[V26] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

SUSHuman10
post Feb 5 2015, 02:15 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Feb 4 2015, 07:37 PM)
hello. need recommendation on getting a mechanical keyboard for typing and a little bit of typing. thinking of getting a filco majestouch 2. is it better getting it in japan? since got a friend who works there.

thanks. haha
Unless you are getting japan exclusive models, its no different than few bucks different (not sure where cheaper) and more hassle.
http://www.diatec.co.jp/shop/kobo/

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 5 2015, 02:16 AM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 5 2015, 03:02 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Feb 5 2015, 02:39 AM)
---1st Color Test For Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Camouflage Edition---

DSA profile? laugh.gif
SUSHuman10
post Feb 5 2015, 12:20 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 5 2015, 12:13 PM)
Abang taobao.. Long time no see. thumbup.gif
Underwater for so long... Miss you. laugh.gif
This model soon will replace Majestouch 2. However there is only full layout available currently.
Wait for TKL series.  icon_idea.gif
Being busy and out of budget for the past year, decided to went on hiatus on mech kb. sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Feb 6 2015, 09:02 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Feb 6 2015, 08:41 PM)
Can anyone please educate me on the clone switches, or send me a link?

Kaihua (kailh?), gaote etc.

Curious to try out the Kaihua browns after reviews mentioning that it is a more tactile MX brown, but less tactile than MX clears. Which is to me, the best tactile feeling.
Triheadedsnake.jpg
SUSHuman10
post Feb 8 2015, 12:26 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Feb 7 2015, 11:15 PM)
Anyone know where i can get gateron clears!?
taobao?
SUSHuman10
post Feb 8 2015, 04:28 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 8 2015, 04:22 PM)
<<I don't even know if this is really a Mechanical Keyboard but it feels like one.>>
K30 rubber dome is not mechanical keyboard.
You need to refer to page 1 to understand the concept of mkb..
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3434218
Rubber dome good to type on, I like my previous dell (RM25) keyboard.
inb4 topre also rubber dome. laugh.gif
SUSHuman10
post Feb 9 2015, 12:44 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Feb 8 2015, 11:23 PM)
Picture of the night:

KBC Jelly POM looks better. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 9 2015, 12:46 AM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 9 2015, 01:30 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Feb 9 2015, 01:25 AM)
I found you guys love FOOD or FRUITY keycaps. Marshmallow...?
It's rainbow mang. tongue.gif

SUSHuman10
post Feb 9 2015, 01:52 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 9 2015, 01:51 AM)
The Morphling with POM is your own keyboard?
Like new. laugh.gif
Which one?
SUSHuman10
post Feb 9 2015, 01:56 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 9 2015, 01:54 AM)
Bottom picture (PLU TKL).. This

nope, guger mia...

I got the POM, but it is clear color instead of rainbow.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 9 2015, 11:05 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Feb 9 2015, 04:36 AM)
Does anyone know how to repair a mechanical keyboard? I think my mkb has no warranty already. Im currently using Corsair Vengeance K70 red switch. The problem is i accidently splashed some water on it and the key becane unresponsive and the led is dead. The whole line starting from Left shift become unresponsive. Other keys seems to be working. Please help me.
Unresponsive as in totally dead and not responding?

If whole row is not responding, that probably mean something is burnt. You might want to look for electrician to help you troubleshot it in details.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 9 2015, 11:18 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(biggerman88 @ Feb 9 2015, 05:31 PM)
Anybody know any store to find replacement for MX key.. i was cleaning my Aivia osmium and broke some stuff - by some i mean i lost the NUMPAD ENTER key, lost one of those plastic claw on the space bar and bended the metal bar inside the space bar.. i have big hands.  flex.gif, and gigabyte has bad quality boards

i knew that www.wasdkeyboards.com have some, just thought they might be local solutions??
Taobao going to be cheaper, but you need to wait till CNY festive is over.

Since minimum purchase is 1KG and those things you mentioned is just few grams, may be you can consider getting some sets of aftermart keycaps together.

