Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
qwertyuioped
Jan 27 2015, 05:49 PM
Guys, want to ask is it hard to find jobs in sg nowadays? I have diploma in mech eng. I saw few technician job that might suits me. Is it open to foreigners or priority on Singaporeans only? How much does it cost if say I want to travel JB-SG via public transport everyday? Would appreciate the input. thanks.
qwertyuioped
Jan 29 2015, 02:33 AM
guys, is it to much asking 2k sgd for a diploma holder? Going to sg this February for interview.
qwertyuioped
Jan 29 2015, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(almeizer @ Jan 29 2015, 11:23 AM) Industry? Fresh grad? 2k - 2.2k seems to be fair if you are fresh grad with diploma. If after probation got increment then it's better. However, if the annual leave is only 7 days, then it's a no no. But with 2k, hardly you can save much with average lifestyle. Especially first 2 months, you can't save at all due to your expenses, rental and deposit for rental. QUOTE(LordCZ @ Jan 29 2015, 01:53 PM) imho, 2k for a fresh grad diploma oso quite low la...but also depending on what industry u r going into la...my fren from semicon say if spm like me, get 800 nia =_= yeah. I'm a fresh grad diploma in mech engineering. But I do have 3 months experience in call centre before this. Applied a customer svc and some technician job. Yesterday a company call me to go for interview as Singtel CSO and salary range is 1.6k~2.4k. They asked me my expected salary and I said 2k, but the interviewer like kinda shocked. As if im asking mountains with just diploma and no experience. So that's why I'm asking. Anyway, is it a crazy idea to travel JB-CBD area daily? 2hr one way like that by public transport?
qwertyuioped
Jan 29 2015, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(LordCZ @ Jan 29 2015, 02:45 PM) i got offer from singtel, most likely they gonna offer u 2k or tekan u abit... not sure if u r at north seragoon area though... fyi my offer was 2k +150 so you are working in singtel too now? how is it like? IINM , in the job description also they did mention something about 150 allowance.
qwertyuioped
Jan 29 2015, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(LordCZ @ Jan 29 2015, 03:24 PM) nope, it was only an offer and i needed more..so i did not accept the offer...the 150 is only after your probation though...u can try if u wan though i see. so you are a diploma holder too? Actually I'm kinda scared asking anything more than 1.8k. But then alot of people are saying fresh diploma holder should get 2k and above. Confused now. lol
qwertyuioped
Sep 2 2015, 09:28 AM
Hi, i just started working in singapore for almost a month now. But until now, my employer still do not arrange the work permit for me. But I done a medical check up weeks ago. They just give me a letter and thats it. Im thinking to resign and find another job. Is it possible or is there any negative effects of doing that?
This post has been edited by qwertyuioped: Sep 2 2015, 09:34 AM
qwertyuioped
Sep 2 2015, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Sep 2 2015, 10:50 AM) Afraid it will risk your permit application being voided and blacklisted by your employer to MOM I see. In your opinion what is the best way to change job in my case? Thx
qwertyuioped
Sep 2 2015, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 2 2015, 01:32 PM) Don't understand. Do you mean you don't even have an in principle approval for any kind of work pass, and that you're illegally working in Singapore on a social visit pass? Im not sure either. The letter that was given to me doesnt say anything about IPA. But the letter have my working permit number on it though. QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Sep 2 2015, 01:51 PM) there is no limit on how frequent you can change your job, but note that every time you switch job your former employer is required to state the reason for EP termination on MOM portal. You will have an "impressive" employment history with MOM, your past employment will be considered when MOM issues your next EP. My take is: no matter how shitty your job is, bear with it for 1 year if you can. Remember you are holding a work pass, and you are a foreigner. No one wants a regular job hopper. I guess i just have to suck it up this time. Gonna try stay as long as i can.