4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Mortgage Loan Package Inquiries, (Strictly NO Promotion Allowed)

mushigen
post Aug 1 2022, 02:37 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Aug 1 2022, 02:36 PM)
Actually what is overdraft facility?

They ask me to open "Premier 1 Account" which is current account,

if i got money just put in the current account to save interest.
and monthly deduct maintenance fee RM5,
that is what i from the transaction history.
When was your loan approved?

I think you had better check with your bank.

Edit: from what I know, OD is the facility to allow you to borrow from the loan account. In semi or fully flexible loans, you're only allowed to draw out your excess payment which you put in to offset interest.

For OD, you're given a limit to withdraw, say 500k. If you have zero excess payment, you can still draw out up to rm500k (you borrow).
If you draw out 300k, you kena charged od interest and another unused portion interest on the remaining 200k.
This is based on what i was told. I don't hv OD so I am not 100% sure.

This post has been edited by mushigen: Aug 1 2022, 02:42 PM
mushigen
post Aug 10 2022, 11:52 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(blacksoul678 @ Aug 8 2022, 03:06 PM)
Hi fellas.

I have a situation and am seeking advice. I have a signed a loan offer from Maybank, which ties in CLTA@Etiqa for 500k for 30 years.

I did a health assessment, and they have added loading due to my BMI. My banker proposed to reduce coverage to match the original premium and avoid extra loading premium.

Asides that, I currently have a life insurance with AIA for 100k. Can I just increase the coverage to 500k with AIA and show maybank if needed? The banker told me its compulsory to choose Etiqa if Maybank. This would mean I will need to request full CLTA Waiver at the expense of 0.05% interest increase in house loan, but it's up to bank to accept my waiver request.

Thoughts/advise?
I once asked a loan officer whether I still have to purchase MRTA (to get preferential interest rate) if I have insurance with enough coverage (death/TPD) compared to the loan amount. Was told they don't accept personal insurance as my beneficiary has full right not to pay a single sen to settle bank loan if I RIP, compared to MRTA where the bank is effectively the beneficiary if I RIP or kena TPD.

You can ask your bank.
mushigen
post Aug 30 2022, 10:49 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(kanz1986 @ Aug 30 2022, 11:31 AM)
Thank you very much for the detailed explanation and example, winter01942!

May I know which clause do you refer to for the 70% maximum offset amount? and the 70% is based on loan amount, right? not balance amount?
It depends on banks and type of loan (flexi or semi)

For HLB, what I was told is if you take semi-flexi loan, you can only offset up to 30% of remaining loan. Meaning, you put in RM500k but only 30% x 500k will be used to offset interest. The remaining 70% of your 500k pumped in is doing nothing.
For its fully flexi loan, the cap is 70%.

For PBB, for semi flexi there is no cap iirc, but for conventional loan there is a 3-year lock-in period. If you pump in 500k, it means you are clearing the loan and you will incur penalty for early settlement of 2% of loan amount, i.e., RM10k.
For its fully flexi, the cap is 70% of current account balance. If you put in rm500k to the current account, they will only use 30% 70%x 500k to offset interest.

For MBB semi flexi, it's similar to PBB semi flexi. No cap but there is a lock-in period for conventional loan.

Edit: typo

This post has been edited by mushigen: Sep 10 2022, 02:00 PM
mushigen
post Aug 31 2022, 12:00 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Aug 30 2022, 11:39 PM)
That means after the lock-in period, you can pump in the extra without any penalty?
Lock-in period refers to the period which you cannot fully clear your loan, or you will incur penalty. Using your example, your loan is 500k. So if you immediately pump in rm500k after loan is disbursed, you're effectively clearing the loan.
Maybank officer told me some clients overpump until they fully paid their loan and the account is closed - some incurred penalty if they fully settled their loan within lock-in period

