh...
TScuoreboy
post Sep 28 2006, 11:53 PM

81 posts

emm VISTA can nice man but i try to install Win XP MCE cant install
got anyone try it ..... bcoz wanna try the remote on Media Center Edition
in XP no driver for it..... sad.gif
neovo
post Oct 3 2006, 07:20 PM

121 posts

Anyone know the price for mac mini with 1Gb memory?

Where is the best place to buy mac in malaysia?
dragna
post Oct 4 2006, 04:44 AM

5,252 posts

The last i enquired the price on the 1Gb Mac mini RAM was quoted at RM850.
carpathia
post Oct 4 2006, 04:45 PM

2,619 posts

Best place to get a mac ? listed in order
1) GREAT Eastern Mall frendly and offer tons of help
2) Gurney plaza very forward coming with help and answers

TScuoreboy
post Oct 6 2006, 05:51 PM

81 posts

now i using 2GB third party ram
soo far no problem .... i install myself heheeh damm hard to open my Mini
without sratch n damaged

hahha i can do business liow
who wanna install ram can find me
i charge cheaper hehehehehehhehe drool.gif

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Oct 6 2006, 05:52 PM
prasys
post Oct 6 2006, 05:59 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Whats your rate , I am thinking of replacing my mini's RAM with 512MB DDR that I have
TScuoreboy
post Oct 6 2006, 06:40 PM

81 posts

ur mini is DDR2 or DDR1

if Intel Mini is DDR2 667mhz
accs_centre
post Oct 7 2006, 07:31 PM

4,840 posts

Do u think mac mini able to run 720p HD Video nicely for HTPC purpose?

This post has been edited by accs_centre: Oct 8 2006, 09:58 AM
TScuoreboy
post Oct 8 2006, 01:09 AM

81 posts

i think should be no problem bcoz most of the MAC IS HT support but i nvr try before
my fren show me wif the 30" wide screen wif 720p video no lag .....
accs_centre
post Oct 10 2006, 11:59 PM

4,840 posts

What is the audio chipset used in mac mini Intel version? The sound output is good? smile.gif
carpathia
post Oct 11 2006, 09:39 AM

2,619 posts

How is the mac mini able to do 720P ? are we serious?!
TScuoreboy
post Oct 11 2006, 09:55 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Oct 10 2006, 11:59 PM)
What is the audio chipset used in mac mini Intel version? The sound output is good? smile.gif
SIGMATEL if i no mistaken
siawgu
post Oct 11 2006, 01:47 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 11 2006, 09:39 AM)
How is the mac mini able to do 720P ? are we serious?!
yap.. me also tried 720p. 1080px cannot liaw so lagging..
processor & gpu not enough..

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Oct 11 2006, 09:55 AM)
SIGMATEL if i no mistaken
The System profiler listed is : Intel High Definition Audio

btw.. anyone can run Warcraft III TFT (Mac) on mac mini without any lagging?
i'm using Intel Core Solo 1.5GHz.. it is lagging...

This post has been edited by siawgu: Oct 11 2006, 01:48 PM
neovo
post Oct 11 2006, 06:58 PM

121 posts

Anyone can explain how to change ram for mac mini.
It seems hard to open the mac mini.
Also which ram is compatible with this mac mini.
Can it works when i am using 1GB + 256MB? (since there is 2 slot for ram in mac mini and it comes with 2x256).

accs_centre
post Oct 11 2006, 09:16 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Oct 11 2006, 01:47 PM)
yap.. me also tried 720p. 1080px cannot liaw so lagging..
processor & gpu not enough..
The System profiler listed is : Intel High Definition Audio

If it is using Intel HD then that's great..relatively good to use thumbup.gif
amryf83
post Oct 11 2006, 10:43 PM

69 posts

announcing.... proudly owner od mac mini now.... it's so cool..... and great support from apple as well....
siawgu
post Oct 12 2006, 08:47 AM

