[V26] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club
belfong
Dec 16 2014, 10:31 AM
So I managed to sell my ThinkPad USB keyboard with TrackPoint and TouchPad for us$80 and use the money to buy my first Korean custom, 2TU with MX Blue for us$110. Is 2TU consider Korean custom? Very excited for it!
This post has been edited by belfong: Dec 16 2014, 10:32 AM
belfong
Dec 16 2014, 10:53 AM
yeah, it wasn't terribly expensive and the timing was right as I just sold off the keyboard and have that fund in the Pay Pal. And after being in mech scene, I have never had a Korean custom and really want to see what the big deal was all about and the price is also pretty good. So, I just jumped on it. Didn't notice the space bar placement. What's wrong with it?
belfong
Dec 16 2014, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(ntw @ Dec 16 2014, 11:57 AM) it aint even mechanical and u can sell it off for $80?!! teach me masta but going back to Cherry MX is it considered a downgrade for u? since you have been using the endgame topre switches for quite some time now...  Well, I always have a heart for Blues - because it used to be my favorite switch before Topre; wouldn't mind hearing some clickiness when typing once a while. After all the thocking, one needs some clicking. It's probably a weekend getaway keyboard, not going to be a daily driver as will be too noisy to use at work. Beside, like I said, I wanna see what is so great about Korean custom, probably I will be enthralled by the lightings  And I do have a beautiful GMK Dolch keycap for this 2TU; this will be super nice. This post has been edited by belfong: Dec 16 2014, 12:42 PM
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 09:08 AM
Whoa! My first Korean custom already cleared Malaysia custom and I should be getting it today. That's 2 days shipping from Korea! Exciting indeed.
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 12:21 PM
ha ha .. actually I am thinking of first putting in my crappy Code ABS key set because I can see the beautiful blue light through those keys first. After all, what is a Korean keyboard without shiny LED lights. Then I will put the Dolch for the feel. Definitely will post photos
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 01:58 PM
Having not received my Korean custom, if LED light is not what's defining a Korean custom, then what is? It can't be the MX switches. Is it the acrylic or aluminum case? The legs? Or a combination of all?
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 02:42 PM
You guys are truly the sifu and master of Korean customs  thank you. I forgot about the custom springs of the MX switch and the lubing. The one I will be getting is a custom 55g MX Blues and no switch tuning. I like 55g and I hope it's the same weight as the 55g Topre Realforce I use at home. Oh, hurry up Mr mailman!
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 05:12 PM
wow.. 2 day shipping! Presenting 2TU, my first Korean Custom, sort of.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 55g MX Blues! Too good to be true! And then I found out that I don't have a micro USB cable! crap!! I have to go those $5 shop and buy one now. This post has been edited by belfong: Dec 17 2014, 05:14 PM
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 05:34 PM
It's very light. Lighter than a HHKB. Of course currently it has no key caps yet so my estimate could be out.
I'm also glad that it uses Cherry stab so I don't have to wrestle with all those tapes on legs.
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 06:20 PM
Haven't put caps yet, so can't comment on how it feels. The caps are at home and I am stuck in office. In terms of width, it is shorter than HHKB because HHKB still have the bezel. 2TU doesn't have bezel. Length are almost the same. But being acrylic the bottom part of the case has some scratches. Not sure if this is acceptable for something premium like this. I guess it is inevitable. Even some CC direct from the man himself have scratches. Edit: love the fact that it is clear acrylic so I can see the beautiful PCB. And the two stands are just flawless! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by belfong: Dec 17 2014, 06:23 PM
belfong
Dec 17 2014, 10:41 PM
Let me know if you need closer shots. But it's going to be with an iPhone. I don't have DSLR so I can't do too close up.
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 09:08 AM
Man! I was so tired yesterday I didn't get a chance to put the keys on. Will try tonight.
I didn't build this keyboard. I bought from Apollos in Korea who designed and build this keyboard. He named it 2TU for 2 Thumbs Up or TUTU. So he put the transparent housing, not me. The LED has 6 styles which is kinda cool.
I thought 55g is heavier spring than stock MX Blues so I don't think I will have any issues with keys not popping up.
An earlier bro said that the space bar switch is a bit to the right. Its true. I can't fit the Code Clear spacebar because the switch is one notch too far into the right. But I can put a Bro set and Vortex space bar because they have an additional slot. These are all 6.25.
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Dec 18 2014, 12:18 PM) its made by abostudios but you can get them from techkeys. http://techkeys.us/collections/accessories...mx-switch-cover It's a little pricey at $0.50 per piece, maybe you could source it from taobao it might be cheaper. (I don't know if taobao has it btw) Looking at my board, the transparent casing is indeed by abstudios! Thanks joonwei23. Edit: yeah, I will share my experience on Blues - I have used stock Blues in Razer and Poker 2. I have not used on a modified stem, so this will be interesting to find out. Also, I have a JD40 from ctrlalt.io on its way to me, which I chose MX Green and is even heavier. We will see how all these compare This post has been edited by belfong: Dec 18 2014, 12:31 PM
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 09:45 PM
It is interesting to note that Korean spring is lighter. As I am using this, it sounds like you are right. Gotta use a lot more before I can safely conclude. I have put my GMK Dolch set. It is so beautiful. Sorry .. More keyboard pimping .. With GMK Dolch and EK Red CC. I wish I had a Blue CC.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I can't put the standard Caps Lock but have to put the Stepped one. And luckily, the Dolch spacebar has additional hole for the cherry stem that was off to the right. And, I'm glad there is also a shorter right Shift. This post has been edited by belfong: Dec 18 2014, 09:59 PM
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 10:07 PM
yeah the CC is higher profile because it should go with the Function row instead of number row. Perhaps I should put function row in the keyboard?
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 10:12 PM
my drunken is Topre  You have one for trade? he he!
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 10:15 PM
GMK is really superb feel. Im tempted to go into Ivan's current GMK group buy. The one with reverse beige. Anyone here went in?
belfong
Dec 18 2014, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(lace @ Dec 18 2014, 10:22 PM) Be patient. You will get one, one day
belfong
Dec 20 2014, 10:50 AM
Whoa! I managed to grab a Topre Orange Blanks set. Supposedly never used, only for photo taking! Looks like I might have to sell my printed orange set. I've been looking for the blanks for the longest time!!!
belfong
Dec 20 2014, 02:13 PM
Usd$150.. Not a bad price.