Mortgage Loan Package Inquiries, (Strictly NO Promotion Allowed)

kitkat78_98
post Dec 12 2014, 11:02 AM

58 posts

Hi, would like to ask if we can do payment by biweekly instead of monthly to reduce daily interest rate ? Do we need to inform bank in advance / personal go to branch office ? Currently using OCBC semi flexi loan . Would be happy to get some information from all sifu above... smile.gif Normally payment is via online
kitkat78_98
post Dec 12 2014, 12:33 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 12 2014, 11:36 AM)
The BNM ruling as practiced today, refer to the dates the loans are taken. 1st and 2nd property can be finance at 90% but it doesnt matter if you did not finance it at 90%, because the 3rd property will only be capped at 70%!

As such, to prove this to the new bank, all you need to do is to make them a copy of all your bank loans. The 1st and 2nd property (according to the date of the LO) can be refinanced to a maximum of 90%, while the 3rd property is now limited to 70%.
You got this right.
It depends on the bank, but I can confidently speak for OCBC and OCBC Al Amin... (eh.. which is your bank). The interest for this loan is based on daily-rest, that means the moment you make an additional payment (called advanced payment by OCBC), you would already save the interest for the next day onwards, for the amount that you paid in advance.

edit: But yo yo yo, please do call the bank to confirm ya. I cannot be liable for any misinformation here. I am confident of it though, just that it is your responsibility to confirm this with OCBC call center.

So yes, if you want to save the interest of 4.4% (whatever you housing loan rates are) on a daily basis, do go ahead and pay in advance. Every interest that you paid in advanced, is money saved! In essence, this is WAY BETTER than putting your money in FD smile.gif Also, all advance payment can be deducted automatically if you do not pay (or not able to pay) the monthly installment, say in the event where you go to vacation or something smile.gif

- Faiz Azmi (+6 013 369 3993)
Thanks Sifu !. Mine is OCBC ( not the OCBC Al Amin)

0.0387sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:50 AM