Mortgage Loan Package Inquiries, (Strictly NO Promotion Allowed)

budang
post Mar 29 2019, 11:22 AM

975 posts

Sifus,

Three questions:

1) when applying for mortgage loan, will bank take into account whether your spouse working, their salary, or number of kids depending on you?
2) I currently have a mortgage loan joint with my dad's name. During my next mortgage application will this increase / decrease my loan amount eligibility?
3) Planning to loan about 500k, what's the typical interest rate for this loan amount? Residential landed property.

This post has been edited by budang: Mar 29 2019, 11:23 AM
budang
post Apr 11 2019, 09:09 AM

975 posts

Hey sifus, I'm curious:

1. Does having too many credit cards affect your mortgage loan application in any way? If yes, how many is too many?

2. I read some guides on maintaining a good credit score, one of the tip is to keep your credit application to maximum 3 for the past 12 months. Is this true?

3. I own credit cards from 3 bank, Bank A applied in 2014, Bank B in 2015 and Bank C in 2017. And recently applied for another one. I do not have any late payment / outstanding for the past 5 years. Will this raise any eyebrow from Bank's perspective?

I ran a full credit report recently and my score is close to ceiling, just curious if having another credit card application (I can't resist the freebies and discounts) will impact my loan application in the future in any way.
Thank you in advance!

This post has been edited by budang: Apr 11 2019, 09:10 AM
budang
post Apr 11 2019, 09:38 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 11 2019, 09:18 AM)
1. If they are not over used more than 70% of the limit then its fine. Generally just keep a few cards will do. Like within 3 max.

2. Not true

3. No issue, as long as you have been prompt paying up

Curious when you say ceiling means?
Ah sorry, I mean my credit score is about 95% of the maximum score. So was curious if another credit card application will pull down this score and will be viewed as risky customer by bank.

Anyway I'm planning to cancel few of my credit cards shortly, SST is kicking in =X
budang
post Apr 11 2019, 10:20 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 11 2019, 09:41 AM)
oic nah it won't pull down the score.

getting ceiling scores in CTOS / RAM report doesn't mean you got no problem when it comes to applying loan, it's just how their system reads your overall scoring as an individual. The bank don't 100% depend on these 2 company's report when it comes to loan application time.
Thanks for the advise sir!
budang
post Apr 11 2019, 04:11 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(x88yunkw @ Apr 11 2019, 11:59 AM)
how to your u get 95% from max score? may i know where u can see / read this score? i got online ccris too, but never saw % in the report. Thanks!
There's a free report by imoney, I believe you can google it up. Just submit a few documents it's ready pretty quickly. They basically extracts the records from CCRIS. I have an e-account from CCRIS and yes it doesn't show any score but rather your payment punctuality for the past 24 months.

Another way you can see your score is pay RM25 for a CTOS report.
budang
post Apr 11 2019, 04:12 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 11 2019, 12:46 PM)
1. No it won't affect as long as you do not over utilize them. There is no hard and fast rule about 70% or anything, but the credit controllers will apply 5% of the outstanding balance as your commitment when calculating your DSR. If you utilize more than 100% (yest it is possible, by not paying your minimum 5% for the month), then your score will likely drop.

2. Not necessarily. There is NO hard and fast rule about it. The way the credit controllers see these credit card applications are similar to other application, that is each credit application (not just credit card) will appear in your CCRIS. Is too many bad? Yes. But how many is too many. No one can give a definite answer since each credit controllers are human, each bank has an SOP but differences between the credit officers matter as well. I find that people who claim so and so is "too man" simply doesn't have experience working in a bank previously - they based their "findings" on hearsays
Are you referring to the CTOS score? Banks' credit controllers don't look at those. Those are arbitrary numbers set by CTOS, with some guidelines that they made up. It is a good score for your own reference, but it doesn't mean your score would decide everything on your loan applications
Most likely the score reported when you print out the CTOS report. The most important "score" is your CCRIS report, but there is no "score" to speak off. Just records of your repayment, current and under-application of credits/loans
Thank you sir!
budang
post Apr 11 2019, 04:36 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 11 2019, 04:23 PM)
But the "problem" is that the banks' credit controllers don't look at these arbitrary scores set by these credit companies. they have their own SOP and each banks are different. They look at the repayment schedule/discipline, current liability amount, liability limit, etc.

To be blunt, these "scores" are meaningless. You could get a high score, but still get your loan rejected, and vice versa. Making it more of a "syok sendiri" score. It's good if you get close to perfect score, which means you must be doing something great according to their eyes, but when loan applications are concerned, only the banks' credit department SOP matters.
I think these scores are more to an indicator for individuals to have an idea how are they faring in their repayment performance. Although it could be useless when it comes to banks gauging your eligibility.
budang
post Apr 17 2019, 02:56 PM

975 posts

Sifus,

I heard from many that it's a bad decision to finance your MRTA/MLTA into your mortgage loan. To what extent this is true / false?

