196 Pages « < 183 184 185 186 187 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

TSdeodorant
post Oct 28 2015, 12:17 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 28 2015, 10:21 AM)
Wao all the pr.. i still have to wait at least 4 years b4 i can qualify for hdb cos need to apply for pr. 

Buy private lo. If not picky on size and location, s$3xx can buy new condo liao (saw some RENs advertising it in CBD a few months ago).
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 28 2015, 12:33 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 28 2015, 12:15 PM)
provided the regulations for purchasing hdb apartnent remain status quo.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 28 2015, 12:17 PM)
Buy private lo. If not picky on size and location, s$3xx can buy new condo liao (saw some RENs advertising it in CBD a few months ago).
No more d lor. Like highpark residences fully sold and even that only ready by 2020 or 2021. Family planning wise not ideal...
Fiona Chin
post Oct 28 2015, 12:39 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 27 2015, 10:40 PM)
Lol don't be fooled. The person you quoting in reality annual salary can buy one hdb in cash.
Would be lovely to at least have the option of buying a HDB. Now totally in the ban list. Same same PR but why discrimination exist?

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 28 2015, 10:21 AM)
Wao all the pr.. i still have to wait at least 4 years b4 i can qualify for hdb cos need to apply for pr. Haha i calculated the other day that the fastest i can own a residence is 2020. Fastest for pr to get hdb is 2021. =__=""

So im kinda stuck thinking wheher to just go bck msia since by 2018 i can get a fully renovated resale dst ready.
Learn to find joy in the current state while waiting for the unknown anticipated future lo. Actually for me who spent half of my life residing in SG, studying and working here with a normal peasant life I suppose, sometime I wonder why Malaysians are flocking in. If not for family I would go other place with better liftstyle already.
yuen300
post Oct 28 2015, 02:04 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(bigtree @ Oct 25 2015, 01:05 AM)
There won't be a fix number of interview sessions to secure a job in SG. I'd been through 2-3 interview sessions per application, but recently just gotten an offer with just 1 interview
P/s: I've been following this thread for quite sometimes without posting anything. This would be my first post here  smile.gif
Lol, so you are currently working in Singapore now?
Been through the second interview, and the hiring manager asked me to wait for her reply and arrange my time to come down to meet the HOD. Does this sounds like high probability to go through the third round interview?

mighty talk
post Oct 28 2015, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 26 2015, 11:41 PM)
Do you have an actual job offer from starhub? If no then this discussion is academic at best, no?
No actual offer. Just that the recruitment agent call me and ask to go there for interview. Because I have experience in handling SG telco but based in KL. So potential is there.

mighty talk
post Oct 28 2015, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 27 2015, 01:18 PM)
don't convert la.. you working and living in SG.. unless you intend to stay in Jb, no point compare..

3k sgd is abit hard to live.. your rental alone is 1k+. It will be enough to cover, but no savings built, which is your intention if moving to SG to work right?
Thanks for the advice. Yes, my intention is go there and try save 1 month 1k sgd. Actually basic (fixed) is 2k only. Plus Comm then maybe can go up to 3k or 4k. Hmmm... maybe need to rethink

Is the rental so high? I surveyed per room is around 300-400 if share or 700 if 1 room alone.
mighty talk
post Oct 28 2015, 04:30 PM

QUOTE(titarium @ Oct 27 2015, 02:00 PM)
Don't be tempted by the 9k Ringgit , calculate living cost base on SGD then convert only the balance, then compare it to your career advancement.

I estimate the saving build up is around 2-3k Ringgit , in return major sacrifice is :
No Car
Staying in Rented Room
Things will get little boring in SG -> need to find activity to do and at times requires $$
Appreciate your comment. I calculated my basic 2k SGD is enough to cover all the SG expenses and malaysia commitment (insurance, mother allowance). The rest i earn commission will be my extra. Based on the recruitment agent say that can earn around 1k-2k+ commission. So that's what I thought of going SG.
megadisc
post Oct 28 2015, 10:37 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(mighty talk @ Oct 28 2015, 04:30 PM)
Appreciate your comment. I calculated my basic 2k SGD is enough to cover all the SG expenses and malaysia commitment (insurance, mother allowance). The rest i earn commission will be my extra. Based on the recruitment agent say that can earn around 1k-2k+ commission. So that's what I thought of going SG.
1k commison is a lot that's nett pay

Go for it
kyle28
post Oct 29 2015, 02:23 AM

Hi all! I just got my first job in sg and doing research on which bank is good for payroll account. hate the withdrawal charge imposed by POSB. Looking for a bank that is convenient to withdraw money (ATM) and msia remit as need to deliver money back to msia. Found that CIMB FastSaver Account type is quite attractive in terms of interest for a starter account...What are the cons of opening an CIMB account? Seeking advice and any suggestion on other bank is welcome.

This post has been edited by kyle28: Oct 29 2015, 02:38 AM
TSdeodorant
post Oct 29 2015, 07:42 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kyle28 @ Oct 29 2015, 02:23 AM)
Looking for a bank that is convenient to withdraw money (ATM) and msia remit as need to deliver money back to msia.

DBS lo. ATM's everywhere, and free remittance back to Malaysia at competitive rates (free until end of the year ... no idea what the charges (if any) will be after).
simonhtz
post Oct 29 2015, 10:42 AM

312 posts

Hi guys,

I received my offer letter and waiting for EP submission/approval. If everything goes well, I'll start my 2016 in Singapore.

My future company is offering me tax assistant for both sides, Malaysia and first year in Singapore. I went to the company's accounting branch here in KL(PWC IAS) and I was briefed that if I were to leave Malaysia, I need to get my current company to submit CP21, and my last month's salary is suppose to be held by my company until my tax clearance is completed. In a nutshell, I need to announce to IRB that I'm leaving Malaysia and not getting any income in Malaysia, so according to tax regulation, I need submit a CP21 and perform a tax clearance.

