Correction

Its using 2.5" ATA...AFAIK , its on 2.5

www.barefeats.com/mini01c.html

Eithanius
post Sep 27 2006, 03:14 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 27 2006, 09:36 AM)
1) can but not all can work ..... ? Intel Mac Mini using 2 x 256mb DDR2 667mhz SODIMM ... using HYNIX ram
2)for old Mac Mini G4 is using 3.5 IDE but for Intel Mac mini running 2.5" SATA
3)for me soo far is heating ...... smile.gif
any idea how much heaty is the mini...? both idle and loaded... unsure.gif
wei
post Sep 27 2006, 03:18 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

at first wanna get a mini as media center. now with iTV on the way... kih kih kih....
goldfries
post Sep 27 2006, 03:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 22 2006, 03:27 PM)
Using PowerPC Mac mini here with 256MB of RAM. Since it only has 256MB of RAM and OSX itself 'lags' far behind , I am using it as a 'server'....Its pretty small and cute !
care to share what kind of server is that? and why did you choose a mac mini for this task?
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 04:52 PM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 24 2006, 10:57 PM)
i think is more than enuf ..... u got used any Final Cut Pro bcoz Mac Mini cant support
i searched this up in some other forum and came up with someone replying a random question asking if a mini could run FCP.

You shouldn't have any problems with putting FCP5 on a mac mini, i have it on one at work and it runs nicely. I am personally running all my editing on a Powerbook G4

prasys
post Sep 27 2006, 05:57 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 27 2006, 03:36 PM)
care to share what kind of server is that? and why did you choose a mac mini for this task?
Well its my :-

1. File Server
I usually store all my music files here , i even use this as a downloading machine as it does not consume lot of power and its quiet. No noise or what-so-ever .

2. Web Server
Since OSX uses UNIX Core , I took advantage of this situation by running my own Home Web Server.

3. Folding@Home Client
Heh , fold fold fold fold fold fold

4. Music Streaming Server
With iTunes on the mac and with AudioHijack for OSX , it allows me to stream internet radio or any sort-of-audio from the computer to my Home Theater via Airport Express. Now aint that nice , you could get full 5.1" Surroundsound , wirelessly. I would just use VNC from my laptop or PDA to control it. Now , thats a true music entertainment system !

The main reason why I choose my mini for this task is that , OSX requires lot of RAM to handle my daily tasks , this includes syncing with my Phone and PDA , Checking my e-mail , Web-surfing , ripping MP3s. 256MB does not 'cut' it right , as most of the time the system gets out-of-sync [in other words , it lags behind]. Futhermore , it discourages me to upgrade my RAM as the prices of RAM are soaring high. Not to mention that Apple Malaysia charges a lot for upgrading the RAM itself. The small form factor plus the 'no-noise thingy' is a plus point there , it is easier for me to place my server anywhere in the house. One more thing , the beauty of OSX is that its maintenance -free. I use just make full use out of it. Its simple and elegant . That sums it up
goldfries
post Sep 27 2006, 06:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

nice. very enlightening on what mac mini can do. smile.gif
prasys
post Sep 27 2006, 06:31 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Yep , its cute and small. Thats the beauty of it , if you're thinking of setting up an Entertainment Rig for your Living Room , I would go for Apple's Mac Mini. Just bump the RAM to 1GB at least and you're set. Enjoy with Front Row !
Eithanius
post Sep 27 2006, 06:41 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 27 2006, 05:57 PM)
3. Folding@Home Client
Heh , fold fold fold fold fold fold
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

is it still cooler than the core duo version....?
goldfries
post Sep 27 2006, 07:31 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 27 2006, 06:31 PM)
Yep , its cute and small. Thats the beauty of it , if you're thinking of setting up an Entertainment Rig for your Living Room , I would go for Apple's Mac Mini. Just bump the RAM to 1GB at least and you're set. Enjoy with Front Row !
yeah - just found out price is RM 2,399 only. smile.gif with all the goodies and the size - i'd say it's worth it.
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 07:51 PM

5,252 posts

And yeah i asked about the RAMs for the mini, it costs RM800 for 1GB!
as Prasys said.. it's soaring high.
SUSMike3300
post Sep 27 2006, 09:14 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 27 2006, 02:46 AM)
So each time he gotta use the keyboard to eject the CD?
Great, it works...

QUOTE(cuoreboy @ Sep 27 2006, 09:38 AM)
got another way if not eject just restart the MINI and hold the mouse click button wait until the CD come out if still cant eject just send back to apple center smile.gif
My friend just bought like 2-3 months, tried your method... not working... should send to the Apple Center for checkup? sweat.gif
dragna
post Sep 27 2006, 09:28 PM

5,252 posts

quite mafan right each time want to eject cd gotta reboot..
TScuoreboy
post Sep 27 2006, 10:09 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Sep 27 2006, 09:28 PM)
quite mafan right each time want to eject cd gotta reboot..
not every time hehehe if can eject from GUI than just reboot smile.gif
soo far touch wood not yet happen
i seldom used the mac Combo drive ..... bcoz i got firewire external DVD-RW
dragna
post Sep 28 2006, 12:30 AM

5,252 posts

thats why i am planning just to get the 1.66Ghz enuf.. my PC can act as the printing server since it has the DVDwritter.
but the RAMs are so expensive for me to upgrade... gRrr...
prasys
post Sep 28 2006, 08:22 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Nah , if you could press and hold F12 or the Eject Key [if you're using an Apple Keyboard] to eject

On the other hand , you could open and upgrade it by yourself. Its possible , its just that I dont want to do that , thats all. I have seen people upgrading their RAMs on the mini !..

OSX is the way to go , dragna I am telling you ...You would not feel the Windowsish on OSX. Its just stay cool and go !
TScuoreboy
post Sep 28 2006, 12:01 PM

81 posts

hhahahaha yeah is cool now ram is expensive wait until next year
wei
post Sep 28 2006, 12:20 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 28 2006, 08:22 AM)
OSX is the way to go , dragna I am telling you ...You would not feel the Windowsish on OSX. Its just stay cool and go !
hahaha. what can i add? wait till u get 10.5, this bugger fly!!!
TScuoreboy
post Sep 28 2006, 03:54 PM

81 posts

hahaha i also wait for Leopard but dunno how long to wait

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Sep 28 2006, 03:56 PM
SUSMike3300
post Sep 28 2006, 04:26 PM

6,866 posts

Mac Mini with Intel Core Duo is Vista Capable?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:32 AM