Enter key (it is rare to find invidual enter key to be sold alone, may be you need to purchase the whole numpad cluster or even whole full layout)
Plastic claw (it's stabiliser inserts, in taobao they call it "豆豆" and "龙舟“, IINM osmium is made by same OEM as razer bw - iONE, I too had bad experience with their stabiliser inserts and eventually swapped it with keycool one)
Metal bar (as for metal bar, it is hard to find aftermart parts, worse that for iONE made board with 6units long length instead of costar 6.25units length. your best bet is to carefully bent them back)

If you are to get aftermart keysets from taobao, do notice that most of them are for costar/cherry standard layout, which the bottom row keys are 1.25 units long, with spacebar of 6.25 units length. You can find iKBC's RGB modifiers set which have included compatible keys for 1.5x sized ctrl and alt.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 10 2015, 03:32 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 10 2015, 03:13 PM)
Anything under 1k i guess but need best keyboard atm as intro to mech keyboard benefits. Dont mind upgrading later
FPS, Stategy
No preference
Essential
1k is over-killing for mainstream consumer keyboards. If you seriously have 1k to be spent, you can take a look at custom keyboards.

I will suggest you to take a look at KBC Poker first to see if you like its form factor. The keyboard is very mod friendly with lots of aftermart accessorizes to choose for.
https://geekhack.org/index.php?action=dlatt...tach=6887;image
http://forums.vr-zone.com/photopost/data/500/IMG_0039131.JPG

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 10 2015, 03:36 PM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 10 2015, 03:35 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 10 2015, 03:21 PM)
Again about that. Whats the benefit. Spending so much.
Talking abt those keyboards with no numpad

Really trying to wrap around the idea.
Its custom keyboards, of which you order and customize it to your likings.

Most often it is the aluminium case and a decent set of keycaps which eat in a huge chunk of the cost.

SUSHuman10
post Feb 10 2015, 03:41 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 10 2015, 03:37 PM)
so good to have human10 here again  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
submarine docking here for some period. sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Feb 10 2015, 11:41 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Feb 10 2015, 11:36 PM)
hmm..i wan the yellow keycap but no stock at all... i can only find ninja/majetouch2 ori version now for brown switch.
wonder the pbt keycap price for TKL is around how much?
Keycaps always can get aftermart one, keyboards I don't think you might want to keep more than 2... sweat.gif

Normal quality one should be about RM100.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....&id=14011959835

Here's a more decent quality one for RM150+/-.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=8#detail

Here's colored one.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=8#detail

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 10 2015, 11:48 PM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 11 2015, 12:38 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 11 2015, 12:04 AM)
haha i saw lot ppl share their mkb so jealous
ppl who use tkl mkb
when do calculation wont be troublesome
if dont have numpad?
Save money and space buying TKL.

Spend extra money and space get seperated Numpad.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 12 2015, 02:03 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Feb 12 2015, 01:32 AM)
Ducky Shine 3 is usually RM 4XX generally. So, if you want a BLUE switches one, it'll probably be RM 4XX(only RED switches has the promotion).
Ducky Zero Shine is RM 3XX by default.
CM Storm Rapid-i is RM 3XX by default.

I'll go for Rapid-i due to removable USB cable and the cable is BRAIDED.

Until now, Ducky and Filco is still using generic plastic cable... and all other brands are using BRAIDED cables already. I am MAD about this!!
Filco Camo do have braided cable. brows.gif

Also, you can always get 3rd party braided cable. icon_idea.gif
http://s.taobao.com/search?q=filco+%CA%FD%...aobaoz_20150212
SUSHuman10
post Feb 12 2015, 02:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 12 2015, 01:58 AM)
whats the difference between braided and normal generic plastic cable?
The feel mang, the feel.
SUSHuman10
post Mar 5 2015, 11:36 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ Mar 5 2015, 09:56 AM)
heavy bro. u need to consider. its not a phone. its a freaking keyboard
Nope, I assume the model is Cherry G80-3800 (AKA MX 2.0), and I need to tell you that it is seriously light due to lack of backplate and pretty flimsy build.

This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 5 2015, 11:38 PM

0.0245sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:04 AM