According to the tax agent, there's a high possibility that I will be audited when doing a tax clearance. Do you guys happen to have experience for matters like this?

I got a feeling I will be in deep sh*t if I get audited.

This post has been edited by simonhtz: Oct 29 2015, 10:46 AM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 29 2015, 10:46 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 29 2015, 10:42 AM)
Hi guys,

I received my offer letter and waiting for EP submission/approval. If everything goes well, I'll start my 2016 in Singapore.

My future company is offering me tax assistant for both sides, Malaysia and first year in Singapore. I went to the company's accounting branch here in KL(PWC IAS) and I was briefed that if I were to leave Malaysia, I need to get my current company to submit CP21, and my last month's salary is suppose to be held by my company until my tax clearance is completed. In a nutshell, I need to announce to IRB that I'm leaving Malaysia and not getting any income in Malaysia, so according to tax regulation, I need submit a CP21 and perform a tax clearance.

According to the tax agent, there's a high possibility that I will be audited before doing a tax clearance. Do you guys happen to have experience for matters like this?

I submitted my tax clearance no issue oso. Nothing one la. As long as ur tax filing concsitent with ur form ea then usually okay de.just dun claim tht much relief la

And at ur tax bracket of under 35k u wont be taxed de.
TSdeodorant
post Oct 29 2015, 10:49 AM

5,691 posts

Why? Did you simply anyhow file fraudulent tax returns every year to LHDN? If it was accurate and all your deductions are supported with proper receipts, etc then what are you afraid of?

The alternate: Don't bother with the CP21. Just go to Singapore and work, then next year April do your Malaysia Tax Filing online and claim back all the overpaid PCB. Note: If there is a significant drop in the tax assessment amount compared to previous years, then LHDN will also possibly audit you anyway.
LiangZhuge
post Oct 29 2015, 10:56 AM

451 posts

Hi guys,

According to the tax agent, there's a high possibility that I will be audited when doing a tax clearance. Do you guys happen to have experience for matters like this?

If you kept all your documents (EA form, receipts, etc) and paid all your taxes nicely, why are you afraid of an audit ? You get "donation" is it ? wink.gif

For my case (some years back), after my MY company submit the CP21, I went over to LHDN to confirm with them and cleared everything, got a release letter, gave it to my MY company for them to release my pay, done in less a couple of week if my memory servers me. Then later next year tax assessment, I filled in online and LHDN payed me back the access tax I paid.

After that I didn't perform the online tax assessment the next year onward and no audit.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 29 2015, 11:02 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

He worried even though he is at the bracket tht wont have tax anyway xD
simonhtz
post Oct 29 2015, 11:04 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 29 2015, 10:46 AM)
I submitted my tax clearance no issue oso. Nothing one la. As long as ur tax filing concsitent with ur form ea then usually okay de.just dun claim tht much relief la

And at ur tax bracket of under 35k u wont be taxed de.
I will be taxed.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 29 2015, 10:49 AM)
Why? Did you simply anyhow file fraudulent tax returns every year to LHDN? If it was accurate and all your deductions are supported with proper receipts, etc then what are you afraid of?

The alternate: Don't bother with the CP21. Just go to Singapore and work, then next year April do your Malaysia Tax Filing online and claim back all the overpaid PCB. Note: If there is a significant drop in the tax assessment amount compared to previous years, then LHDN will also possibly audit you anyway.
I thought of that as well until the tax agent advised to not do this.

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Oct 29 2015, 10:56 AM)
If you kept all your documents (EA form, receipts, etc) and paid all your taxes nicely, why are you afraid of an audit ? You get "donation" is it ? wink.gif

For my case (some years back), after my MY company submit the CP21, I went over to LHDN to confirm with them and cleared everything, got a release letter, gave it to my MY company for them to release my pay, done in less a couple of week if my memory servers me. Then later next year tax assessment, I filled in online and LHDN payed me back the access tax I paid.

After that I didn't perform the online tax assessment the next year onward and no audit.
I kept all my documents alright and paid my taxes. But, I bought books. Lots of books.

Edit: Remember I mentioned that I bought a lot of books? I lied.

This post has been edited by simonhtz: Oct 29 2015, 11:05 AM
LiangZhuge
post Oct 29 2015, 11:04 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 29 2015, 11:02 AM)
He worried even though he is at the bracket tht wont have tax anyway xD
He gets "Donations" wink.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 29 2015, 11:18 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 29 2015, 11:04 AM)
I will be taxed.
I kept all my documents alright and paid my taxes. But, I bought books. Lots of books.

Okay i misunderstood ur statement.u meant u will 2get tax assistance.

Aya book claims only rm1k to 2k. At most a small prnalty.
Fiona Chin
post Oct 29 2015, 11:30 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 29 2015, 11:04 AM)
I will be taxed.

If you do fraud, you need to suck it up. Just make a correct declaration and pay up. MY and SG are close now, one day SG commandos will kick your SG door down and point 5 M16s on your head for evading tax. Lock to Changi prison, then send back to MY for life imprisonment.
simonhtz
post Oct 29 2015, 11:32 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 29 2015, 11:30 AM)
If you do fraud, you need to suck it up. Just make a correct declaration and pay up. MY and SG are close now, one day SG commandos will kick your SG door down and point 5 M16s on your head for evading tax. Lock to Changi prison, then send back to MY for life imprisonment.
That bad in Singapore?! rclxub.gif shocking.gif

196 Pages « < 183 184 185 186 187 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:36 AM