How about financing legal fee into loan? Is it any different than financing your MRTA/MLTA into your loan?

This post has been edited by budang: Apr 17 2019, 02:57 PM
budang
post Apr 25 2019, 11:41 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(Amideva @ Apr 24 2019, 11:17 PM)
It’s very confusing to give the full list because a lot are not applicable to me. I already mentioned I am under employment. Not business. But you still give list for business, agency etc. pening la. Thanks.
This kind of attitude. Expected to be spoon fed all the way. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
budang
post May 7 2019, 10:58 AM

975 posts

Dear sifus,

Based on your experience, what are the chances of a customer with below profile getting a 80% mortgage loan for a home worth 640k? Should be 80% financing due to 2nd residential.

Gross salary before bonus: 8.8k
Commitment: PTPTN RM210/month
Home Loan 1: Residential, 35 years, 31.5 years remaining, 192k loan amount, RM942/month
Home Loan 2: Commercial, 25 years, servicing interest only, 276k loan amount, RM1563/month
Credit Card: 2 banks, no outstanding.
Car Loan: N/A

budang
post May 7 2019, 11:33 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(Pac Lease @ May 7 2019, 11:05 AM)
high chance, should be pass.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 7 2019, 11:07 AM)
max loan is 606k, so 80% is okay
Thanks for the advise!! biggrin.gif
budang
post May 21 2019, 02:09 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(diners @ May 20 2019, 10:59 AM)
signed my Letter Offer yesterday, sealed the deal with PBB at 4.15%, semi-flexi (cuz i dont have much cash running around anyway  laugh.gif ) included OLTA.

OLTA is a little bit pricy but i am fine with that, it's within my budget. i also met with my insurance agent later the day to buy MLTA separately. so if anything happens my MLTA+OLTA=covers the house+extra leftover for my family.

PDS = product disclosure sheet.
inside PDS, there is COF (Cost of Funds), this determines the BR of the bank aside from BNM's OPR.

you can study the COF and see the BR trend of the bank. i see HLBB have fluctuations, MBB and PBB are quite stable (at least following OPR).

let the lowest ELR wins.
4.15% sound like a good deal ohmy.gif
budang
post Mar 4 2020, 10:33 AM

975 posts

Does BNM rate cut means applicants are now able to loan more money? Since the rates are lower and installment per month is lower for the same amount of money loaned.
budang
post Mar 5 2020, 02:50 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 4 2020, 05:31 PM)

possible 3.7 - 3.8%

So low now? How about 365k loan?
budang
post Mar 5 2020, 03:53 PM

975 posts

Hi sifus, let's say snp price is 500k, under development but buyer managed to loaned only 300k / 60%, meaning remaining 200k / 40% need to be borned by buyer. But since it's still under development so it's progressive billing. Will the loaned 60% goes to the first 60% of the progressive billing? After bank paid out 60%, the remaining 40% progressive billing will have to be paid by buyer, progressively?

This post has been edited by budang: Mar 5 2020, 04:12 PM
budang
post Mar 5 2020, 06:23 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 5 2020, 04:12 PM)
Same
3.8% and above
No, you will have to come up with the progressive payment first before the balance is disbursed from the bank by stages.
QUOTE(Pac Lease @ Mar 5 2020, 04:12 PM)
you can ask your sales purchase agreement lawyer how will they advise the bank during the disbursement.
Thank you so much for the advise.
budang
post Mar 9 2020, 09:58 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(amirfikrie @ Mar 8 2020, 05:31 PM)
Hi, I currently have two property loans under my name.

For a third property, is it possible to still get 90% bank loan if I joint name with my spouse? (My spouse hasn't bought any property before)
Both also residential title?
budang
post Apr 4 2020, 11:56 PM

975 posts

Hello sifus, is a 413k loan, 35 years tenure at 3.8% a good rate? Or should I find out what's their base rate & spread rate to further determine whether is it good or bad?
budang
post Apr 6 2020, 07:15 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Apr 5 2020, 08:22 AM)
Should be able to get 3.70% ~ 3.80% pa.. as for Base Rate, should refer to your FA as they would know what they are offering.
Just found out it's 3.25% Base Rate + 0.55% Spread Rate.

budang
post Apr 7 2020, 03:13 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(vinceleo @ Apr 7 2020, 07:57 AM)
good SR pf 0.55% as this is fix vs BR which will variable although outlook will remain low amid the current challenging time
Is 0.55% SR a good rate?

What percentage of SR is considered good? Is there a benchmark / reference point?

1.1258sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:06 PM