Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

LordCZ
post Dec 23 2014, 04:00 PM

46 posts

hi guys, newbie here...
spamming those HR in SG now with my CV...kekeke...
LordCZ
post Jan 15 2015, 02:54 PM

46 posts

after more than 1 month's CV spamming action, i only get 1 call, which is from SingTel... sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
pray for better offer ~.~
LordCZ
post Jan 15 2015, 03:09 PM

46 posts

imho, i always wear the whole set...at least for a better impression...i've seen people wearing jeans/sneakers for first interview, which i think is not good...
LordCZ
post Jan 15 2015, 06:06 PM

46 posts

different job la i think, cuz if wear jeans n sneakers interview for office job, most likely cant make it la...
LordCZ
post Jan 15 2015, 08:20 PM

46 posts

i always wear suited lo...but now problem is, no calls from sg arranging for interview except for singtel 1... dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif
LordCZ
post Jan 16 2015, 04:42 PM

46 posts

heading down to SG next monday for interview, any recommendations for places to stay at night..? 1st priority is cheap =)
LordCZ
post Jan 16 2015, 05:15 PM

46 posts

whr u planning to stay bro?
LordCZ
post Jan 16 2015, 05:38 PM

46 posts

thank mackiddo, gonna google that now...

icic, good luck for ur interview.h2o
LordCZ
post Jan 22 2015, 03:59 PM

46 posts

just did my interviews with Singtel and recruitment consultant past 2 days. back in Kl now. still consider not bad cuz i managed to visit MBS and experienced morning work traffic in raffles...

still waiting for offer though...too bad i dont have the education papers to make it easier for myself =(
LordCZ
post Jan 22 2015, 05:17 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 22 2015, 05:13 PM)
If you already know what you lack to be competitive, then do something about it lo. Lots of part time schools around mah.
yes boss...i've been trying but there's always issue. now trying to get a job in sg 1st while clearing some of my past papers...
LordCZ
post Jan 23 2015, 03:32 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jan 22 2015, 10:44 PM)
what u aiming the cust service staff or work direct at singtel perm staff ....
my experience all more to customer service jobs, the interviews i went with singtel also for cust service. still looking for other options though, $$ is the main thing.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
LordCZ
post Jan 29 2015, 12:53 PM

46 posts

imho, 2k for a fresh grad diploma oso quite low la...but also depending on what industry u r going into la...my fren from semicon say if spm like me, get 800 nia =_=
LordCZ
post Jan 29 2015, 01:45 PM

46 posts

i got offer from singtel, most likely they gonna offer u 2k or tekan u abit...
not sure if u r at north seragoon area though...

fyi
my offer was 2k +150
LordCZ
post Jan 29 2015, 02:24 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuioped @ Jan 29 2015, 02:00 PM)
so you are working in singtel too now? how is it like? IINM , in the job description also they did mention something about 150 allowance.
nope, it was only an offer and i needed more..so i did not accept the offer...the 150 is only after your probation though...u can try if u wan though
LordCZ
post Jan 29 2015, 02:39 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuioped @ Jan 29 2015, 02:28 PM)
i see. so you are a diploma holder too? Actually I'm kinda scared asking anything more than 1.8k. But then alot of people are saying fresh diploma holder should get 2k and above. Confused now. lol
im only o level and i was asking for alot more, i've got experience so im not on the same level with you...
the choice is urs...do more survey...if i had a diploma with my current experience, i will be around 3k+ easily
LordCZ
post Jan 30 2015, 02:25 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Jan 30 2015, 02:07 PM)
ive been applying around 80 jobs since end of october till now i don have a job sad.gif

Im a fresh graduate in Electrical and Electronics engineering.

Ive put my SG contact on my resume and cover letter. but also no luck. sad.gif
haha
in average, i apply for 30 jobs daily...since october also...
i've got a few offers but its like kena tekan sweat.gif cry.gif

just fingers crossed and hope for the best to happen...
sometimes they are not opening for new hires yet...maybe wait till those ppl take bonus and leave 1st~~~ thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

LordCZ
post Jan 30 2015, 04:15 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Jan 30 2015, 02:44 PM)
i got offer working in sg with 1750-2000 sgd. can i survive there?

i never been to sg, so didnt familiar with the road and the transport, will be working in central singapore if not mistaken, how is the cost living in central? if possible wanted to save 1000sgd, im a muslim btw.

btw,after some reading i will graduate in bachelor of science computer this may, should i ask for 2.3-2.5k  sgd?
QUOTE(almeizer @ Jan 30 2015, 03:47 PM)
Below 2k is a bit low. You can ask for 2.2k above.
yeah i also think that 2k is abit low...i think u can ask for 3k, bargain space rclxms.gif
u try to survey the market price la...2.5 oso quite nice thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
LordCZ
post Jan 30 2015, 05:58 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 30 2015, 05:14 PM)
if u ask for 3k as fresh grad.
most will directly say "thank you. bye bye"
no wonder until now i oso din get many calls for interview~ sweat.gif sweat.gif
LordCZ
post Feb 9 2015, 05:52 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 9 2015, 05:37 PM)
depends on what company. Some have the decency to let you know the results, even if you did not succeed. Some just don't bother if you failed. Well, I would suggest you continue with whatever you are doing and not put too much hope on past interview(s).
ya true...i've been on and off travelling to SG for interviews...applying jobs online and taking call interviews...so its countless times of failure already...nowadays most of them dont bother to call cuz it says, they will only call if shortlisted.

anyways...going down to SG again....12-13 Feb...pre valentine trip...hope to get some good offer this time...otherwise its gonna be after CNY...
icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
too eager to leave my current company vmad.gif cry.gif
LordCZ
post Feb 9 2015, 07:04 PM

46 posts

accomodation, you can just search via agoda or airbnb ... depending on where you want to stay...if u wanna stay those dodgy areas and risk getting yourself robbed,its cheap..
for me, i try to choose nearer to the area im going for interview...or else just make it a 1 day trip...its tiring but i think its worth a shot..

fingers crossed, hope that this trip will be my last trip for interviews...hehe

0.0245sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:17 AM