Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

SUSrobertchoo
post Dec 14 2014, 12:51 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 13 2014, 01:58 PM)
It seems that manufacturing/operations in SG is getting less and less..really worried if engineer can find a way out here..
Its inevitable. Almost all developed country bar maybe Germany has a negligeble manufacturing industry. SG is no different. You want to be a developed country, then you have to have high value economy i.e. services
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 16 2015, 12:39 PM

5,753 posts

I wonder what is the employment prospects for the pinoy who got sacked by TTS hospital for posting sensitive FB remarks about sinkies. Maybe he can go back pinoy land for a couple of years then when all is forgotten, come back to work in SG?

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jan 16 2015, 12:41 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Feb 1 2015, 04:24 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(DoomerX @ Jan 31 2015, 11:30 PM)
Hi guys, i am planning to work in SG (marketing / pr field) . I have 3 yrs of working experience in malaysia with MBA and Degree in Marketing from Australia University. So roughly how much salary can i demand and expect? Thanks smile.gif
Min SGD8kp/m. Nothing below that
SUSrobertchoo
post Apr 23 2015, 10:56 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 23 2015, 07:40 PM)
actually im thedumb one who said my expected salary is 2500 doh.gif

i wonder if i can even get any increment or bonus within a year, since its a contract job

yeah i see average here 3k+, but im only a freshie, LV1 network engineer job, so I dunno if this is too low or not....

food so expensive??? sad.gif i thought can spend like 5 for lunch. Im thinking of renting a HDB in Redhill. Are food there cheap? for dinner and weekends
You should count your lucky stars to even get a job in the first place.
If you don't want, I know of 3-4 other indian nationals or pinoys with more experience who wants your job for the same pay.

SUSrobertchoo
post May 24 2015, 03:00 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 22 2015, 06:23 PM)
What are you senior guys' thoughts regarding CPF as a PR?
I'm still not sure if that's good or bad, mainly depending on whether O plan to become a citizen eventually IMO
CPF is a big ponzi scam. Just becuase you think its Singapore you think they are clean?
Well not quite. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count..._by_public_debt
Singapore internal debt is 111% its GDP. What that means is that the SG gov borrows more than 100% of its GDP from its own bodies like Temasek, CPF, etc. The govenment cannot afford to repay those debts. They just can't.

Why do you think they keep rising the min age of withdrawal and now they even set a min sum for withdrawal under the pretext of helping or preventing their citizen who would spend all their money away? THe min sum keeps increasing and increasing every year. Why is that? Its becuase the gov cannot repay their citizens should they choose to withdraw their CPF lump sum en mass. That is why they try to smoke.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 24 2015, 09:44 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 24 2015, 03:34 PM)
Well that's more of an economic policy discussion
I'm concerned of the effects on myself as an individual, unless you're suggesting that Singapore is going bankrupt due to that
In that case Japan and the USA will be too, if you judge solely based on gross debt to GDP %
Nope. But Singapore will just raise the min age for withdrawal and raise the min sum to be kept in your CPF lo.
Effectively you cannot withdraw your CPF if it is below SGD155k currently i think. And the amount is rising.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 04:33 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(RecruitingTheBest @ May 25 2015, 08:58 AM)
If SG is such a bad place to you, why don't you just stay in Malaysia and enjoy your EPF.

No point ranting here.
There is another choice. Don't be a pr. This is not a rant this is a response to someone who asked what are the pros and cons of cpf and these are some of the cons.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 25 2015, 04:45 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 04:35 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 25 2015, 02:53 PM)
i think he just like to bash all the countries
in aus thread, he will say sg,msia and other asia country the best to work but now in sg thread he says the other way round
No I'm not bashing SG. I'm merely pointing out the flaws of CPF in response to someone who asked what are the pros and cons of being a PR and CPF.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 25 2015, 04:38 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 04:38 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 24 2015, 11:46 PM)
I wouldn't really mind that, as long as I do get it back eventually
Shouldn't be touching that money before retirement anyway
Then you already answered your own question.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 07:59 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ May 25 2015, 05:38 PM)
if cpf is better than epf, why on earth malaysians with singapore pr under their belt still refuse to convert to sg citizenship after working for many years, despite earning more than average middle class singaporeans. point to ponder.
Becuase they know precisely that if they convert its bye bye CPF.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 25 2015, 08:39 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 08:06 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 25 2015, 05:59 PM)
You do not seem to understand the question, the question was whether CFP is good after becoming a PR (as opposed to being a non-PR and non-Citizen).
The main consideration here is for people such as myself who aren't sure if I will be in Singapore until I retire. Would it be better to lock down the money and take the extra contribution from my company while having do deal with the hassle of withdrawal if I move away, or just stay a non-PR without the company contribution

Then you came in with your ponzi scheme blablabla....absolutely nothing to do with the topic
If you want to know the cons of CPF then you have to weight what I just said. I've said it before and I'll say it again. Cpf is one big ponzi scheme. Your money may be still there but you may not withdraw it until either you pass the min sum or you reach the age of 55 and give up your sg pr. If you think you can live with it then by all means take up the pr and start contributing to cpf.

