Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories
everclear
May 28 2016, 07:58 AM

QUOTE(TenNix @ May 28 2016, 12:58 AM) I'm in accounting though But it seems the 50:50 amp speaker spending doesn't rly holds in practice. more like 66% amp 33% speaker based on what I've read so far. Back to the UK8005 vs MY6005 dilemma. Our friend here Bryan bought his PM8005 from SG. Have you considered that? It was SGD 1200 if I remember correctly. I don't know about the downside risk and what the custom could do if they pick it up on your way back. But warranty wise, if anything it seems doable to bring back for repair/warranty. Just another option for you.
everclear
Jun 1 2016, 06:02 AM

QUOTE(TenNix @ May 28 2016, 12:58 AM) I'm in accounting though But it seems the 50:50 amp speaker spending doesn't rly holds in practice. more like 66% amp 33% speaker based on what I've read so far. Back to the UK8005 vs MY6005 dilemma. What I read on the other hand is to spend more on the speakers, not the amp or cables...a bit confused Anyway, either way those are just general rule of thumb. It should satisfy one and only one ultimate criterion. That's to sound good to your ears. When it melts you / feel the skin orgasm then you've found it... On the other hand, I translated a Japanese site reviewing PM6006. States that the peak current is improved by 42%. I guess this means more "attack"?
everclear
Jun 9 2016, 02:51 PM

I checked with Dynamic Acoustics. The RRP for PM 6006 is RM 2999. >_<
Don't know how much the retail shops will be selling.
This post has been edited by everclear: Jun 9 2016, 02:52 PM
everclear
Jun 13 2016, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(butt @ Jun 13 2016, 01:28 PM) Even Dynamic Acoustics sells at a discount from the RRP to individual customers. These jokers sell at >10% premium on top of the RRP. On the other hand, I checked with Style Laser last week. The owner had the impression that it would only be available in July / August. So once I told him DA already got stocks he quickly ordered and gave me a call just now. He offered me a price that I can accept RM 2,550. But he kept telling me that he only got 1 unit and urged me to bank in deposit to reserve it...(along with other stories that PM 6005 has increased price from RM2.1k to RM2.2k -> which I verified is a lie because I called to the shop to check price with the worker) and that second batch PM6006 will be in July (not sure which day) and the price might not go down much if any at all. I know business is getting harder these days but I feel being pressured to buy instantly and I feel he's probably charging me a premium of RM 100-300 because he thinks I'm desperate. =\ I wonder if I should just pull the trigger already. The price is okay but I really hate it when ppl lie to me to get business. This post has been edited by everclear: Jun 13 2016, 03:57 PM
everclear
Jun 13 2016, 07:20 PM

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 13 2016, 07:17 PM) u buy to enjoy. not reseller or desperate type can let it go. dont make audio equipment become like apper... queue outside rain and day before launch. no point rite but his boss should glad to have such hardworking staff. tried his best to request a unit from distri and good price. thats why rushing u to buy from him. if this amp is meaningful upgrade i will buy it liao. cannot avoid ppl make profit from business to grow. I fully understand that every business needs profit to grow. I'm saying that business doesn't equal to lying, and also no need to always use the 'this is the last day of promotion', 'this is the last/only unit before the next batch which will take very long/increase price' tactics... The PM 6005 is still RM 2,099. But he (the boss) lied to me that it's RM 2,199 when I was calculating the price difference. I think I'll let it go and wait for second batch in July. This post has been edited by everclear: Jun 13 2016, 07:26 PM
everclear
Jun 20 2016, 09:55 PM

Well. In the end I got the PM 6006 from style laser. Other hi-fi shops (CM*, etc) were downright unscrupulous quoting me > RM 3000 while Dynamic Acoustics sells to individual buyers at RM 2700. The msg here is, style laser still has the best deal I could find (hope this saves ppl some trouble and at least don't pay more than RM 2700 for it.
I'm very happy with the combination of B&W 685 S2 and PM 6006. Still not yet run-in but 蔡琴 被遗忘的时光 is already so good even just playing through Spotify.
This post has been edited by everclear: Jun 21 2016, 08:42 AM
everclear
Jun 21 2016, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(nerd @ Jun 21 2016, 02:01 PM) How much did you pay for it? Style Laser's website shows the list price as RM2899. RM 2,550. It might have been a special price because I informed the shop owner that PM 6006 has arrived MY. He placed order and informed me that he only has one unit for me. I don't find the price attractive (given that PM 6005 was available for c RM 1,700 in the past). I believe there's a premium in the price for being the first batch in MY. I'm not into having first dips but just wanted to end the days of staring at speakers without an amp.
everclear
Sep 16 2016, 03:20 PM

Hello guys. Noob question hoping to get some answers. I've been listening to Spotify using my PM 6006's DAC paired with B&W 685 S2.
Just now I came across a local band called EB Duet with a few videos on YouTube. It's so much livelier and sounded much much nicer than the other songs I heard on Spotify / YouTube (so called audiophile versions).
How come these few songs sound so much livelier? Or is it just me?
This post has been edited by everclear: Sep 16 2016, 03:24 PM