996 posts

QUOTE(neovo @ Oct 11 2006, 06:58 PM)
Can it works when i am using 1GB + 256MB? (since there is 2 slot for ram in mac mini and it comes with 2x256).
it is easy for you to open the mac mini by using the right tools as such putty knife.
you can use 667MHz DDR2 RAM SO-DIMM for it

QUOTE(amryf83 @ Oct 11 2006, 10:43 PM)
announcing.... proudly owner od mac mini now.... it's so cool..... and great support from apple as well....
yap.. me also, used for more than 6-7 months oredi, still satisfied with the mac mini. love'em so much..
TScuoreboy
post Oct 12 2006, 09:30 AM

81 posts

emm not easy ... i change myself if u scratch or damage the mac mini will void the waranty

but i check back the apple website if u damage the part than only void the part u damage

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Oct 12 2006, 09:31 AM
TScuoreboy
post Oct 12 2006, 09:36 AM

81 posts

yeah is cool i just bought abt 1 month very satisfied even VISTA inside only the things not support is the AERO GLASS
neovo
post Oct 12 2006, 12:05 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Oct 12 2006, 07:47 AM)
it is easy for you to open the mac mini by using the right tools as such putty knife.
you can use 667MHz DDR2 RAM SO-DIMM for it
yap.. me also, used for more than 6-7 months oredi, still satisfied with the mac mini. love'em so much..
Any 667MHz DDR2 RAM SO-DIMM can works with mac mini?

But the mac mini processor is not 64bit. By the time leopard come out with full 64bit os, we cant satisfied anymore with mac mini core duo.
manchild
post Oct 12 2006, 12:09 PM

110 posts

I'm planning to buy a mac mini for my dell 24 incher. Can someone tell me what these terms mean?

[Vantec NextStar3 eSata Encl + Seagate Barricuda 200GB SATA]...[SmartDrive Firewire Encl + WD 250GB PATA]...[Wacom Graphire4 Tablet]...[V-Gear Talkcam Messenger Pro]...

I saw it on someone's sig.
accs_centre
post Oct 12 2006, 01:31 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(manchild @ Oct 12 2006, 12:09 PM)
I'm planning to buy a mac mini for my dell 24 incher. Can someone tell me what these terms mean?

[Vantec NextStar3 eSata Encl + Seagate Barricuda 200GB SATA]...[SmartDrive Firewire Encl + WD 250GB PATA]...[Wacom Graphire4 Tablet]...[V-Gear Talkcam Messenger Pro]...

I saw it on someone's sig.
1. [Vantec NextStar3 eSata Encl + Seagate Barricuda 200GB SATA] = External Harddisk (HDD Casing and HDD, then using USB to connect to PC for storage)

2. [SmartDrive Firewire Encl + WD 250GB PATA] = Same as above, just this one the HDD is not SATA HDD)

3. [Wacom Graphire4 Tablet] = Should be input device (Keyboard?Mouse? use google to find more)

4. [V-Gear Talkcam Messenger Pro] = Video Camera for PC

d@odao
post Oct 12 2006, 01:59 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

my siggy it is?...laugh.gif

[Vantec NextStar3 eSata Encl + Seagate Barricuda 200GB SATA]...
- 3.5" external enclosure for the sata hdd via USB 2.0...

[SmartDrive Firewire Encl + WD 250GB PATA]...
- 3.5" external enclosure for pata hdd via firewire 400, can support USB too
- if can support sata, i m more happier...

[Wacom Graphire4 Tablet]...
- Tablet for drawing and writing...

[V-Gear Talkcam Messenger Pro]...
- USB webcam for the mac mini since isight too expensive...
- but, it is using rosetta whn running it application, make the mini super hot...not using for now...dun buy...

This post has been edited by d@odao: Oct 12 2006, 02:03 PM
neovo
post Oct 13 2006, 03:54 AM

121 posts

Leopard will come out next year. If we buy a mac mini right now, wont it be like wasting money?
Because by the time leopard come out, we have to purchase the os again in order to upgrade the tiger. And it cost more than $100.

accs_centre
post Oct 13 2006, 11:51 AM

4,840 posts

Luckily u say that.. smile.gif
then i should wait for next year only make purchase...hehe

Any new mac mini spec coming out?

