ghodul
post Oct 12 2015, 08:30 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 12 2015, 08:24 PM)
direct wrote in to apply.
Like that...

bcoz its kinda hard to find a company advertise on JS or monsters. Usually just agent...
Mackiddo
post Oct 12 2015, 08:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Oct 12 2015, 08:30 PM)
Like that...

bcoz its kinda hard to find a company advertise on JS or monsters. Usually just agent...
dunno bout that but I dislike agent. Rather find myself.
mochibean5
post Oct 13 2015, 12:59 PM

19 posts

What are some of the top management trainee programmes in Singapore? Can't seem to find much info on that. When I search for Malaysia, quite a few lists come out.
icycokes
post Oct 13 2015, 05:51 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

I graduated a few years ago and I recall that many of my peers were aspired to join a financial institution. Investment banks like JPM and Barclays offer graduate programs in different functions. Other banks like Citi and DBS also have their own MT programs, which I think require candidates to rotate around different departments.

Other than that, I remember that large MNCs such as PG, L'oreal, Unilever, Siemens, BP.. all held career talks at my university (NUS). I think they have their own leadership development programs too.

But mind you these programs are competitive and you need to have very good results to get an interview. For me I didn't make the cut for any of these programs.

Try this website. www.indeed.com.sg. It consolidates job opportunities from companies and some job portals like efinancialcareers and jobsbank. I often see companies advertise their graduate programs there.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Oct 13 2015, 11:13 PM
Fiona Chin
post Oct 13 2015, 07:28 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Oct 13 2015, 05:51 PM)
I graduated a few years ago and I recall that many of my peers were aspired to join a financial institution. Investment banks like JPM and Barclays offer graduate programs in different functions. Other banks like Citi and DBS also have their own MT programs, which I think require candidates to rotate around different departments.

Other than that, I remember that large MNCs such as PG, L'oreal, Unilever, Siemens, BP.. all held career talks at my university (NUS). I think they have their own leadership development programs too.

But mind you these programs are competitive and you need to have very good results to get an interview. For me I didn't make the cut for any of these programs.

Try this website. www.indeed.com.sg. It consolidates job oppotunities from companies and some job portals like efinancialcareers and jobsbank. I often seen graduate programs advertised there.
Finance and banking jobs is too overrated among the local grads. You get in, name appear in papers, your coursemates sure wah wah wah. Should went back tell the schools don't let so many of them go to the career fair and paint the wrong picture.

I heard only those first class and dean's lists people from the local u can get in those program. So envy those top brains, every month tens of thousands flowing in. Drive BMW at young age la, buy condosss rent to FT la, fly first class la, stay in suite la, got PA la, wah lao think also shiok already. Why I no listens my parents say study good good?

Too bad SG don't use Top washing powder many, if not I also tries applied Top punya management program also consider get in top management team.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 14 2015, 08:16 AM

381 posts

Singapore enter technical recession.. protect and consolidate yourselves.
taufoo
post Oct 14 2015, 11:24 AM

147 posts

Got an offer to work for MNC in Singapore.

Wanna ask any chance to get a 1 room studio/apartment for SGD 1000-1,500?

Trying not to live with other people because I had bad experience in Australia last time.

Lester1987
post Oct 14 2015, 11:31 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 11:24 AM)
Got an offer to work for MNC in Singapore.

Wanna ask any chance to get a 1 room studio/apartment for SGD 1000-1,500?

Trying not to live with other people because I had bad experience in Australia last time.
studio mostly private housing. should be around 2.5-3.5k
taufoo
post Oct 14 2015, 11:33 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:31 AM)
studio mostly private housing. should be around 2.5-3.5k
What about 1 bedroom condo's/flats that are around the same price range?

KilJim
post Oct 14 2015, 11:42 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

You wont get a "real" studio for that price
But there are many renovated houses to resemble small studio apartments

Basically imagine a house made into 8 rooms, each with their own attached bathroom and small "kitchen" corner
Amenities like washing machine may or may not be shared
That's the best you can get if you really need to stay alone for that budget

This post has been edited by KilJim: Oct 14 2015, 11:43 AM
Lester1987
post Oct 14 2015, 11:44 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 11:33 AM)
What about 1 bedroom condo's/flats that are around the same price range?
with 2.5-3.5k, you have a 2 options.

1. 3 rooms HDB to stay alone.
2. 1 room studio condo with facilities.
taufoo
post Oct 14 2015, 11:52 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:44 AM)
with 2.5-3.5k, you have a 2 options.

