Headphones AKG club for all AKG models, discussion on the experience of AKG HP

propf
post Mar 2 2012, 02:29 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 1 2012, 06:06 PM)
from my experience, it cannot push K701 to it full potential..
+1 bro.

hello guys.

le me new owner of AKG Q701 which I just bought.

currently 10 hours of burning, and I found the bas is punchy compared to the AKG K701.

currently using the ASUS Xonar Essence STX stock Op-Amp without any amplification.

looking for good amp to amplify this 62 Ohm cans.

any suggestion guys?

p/s:no need to be that pricey like bro xEDynamics.
propf
post Mar 2 2012, 07:58 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 2 2012, 05:18 AM)
fiio E9 + E17/E7~?
im using E10 n i still cant really feel the bass on my Q701...currently 30hours of burning... biggrin.gif
if I'm on my STX soundcard, I set them to high gain.

how did u burn them? hmm.gif

with the help of a good friend, they've develop a burning playlist to minimize those noises.

propf
post Mar 2 2012, 08:14 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 2 2012, 08:05 AM)
http://www.jlabaudio.com/burn.php

i think most of the brother here also burnin using tht site  rclxms.gif
thumbup.gif

this is a good thing.

but bro did u manage to put some rest ie silence for 5 minutes?

propf
post Mar 2 2012, 08:23 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 2 2012, 08:16 AM)
from ur siggy.....I see u have a govibe PPK....

my amp pricey ?  hmm.gif
heh no la bro.

I bought them from a forumer named balat for RM400 only.

good amp there man! drool.gif

would love try my cans with them. blush.gif

can ah??

#mukatakmalu doh.gif
propf
post Mar 2 2012, 09:25 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 2 2012, 08:39 AM)
it will auto rest every few sec so dn worry
never tried this b4.
in my playlist got some burninwave.com sounds.
propf
post Mar 2 2012, 09:33 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 2 2012, 09:21 AM)
You can't expect the kind of bass ala Beats from the Q701, this is an audiophile headphones.  blush.gif
+1

it's a open air headphone afterall.

bro the Fiio you use is a DAC right?

don't you think it is the same as the Asus Xonar Essence STX?

propf
post Mar 2 2012, 02:58 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 2 2012, 11:51 AM)
bro, if u don't want bias answer, pls read here --> http://www.head-fi.org/search.php?search=F...nar+essence+stx

many of them said STX better than Fiio...or if u don't believe, just go to Jaben and try it urself biggrin.gif
review alone won't work bro.

since I haven't tried Fiio yet I can't say much.

plus point on Fiio its portable.

but who really wants to be an analytic listener during travelling.

willing to try once.

not to forget, the STX is well made with DAC and headphone amp.

according to the specs, to me its proper to drive higher ohm cans while like ours Reference Series Q701 or K701 won't do pretty well.

is that true bro xEDynamics?

correct me if I'm wrong.
propf
post Mar 2 2012, 03:13 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 2 2012, 03:05 PM)
I have tried Fiio at Jaben before. From what I heard, yes STX > Fiio.

If u use laptop or u want portable, yes u can choose Fiio. If desktop PC, U need to choose between these two.
hmm.gif guess I'm right.thanks bro notworthy.gif

bro E1 - AKG, u don't want to try once with the STX? whistling.gif
propf
post Mar 27 2012, 10:01 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(flurkoneko @ Mar 22 2012, 11:30 PM)
He let me use the portatube, but I duno lah, I think I'd prefer a more mobile setup. Maybe get a less-power hungry pair that would give me all the cold details I like. Any recommendations?
portatube is definitely a good pair for the AKG K/Q701.
seriously I've tested before.
the warmth,the sound.its just stunning.

there's a but here lah.
get some really GOOD cables oh and btw don't go for DIY cables.
really sucks and stinks for GOD sake vmad.gif .

Added on March 27, 2012, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 27 2012, 04:31 PM)
New happy owner of AKG Q460 tongue.gif

My second AKG set since K702 early last year  tongue.gif
too bassy in the Quincy Line.

i don't see improvement actually after the so called improved cables were implemented.

actually it reverts back.maybe this line wants to challenge the Dre series.HAHA whistling.gif

the details were different.vocal laidbacks were damn obvious in this. doh.gif

anyway u've got some good portable cans that anyone would drooled. drool.gif

Added on March 27, 2012, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 25 2012, 01:17 PM)
I bought all my cans from overseas... K701 cost me RM10xx and Q701 cost me RM9xx from amazon.com (all inclusive shipping)

Added on March 25, 2012, 1:19 pm

K701, K702, Q701 need amp that is at least x1.5 its price.
bro u go racun2 people around like crazy lah.

wait for my review on cheap amp.

i think on my govibe ppk got juice that jizzed my ears but with some proper upscaled volume lah. nod.gif

true story there bro about the Q701.nevertheless i enjoyed them pretty much.the bass are undefeated but the vocals + details were full of disappointment.
after some trials on the K701 i guess this can deserves a medal.
a true legendary cans which is distinctively not very far from the worlds best headphone as per appointed by Sennheiser which is the HD800.

