Headphones AKG club for all AKG models, discussion on the experience of AKG HP

edwardgsk
post Mar 21 2011, 04:33 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Guys, I'm going to place order for K702 tomorrow. Any comment for this model?
edwardgsk
post Mar 21 2011, 04:42 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Guys, I'm planning of getting k702 soon for home use and on-the-go(sometimes) with my Sony A846 player. Do I need an amp for it? Any recommended amp for it?
edwardgsk
post Mar 21 2011, 05:08 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 21 2011, 05:24 AM)
Awesome, great and fantastic headphone, also extremely picky at that too unfortunately.
You might like it, or you might just hate it.
QUOTE(kenneth2306 @ Mar 21 2011, 04:06 PM)
good with classical, jazz but not suitable for rock or hard metal, trance?

i love the smooth sounding of akg k701

but it might lack of bass a bit
QUOTE(choongfenix @ Mar 21 2011, 04:08 PM)
oh my e9 just came to pair wif my preexisting e7 and k702..... the presence it gains is wonderful. xD
Thanks for the reply guys. Have heard about e7+e9 but many still said it's not enough to drive those higher end headphones, so I think I will invest on a RM1-2k amp for it. Any recommendation? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Mar 21 2011, 05:09 PM
edwardgsk
post Mar 21 2011, 05:09 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 21 2011, 05:01 AM)
> AKG K702
> on-the-go

dunnoifserious.jpg
Erm, mind explain? sweat.gif sweat.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 21 2011, 11:33 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 21 2011, 06:40 PM)
Fiio E9 has plenty of juices to provide and is absolutely enough to power up most high-end headphones, I have both K701/2 and HD800, go figure.

The main problem isn't E9 being underpowered, it's more like it's darned NEUTRAL. And K701's bass is somewhat weak, it's airy and may sound "empty", so....basically most people will opt to get amps that can warm up the K701's sound signature.

I for one appreciates how K701/2 originally sounds like, so..I am happy with E9.

And forget about E7 alone, it won't be able to drive K701 at decent volume.
Ic, thanks for your feedback about E7 and E9. Do you have any recommendation to warm up the k702's sound signature? Well I will be heading to Jaben to try out their available range of amp soon, but if there's a good one to go for, I can save the time sweat.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 21 2011, 11:34 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 21 2011, 06:04 PM)
K701/K702 is not meant to be portable. carrying amps around, and being an open can it will leak sound out. wouldnt want to annoy everyone around the KTM/LRT you're taking right? lol
Ah icic, thanks. No portable amp able to drive out k702's full power either? sweat.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 22 2011, 03:38 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

If portable ver? Any amp reco? I might raise my budget to 3k if my next month allowance increases. hmm.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 22 2011, 05:08 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 22 2011, 09:59 AM)
ovrall, d mid is warmer & bass is punchy ... u can alway jz ord d cable 4 d q701 & fit 2 ur k702 ...
Er, cable makes that difference? means basically q701 and k702 is still same unit except diff cable? how much the cable cost?

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Mar 22 2011, 05:14 PM
edwardgsk
post Mar 22 2011, 05:26 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 22 2011, 05:31 AM)
No idea.
Frankly speaking, if you are really thinking of using K702 on-the-go, think AGAIN.
First thing you want to consider is the size, it's humongous and you will look like a retard wearing it outdoor.
Unless..well you wanted to look like one..by all means.

Then, we move to the portable amp..I'd recommend you Headstage : The Arrow.
Here's a detailed and thorough review about it.

http://www.headfonia.com/headstage-the-arrow-amplifier/

Its price is 299USD (Even after adding shipping and taxes, it's still within your budget)

So..yes, if you want a portable amp that can drive K702..I'm pretty sure there are other options.
Also, it's worth mentioning that K702 is definitely NOT a low volume headphone. Meaning, you will lose out a lot of detail if you don't crank the volume considerably high.

Honestly..Using K702 on-the-go doesn't make sense.
It's basically 2 speakers on your ear, meaning anyone 5-10 feet (or more) around you will be able to listen what you are listening.

If I'm 10 feet around you..I'd probably tell you to turn your music/song off because it annoys the eff outta me. Just sayin'
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 22 2011, 07:31 AM)
^

this. if you're buying a K702, you're pretty much forgoing portability. forget about it.

=edit=
to add, sound leakage from the headphones, or carrying DAP/amps/buncha dangling cables etc around you.

not something most people would be walking around with
Haha, alright then the k702 will stays at home lah biggrin.gif

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 22 2011, 08:40 AM)
tis is akg's portable flagship ... d q460 ...

Oh, cool. Price? hmm.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 22 2011, 05:29 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 22 2011, 05:27 PM)
well, if you're skeptical, you can get play the k702 at a volume that you typically listen, then get someone to wear the 702 other than yourself. then behold the leakage wwwwww
LOL laugh.gif I will definitely try that.
edwardgsk
post Mar 22 2011, 06:16 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 22 2011, 05:57 PM)
if u read carefully, thr r basically 2 diff sects akg is aiming 4, consumer & professional ... q 701 is d flagship 4 consumer while d k702 is d flagship 4 professional.

