AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide
sub_noob
Sep 26 2006, 03:06 PM
Got conflict with the bios and the oc guru..If Setting in bios, cpu-z still show the default settings.. Need to uninstall the oc guru? Better use oc guru or manual?
uzairi
Sep 28 2006, 03:21 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 25 2006, 10:46 PM) TCCD won't like high voltage. Some people spoiled their TCCD after running with more than 3.0V for a while. I would say the safe range would be 2.8V - 2.9V. The lower the better. I run mine with 280mhz @ 2.7v rite now. Will try to increase the mhz till 300mhz and see how it goes. QUOTE(lichyetan @ Sep 26 2006, 12:47 AM) TCCD run damn hot at high frequency... Put a 80mm fan above it, that would do it. QUOTE(sub_noob @ Sep 26 2006, 03:06 PM) Got conflict with the bios and the oc guru..If Setting in bios, cpu-z still show the default settings.. Need to uninstall the oc guru? Better use oc guru or manual? Have u turned off the Cool 'n' Quite at the bios ?
lichyetan
Sep 28 2006, 03:35 AM
QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 28 2006, 03:21 AM) I run mine with 280mhz @ 2.7v rite now. Will try to increase the mhz till 300mhz and see how it goes. Put a 80mm fan above it, that would do it. Have u turned off the Cool 'n' Quite at the bios ? i sold off my tccd d.. nw using infineon ce-5 1gb x2... running at ddr400 2-3-2-5.. quite nice, i oc my opteron using divider and low timings..
sniper69
Sep 28 2006, 03:41 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 25 2006, 10:46 PM) TCCD won't like high voltage. Some people spoiled their TCCD after running with more than 3.0V for a while. I would say the safe range would be 2.8V - 2.9V. The lower the better. my TCCD running daily at 2.83V @ DDR640 (320MHz@3-4-4-8)
sub_noob
Sep 28 2006, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 28 2006, 03:21 AM) Have u turned off the Cool 'n' Quite at the bios ? Ya.. Wan oc must turn off maa.. U see the pic.. dunddo which one is the true freq.. cpuz only detect the right ram setting but not the cpu freq..
awang
Sep 28 2006, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 23 2006, 03:17 AM) Open up your A64 tweaker. Look at Max Async Latency and read preamble. They aint same as default anymore. I dont know about other mobo, but for this mobo, it changes with divider. QUOTE(e-jump @ Sep 25 2006, 01:04 PM) rules of thumb: to look for max speed, loose timings once identified oc limit, start tightening one by one which one? its trial n error  thanks..finally my ram can work at 240mhz at 8,4,4,3..up the max async latency from 6 to 7 n it works..tested with no errors..but is there anyway to run test with memtest?it seems that it only works when i logon to windows..i currently stress it using prime95 n rightmarkmem test..btw, mine is UCCC ram..usually what's the highest voltage n speed it can go?
TSsoulfly
Sep 28 2006, 03:08 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
There is DOS based memtest called Memtest86+. You can copy it to your bootdisk and run through DOS.
uzairi
Sep 28 2006, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 28 2006, 03:41 AM) my TCCD running daily at 2.83V @ DDR640 (320MHz@3-4-4-8) Mine cant even post at CL3.  Mind to share your A64 Tweaker setting ? This post has been edited by uzairi: Sep 28 2006, 06:09 PM
wanek
Sep 28 2006, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 28 2006, 06:06 PM) Mine cant even post at CL3.  Mind to share your A64 Tweaker setting ? ram dah rosak kot
sniper69
Sep 29 2006, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 28 2006, 06:06 PM) Mine cant even post at CL3.  Mind to share your A64 Tweaker setting ? ok, here's mine...
awang
Sep 29 2006, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 28 2006, 03:08 PM) There is DOS based memtest called Memtest86+. You can copy it to your bootdisk and run through DOS. yeah i do have memtest86..however i'd like to know if the setting i use in windows environment can be applied in memtest86..because in a64 it only loads up during start up..i adjusted the max async by a64 coz if i dont i'll fail prime95..n my bios setting does not support this tweak..how ah  ..or izit otomatically changed the bios setting?? This post has been edited by awang: Sep 29 2006, 02:58 PM
sub_noob
Sep 30 2006, 12:55 AM
I just can hit 2.4 stable.. Wan to make it faster.. try to push faster but not stable.. Any sifu help me try hit faster freq...