If you decide not to then you won't be subjected to such laws. As to whether you want to be in SG until you retire, only you can decide.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 25 2015, 08:38 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 08:09 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 25 2015, 06:39 PM)
Aiyo as PR no problem lar, reach 55 y.o. if no interested anymore then renounce PR withdraw all CPF then gtfo back to Malaysia lor. Sure get back one lah, worst case scenario is PAP raise minimum sum to s$1m to pay you, end up Sinkie suffer only mah icon_idea.gif

Now if you say PR convert to Sinkie ... that one is a much bigger consideration.
Rules can change and change fast. You never know when sg gov will disallow malaysian pr to take out their cpf even after 55. With all the negative sentiments among singaporeans I won't be surprised.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 25 2015, 08:13 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ May 25 2015, 06:27 PM)
He warning you about the MLM scheme.

Grabs popcorn  tongue.gif
All employees funds are ponzi schemes.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 30 2015, 12:54 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ May 29 2015, 10:58 AM)
Just renounce PR lur. Problem solved. Rules wont be made to disallow renounced PR from taking back their CPF coz what's the point? By doing that, there wont be more future PR, hence affecting their economy
For those who did not know if u are west m'sian you cannot withdraw your CPF until age 55 even after you renounce your PR
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm.
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 12 2015, 12:03 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 11 2015, 10:50 PM)
Company want to retrench 25k people world wide. Old and big stomach, retrench sure jobless for years  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif .
Actually its 50k
http://money.cnn.com/2015/06/09/investing/hsbc-job-cuts/

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jun 12 2015, 12:04 AM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jul 25 2015, 10:52 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(tiestoycc @ Jul 25 2015, 01:02 AM)
I've always heard that singaporeans look down on malaysians and such, but is it real? I haven't been to singapore before, so I have no idea. I would like to know more from people that have been living or working there.
blue collared worker yes. white collared worker no. generally, i wouldn't say look down. its how you present yourself to them. if you speak good english, are knowledgeable etc then they will not look down at you. but if you can't speak english, speak broken mandarin like most malaysian chinese do and generally present yourself as shabby then they are going to look at you like how we look at banglas. they are humans too.
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 2 2015, 02:03 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 30 2015, 12:54 PM)
Of coz Malaysians are treated no different form other FTs if your skill are the same and nothing to shout about.
Actually on a recent business trip to the red dot, I am quite astounded that I met alot of Malaysians who cannot speak a proper sentence in english and/or malay or understand english or malay without asking for clarification in mandarin and yet claimed that they graduated from local university in malaysia. Is the standards these days really that bad? No wonder Singaporeans look down on Malaysians.
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 3 2015, 01:01 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Aug 2 2015, 11:18 PM)
Mind if I ask, what kind of job/position these people were in?
Does it matter? I expect ALL malaysian grads to be able to speak and understand english. Failing which, they should not be allowed to graduate
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 3 2015, 04:31 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 3 2015, 03:37 PM)
Singaporeans do look down on us, period whistling.gif
And such situation do happen every where across the globe, as long as they can compare you to them and they feel they are more superior than you, then you won't be respected.
Worked in Qatar before with Europeans and they do look down to Asians.
Not to mention to recent mass job interview organised by Singaporeans, pay difference are close to 75% between Malaysian and Singaporean candidates for the same post shocking.gif
i only noticed such discrimination in a situation like i have mentioned before i.e. they can't speak proper english or understand english. otherwise its fine. can't tell if one is malaysian or singaporean as we speak with same accent
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 3 2015, 08:43 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ Aug 3 2015, 07:37 PM)
Nope. Most Malaysians don't really speak the same accent as them unless that person is educated in SG. Period.
well nobody could tell i was from malaysia until they asked which combat unit i was attached to for NS during one of those tok kok session after official business. then they were all surprised when i told them none. i'm not singaporean.

0.0355sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:24 AM