81 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

jarofclay
post Jan 23 2006, 01:49 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

At that low price, try to get Jetway's latest SLI mobo. Should be around RM370 - RM410. If you dun wish to use two vga, you can always use the single x16 slot that it has. Pretty good overclock too, according to Tomshardware. Here's the link to the features page.

QUOTE(zogenk @ Jan 19 2006, 03:53 PM)
Anybody can help me choosing rite mobo..
it's seems that i lost..
i need mobo for AMD64 s939 that is:
- got PCIE gfx slot, i dun wan SLI
- got 4 DDR
- brand either Abit, Asus or DFI
- Budget around RM350 max
Cyclone87
post Jan 23 2006, 08:54 PM

1,254 posts

Akane..i test before A64 ES. And it doing 2.7-2.8ghz easily with 1st boot with correct setting. Just pump some vcore and multiplier. If you ..dont know..den i doh.gif
ah_khoo
post Jan 23 2006, 11:40 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

asrock dual sata too is a good clocker, 300MHz @ 1T is possible. the biggest problem would be limited vcore. smile.gif
gr2000
post Jan 23 2006, 11:43 PM

<Enter a personal message>
873 posts

QUOTE(zogenk @ Jan 19 2006, 03:53 PM)
Anybody can help me choosing rite mobo..
it's seems that i lost..
i need mobo for AMD64 s939 that is:
- got PCIE gfx slot, i dun wan SLI
- got 4 DDR
- brand either Abit, Asus or DFI
- Budget around RM350 max
Asus A8N5X nForce4 - RM390
newbieockids
post Jan 23 2006, 11:50 PM

1,405 posts

~deleted~ sorry biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by newbieockids: Jan 24 2006, 12:04 AM
babyelf
post Jan 24 2006, 01:29 AM

1,372 posts

actually there's no performance difference running it below 1k.. so don't worry too much if it's under.. i use x3 all the time..

if your bios have the option to raise the LDT and chipset voltage.. do so.. it helps improve stability..

try a 133 divider if you wish to go higher.. always keep your ram at or below spec when you're testing your CPU..

PCcrazy
post Jan 24 2006, 04:21 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

http://math.gogar.com/athlon64.cgi

Thanks to gogar, this will help optimazation task easier. Powerhouse and Akane Soma, you might as well give this a go.

This post has been edited by PCcrazy: Jan 24 2006, 04:22 AM
Survivor
post Jan 24 2006, 11:00 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

hmm...how come it is so unfair, last time when i posted my spec and ask for OC advice, the mod ask me to post in the Q&A session, and close the thread. Then how come now can posted and ask for advice again? sad.gif I posted in Q&A session also no one respond to it.

Anyhow, just share some experience with you. I m using Kingston ValueRam also can it can hit fsb 400 on my T-bred 2600+ (default FSB is only 266) by applying 2.7Vdimm. Running stable and passed 3DMark, PCMark, Prime95 tests.
^KamilskaZ^
post Jan 24 2006, 01:24 PM

roar...roar....
1,222 posts

okey lah with 2.5ghz.have ur increase ur vcore?
e-jump
post Jan 24 2006, 01:32 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

so, u are expecting 2.8G stable?
not all proc have the ability to go high speed..
even u have an identical setup like certain someone that can do 2.7G, theres no guarantee u can do it too.. sweat.gif
same goes to kn8, with diff bios, revisions n such ...

oh btw, any info of the temps, stepping, cooling, voltages ? =__="
smallfish
post Jan 25 2006, 01:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 24 2006, 01:32 PM)
so, u are expecting 2.8G stable?
not all proc have the ability to go high speed..
even u have an identical setup like certain someone that can do 2.7G, theres no guarantee u can do it too.. sweat.gif
same goes to kn8, with diff bios, revisions n such ...

oh btw, any info of the temps, stepping, cooling, voltages ? =__="
hi..u try Jetway J939GT-4 SLI..its good overclock.Thanks
TSsoulfly
post Jan 25 2006, 03:04 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Jan 24 2006, 11:00 AM)
Anyhow, just share some experience with you. I m using Kingston ValueRam also can it can hit fsb 400 on my T-bred 2600+ (default FSB is only 266) by applying 2.7Vdimm. Running stable and passed 3DMark, PCMark, Prime95 tests.
Just to let you know, actually your Tbred FSB is 133Mhz double pumped. When you're overclocking it, you're actually increasing the 133Mhz value.

Running at 200Mhz FSB is not that impressive because it is easy to achieve as long as your processor is good enough to clock higher, provide you pump enough Vcore. You are running your KVR at 200Mhz (400Mhz effective, double data rate), which is just 1:1 with the overclocked FSB of your T-bred.

Kingston Value RAM with DDR400 speed is rated at 2.6Vdimm, you don't need to run it at 2.7Vdimm to make it prime stable.
KilJim
post Jan 26 2006, 01:16 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Jan 24 2006, 11:00 AM)
hmm...how come it is so unfair, last time when i posted my spec and ask for OC advice, the mod ask me to post in the Q&A session, and close the thread. Then how come now can posted and ask for advice again? sad.gif I posted in Q&A session also no one respond to it.

Read your post there before, it's totally not related to what that thread is meant for
That's why u dont get any replies
nairud
post Jan 26 2006, 09:08 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Guys....sigh. looks like i've maxed out at 243HTT. Tried to go 244 HTT tak boleh already (Bootup process hang). Running at 5:4. any ideas?

This post has been edited by nairud: Jan 26 2006, 09:09 AM
newbieockids
post Jan 27 2006, 07:50 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 26 2006, 09:08 AM)
Guys....sigh. looks like i've maxed out at 243HTT. Tried to go 244 HTT tak boleh already (Bootup process hang). Running at 5:4. any ideas?

ur temp still ok.. try to pump up more juice and see how it goes..
PCcrazy
post Jan 28 2006, 04:50 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

Using CGen to overclock? Hopefully not. Have you try reducing HTT multiplier to 3X (remember HTT multi is not similat to CPU multi). HT frequency must not exceed 1000 whatever you do.

Another solution is, try gunning for maximum HTT first to see the whether it's the board limitation. Reduce CPU multi as well as HTT multi and raise the HTT. Provided you can reach a figure of 300HTT without problem, your board is fine. There must be something else that preventing you from scaling higher clock speed.

nairud
post Jan 28 2006, 11:26 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

hrmmm..ok. You mean retain my overall speed to like 1.8g and increase the HTT while maintaining the multi? ok

Juice is more than enough. i think more than 2.8 for a KVR is overkill. will try it out after CNY. didnt bring my pc back to hometown
gsan
post Jan 28 2006, 11:57 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

hang in which part? black & white post screen or during loading windows? try to tune the max async latency and read preamble, see how is it going to happen.
KilJim
post Jan 28 2006, 07:29 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 28 2006, 11:26 AM)
hrmmm..ok. You mean retain my overall speed to like 1.8g and increase the HTT while maintaining the multi? ok

Juice is more than enough. i think more than 2.8 for a KVR is overkill. will try it out after CNY. didnt bring my pc back to hometown
would be a lot easier to just lower the multi to about 3X right away though sweat.gif
jarofclay
post Jan 29 2006, 02:26 AM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

I think a Venice can easily hit 2.6ghz. From my experience, I used 1.55Vcore for 2.7ghz. I think 1.55 is a good start. Then, if all the other HTT or LDT multiplier fails, try to turn memory to 2T. That might do it.

81 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:51 AM