sound stage really big!!!!!! and tweeter really sweet!!! just play around 20minute...
going to burn in up to 300hours ++
Headphones AKG club for all AKG models, discussion on the experience of AKG HP
Oct 25 2011, 10:57 PM
544 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Audiophile Land |
Just received my AKG K701
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « sound stage really big!!!!!! and tweeter really sweet!!! just play around 20minute... going to burn in up to 300hours ++ |
Oct 26 2011, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Oct 25 2011, 11:15 PM) Thank you, now thinking of getting an headamp...any suggestion ? 2k budget...QUOTE(Lennox @ Oct 25 2011, 11:22 PM) I do a lots of saving to get this!! LOL! don't cheat me...u AKG dealer mah....mesti boleh punya... |
Oct 26 2011, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Oct 26 2011, 12:34 PM) Bro, you are only 18 and I am 45. You have plenty of opportunity ahead of you he 18 ??? and already have business like that....I envy him sooooo much!Added on October 26, 2011, 12:37 pm Currently running off FiiO E7 / E9 combo. Waiting to upgrade to E17. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « btw, really E7 + E9 can drive K701 properly ???? I heard that combo on-par with Asus Xonar Essence STX... I thought of Govibe portatube or something like that.... |
Jan 23 2012, 07:14 PM
Jan 24 2012, 08:38 AM
Feb 6 2012, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jan 27 2012, 09:23 PM) You mean like this that not show off, its 'poison' » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(chaukian @ Feb 6 2012, 03:08 AM) I am selling off my AKG 242 HD if anyone is interested to get one... Its a realy great sounding headphone in my opinion... plays well in most genre... Just go to Jaben and listen it yourself! Before I decided to get K701, I got compare it with HD650, DT880 pro, HD598, Alessandro MSpro.Since my question of how well does akg k701 improves over the akg 242 has never been answered, I am going to buy one and feel it myself Do PM me for the Akg k242 if u ar interested ^^ HD650 too dark to me and MSpro only good for rock music IMO. for K701, u really need decent headamp to drive it well. If not it will sound empty and thin. At Jaben u can try Graham Slee and GoVibe Portatube...Portatube give warmth and smooth sound for K701 coz it powered by tube. IMO K701 and RudiStor NX-03 combo are the best. The amp very clean and it really makes K701 sing! This post has been edited by xEDynamics: Feb 6 2012, 03:26 PM |
Feb 6 2012, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(chaukian @ Feb 6 2012, 06:20 PM) oh i see...finally get some very nice answer i am looking.... thanks a lot Xe and Lennox... nw i get it.. I always wonder why ppl say the bass of k701 is light coz the bass of k242 is actualy gud enuf... so the reason is bcoz k701 has lighter bass than k242... K701 is neutral. That's why the bass light. You can search (google) for reviews regarding K701.I from Melaka.. so cant visit Jaben tat often.. but maybe i shud take a trip there n finish them off at one go ... For now i am using my Secret amp to drive akg 242... will a portable amp like the RSA mustang be sufficient to drive the k701? I not so sure about Secret amp and RSA Mustang. You can bring your own amp when visiting Jaben. |
Feb 6 2012, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(Lennox @ Feb 6 2012, 11:39 PM) the another reason why is more punchy is due to their build, K240's are semi-open cans while the K701 are fully open, more airy, that's why the bass is light. But it doesn't mean no bass at all for the 701's, is just detailed bass instead of punchy bass. Hope u get what i mean Forgot to mention that too Yes, u can say K701 bass are musical, u can hear the bass string one by one... |
Feb 11 2012, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(chaukian @ Feb 11 2012, 09:20 AM) Phew~ Read this thread from 1st post until post #40 ++ give up for I didn't find K701 lack of bass, seriously! I own HD555 too, and yes it bassy and muddy. K701 bass is more balanced and musical!now..... took me a few hours for it.... spanned from years 2006 to 2009... and slowly experiencing the decreasing popularity of Akg headphones here... Mainly talk about the infamous k701, how it compares to the big boys and how great it sounded despite the lack of impact bass... oh.. and not to forget the part of eargasm+orgasm in many different areas of the house Totally enjoyable reading session with the E10 + Secret + akg 242 + the voices of Jane Zhang and Olivia. Have a gud day everyone ! |
Feb 11 2012, 05:05 PM
Feb 11 2012, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 11 2012, 05:50 PM) Unless you are living day to day underneath overhead bridges without knowing when your next meal may be, there is no way you can shield from the audiophile poison. You will move haven and earth just to keep it up well, that's true! haha....Ask bro Lennox, 1st AKG K240mkII, then FiiO E17 ... next FiiO E9? AKG Q701? I really want to try Q701 too...got review said it has more bass than K701... to chaukian: later u must try headamp that I mention earlier... |
Feb 12 2012, 12:45 PM
Feb 12 2012, 05:30 PM
Feb 13 2012, 08:12 PM
Feb 14 2012, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(MaxReddevil @ Feb 14 2012, 09:01 PM) he no ready stock..even selling onkyo, denon and marantz AVR dirt cheap also... |
Feb 23 2012, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(yau63 @ Feb 23 2012, 01:58 PM) u can try Bravo Audio tube amp v2..http://bravoaudio.com/bravo2.html |
Feb 23 2012, 10:11 PM
Mar 1 2012, 08:10 AM
QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Feb 29 2012, 10:37 PM) i heard newer produced AKG products quality aren't good as before, is that true? seriously u need audition it yourself i'm considering on K701/K702/Q701, if their price are same, which one better? these headphones will hear ppl talking to you? or you cant hear anything only the music that headphone playing? rm1k enough to get a good speaker set, anyone regret on getting headphone and regret why didn't get a good speaker? anyway i'm looking into this site, peoples says they are genuine and good service, they have shop too, a lot cheaper than here http://soundluck.taobao.com/ I think u can't say "which is better", coz all of them have same driver. K701 original design, K702 detachable cable, Q701 Quincy Jones recable and design...different in sound signature i guess This post has been edited by xEDynamics: Mar 1 2012, 08:13 AM |
Mar 1 2012, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 1 2012, 09:03 AM) Bro, the FiiO E10 won't make the AKG Q701 sing ur Q701 already 500 hours ??? how is it different from 300 hours ?During your burning in, the first point of reference is around 300 hours and the next around 500 hours |
Mar 1 2012, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 1 2012, 02:08 AM) hey, i just got my Q701 last week...i got it for RM800+ in us...n its still in the process of burn in~ lucky u, here in Malaysia retail RM1.8k ++anyway, i wont regret getting it as u cant carry a speaker anywhere u go and u tend to disturb ppl especially when u wanna blast at night(thts wat i do, blasting after long day of study) the bass for Q701 is avg but the sound is smooth n u can hear it very clear, im running it wit E10...the thing i dn lik is the sound leak tend to b more compare to other open phone, but no big deal~ and ya u still can hear ppl talking if they talk too loud(n ur volume too low)~ so overall its a great headphone to get...i nv tried K701 or K702 b4 so i cant comment on those...n im still waiting for my K240 mkii to arrive tmr... btw, u can try amazon, i got mine from there but im not sure do they ship internationally or not~ |
| Change to: | 0.0444sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:18 AM |