81 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

ianho
post Sep 2 2006, 10:17 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

What's the best way to burn in a chip from u guys experience ar? I've never had to do burn in coz always been lucky to get gem CPUs that OC like hell straight from the box.

This time not so lucky. My X2 4200+ oni can max out to 2.42ghz dual prime stable at stock voltage. That's y I've been burning it in by dual priming for like 12 hours, stop to let AS5 settle, then dual prime 12 hours again, on off on off like that. How long shud I burn in b4 pushing for more FSB again? I've read that we shud burn in for bout a week, then push FSB, burn another week, push FSB again in that order until u c no more gains in FSB.
Evogenix
post Sep 3 2006, 10:09 PM

I Missed LYN Grey Skin T_T
1,809 posts

// ianho :
I dont think there is a "best way" of burning-in a cpu. Everyone got their own resipi to burn-in tho. laugh.gif

What i knew is, you try to stress your cpu at certain clock speed with certain vcore for long period of time. After the stress/burn-in, try to prime and see weather its stable o not. If not, increase the vcore by little (until the system is stable), then find out the max stable clock at that vcore, and stress/burn-in again for long period.

Continue the process until you felt the vcore is high enough for your proc. Then, switch back to the lower vcore. If you lucky enough, you "might" stable up a few MHz with the same vcore you set last time.

Evogenix
ianho
post Sep 4 2006, 12:22 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Evogenix @ Sep 3 2006, 10:09 PM)
// ianho :
I dont think there is a "best way" of burning-in a cpu. Everyone got their own resipi to burn-in tho. laugh.gif

What i knew is, you try to stress your cpu at certain clock speed with certain vcore for long period of time. After the stress/burn-in, try to prime and see weather its stable o not. If not, increase the vcore by little (until the system is stable), then find out the max stable clock at that vcore, and stress/burn-in again for long period.

Continue the process until you felt the vcore is high enough for your proc. Then, switch back to the lower vcore. If you lucky enough, you "might" stable up a few MHz with the same vcore you set last time.

Evogenix
Ya. I've read up on the different methods. I've gone the way of highest stable OC at stock Vcore. For me that's currently 2.42ghz at stock Vcore. Been dual priming it like hell. Longest I went was 23 hours sumthin until I stopped it. Coz I remembered that my AS5 is also new so it needs cool down n heat up cycles to really bed in. So I've been priming, cooling, priming, cooling to also gif the AS5 a chance to bed in. After a week of that, I'm gonna try for 2.6ghz at stock vcore n c what happens after that. Hoping to get more mhz.
andyjyneo
post Sep 4 2006, 02:04 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

sorry, i don't know whether i'm in the right place or not
i've a sempron 2600+ (socket 754) and really wish to make this machine faster
and i can't seem to find a guide for OCing sempron
uzairi
post Sep 5 2006, 04:15 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Aug 14 2006, 09:32 PM)
Can teach me on how to do it ? notworthy.gif
Er, why not try AMD64info software. U can tune it from inside windows. I think its almost the same as A64 Tweaker.

QUOTE(DeadGoat666 @ Aug 17 2006, 11:01 PM)
hehe... those rails actually i'm not fully mapped it with actual sensor yet... just install mbm and go.... i dun think a SLi certified psu would do that  tongue.gif anyway the rails are great in CMOS
Yeah, better get a DMM for accurate readings.

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 2 2006, 10:17 AM)
What's the best way to burn in a chip from u guys experience ar? I've never had to do burn in coz always been lucky to get gem CPUs that OC like hell straight from the box.

This time not so lucky. My X2 4200+ oni can max out to 2.42ghz dual prime stable at stock voltage. That's y I've been burning it in by dual priming for like 12 hours, stop to let AS5 settle, then dual prime 12 hours again, on off on off like that. How long shud I burn in b4 pushing for more FSB again? I've read that we shud burn in for bout a week, then push FSB, burn another week, push FSB again in that order until u c no more gains in FSB.
Me i just did like yours. Then stop for a while and continue. thumbup.gif
TSsoulfly
post Sep 5 2006, 12:16 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

To burn-in and make the result permanent, you need to rest the processor as well... a very long burn-in is not really a good idea.

Try 24 hours burn in, divided into 4 sets of 6 hours per session. And let the computer rest/cool down for a few hours between that.

And try not to feed excessive voltage.

