81 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

mailboxaie
post Dec 4 2007, 03:18 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Dec 3 2007, 02:12 PM)
AMD OverDrive 2.09 - Download

Source : Guru3D.Com

Official Site

downloaded, but i can't run the application, guess it's not supported the legacy a.k.a old socket (S-939)
agreed, ive downloaded and tested..
cam xleh support 939 socket je..huhu cry.gif

wats the best Memory timings and Memory frequency for Corsair Pro Series Xtreme Memory DDR 400 1024MB (2*512MB)? hmm.gif hmm.gif
lynch
post Dec 4 2007, 06:59 PM

304 posts

pc specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
CoolerMaster RealPower 450w
Corsair Value RAM 512Mb x 2
DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Thermalright XP-90c Heatsink

i think tat's enuf info gua,

CPU-Z ScreenShot:

Someone teach me how to OC this old crap? Never bother to OC last time (2 years back) now i think my specs are goin to a waste if i dun. so posted this here for all guru and sifu to teach. Thanks. tongue.gif
wyman1991
post Dec 4 2007, 07:25 PM

41 posts

lol....why don't you sell your whole rig and get a AM2 rig, you'll probally only need to top up 200+??

anyway...i tried to OC with my system....my 2 rams got burned....how sad....
lynch
post Dec 4 2007, 07:41 PM

304 posts

tat's why hafto ask all those sifu here first b4 doin sth costly. lol.
mailboxaie
post Dec 4 2007, 07:48 PM

44 posts

found this info through the net..and i have sum questions.. sweat.gif

1. Memory frequency selection = Auto, 100, 133, 166, 200 MHz (you actually specify a multiplier to the HTT frequency)
is this the HT multiplier? wats the best setting?hmm.gif hmm.gif

2. HT bus setup = frequency (Auto, 200 MHz)
which is better for overclocking? auto or 200MHz?

can anyone care to explain.. icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
alive88
post Dec 4 2007, 08:01 PM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

@wyman
i dont know the reason why ur ram get burned...mind to tell what vdimm do u use?
if u tighten the timing falsely...the effect only the pc wont boot..
loose it...sure can boot..
the speed, too low to get burned...unless ur vdimm is over 2.2..or someone pour petrol and burn ur ram..
or mybe..short circuit...but if SC, im quite sure ur whole rig will burn

@mailboxaie

1.nope..its not the multiplier..multiplier should have like this..6x 7x 8x 9x blablabla..zomething like that..

2..let me check first..afta this..i explain to u briefly

@lynch..soc 939..u may post in am2 thread to ask..still have those old OCers who used to OC soc 939...neway..best of luck(OCers need a lot of luck)hoho

mailboxaie
post Dec 4 2007, 10:09 PM

44 posts

@alive88

thanks, im waiting wif great hopes brows.gif brows.gif
all the best to ocers.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
alive88
post Dec 6 2007, 12:48 AM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(mailboxaie @ Dec 4 2007, 10:09 PM)
@alive88

thanks, im waiting wif great hopes brows.gif  brows.gif
all the best to ocers.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
look at ur cpu-z screenie..

core speed=bus speed X cpu multiplier

bus speed=cpu frequency

ht link=bus speed/cpu frequency X ht link multiplier(1x,2x,3x,4x,5x,auto)

ram speed=corespeed divide by the ram divider

main thing in OC is the bus speed a.k.a ur cpu frequency
when u increase the bus speed, u will increase the ht link, and the ram speed.
for example..ur default bus speed is 200mhz and multiplier x11..
say if ur ram is value ram ddr2 667..n u use 667 divider(ddr=double data rate=means 667/2=333)

now, ur pc spec is like this..refer to the above point

corespeed-2200(200 x 11)

bus speed-(200)

ht link-1000 (200 x 5(auto is always 5))

ram speed;
cpu is 2200MHz and the divider is 667
ram speed=ur ram is (333) 667 effective
2200/333 = 6.6 = ur ram divider is 7

**then ram speed is
2200/7 = 314mhz( every time u increase the bus speed, the ram speed will increase together..)

**(borrow likito calculation in am2 thread)thanks bro likito notworthy.gif

get it? if OC fail, check among these features..the ram problem can be solve in various way, etc, changing the ram divider and loosen the tming to make room for the proc
ht link can be boost up till 1xxx..but when OC, keep under 1000 to make sure it stable.but once stable, make 1+++(1600 is sweet)

play safe wif vcore!vdimm!and beware of the temp! mad.gif dont do any suicide attempt if ur not expert..(i dont coz im noob)hehe..but must be creative in tweaking!and lucky..haha laugh.gif

thats all for now..mybe need to edit summore..sleepy rite now..anyone who find errors please help me to edit..
thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by alive88: Dec 6 2007, 01:03 AM
sniper69
post Dec 6 2007, 01:01 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(mailboxaie @ Dec 4 2007, 07:48 PM)

1. Memory frequency selection = Auto, 100, 133, 166, 200 MHz (you actually specify a multiplier to the HTT frequency)
  is this the HT multiplier? wats the best setting?hmm.gif  hmm.gif

can anyone care to explain.. icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif
read again... it's the only way to understand them...

anyway...
1. it's meant limiting RAM speed to certain speed, say 200MHz or 166MHz (DDR = Double Data Rate = 200MHz x 2 = 400MHz), by selecting 166MHz, actually, you're forcing your DDR400 RAM to DDR333 (166MHz x 2) - this is useful for low overclocking RAM with superb highly overclocking CPU, or say, we just want to see what's the max CPU clock speed can go...