TSsoulfly
Sep 30 2006, 01:16 AM
give more voltage....simple
sub_noob
Sep 30 2006, 11:26 PM
u see it show 1.35 volt rite.. but in bios it is 1.425 oredi.. Thinking of the ram not that stable timming.. maybe need to set divider..
TSsoulfly
Sep 30 2006, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(awang @ Sep 29 2006, 02:41 PM) yeah i do have memtest86..however i'd like to know if the setting i use in windows environment can be applied in memtest86..because in a64 it only loads up during start up..i adjusted the max async by a64 coz if i dont i'll fail prime95..n my bios setting does not support this tweak..how ah  ..or izit otomatically changed the bios setting?? memtest86+ has the option to change the common timing set during the testing, but other stuffs such as async latency or preamble thingy is not available if i'm not mistaken. a64tweaker doesn't have any effect to the timings before u get into windows.
cracksys
Oct 4 2006, 12:26 PM
here's my screenie on my first OC attempt  OF course, i do have some question as noob always do 1) I cant get it running at more than 245Mhz bus speed...what's holding me back rite now 2) It's freakin hot ... i'm thingking of lowering down the VCore but the lowest posible option was 1.40. I've seen some people lowering it to 1.36 ... how is this possible 3) anything wrong in those screenie ?? i'm sorry to bug in, mod did this This post has been edited by cracksys: Oct 4 2006, 01:00 PM
x800
Oct 4 2006, 01:55 PM
1. Assuming u have already decreased the LDT multi to 3X, i suggest u try to decrease your cpu multiplier, n then try increase the bus speed (if you can, try setting the ram to its default speed n timing). If u succeed to increase the bus speed, then most probably it's your cpu limiting you..
2.What hsf are you using? If u're still on stock HSF, then around 50C on load is considered normal to me, not hot. If you still insist on lowering the heat, change the hsf. Some people are able to lower their Vcore to 1.36 probably because their CPU is able to do so (some Athlon64s are rated at 1.40V while some are rated at 1.35V), or maybe its because their mobo,or probably just some voltage fluctuation.
This post has been edited by x800: Oct 4 2006, 02:04 PM
SUSmxxuang
Oct 4 2006, 09:40 PM
When I OC my rig I realise I really need to pump a lot of voltage to my CPU. Kinda weird I need to set the voltage to 1.65v to get my rig stable at 2.4ghz when I check most DFI mobo users require only around 1.4v to get around 2.5ghz. Guess it differs for every motherboard.  Anyway here's a screenie of my 2.4ghz OC set up with a Athlon 64 +3000. I'm waiting for my Ultra-90 HSF(currently on stock HSF) to arrive before I attempt to go higher. Btw wats the highest voltage I can pump to my BH-6 chip?
x800
Oct 4 2006, 09:48 PM
mxxuang, u're right there, and i wanna add that it differs for every cpu also.1.65v @ 2.4Ghz is high indeed..that amount of voltage is enough for me to get my venice running @ 2.7Ghz, and maybe 2.8~3.0Ghz for some other ppl.
bh-6?i think max 3.5~3.6v..(correct me if i'm wrong..)
SUSmxxuang
Oct 4 2006, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(x800 @ Oct 4 2006, 09:48 PM) mxxuang, u're right there, and i wanna add that it differs for every cpu also.1.65v @ 2.4Ghz is high indeed..that amount of voltage is enough for me to get my venice running @ 2.7Ghz, and maybe 2.8~3.0Ghz for some other ppl. bh-6?i think max 3.5~3.6v..(correct me if i'm wrong..) But when I set the voltage to 1.6v I can't even get my my Prime95 stable for even 1 hour. 1.625v is fine, but I set to 1.65 to be on the safe side.