Autodesk Programs Worth RM30-40k Is Now Available, For Free To Malaysian Students
Dec 10 2014, 09:21 PM
113 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Seven Nation |
wondering how often Revit is used here?
Dec 10 2014, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(WindDragon @ Dec 10 2014, 09:37 PM) Not often. I think only Sunway doing BIM. pen pencil quite obsoleteSome architect companies inport AutoCAD files to revit to check for clash detection but thats it. Malaysia still stuck in pen and pencil mentality la. BIM? 10 more years la I think. now just draw from basic CAD software BIM still new here i guess i dunno about BIM but interested to know more the future definitely moving towards BIM but feels slow here hack even lots of people arent even aware of BIM |
Dec 10 2014, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(WindDragon @ Dec 10 2014, 09:50 PM) Watermark. If u edit any files with the student version, the file will be permanently watermark, even if u use original software to open the file after that. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « when i print using ori 2014 LT version the watermark didnt come out tho but when transfer back to other full version CAD the watermark still there also transferring even a line from the edu version to the full version would make the file to have the watermark This post has been edited by Elgore: Dec 10 2014, 09:54 PM |
Dec 10 2014, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 10 2014, 10:00 PM) Most big architecture firms in malaysia and those with partners in singapore are already using BIM since the last 5 years. DBKL and JKR now have their own BIM group who're responsible to push the industry to adopt BIM, but they're still new. UTM architecture programme fully equips students with BIM authoring skills using revit with climatic simulations. Some of the big architecture schools are also adopting revit as well. Im a Revit instructor and was responsible of implementing BIM syllabus into the architecture curriculum. tho next time i cari makan susah d since i dunno BIM |
Dec 10 2014, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 10 2014, 10:06 PM) Most people with 3d background find revit a bit harder to learn. But i attribute it to their perspective of treating it like another 3D modelling software. It's not. what about from CAD 2D background and 3dMax user? So for those without 3D background, i recommend learnin this straightaway and skip sketchup! |
Dec 10 2014, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 10 2014, 10:17 PM) how extensive is ur 3d background? basic 3D will help u understand the model. but the biggest difference is the workflow. revit is very profession-centric. meaning revit architecture is tuned to how architects work, while revit structure is tuned to structural engineers. if u're neither of those, then working in that environment can be counter-intuitive. i tried learning revit MEP, but i just dont understand why this has to come after that and not before, because that's how mechanical engineers sort out their business. 0 in autocad 3d everybody will work in 3D. but the workflow is unique to their profession. basic to intermediate in 3dmax 0 in sketchup |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0170sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:51 AM |