You can usually pump in extra money regardless of lock-in period. For loan without cap, just need to watch out for inadvertent early settlement.
mushigen
post Sep 23 2022, 09:50 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Sep 20 2022, 04:36 PM)
Sifu sifu, what is the rate for commercial loan (buy shoplot using individual name) now? Getting a few quote for around 3.8% (without mrta), with mrta about 3.7-3.75%. abt 500k loan for 25 yrs tenure. Is it good rate? I scroll above seems like residential loan rate is lower.
Residential home loan rates are indeed lower, as told to me by a few loan officers from different bank.
mushigen
post Sep 30 2022, 10:09 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Jessica JM. @ Sep 28 2022, 10:11 PM)
Hi all. I just got offer from Allianz Bank:

Loan amount: 500k
Interest: 3.65%
Tenure: 35 years @ 1.85k per month

Does this a good rate?
Just for comparison, the normal rate early in this year (before the series of interest hikes) was 2.80-2.85%, with 2.85% the norm. After all the hikes, those with 2.80-2.85 will see their interest rate increased to 3.55-3.60%.

So yours looks OK to a layman like me, especially since your other application is rejected.

I'm curious, which one came first - the approval for this loan with Allianz or the rejection of the other loan?
mushigen
post Oct 2 2022, 09:54 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(vinceleo @ Oct 2 2022, 08:18 PM)
Should be Alliance Bank, Allianz insurer
Yes, you are right.
mushigen
post Oct 12 2022, 06:43 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Oct 12 2022, 05:11 PM)
Is it true that for loan below RM500k, you will not get as good a rate as loan above RM500k?

E.g. I see people can get rates of under 3.6% but my loan RM420k and best offer is 3.64% on the basis of lower loan amount despite my repayment capacity is ample.
I think your 3.64% is very good rate.
mushigen
post Oct 15 2022, 10:58 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(lewissac @ Oct 13 2022, 10:52 PM)
What is the likelihood for someone working overseas (E.g. Singapore or Australia), where they have no CCRIS record in Malaysia, is able to get 90% home loan? But in their country of work, they have records (cards, personal loan, etc) Gt some feedback from bank that they allow only 80% or max 85%.
I asked this question before. The bank staff told me if it's Sgp, they still can consider their documents to be valid (income tax return, provident fund, etc). How high the margin of finance, not sure.

FYI, some banks won't even approve credit cards for those working in Singapore, as experienced by someone I know who doesn't have any ccris record.

Have you considered applying for a no-annual fee credit card but pay RM50 SST per year? This way, your CCRIS will show your outstanding balance as zero every month?
mushigen
post Dec 6 2022, 12:44 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Dec 2 2022, 03:10 PM)
for the same coverage amount and same coverage tenure, MRTA premium between different bank can be huge difference? any specific details i need to clarify with banker?

Bank A offer 3.7% with 62k MRTA premium
Bank B offer 3.8% with 38k MRTA premium
both cover 25 years and 100% loan amount
Maybe can try to re-nego with B to give you 3.7%? I'm also curious about the premium difference.
mushigen
post Feb 5 2023, 09:47 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 26 2023, 02:28 PM)
It's economies of scale. The job to do a 100k loan and a 1 mil loan is the same. So if someone is taking a higher volume, I'll offer a discount rate. Simple as that.

On the interest part, that's up to you to shop around, it's like if you don't like the price of Kuey Teow in Kedai A, you are free to see if Kedai B Kuey Teow is cheaper or not.
Imho, the job to do a RM1mln loan is less than the job to do *two* RM500k loans during processing and during loan tenure (one set of account vs two, one letter/statement to be sent vs two, and so on).

Maybe discount is also given due to higher profit in bigger loan?
mushigen
post Feb 9 2023, 09:51 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 8 2023, 01:45 PM)
Here again back with some questions:
1. One bank requires min 5 years MRTA. I understand that can get refund if settle loan earlier than tenure. What is generally done, take MRTA to cover whole tenure?

2. MRTA is paid at the beginning of tenure. Is it advisable to pay as lump sum, or can it be added to the total loan as installment?

3. Is fire insurance compulsory by all banks?

Thank you
1. MRTA is to cover your next-of-kin (death) or yourself (in the event of TPD).
It's an insurance that only you know or can decide if you can take the risk. It's just like asking "do I need life insurance?" The second question is how much coverage is needed, again only you can decide. Some cover whole tenure and loan. Some take up the minimum required by the bank.