Using lower priority of torture is more than enough for burn-in, the trick is just let the cpu run at 100% utilization, but good enough for you to do your normal computing task.
andyjyneo
post Sep 7 2006, 03:03 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

can anyone help me with my sempron 2600+?
brabus55
post Sep 8 2006, 12:45 AM

Validating
205 posts

need help ere.m using venice 3000,dfi lanparty sli dr,tagan 430 psu,team xtreem ddr600..at stock voltage,i can go any further than 250fsb..multiplier set to auto,ht set to 4
nicotine
post Sep 8 2006, 12:48 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(brabus55 @ Sep 8 2006, 12:45 AM)
need help ere.m using venice 3000,dfi lanparty sli dr,tagan 430 psu,team xtreem ddr600..at stock voltage,i can go any further than 250fsb..multiplier set to auto,ht set to 4
you should find out the max cpu speed u can get.. only then you fool around with the memory timming. To find out the max O/c cpu speed, drop your HT multi to 3 and set your memory to run at 166. Then only you try to crank your fsb to 300++..

i'm usin dfi infinty ultra... n still finding the sweet spot for my corsair ddr500.. yawn.gif

Spec
Venice a64 3200+@ 300*8 @1.45v (max 2.7g@1.6v not stable)
512*2 Corsair XMS 4000 @2.8v

This post has been edited by nicotine: Sep 8 2006, 12:53 PM
brabus55
post Sep 8 2006, 05:01 PM

Validating
205 posts

at 9 mutli..i cant go more than 285 at 1.7v..ldt set to 3..is it because of the mobo or proc?can u giv me contact num..ym?easy to chat..thanx bro
nicotine
post Sep 8 2006, 06:15 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

bos ... 285*9 already 2565mhz (proc) sweat.gif if thats ze max stable speed u can get.. try do do some stress/burn-in test using sp2004(prime) then cross your finger and pray so that it could run above 2.5ghz after few days of prime torture.

mine- ldt voltage@1.5v stock.. i suggest you not to run over 1.6v with that chaplang stock chipset cooler.. it's damn hot ! look for some better aftermarket alternative sweat.gif

edit- not necessary to call me ... just visit this site n read it few time to get better understanding wink.gif

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20823

This post has been edited by nicotine: Sep 8 2006, 06:18 PM
uzairi
post Sep 9 2006, 10:17 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Sep 7 2006, 03:03 AM)
can anyone help me with my sempron 2600+?
What's your sempron problem ? Mind to tell your problems with your system spec ?

QUOTE(brabus55 @ Sep 8 2006, 05:01 PM)
at 9 mutli..i cant go more than 285 at 1.7v..ldt set to 3..is it because of the mobo or proc?can u giv me contact num..ym?easy to chat..thanx bro
What i can suggest is, never go more than 1.6v on stock hsf. Slowly crank up the htt/fsb and burn in for each 5mhz increment. About the ram setting, i think u should use weak drive strength the timings 2.5-4-4-8 first. What's your vdimm ?
linkinstreet
post Sep 13 2006, 10:54 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

I have a problem with my system

AMD 64 Venice 3000+
DFi Infinity nForce 4

anyways, I tried overclocking this proc, and tested with 220 freq, 9X multiplier, 5X HTT, and 6:5 memory ratio. the bios shows 1980Mhz (220*9) correctly, but whenever I log in to windows, CPUz will show that it's still 1800Mhz (200*9). and sometimes the multiplier will drop automatically to 5 for a few seconds or so, making it 1000Mhz. I tried updating the bios but it still the same.
x800
post Sep 13 2006, 11:05 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

i think its a power saving feature,where the cpu will automatically clock down its speed when there's no load.. but i'm not sure of the name...CnQ maybe (correct me if im wrong)...

try checking u'r power options is control panel and make sure that the scheme is set to always on..if im not mistaken,all the athlon64 PCs in my bro's cc uses the portable/laptop power scheme, and this will make the cpu acts like u mentioned.clocked down when it's not under load..
linkinstreet
post Sep 13 2006, 11:18 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Yeah, I already turned off Cool and quiet feature, but it's still the same. I'm suspecting my mobo. meh, thank god I'm selling my system to my sis and getting myself a conroe
x800
post Sep 13 2006, 11:24 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

hurm, jus asking.what happens if u run some applications that increases the cpu usage?the cpu speed still 1Ghz izzit?
e-jump
post Sep 13 2006, 11:26 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 13 2006, 10:54 AM)
I have a problem with my system

AMD 64 Venice 3000+
DFi Infinity nForce 4

anyways, I tried overclocking this proc, and tested with 220 freq, 9X multiplier, 5X HTT, and 6:5 memory ratio. the bios shows 1980Mhz (220*9) correctly, but whenever I log in to windows, CPUz will show that it's still 1800Mhz (200*9). and sometimes the multiplier will drop automatically to 5 for a few seconds or so, making it 1000Mhz. I tried updating the bios but it still the same.
why is the htt multi at 5x? shakehead.gif
ever tried going to 4 or 3?
linkinstreet
post Sep 13 2006, 11:29 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

i never know about that.. I've heard that the Frequency must not exceed 1000Mhz, so does this has anything to do with that? thanx anyways, will try to lower it when I get home
x800
post Sep 13 2006, 11:32 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

lol..HTT multi at 5x and cpu freq at 220 doesnt make it more than 1000Mhz ka? tongue.gif jk jk.ok, waiting for ur progress report. smile.gif

This post has been edited by x800: Sep 13 2006, 11:32 AM
Hayase
post Sep 13 2006, 05:42 PM

114 posts

anyone can teach me how to clock my 3600+..i m using gigabyte m55Sli-s4..on stock fan... biggrin.gif ..heard the say can clock to 2.4ghz easily wor

81 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.2828sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:07 AM