K701 lacks the bass while the Q701 lacks the vocals + details.
buyers out there,its your call.do choose the cans wisely. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by propf: Mar 27 2012, 10:15 PM
propf
post Mar 27 2012, 10:51 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 27 2012, 10:23 PM)
get your facts right!

maybe if using cheap amp like Fiio la.... I don't find it "lack of bass" using my RudiStor...
your amp is too much lah. shocking.gif

i tried with yamamoto amp at Jaben last week i found them the K701 got an adequate amount of bass.

suffice for the ears.

i'm pretty sure your cables are neutral.

still the K701 is unmatched for the Q701 bass right? brows.gif
propf
post Mar 31 2012, 11:05 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 31 2012, 09:07 PM)
same bro.

kena dpt commision from shirogawa nih.
propf
post Apr 3 2012, 12:24 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Apr 1 2012, 01:12 PM)
My humble AKGs  wub.gif

humble lah sangat.HAHA
damn i really wan't those color.
esp the green one.

but "someone" told me that he'll never be my friend when i get the green one.
nevermind.
still got white same as xEDynamics.
propf
post Apr 3 2012, 04:52 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Apr 3 2012, 03:33 PM)
Don't care what other says larr. My friend also laugh at me say I shouldn't buy the white Q460 because it tends to get dirty easily, but then, "SO"? I like white and I don't mind sacrificing a bit time to clean it everyday before I sleep  sweat.gif
true mang.
white no problem.
the green one too much striking.
that's the point actually.

i've never clean my Q701 even once.HAHA. biggrin.gif
propf
post Apr 10 2012, 08:39 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Apr 3 2012, 04:57 PM)
Hahaha, tell that person nowadays colourful cable is trendy tongue.gif
Btw your Q701 is home use right? Home use won't make your headphone dirty as easily as using outdoor(polluted air, sweat, dirty hands and etc..)
somehow i didn't like the cables.
the K701 cable is pretty amazing.
even needs a lot of time to burn but nevermind i prefer the SQ instead of a lot of bass that outperforms the details and vocals.

yup my Q701 operates indoor only.
no need lah to show off this humongous cans to the public like those beats users.(either ORI or FAKE)HAHA.

p/s:last week i almost rammed a Sunway College student who didn't even look while crossing the road with their beats over their head. doh.gif vmad.gif

Added on April 10, 2012, 8:40 am
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 7 2012, 11:11 AM)
The new Tiesto series will be new from ground up and not a modification of an existing line  nod.gif
no mod?
just colours?
AKG is definitely trailing Dre line.
got the superman lah.spiderman lah.aiyo doh.gif

This post has been edited by propf: Apr 10 2012, 08:40 AM
propf
post Apr 11 2012, 01:23 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 11 2012, 01:49 AM)
Check with Lennox and Santik, did swap Lennox's K240mkII cable (same as K702) with Q701 during the last TT.
sure ah?
any good?
or simply better than the K701?
would love to try them off.

Added on April 11, 2012, 1:25 pm
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Apr 11 2012, 12:24 AM)
Get K702's cable and replace your Q701's cable whistling.gif tongue.gif
where can i get one?
HAHA.
just don't want to hurt them.
some light mod should be cool. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by propf: Apr 11 2012, 01:25 PM
propf
post Apr 11 2012, 02:58 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Apr 11 2012, 02:28 PM)
According to MY ears, the Q's cable are better
how many hours on burning? hmm.gif
propf
post Apr 12 2012, 03:46 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Apr 11 2012, 05:27 PM)
my K240mkii are probably more than 500 hours. not sure bro E1-AKG's Q701 how many hours dy.. but he got Q701 before i got my k240mkii, probably much longer than my k240mkii
guess you love somewhat smooth bass.
what tracks you commonly listen?

anyway how does you k240mkii cable sounds when plugged in with the Q701?
any better?

This post has been edited by propf: Apr 12 2012, 03:48 PM
propf
post Apr 14 2012, 01:48 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Apr 12 2012, 06:15 PM)
aha.. i didn't test my k240mkii cable on Q701.. only tested Q cable on my K240mkii.. my k240mkii's bass is quite muddy, and there is a noticeable improvement by using Q's cable and some minor improvement as is quite minor so i can't remember very well. the most still the bass  blush.gif
mostly listen to Metallica, Queen, Bee Gees, MJ, Kenny G, Linkin Park, Olivia Ong, Norah Jones, Eminem, Big Bang, etc
what DAC r u running on?
try compare head to head with the K701.
definitely got different.
but i guess mine isn't properly burnt yet.
maybe 300-500 hours will do the trick.

p.s.:it do take ages man.i haven't listen them for about a week since my amp got problem. doh.gif

0.0907sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:30 AM