Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories
May 30 2020, 03:14 PM
16 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
Hi Sifus, I'm planning to buy Marantz PM7000N. I'm new to this HIFI club however, I have always been into speakers and amps since small. So my question is, what speakers get along with this model? I'm not looking into big bulky speakers. Just small and compact but powerful like bookshelf speakers. Do I need additional sub woofer to get that bass punch or will the speakers be sufficient?
![]() ![]() Hope to hear from you guys sonn. Cheers |
May 30 2020, 04:47 PM
May 30 2020, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 30 2020, 06:52 PM) define your meaning of "powerful". high SPL? full range frequency at close distance? Sorry for being too subjective your definition of "small and compact" is too subjective. I consider my JBL 3677 as small. distance from ear to speaker? Distance from speaker should be around 9' to 10'. |
May 30 2020, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ May 30 2020, 06:57 PM) this 7000n cannot support bi-amp. So what type of speakers suitable for this PM7000N? For now, I'm just using simple soundbar JBL SB350.common bookshelf set need speaker stand to perform full potential. meanwhile floorstand set are almost equal size when u factor in above situation. what audio setup you having now, is essential to know their good+weak point. so u able choose the next path of upgrade. nobody able to choose for u since any speaker can get along with this amp very well. cuma not necessary get along with ur ears. |
May 30 2020, 09:53 PM
May 30 2020, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(chanhin @ May 30 2020, 10:32 PM) Good say. With its power, sure enough to drive most bookshelf without issue. How about speaker on spikes on top of speaker stand which holds by speaker spikes? As ktek pointed out, personal taste matter most. Btw, if without speaker stand, you can try for speaker spikes that stick below it. It does make the sound cleaner... However, it still depends on personal taste. Sometime cleaner sound less bass as compare to putting it directly on tables/cabinet. Of course it also depends on your music taste. I have a pair of RX2, which I use speaker spikes. I like its cleaner sound. But do remember to adjust the spikes and make it balance among the four. ![]() |
May 31 2020, 08:54 AM
May 31 2020, 09:20 AM
May 31 2020, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ May 30 2020, 06:57 PM) this 7000n cannot support bi-amp. Regarding the bi-amp. I saw an article saying that you can still work out the bi-amp by using a jumper cable. Will that cause any issue?common bookshelf set need speaker stand to perform full potential. meanwhile floorstand set are almost equal size when u factor in above situation. what audio setup you having now, is essential to know their good+weak point. so u able choose the next path of upgrade. nobody able to choose for u since any speaker can get along with this amp very well. cuma not necessary get along with ur ears. ![]() |
May 31 2020, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(A.B.D. @ May 31 2020, 12:28 PM) the only elacs i heard before are b6.2 and ub5 yes and its within my budget.i guess b6.2 also meets your needs for your room, or monitor audio bronze 2 b5.2 woofer is smaller and since you mentioned bass in your opening post i would just stick to 6.5 inch mid/bass woofer Any idea where to buy speakers and amps in msia? I can only see Style Laser Audio selling. |
May 31 2020, 12:40 PM
May 31 2020, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(A.B.D. @ May 31 2020, 12:45 PM) there's cmy too. but you have to call ahead and find out which branch to audition the particular model of speakers. So which one is better, cmy or style laser?in sungei wang plaza, cmy has a huge sales gallery and also a small second hand hifi shop on a lower floor. you can check out Dali models that suit your budget too. there's perfect hifi also, that sells speakers like kef and sonus faber. i think since your amp choice is fixed, you should ask them to match it as close as possible. otherwise they may use amp that is many levels higher than yours. |
Jun 1 2020, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 1 2020, 12:13 AM) this model is super expensive, huge price steep up from PM6006 > PM7000N, the power seems not so amazing only 60w/channel for RM6k.... add a bit more you can get PM8006 already, no consider PM8006? Thanks for your suggestion. I found in Singapore they are selling for 4.5k. Anyways, will also look into PM8006 and PM6006. Cheers mate. Or maybe PM6006 is already enough if you no need so much power, save more for higher end speaker, perhaps Triangle Borea BR03? But audition first see if that fit your taste... |
Jun 1 2020, 07:31 PM
Jun 1 2020, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 1 2020, 07:32 PM) You plan to import from Singapore? How about the tax? Later end up similar price but no warranty here, anything need to go back Singapore distri... Actually, I have purchased many things from Singapore without paying any taxes. I usually drive to Sg. And M'sia customs don't really check car in detailed. So yeah, I might go there to survey as well. |
| Change to: | 0.0406sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:15 PM |