2. when overclocking, this should be set to manual, say at x2 or x3 multiplier, easier to say... must keep under 2000MHz (200MHz x 5 x 2)
mailboxaie
post Dec 6 2007, 02:54 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Dec 6 2007, 12:48 AM)
look at ur cpu-z screenie..
core speed=bus speed X cpu multiplier

bus speed=cpu frequency

ht link=bus speed/cpu frequency X ht link multiplier(1x,2x,3x,4x,5x,auto)

ram speed=corespeed divide by the ram divider

main thing in OC is the bus speed a.k.a ur cpu frequency
when u increase the bus speed, u will increase the ht link, and the ram speed.
for example..ur default bus speed is 200mhz and multiplier x11..
say if ur ram is value ram ddr2 667..n u use 667 divider(ddr=double data rate=means 667/2=333)

now, ur pc spec is like this..refer to the above point

corespeed-2200(200 x 11)

bus speed-(200)

ht link-1000 (200 x 5(auto is always 5))

ram speed;
cpu is 2200MHz and the divider is 667
ram speed=ur ram is (333) 667 effective
2200/333 = 6.6 = ur ram divider is 7

**then ram speed is
2200/7  = 314mhz( every time u increase the bus speed, the ram speed will increase together..)

**(borrow likito calculation in am2 thread)thanks bro likito notworthy.gif

get it? if OC fail, check among these features..the ram problem can be solve in various way, etc, changing the ram divider and loosen the tming to make room for the proc
ht link can be boost up till 1xxx..but when OC, keep under 1000 to make sure it stable.but once stable, make 1+++(1600 is sweet)

play safe wif vcore!vdimm!and beware of the temp! mad.gif dont do any suicide attempt if ur not expert..(i dont coz im noob)hehe..but must be creative in tweaking!and lucky..haha laugh.gif

thats all for now..mybe need to edit summore..sleepy rite now..anyone who find errors please help me to edit..
thanks notworthy.gif
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Dec 6 2007, 01:01 AM)
read again... it's the only way to understand them...

anyway...
1. it's meant limiting RAM speed to certain speed, say 200MHz or 166MHz (DDR = Double Data Rate = 200MHz x 2 = 400MHz), by selecting 166MHz, actually, you're forcing your DDR400 RAM to DDR333 (166MHz x 2) - this is useful for low overclocking RAM with superb highly overclocking CPU, or say, we just want to see what's the max CPU clock speed can go...

2. when overclocking, this should be set to manual, say at x2 or x3 multiplier, easier to say... must keep under 2000MHz (200MHz x 5 x 2)
okie guys.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ill try sumthin new after reading to ur guidance.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
i keep u guys posted wif my updates nod.gif

ktek
post Dec 6 2007, 10:33 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(lynch @ Dec 4 2007, 06:59 PM)
pc specs:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
CoolerMaster RealPower 450w
Corsair Value RAM 512Mb x 2
DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Thermalright XP-90c Heatsink
i think tat's enuf info gua,
CPU-Z ScreenShot:
[images was here]
Someone teach me how to OC  this old crap? Never bother to OC last time (2 years back) now i think my specs are goin to a waste if i dun. so posted this here for all guru and sifu to teach. Thanks. tongue.gif

hoho , a Winchester i see .

QUOTE(wyman1991 @ Dec 4 2007, 07:25 PM)
lol....why don't you sell your whole rig and get a AM2 rig, you'll probally only need to top up 200+??
anyway...i tried to OC with my system....my 2 rams got burned....how sad....

AM2 didn't impress me much ( s939 FTW !!!11 )
you mean got burn mark but still use-able or died ?
wonder what vdimm you use hmm.gif
should be safe as long as below 3.0V ( any higher might need active cooling )

QUOTE(mailboxaie @ Dec 4 2007, 07:48 PM)
  is this the HT multiplier? wats the best setting?hmm.gif  hmm.gif
can anyone care to explain.. icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif

1. it's called FSB:DRAM divider
2. lower it to 3X a.k.a. 600MHz is enough
amane_kaoru
post Dec 6 2007, 08:11 PM

118 posts

Well, i was planning to overclock my CPU but i dont know what voltage is suitable for the original AMD Heatsink. since i dont have enough budget to purchase a good cooler, what 's the maximum voltage that i can set to maintain the temperature with my current heatsink?

i'm using AMD Opteron 146 2.0Ghz and i've overclocked it with Overclock AI 30% to 2.6Ghz with default Voltage 1.44V
and i also wanted to overclock my memory. i'm currently using Corsair XMS PC3200 C2PT 512X2.

my board max voltage for processor is 1.450 and the max frequency is 400. i'm currently at 2.60. i've tried to set up to 300 but it crash. then i set to 290, the temp raised to 57.

is there any way that i can raised it to 300X10?

