81 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

Enigmatic
post Oct 24 2006, 01:31 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 24 2006, 09:20 AM)
You know you shouldn't discuss about Intel in an AMD thread.

Anyway... the 2.2v jumper is supposed to supply fixed voltage.

Tforce550 should be able to run more than 280mhz HTT if you use the latest BIOS. there has been issues of PCI bus not locked at 33mhz with older BIOSes.
Was just joking about the C2D actually. Just to show my frustration. laugh.gif
The 2.2v jumper doesn't works for me. It writes 2.4v, and when I place it to the 2.2v location, it won't boot. At least, not on my rams. Don't have other rams to try it out on.

Will try the 703 bios and see what I can get. Tried the latest but didn't helped much.
uzairi
post Oct 28 2006, 09:14 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(mantoba @ Oct 23 2006, 03:07 PM)
i use stock cooling, here my cpu temp :

idle : 42
full load (while prime test) : 55

is that temp ok or i need to replace my cpu cooling to run at that vcore for a long term..
I supposed that load temp is near to the TCaseMax temp which means that's the max safe temp for daily use. Upgrade a better cooling so that it can lower the load temp.

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Oct 24 2006, 04:40 AM)
Alrighty.
Used three motherboards, socket 939 till AM2, all of them won't let me boot at 280HTT.
Other than test the mobo with other bios, u can increase the nf4 chipset voltage and see whether there's and improvement with the extra voltage added.
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 02:41 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

MObo : Abit KN8 Ultra V1.1
PRocessor : AMD Athlon 64 3000+ .. Venice ..
Ram : kingston DDR400 PC 3200 512 mb X 2 ..
GC : Colorful 256 mb DDR3 7600 GT ..
HDD : WD 160 gb SATA2 ..

just thinking whether can oc or not ..
i guess the mobo not that good lor ..
and i dun have a cooling system also ..
if i wan OC , i think i should get ram cooler and better heatsink right ?

any suggestions ?? sory for being noobish ..
i just started and read alot of thread bout this ..
still new and tryin my best to OC .. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif !!
J-Slade
post Oct 29 2006, 02:49 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

This motherboard I heard is very good is OC plus, ur Athlon is venice... haha... thats a OC'er CPU core biggrin.gif
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 02:52 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

really good at OC-ing ..?
ur specs and mine about the same ..
except for ur motherboard .. lol ..
u planning to OC too ?
but one of my buddy say the motherboard capacitor no good wor ..
anytime can leak one .. sigh ..
anyway , can i use a higher DDR besides DDR400 ??
if can i plan to sell of my ram and get a faster one ..
and do i need to get better heatsink and ram cooler ?

This post has been edited by avengers88: Oct 29 2006, 02:53 PM
RokXIII
post Oct 29 2006, 03:18 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

higher DDR? Do u mean the high performance RAM?
ya, it is not good for the mobo capacitor, but as long as u have a very good air flow inside ur casing, this shouldn't be a problem to u...
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 03:31 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

anyone wit this motherboard OC before ?
please help !!!!!
siauann
post Oct 29 2006, 04:17 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Oct 29 2006, 03:31 PM)
anyone wit this motherboard OC before ?
please help !!!!!
of cz u can oc..do some research and u shd knw some tips...dun expect spoon fed smile.gif
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 04:22 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

ya .. i know .. but here's the question ..

1. Do i need to have a good heatsink and ram cooler before i start OC ?
2. Do i need to change my ram to DDR533 hynix before i start OC ??
3. should i change my motherboard to something better ?

thats all for now . =) !
RokXIII
post Oct 29 2006, 04:26 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Oct 29 2006, 04:22 PM)
ya .. i know .. but here's the question ..

1. Do i need to have a good heatsink and ram cooler before i start OC ?
2. Do i need to change my ram to DDR533 hynix before i start OC ??
3. should i change my motherboard to something better ?

thats all for now . =) !
1. not necessary. it depends on u, if u feel the temp is high after u OC it, u can change.
2. no need.
3. ur mobo can OC actually, y u wan to change?
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 04:32 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

means i can start OC now ar ??
but won't the temperature inside be hot ??
kulus
post Oct 29 2006, 04:32 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Oct 29 2006, 04:26 PM)
1. not necessary. it depends on u, if u feel the temp is high after u OC it, u can change.
2. no need.
3. ur mobo can OC actually, y u wan to change?
1. If u think u wanna bump lots of vcore, so u better change ur hsf
2. If u just wanna do some mild OCing, just stay with ur current ram
3. U can OC using kn8 ultra, but for better overclocking, use DFI is

kulus
post Oct 29 2006, 04:35 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Oct 29 2006, 04:32 PM)
means i can start OC now ar ??
but won't the temperature inside be hot ??
yes of course..u can start OC right now biggrin.gif
and for the temp, make sure it will not exceed 55 C
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 04:38 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

can u tell me which DFI motherboard is better in OC ?
that supports socket 939 of course ..
and if i wanna get a better ram , what should i get ?
siauann
post Oct 29 2006, 05:16 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Oct 29 2006, 04:38 PM)
can u tell me which DFI motherboard is better in OC ?
that supports socket 939 of course ..
and if i wanna get a better ram , what should i get ?
DFI is overclockers boards...depends on ur budget wic suits u...u got plenty of cash to burn get the LanParty series smile.gif
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 06:40 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

haha ..
alright .. how bout the ram ?? my mobo only supports 400 right ..
but why i see some people can use DDR 533 or something like that ?
TSsoulfly
post Oct 29 2006, 06:43 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

one question for you... do you know that there is ddr and ddr2?
avengers88
post Oct 29 2006, 06:44 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

of course .. but then .. if i wan to upgrade my ram to better and
oc'able .. which one should i go for ?
uzairi
post Oct 29 2006, 06:48 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Oct 29 2006, 02:41 PM)
MObo : Abit KN8 Ultra V1.1
PRocessor : AMD Athlon 64 3000+ .. Venice ..
Ram : kingston DDR400 PC 3200 512 mb X 2 ..
GC : Colorful 256 mb DDR3 7600 GT ..
HDD : WD 160 gb SATA2 ..

just thinking whether can oc or not ..
i guess the mobo not that good lor ..
and i dun have a cooling system also ..
if i wan OC , i think i should get ram cooler and better heatsink right ?
That board is good, just less memory tweaking options and the vmem wont go above 2.9v so remember about that.

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Oct 29 2006, 02:52 PM)
really good at OC-ing ..?
ur specs and mine about the same ..
except for ur motherboard .. lol ..
u planning to OC too ?
but one of my buddy say the motherboard capacitor no good wor ..
anytime can leak one .. sigh ..
anyway , can i use a higher DDR besides DDR400 ??
if can i plan to sell of my ram and get a faster one ..
and do i need to get better heatsink and ram cooler ?
Capasitors wont leak in 1 week bro. laugh.gif So dont be afraid. A good cooling is a must if u plan to overlock. A good psu also helps u in overclocking.

QUOTE(kulus @ Oct 29 2006, 04:32 PM)
1. If u think u wanna bump lots of vcore, so u better change ur hsf
2. If u just wanna do some mild OCing, just stay with ur current ram
3. U can OC using kn8 ultra, but for better overclocking, use DFI is

1. More voltage = more heat.
2. You use dividers to overclock the processor. Not necessary to get higher performance rams.
3. Im using this board too. Been running 2.8ghz 24/7 for quite some time already. The only drawback is less memory tweaking options. But anyway im running my TCCD at 290mhz and that is reasonably good.
noobianz
post Nov 1 2006, 08:17 PM

479 posts

mine..=o..at stock vcore

81 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:44 PM