1. 3 rooms HDB to stay alone.
2. 1 room studio condo with facilities.
Sorry,

1) When I said price range I referring to the the SGD1,000-1,500 range.

2) HDB is what? Flat?
taufoo
post Oct 14 2015, 11:53 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Oct 14 2015, 11:42 AM)
You wont get a "real" studio for that price
But there are many renovated houses to resemble small studio apartments

Basically imagine a house made into 8 rooms, each with their own attached bathroom and small "kitchen" corner
Amenities like washing machine may or may not be shared
That's the best you can get if you really need to stay alone for that budget
Any specific keywords I can search for these kinda premises?

Fiona Chin
post Oct 14 2015, 12:02 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 11:52 AM)
Sorry,

1) When I said price range I referring to the the SGD1,000-1,500 range.

2) HDB is what? Flat?
What he telling u is u can't get any studio apartment in SG with 1.5k sgd. With the current market now no need hope. The people here are rich, 1.5k sgd is peanuts for unit rental.

HDB is gahmen flat a.k.a. low cost housing in Malaysia. 80% of people live in HDB so its ok a.ka.a suck it up if can't afford. But HDB its not your Malaysia version dodgy, dirty, no ppl care cheap flats, some even look like condo style now.
taufoo
post Oct 14 2015, 12:04 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 14 2015, 12:02 PM)
What he telling u is u can't get any studio apartment in SG with 1.5k sgd. With the current market now no need hope. The people here are rich, 1.5k sgd is peanuts for unit rental.

HDB is gahmen flat a.k.a. low cost housing in Malaysia. 80% of people live in HDB so its ok a.ka.a suck it up if can't afford. But HDB its not your Malaysia version dodgy, dirty, no ppl care cheap flats, some even look like condo style now.
I dont mind HDB. But if HDB I prefer 1 bedroom HDB housing.

Anyways thanks for the clarification. I kinda know what to look for now.
ky_khor
post Oct 14 2015, 12:11 PM

No.22
894 posts

What people were trying to tell you is that you can't afford to stay alone in Singapore with the budget of 1.5k sgd. End of story.

Try JB.
Fiona Chin
post Oct 14 2015, 12:21 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 12:04 PM)

Most people prefer that too. Got whose preference is to live with other strangers get scolded by landlords and see their face one laugh.gif ? So much foreign talents with their super pay now. When too much money chasing the limited resources, then price go up - inflation theory of economics. When you don't have mucher money than the other chasers, you don't get what you prefer.

Now with that said, either ask for more pay or move north for your prefer living style.
morgana_jara
post Oct 14 2015, 01:37 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 12:04 PM)

Most studios that I've seen while searching for room is those pseudo-studios, ie like KilJim said, rooms with attached bathroom and mini kitchen corner. Another type you might find is a room converted into studio in landed houses. Normally a family stays in the house but convert one room on the ground floor with its own entrance to rent out. This is rare though.

Third option is rent those two-bedroom HDB (normally marketed as one bedroom, owner locks another bedroom up but it's not used). This is illegal sublet by the owner though under HDB rules.

Alternatively, I've also seen a full studio before (shown by agent). This one is rare because it was in townhouse.

If you want to save money, try living with housemates. I had the same problem as you previously (bad housemate in Australia, was wary of living with housemates again) but my current housemates are nice, decent people and we're really good friends now. Just be more cautious and get to know the other housemates living there before you rent.

Edit: don't think real one bedroom HDB is available on open market... Normally those are rented out by HDB to the elderly folks.

This post has been edited by morgana_jara: Oct 14 2015, 01:39 PM
teeyao888
post Oct 14 2015, 02:08 PM

40 posts

Dear Sifus,

I have a question to ask, currently just got employ to work in Singapore, haven start work yet but I already got the IPA letter, can I use the IPA letter to apply for a phone line first? As I would like to sort out everything before starting work.
KilJim
post Oct 14 2015, 02:14 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(teeyao888 @ Oct 14 2015, 02:08 PM)
Dear Sifus,

I have a question to ask, currently just got employ to work in Singapore, haven start work yet but I already got the IPA letter, can I use the IPA letter to apply for a phone line first? As I would like to sort out everything before starting work.
Without EP they will ask for $$ deposit, and you must have the tenancy agreement to show your address
Better just to wait until you get your EP

196 Pages « < 174 175 176 177 178 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:24 AM