Recently applied for a mortgage, all applied banks ask for proof of FD/savings. How much do I need to keep in my savings to get lower interest rate?
Mortgage Loan Package Inquiries, (Strictly NO Promotion Allowed)
Aug 26 2024, 04:00 PM
133 posts Joined: Mar 2021 |
Recently applied for a mortgage, all applied banks ask for proof of FD/savings. How much do I need to keep in my savings to get lower interest rate?
Aug 29 2024, 08:10 PM
Received the following offers for Home Loan:
Public Bank - Semi-Flexi, 85% SPA Price, MRTA RM10,558 covering RM258,200 for 35 years. 3,80% interest, RM50 charge on any withdrawal RHB - Full Flexi, 90% SPA Price, MLTA RM28,716 covering RM600k for 30 years, 3.85% interest, no maintenance fees Maybank - Full Flexi, 90% SPA Price, MRTA RM1,754 covering RM300k for 5 years, 3.80% interest, no maintenance fees, RM25 charge on any withdrawal I assume the clear winner here is Maybank? Is there anything else I am missing out on or could nego better? |
Sep 1 2024, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(sad boi @ Aug 29 2024, 08:10 PM) Received the following offers for Home Loan: Proceeded with Maybank. Out of the 3, their app and process for the loan repayment etc is the most seamless and straightforward especially if you already have a bank account with them and know how to use their app. Highly recommended!Public Bank - Semi-Flexi, 85% SPA Price, MRTA RM10,558 covering RM258,200 for 35 years. 3,80% interest, RM50 charge on any withdrawal RHB - Full Flexi, 90% SPA Price, MLTA RM28,716 covering RM600k for 30 years, 3.85% interest, no maintenance fees Maybank - Full Flexi, 90% SPA Price, MRTA RM1,754 covering RM300k for 5 years, 3.80% interest, no maintenance fees, RM25 charge on any withdrawal I assume the clear winner here is Maybank? Is there anything else I am missing out on or could nego better? |
Sep 3 2024, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(ssangyongs @ Sep 3 2024, 03:23 PM) Hello gents. MRTT is compulsory for loan or mostly optional? I have a life insurance have been paying for the past 5 years which payout should be more than enough to cover loan. Is it advisable to opt out of MRTT? Loan around 600k Not compulsory by law but most banks would require you to take some form of insurance with them in order to qualify for their lowest possible rate. ssangyongs liked this post
Sep 4 2024, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 4 2024, 03:08 PM) banks dont really care what life insurance you have unless they are the beneficiary. Not true from my experience, if your credit profile is good and have a decent coverage of life insurance already, the banks will usually reduce their insurance requirements in order to seal the deal.take the minimum MRTT required to get the best rate. ssangyongs liked this post
Sep 4 2024, 08:05 PM
Sep 5 2024, 09:16 PM
Sep 15 2024, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(LeongFW @ Sep 14 2024, 01:35 PM) Hi, i looking to buy my 1st property, recently received some agent told me have installment subsidy from government to 1st house purchase, which some of the agent claim 1st few years installment -rm500, and follow normal rate, even got 1 agent told me full subsidy for 35 years, but i online unable find relevant info, and 1 can share how they play this game ? Thanks your agent bullshitting you lol probably try hard to close deal so can earn commission |
Sep 16 2024, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(alber7 @ Sep 16 2024, 08:08 AM) My mortgage interest from MBB is 4.25% for about 350k loan. Is it good to refinance for better rates? considering all other charges need to fork in. Depends. Go bank and ask lor. Add up all the costs for all scenarios and see which one costs less in the long run. I dont have the full details of the arrangement so wouldnt know how much it would cost. |
Sep 18 2024, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(jern25 @ Sep 18 2024, 04:23 PM) Hi, im looking to buy my 1st house under RUMAWIP scheme. for now my agent only apply to HLB and MBB. Of course you can, always apply to other banks to get the best offers. But from my experience, HLB and MBB already offer one of the best dyMy question here is, if the agent only apply to these 2 banks, can i apply by myself to other banks? in order to try to get a better rate/offering from other bank, possibly? or for the scheme under RUMAWIP/RSKU etc, you can only apply through agent? |
Sep 19 2024, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 19 2024, 09:47 AM) UOB and OCBC were able to offer me better than MBB (did not apply HLB). The cost of applying to more is a bit of time, the potential benefit of even a 50 basis point change in interest rate is substantial. So definitely apply to more if can. What rate did you get from UOB and OCBC? |
Sep 20 2024, 08:42 AM
Sep 21 2024, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 20 2024, 04:33 PM) Hi sifus, received the offer below from OCBC. Good to proceed? Nego down the insurance amountPurchase price : 845,500 Loan amount : 760,500 Margin : 90% Interest rate : 3.8% Tenure : 35 yrs MRTT sum assured : 760,500 Tenure : 23 yrs Premium : 19,841 Total loan amount : 780,341 Installment : 3,363 |
| Change to: | 0.3049sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:28 PM |