Added on March 22, 2011, 5:57 pm

u r rite ...
Cost for the q702 cable?

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Mar 22 2011, 06:16 PM
edwardgsk
post Mar 27 2012, 04:31 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

New happy owner of AKG Q460 tongue.gif

My second AKG set since K702 early last year tongue.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 28 2012, 01:47 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Mar 27 2012, 04:52 PM)

rclxms.gif  any impression to share?
Haha ok maybe noob 2 cents impression...

Last month I decided to get a portable cans to replace my portable use Sony EX500 IEM(they are not broken, just kinda irritated that I won't be able to hear people calling me when I'm listening music with it, especially in college). These are possibly one of the best portable can(if not the best I have tested) straight out from the box. The sound is very direct, exciting and the bass is just sufficient to me. It's a bit tight at first when I started using it(my head is big, lol), but after awhile I got used to it. Love the ear pads. Damn airy, soft and comfy on ears.

Before I bought this, I have audited AKG Q460, K450, Beats Solo HD, Klipsch Image One and Fanny Wang's 1000 series(all have gone through 200 hours burn in). End up loving both Klipsch Image One and AKG Q460 because of their ability to perform at a pretty good overall standard playing straight from my portable devices(Samsung Galaxy Note and Sony A846) without really needing a portable amp to boost(lazy to bring amp around actually..). The reason I choosed Q460 instead of Image One is because of the replaceable cable because my headphones mainly spoils because of cable issue, I quite careless with my stuffs haha.

I find it slightly better from K450. Bass aside, everything sounds 1 step better too no matter how many types of songs I try(acoustic-kpop-clubsongs-jazz...)

But the warmth, soundstage, vocal clarity, details... still cannot compare to my K702 though when I compare both on Foobar software and plugged in to my Asus Essence STX sound card. Honestly, size really matters sweat.gif

Might try Bowers and Wilkins P5 if got chance next time and compare laugh.gif

QUOTE(propf @ Mar 27 2012, 10:01 PM)
too bassy in the Quincy Line.

i don't see improvement actually after the so called improved cables were implemented.

actually it reverts back.maybe this line wants to challenge the Dre series.HAHA  whistling.gif

the details were different.vocal laidbacks were damn obvious in this.  doh.gif

anyway u've got some good portable cans that anyone would drooled.  drool.gif
Thanks bro. laugh.gif
The bass level is just up to my liking. Beats Solo HD is another world level of bassy already haha. But anyway I still choose Q460 because of the mid and high tone is much better than Solo HD, which is kinda important because I also listen acoustic music quite often other than Kpop Jpop laugh.gif

edwardgsk
post Mar 28 2012, 01:54 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(flurkoneko @ Mar 28 2012, 01:33 PM)
Thanks for the feedback! I was also looking at K450 / Q460 for portability.
Can you please comment on how much the sound leaks? And if possible, how it compares to K142/K242? Thanks smile.gif
I have no experience with K142 and K242, but since these 2 cans you mentioned are designed to be used at home(semi-open), I bet Q460 has lesser sound leak compared to them. The sound leak can say is very minimal as no one complains when I use it in library yesterday, listening at 75% volume on my Sony Walkman tongue.gif

Added on March 28, 2012, 6:38 pmAnyone has price and availability of this? icon_question.gif

http://www.asus.com/Multimedia/Audio_Cards...ar_Essence_One/

Eye-ing it for very long already sad.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Mar 28 2012, 06:38 PM
edwardgsk
post Mar 30 2012, 12:52 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 29 2012, 06:36 PM)
Opps thanks. laugh.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 30 2012, 05:02 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(7emptations @ Mar 30 2012, 02:53 PM)
Not sure if anyone facing this problem with K450. When I retract the headphone to keep, the very last 1mm of the right side cannot enter. Its like spongy and when I push in, it'll slide out a bit (like sponge). It cannot fully enter. Though there is no functional failure (not that I know of yet), I'm not sure if its gonna be a problem in the future.

Just happened lately.
I don't have this problem with my Q460(very identical to K450's design).
As long as it doesn't come off, and doesn't affect your aural pleasure, doesn't matter lar laugh.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 30 2012, 06:55 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(evangtee @ Mar 30 2012, 06:52 PM)
AKG headsets, where to get at decent prices?
Amazon tongue.gif
edwardgsk
post Mar 31 2012, 12:26 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 30 2012, 08:13 PM)
Mine as well. Hehehe...
edwardgsk
post Mar 31 2012, 12:55 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Mar 31 2012, 12:39 AM)
ya bro, we "poor" people buy from overseas only, coz Malaysia price soooo expensive sad.gif
Can save sure must save lor, can use that money buy something else lehhh tongue.gif
edwardgsk
post Apr 1 2012, 01:12 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

My humble AKGs wub.gif

0.0502sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:15 PM