This post has been edited by accs_centre: Oct 13 2006, 11:52 AM
SUSMike3300
post Oct 13 2006, 12:51 PM

6,866 posts

Here I come Mac Mini mee:

thumbup.gif Amazingly quiet!!
TScuoreboy
post Oct 16 2006, 01:04 PM

81 posts

yeahhh only the combo drive abit loud when insert CD
hazz
post Oct 16 2006, 11:34 PM

160 posts

anyone know when will the mac mini come out with a grfx card like the imac x1600?
and the core 2 duo mac mini?
i only know someone had change the mac mini to c2d merom theirself.. rclxms.gif
but dont know when will the c2d mac mini release?

sorry asking stupid questions sweat.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by hazz: Oct 16 2006, 11:39 PM
quintessential
post Oct 21 2006, 01:30 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(hazz @ Oct 17 2006, 12:34 AM)
anyone know when will the mac mini come out with a grfx card like the imac x1600?
and the core 2 duo mac mini?
i only know someone had change the mac mini to c2d merom theirself..  rclxms.gif
but dont know when will the c2d mac mini release?

sorry asking stupid questions  sweat.gif  doh.gif
mac mini g4 version use geforce go 5200 as its graphics, not is intel gma 950.
TScuoreboy
post Oct 21 2006, 10:20 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Oct 21 2006, 01:30 AM)
mac mini g4 version use geforce go 5200 as its graphics, not is intel gma 950.
huh not Radeon 9200 meh hehehe

TScuoreboy
post Oct 21 2006, 10:22 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(neovo @ Oct 12 2006, 12:05 PM)
Any 667MHz DDR2 RAM SO-DIMM can works with mac mini?

But the mac mini processor is not 64bit. By the time leopard come out with full 64bit os, we cant satisfied anymore with mac mini core duo.
i just bought 2 x 1GB third party ram no problem soo far

but remember get the same spec as the OEM ram

run on 667mhz CL5 (because some are CL4) , 1.8v that the spec even i got try to install 533hmz also no problem hehehe

some more i install the ram myself used puffy knife to open it as long u not broke or damaged anything wont void the warranty
TScuoreboy
post Oct 21 2006, 10:24 PM

81 posts

emm mac mini is amazing is smaller than any shuttle PC rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Oct 21 2006, 10:44 PM
hazz
post Oct 23 2006, 10:54 AM

160 posts

i hope apple can release a c2d mac mini support 64-bit and a better graphics before the end of this year.......so i can buy ....hope drool.gif
TScuoreboy
post Nov 3 2006, 02:04 AM

81 posts

emmm soo quite
hazz
post Nov 6 2006, 10:24 PM

160 posts

A new benq widescreen lcd monitor drool.gif rclxm9.gif
dont know how much would it cost,but it is great for people who want to buy a new monitor for their mac mini!! thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif drool.gif flex.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by hazz: Nov 6 2006, 10:25 PM
TScuoreboy
post Jan 14 2007, 12:57 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(hazz @ Nov 6 2006, 10:24 PM)
A new benq widescreen lcd monitor  drool.gif  rclxm9.gif
dont know how much would it cost,but it is great for people who want to buy a new monitor for their mac mini!! thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  drool.gif  flex.gif  rclxm9.gif
wow nice how much is selling i gonna to buy it suite for MINI heheh

insomnia
post Feb 5 2007, 02:18 PM

20 posts

Does the Mac Mini G4 1.25 version upgradable?