This post has been edited by amane_kaoru: Dec 6 2007, 08:42 PM
wyman1991
post Dec 7 2007, 12:42 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(wyman1991 @ Dec 3 2007, 10:56 PM)
OK! finally! here are my screen shots of CPU-Z

CPU, Mainboard, Memory, and SPD. Please tell me how my 2 rams got burned when i increase my cpu clock from 200mhz to 240mhz with default  10X multiplier.

[attachmentid=353461][attachmentid=353462][attachmentid=353463][attachmentid=353464]
QUOTE(alive88 @ Dec 4 2007, 08:01 PM)
@wyman
i dont know the reason why ur ram get burned...mind to tell what vdimm do u use?
if u tighten the timing falsely...the effect only the pc wont boot..
loose it...sure can boot..
the speed, too low to get burned...unless ur vdimm is over 2.2..or someone pour petrol and burn ur ram..
or mybe..short circuit...but if SC, im quite sure ur whole rig will burn

@mailboxaie

1.nope..its not the multiplier..multiplier should have like this..6x 7x 8x 9x blablabla..zomething like that..

2..let me check first..afta this..i explain to u briefly

@lynch..soc 939..u may post in am2 thread to ask..still have those old OCers who used to OC soc 939...neway..best of luck(OCers need a lot of luck)hoho
hmm...vdimm is voltage? shakehead.gif sorry la..quite noob la...but all my CPU-Z screen shot are there. tell me if anything wrong k..
ah_khoo
post Dec 7 2007, 05:31 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(amane_kaoru @ Dec 6 2007, 08:11 PM)
Well, i was planning to overclock my CPU but i dont know what voltage is suitable for the original AMD Heatsink. since i dont have enough budget to purchase a good cooler, what 's the maximum voltage that i can set to maintain the temperature with my current heatsink?

i'm using AMD Opteron 146 2.0Ghz and i've overclocked it with Overclock AI 30% to 2.6Ghz with default Voltage 1.44V
and i also wanted to overclock my memory. i'm currently using Corsair XMS PC3200 C2PT 512X2.

my board max voltage for processor is 1.450 and the max frequency is 400. i'm currently at 2.60. i've tried to set up to 300 but it crash. then i set to 290, the temp raised to 57.

is there any way that i can raised it to 300X10?
it'll take a better board to reach 3.0GHz, but still it depends on how good ya chip is. no disrespect but ya board is no where near dfi lp series. a8r mvp is known to be a middle joe in k8 best oc board list. smile.gif
amane_kaoru
post Dec 7 2007, 09:26 PM

118 posts

i agree.... but i think it's considered okay for socket 939. i'm planning to get a AMD Quad Core. if i'm not mistaken there's a AMD Phenom Quad Core in the market. i'm wordering how good would it be. could it beat Intel C2Q??
any idea on the latest news of AMD Phenom?
alive88
post Dec 8 2007, 12:00 AM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(amane_kaoru @ Dec 7 2007, 09:26 PM)
i agree.... but i think it's considered okay for socket 939. i'm planning to get a AMD Quad Core. if i'm not mistaken there's a AMD Phenom Quad Core in the market. i'm wordering how good would it be. could it beat Intel C2Q??
nope..it cant beat c2q..even c2d also hard to beat.phenom lose to amd x2 +6000.
ah_khoo
post Dec 8 2007, 07:59 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(amane_kaoru @ Dec 7 2007, 09:26 PM)
there are havin issue with d first batch, from rumours d comin batch (b3 if i'm not mistaken) will be better but it will be available only on 1q 2008, by that time d market ledi flooded with intel 45nm quaddies. sad.gif

hopefully amd will come out with something competitive, be it for price or performance. smile.gif
rainingzero
post Dec 8 2007, 10:51 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

maybe amd cannot beat intel. but if they can come out with very2 nice price-performance ratio, its really good news to us, especially who cant afford highend stuff like me...
Lefty
post Dec 8 2007, 11:01 AM

Designer Piece
750 posts

what can i do with my old man rig and how? spec :-

AMD64 2800+ socket 754
1.5GB DDR400 ram
Asus K8N4-E mobo
Gigabyte 512mb DDR2 8500GT
400Watt true power enlight power supply.

cause i upgrade my gc last few months back and still only manage to put low setting for Fifa 08. sien . waste of my money.Old man is old man cant help. hehe
rainingzero
post Dec 8 2007, 12:48 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(Lefty @ Dec 8 2007, 11:01 AM)
what can i do with my old man rig and how? spec :- 

AMD64 2800+  socket 754
1.5GB DDR400 ram
Asus K8N4-E mobo
Gigabyte 512mb DDR2 8500GT
400Watt true power enlight power supply.
cause i upgrade my gc last few months back and still only manage to put low setting for Fifa 08. sien . waste of my money.Old man is old man cant help. hehe
u need new proc man...maybe wait untill AM2 value decrease a lot, then chnage ur rigs...nod.gif
what gc u use??

81 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:18 PM