2. Mrta premium can be added to your loan, meaning your loan amount increases as well. To do so or pay lump sump depends on your financial situation, just like how much down payment you pay for the house.

3. Insurance, yes, from all my discussions with various loan officers during my loan application. If yours is a condo, the management would have bought insurance and you can use this instead of buying another one.

Just my RM0.02
mushigen
post Feb 9 2023, 02:59 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 9 2023, 10:10 AM)
Thanks for taking the time. I been working out the scenario as well. Seems more beneficial to put the MRTA premium amount in FD than paying lumpsum, as have to fork out lump sum for 10% downpayment too. If MRTa is added to the loan, will it be a separate or combined entity ie, pay to one account only? Thanks
In my case, it's in one account - the loan account, which will show your actual loan amount + MRTA premium as total borrowing amount. So, if you borrowed RM500k and your MRTA premium is RM30k, it will show total borrowing of RM530k in your loan account and CCRIS.

Edit: whether it is more beneficial to put the premium in FD vs paying upfront for it depends on how much you would save if you choose one over the other. Really need sifus to calculate whether a 4.1% FD interest is more worth it than say 4% loan interest because the former is compounded yearly or monthly (depending on your FD) and home loan interest is compounded daily.

Also, you need to see whether there is any "penalty" when you decide to close the FD account and dump it into your loan account. In some loans, especially full flexi ones, not 100% of your extra payment goes to offset the principle; and in some semi-flexi loans, you incur service charge when you decide to withdraw this excess payment in future.

This post has been edited by mushigen: Feb 9 2023, 03:05 PM
mushigen
post Feb 9 2023, 08:09 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 9 2023, 08:04 PM)
Did you take MRTA to cover the full tenure?
No, only the minimum to satisfy the bank.
mushigen
post Feb 22 2023, 02:49 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(jerantut2011 @ Feb 21 2023, 04:28 AM)
Hi sifus

If someone has very high credit limits on credit cards but do not use the cards, will this affect the housing loan application or the DSR calculation?

Thank you
Not a sifu, but what I know is if your monthly cc usage is high (current month's outstanding amount is shown in ccris although it's not due for payment yet), it will negatively affect your score even though you clear your outstanding amount every month.
mushigen
post Feb 22 2023, 02:51 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 22 2023, 01:03 PM)
I submitted loan applications with 2 banks. Both of them appeared at my eccris as house loan application. Is this correct?
Personal experience: Yes, but once you have signed up with one bank, the application with the other bank will be removed from CCRIS.
mushigen
post Mar 2 2023, 01:12 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(syzsiew5991 @ Mar 1 2023, 06:49 PM)
CCRIS also takes time to refresh. some bad agents are really disgusting .

write in official channel, lodge a complaint or file a legal letter against the agent  and agent registrar if you want to blow things big
Just need to email BNM about this and cc the person in charge of the loan application. Confirm effective - as advised to me by one of the loan officers I approached.
mushigen
post Mar 13 2023, 09:47 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(donkeygg @ Mar 12 2023, 12:34 PM)
i request for min.. m single
yeah by right 2.1k but i will chug down some extra downpayment to make it 1.9k p/month
How do you do that, since the loan amount is fixed at 500k?

Or you intend to borrow less now? Will this affect the interest rate?
mushigen
post Jun 22 2023, 10:23 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(soulred777 @ Jun 19 2023, 04:39 PM)
Anyone has experience taking house loan from hong Leong or mbb. Plz share your thoughts. Tq.
Mbb was the fastest to approve my application (iirc 2-5 days), hlb was the slowest to approve despite me already having 2 other banks approving my loans for the same house.
mushigen
post Jun 22 2023, 10:32 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(soulred777 @ Jun 22 2023, 10:24 AM)
Same here. HLB loan approved already but they're still working on the rates. Quite slow.
The banks here will approve with a standard offer, then the officer will file an appeal on your behalf for best rate. First approval by hlb ady took so long, can't imagine how much longer I had to wait for the revised rate.

Idk why banks can't just approve it with best rate. Saves everyone the time to file appeal if loan amount and tenure or mrta amount are unchanged.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0592sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:51 AM