Can we upgrade the Combo to Superdrive? Front row? Can we do custom upgrade?
i-zonda
post Feb 9 2007, 04:44 AM

25 posts

Hai everyone,

found this useful clip and would like to share with all the Mini lovers... rclxms.gif

h**p://www.y**tube.com/watch?v=ND0VFRx6lfs

With this kind of tutorial, wouldn't b too hard i think... cool2.gif Would love to try it out myself and upgrade the RAM... Any specific brand ( 3rd party ) that can recommend me? Is Kingston ok?

wjie20
post Feb 9 2007, 08:18 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

hey i was wondering would there be a core 2 duo for mac mini? ive search around...some says yes and some no...so ill post 1 here...hopefully not at the wrong place rclxms.gif
chizzu
post Feb 9 2007, 09:08 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

heh, all the mac mini potential buyers out there are waiting cor C2D bump by Apple but there are still no news about it...

you can either wait... or get a mac mini, open it and throw a C2D chip in:P

This post has been edited by chizzu: Feb 9 2007, 09:09 PM
vandetta
post Feb 10 2007, 01:49 AM

658 posts

Of course there will be C2D MacMini, but no idea when will it be.

I'm waiting to get 2nd hand CD MacMini when C2D macMini cameout biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Feb 14 2007, 06:57 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Anyone runs Mac Mini 24/7 without switching it off ?
i-zonda
post Feb 15 2007, 11:08 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Feb 14 2007, 06:57 AM)
Anyone runs Mac Mini 24/7 without switching it off ?
Mine... mine... tried running for 4 days also didn't observe any abnormal/unstable... rclxms.gif but, 50% of the time my room's air-cond is ON. But if you wan to play safe, can alwayz put it on sleep mode rather than shut it down...
tishaban
post Feb 16 2007, 12:27 AM

3,615 posts

I've run it for 24/7 in a room w/out A/C. The joys of bittorrent biggrin.gif

No problems so far. I even have a pretty hot 250GB external firewire drive next to the Mini.

chaw1979
post Feb 16 2007, 11:14 AM

198 posts

Have somebody try mac mini to install winxp?? how is the performance??
TScuoreboy
post Feb 18 2007, 09:48 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(i-zonda @ Feb 9 2007, 04:44 AM)
Hai everyone,

found this useful clip and would like to share with all the Mini lovers...  rclxms.gif

h**p://www.y**tube.com/watch?v=ND0VFRx6lfs

With this kind of tutorial, wouldn't b too hard i think... cool2.gif  Would love to try it out myself and upgrade the RAM... Any specific brand ( 3rd party ) that can recommend me? Is Kingston ok?

i using 3rd party RAM now i using non-branded RAM mix wif original MacMini RAM
soo far no problem

Added on February 18, 2007, 9:49 am
QUOTE(chaw1979 @ Feb 16 2007, 11:14 AM)
Have somebody try mac mini to install winxp?? how is the performance??
iam running dual boot of XP soo far no problem quite stable

u just download the latest Bootcamp v 1.1.2

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Feb 18 2007, 10:01 AM
prasys
post Feb 20 2007, 03:56 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Okay , my mac mini hdd's died and I freaked out. Then , I bought a 100GB 2.5" HDD for RM 298 [ouch] and installed it. Its quite tricky to install a HDD in a mac mini and then voila , here I am

With my new Pimped Mac Mini !
i-zonda
post Feb 24 2007, 11:24 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 20 2007, 03:56 PM)
Okay , my mac mini hdd's died and I freaked out. Then , I bought a 100GB 2.5" HDD for RM 298 [ouch] and installed it. Its quite tricky to install a HDD in a mac mini and then voila , here I am

With my new Pimped Mac Mini !
Wao...!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif did you install the HDD yourself? Any brand of 2.5" will do? Any detail spec that you can share with us? smile.gif

Currently i've order myself 2GB Kingston RAM for my Mac Mini... It's on the way cause the sales-person said our Mac should use the special Kingston RAM rather than normal/usual one ( detail spec: 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300, Data Rate = 667MHz, SDRAM Timing: CL = 5 ) Is it true Kingston did make special kind of RAM to our MAC? sweat.gif

siawgu
post Feb 24 2007, 12:07 PM

996 posts

I just upgraded my mac mini to 2GB using Value RAM.. until now seems to be ok.. no kernel panic so far.. i using KVR667D2S5/1G x 2

anyone in malaysia successful upgrade his/her processor to C2D ?
macball
post Feb 24 2007, 05:37 PM

259 posts

Can upgrade directly like what we use to do for our WIN based self assembled PC?

0.0474sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:11 AM