Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

ktek
post Jun 10 2015, 02:13 AM

小喇叭
13,201 posts

redo audyssey after cables upgrade is definitely worth the time. my only regret is, why didnt perform earlier!!
SUSsupersound
post Jun 10 2015, 12:48 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 30 2015, 09:14 AM)
here

I don't know whether this guy provide the service anymore
Before engaging this guy, I'll go to Desa HT first, their price so far are the lowest compare to other shops(Amcorp Mall). But you can't choose the current models as it will be expensive sweat.gif
TSchanhin
post Jun 11 2015, 12:35 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 10 2015, 02:13 AM)
redo audyssey after cables upgrade is definitely worth the time. my only regret is, why didnt perform earlier!!
Agreed. I have similar experinces
SUSsupersound
post Jun 12 2015, 09:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 10 2015, 02:13 AM)
Mine failed doh.gif
Found out that got 1 speaker failed that cause it can't calibrate properly sweat.gif
ktek
post Jun 13 2015, 01:18 PM

小喇叭
13,201 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 12 2015, 09:44 PM)
Mine failed doh.gif
Found out that got 1 speaker failed that cause it can't calibrate properly sweat.gif
try adjust speaker facing angle?
SUSsupersound
post Jun 13 2015, 01:42 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 13 2015, 01:18 PM)
try adjust speaker facing angle?
The speaker's basket disconnected causing sometimes got no sound doh.gif
ktek
post Jun 13 2015, 02:39 PM

小喇叭
13,201 posts

basket is big case liao, wish can repair or prepare dollar.
SUSsupersound
post Jun 13 2015, 06:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 13 2015, 02:39 PM)
basket is big case liao, wish can repair or prepare dollar.
Well, that's the beauty when you are buying raw drivers and DIY thumbup.gif
That speaker only cost me rm200. But it is a fullrange driver which I intend to change it to other speakers.
For the time being, I'm using some wood plank to support the basket and magnet from coming out and it works icon_rolleyes.gif
toffeeman
post Jun 17 2015, 06:54 AM

230 posts

I have an old Marantz SR6004 which is a AV receiver and in the midst of replacing my Mordaunt Short Carnival speakers with B&W PM1. Just wonder whether the AV receiver is good enough or should invest in a proper stereo amp.

Appreciate feedback.
butt
post Jun 17 2015, 07:38 AM

119 posts

Invest in proper stereo amp, especially if your usage is more on music listening.
PM1 is a nice speaker by the way, congrats.
sonerin
post Jun 17 2015, 10:33 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(toffeeman @ Jun 17 2015, 06:54 AM)
I have an old Marantz SR6004 which is a AV receiver and in the midst of replacing my Mordaunt Short Carnival speakers with B&W PM1. Just wonder whether the AV receiver is good enough or should invest in a proper stereo amp.

Appreciate feedback.
PM1 is a great speaker. Using AVR for the purpose music does not make justice to such a good speaker
SUSsupersound
post Jun 19 2015, 02:42 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(toffeeman @ Jun 17 2015, 06:54 AM)

Appreciate feedback.
PM-5004 only selling for rm899 in Desa HT in Lowyat, may give a try there. They are clearing old stocks currently.
But don't ask me is it cheap or not tongue.gif
TSchanhin
post Jun 19 2015, 09:34 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 19 2015, 02:42 PM)
PM-5004 only selling for rm899 in Desa HT in Lowyat, may give a try there. They are clearing old stocks currently.
But don't ask me is it cheap or not tongue.gif
IMO, PM5004 is not really good. Thus not for value as well. And I think Marantz should not have this 5 series in the first place.

PM6004 and PM6005 are way much better than PM5004. These are great for bookself speakers, and not too bad for some floor stander such as Q700.

If willing to buy from oversea, then surely PM8005 thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jun 19 2015, 09:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jun 19 2015, 09:34 PM)
IMO, PM5004 is not really good. Thus not for value as well. And I think Marantz should not have this 5 series in the first place.

PM6004 and PM6005 are way much better than PM5004. These are great for bookself speakers, and not too bad for some floor stander such as Q700.

If willing to buy from oversea, then surely PM8005  thumbup.gif
That's why they are willing to "dump" it at cheap price.
Still, if were to use AVR to play song, this amp should be half step better, right?
And don't flame me on this, as I found this on Thestar paper. Desa HT are always doing cheap price offers every now and then. Even the Yamaha soundbars you can get it at rm1000.
wim1983
post Jun 20 2015, 12:44 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jun 19 2015, 10:34 PM)

If willing to buy from oversea, then surely PM8005  thumbup.gif
What do you guys feel about PM6005 headphone output sound quality? I think it's pretty messy everywhere, not good for all music genre, sound great on good mastering tracks, but not some oldies hmm.gif
TSchanhin
post Jun 20 2015, 10:57 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 19 2015, 09:39 PM)
That's why they are willing to "dump" it at cheap price.
Still, if were to use AVR to play song, this amp should be half step better, right?
And don't flame me on this, as I found this on Thestar paper. Desa HT are always doing cheap price offers every now and then. Even the Yamaha soundbars you can get it at rm1000.
PM5004 compare to AVR? Yes... Better.. But not good enought as minimum audiophile requrement. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 20 2015, 12:44 AM)
What do you guys feel about PM6005 headphone output sound quality? I think it's pretty messy everywhere, not good for all music genre, sound great on good mastering tracks, but not some oldies hmm.gif
I do not like the headphone output quality when paired with HD650. It is like... Nothing interesting.
wim1983
post Jun 21 2015, 01:16 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jun 20 2015, 11:57 PM)
PM5004 compare to AVR? Yes... Better.. But not good enought as minimum audiophile requrement.  tongue.gif
I do not like the headphone output quality when paired with HD650. It is like... Nothing interesting.
I see, ow you got Sennheiser HD650, how the sound? Is it sufficient in bass? Comfort? Is leakage of sound too much? My HD598 cannot be used in office, also the bass not very good if play some bass heavy music at louder volume. Where you bought from? Plan to buy HD650 maybe next year leh, i think it's a reference headphone? hmm.gif
TSchanhin
post Jun 21 2015, 02:10 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 21 2015, 01:16 AM)
I see, ow you got Sennheiser HD650, how the sound? Is it sufficient in bass? Comfort? Is leakage of sound too much? My HD598 cannot be used in office, also the bass not very good if play some bass heavy music at louder volume. Where you bought from? Plan to buy HD650 maybe next year leh, i think it's a reference headphone? hmm.gif
Everything is good with HD650. However, it seems the cheapest DAP that can give sufficient performance without amp is Cayin N6, which is very costly. Do hope the X5 gen 2 can give acceptable performance to HD650.
SUSsupersound
post Jun 21 2015, 08:00 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jun 20 2015, 10:57 PM)
PM5004 compare to AVR? Yes... Better.. But not good enought as minimum audiophile requrement.  tongue.gif
For sure , if not why they are selling it out at that bloody price?
Like Yamaha integrated amp and CD player, I've hear the entry level and high end series, even using a pariah speakers also that high end will make a huge difference icon_rolleyes.gif
idoblu
post Jun 21 2015, 08:20 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Any Marantz AV receiver owners having their machine freezing or hang?
Been reading some owners review saying so. This is on the newer models like SR5009 and NR1605. Thanks

66 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:58 AM