Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

Fiona Chin
post Sep 4 2015, 10:39 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(erikachen @ Sep 4 2015, 12:59 AM)
But those room got a lot landlord from hell.....
My current landlady always scold me for no reason...
Landlord either in SG or JB for whole unit also can be weird. Typical stupid rules include no overnight guests, even for family members. Weird one like can't move the furniture around, go into the house for checking without informing you, use too much water and electric will damage the pipe and wire. Best to get all written in contract, anything not included no need talk. Those are sudden landlord earning quick bucks and not professional landlord.

You lady stay in SG better la, JB for guys only.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 5 2015, 06:54 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 5 2015, 03:24 PM)
Apply lor.. I born in here, prestigious degree, Epass holder also kena rejected.. knn mad.gif

reason being, still got 1 more year on my pass still and forgot about endorsement letter from cinapek comapny..

so u few months apply and successful approval.. please report back here so i can go and complain at gahmen..

but serious though, pls vote PAP GE2015..
Maybe not prestigious enough to SG. My brother got it after 1 month of working. But then he got family ties here, property, lousy undergrad from uk school and lousy grad school from us, but ridiculous salary and job title as fresh grad cause the company his father one. You can go the opposition rally and quote this for the locals already.

QUOTE(KilJim @ Sep 5 2015, 03:56 PM)
Err you're born in Singapore but applying for PR??
PR parents don't want their son to join NS so did not apply for him. Maybe suddenly give birth during holiday in SG. Maybe parents also EP then give birth here.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 6 2015, 07:43 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 6 2015, 12:23 AM)
My parents used to live and work in SG for 10 years.. they born us here but registered as Msian citizen since the start. I have both Msian and SG birth certs. lol.

But I only stay at SG for 2 years then 20+ years in KL and then furthered my study overseas.. So im hardly what you can consider as Singaporean. Only this year I've come and work here. Applied PR two months ago, kena reject..
Anyways, word of advice for others who want their Sons to escape NS, go and register them as Msian citizen from the start..
O so you think you Singapore son of soil ah being born here? SG must give you priority first before other foreigners in your PR application ah? If other foreigners got it before you then you suspect some foul play ah? Malaysia teach you well in the son of soil policy man. That SG cert only say your 1st appearance is in SG land, but as alien, not with any privilege.

And you come from "prestigious" uni some more. Wah lao black sheep of the school must be, please don't reveal your school name, it bring shame to them.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 7 2015, 11:54 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Sep 7 2015, 11:26 AM)
However, if he ever applies for PR later, he will be subjected to liability for NS, even if he is applying base on his own merit as SG will check on parents' details.
O they check now? My bro got his PR under the PMET scheme but Mindef just send him letter say exempted coz under PMET 1st generation. He was about 28 29 or so that time. What use to the army for guy so old, later spy some more.

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Sep 7 2015, 11:41 AM)
Correct, but nowadays if you don't include your son in PR application, most probably it'll be rejected. And in case you're to renounce your son's pr before he turns 16, your renewal may be rejected as well.
If you renounce it to skip NS after getting so much subsidies, you will have some trouble getting work pass, not to mention PR, according to ICA website. You think peasant can rip off the gahmen so easily ah?

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Sep 7 2015, 11:55 AM
Fiona Chin
post Sep 8 2015, 12:20 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Sep 7 2015, 10:29 PM)
You'll have an option to go 5/9 or 16/20, I chose the later, as I felt the employers contribution is higher thus better and can better adjust my salary and increment the following years
You should go understand why the locals hate CPF and see its acceptable to you or not. Maybe 1 year before you retire, they introduce maximum sum and apply it to PR/ex PR too, paying you 100 dollar per month for living cost until you die then the leftover go to nation building fund biggrin.gif .

QUOTE(orangbulu @ Sep 8 2015, 11:57 AM)
Can. Don't work lo
Or don't work so hard. Got minimum salary for CPF contribution one. Around 1k range.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Sep 8 2015, 12:21 PM
Fiona Chin
post Sep 12 2015, 10:01 AM

1,172 posts

Hidup PAP. Horse still run, dance still jump, 50 years more no change. Everything up up and awayyy.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 13 2015, 05:23 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Sep 13 2015, 04:46 PM)
PAP will limit and tighten intake of foreign workers. Public sentiment..

But for those already having pass, renewal should be easy..

Getting PR will also be difficult.

Depends what field you work in also.
O so pap wins and you make policies now? Acting pm ah?
Fiona Chin
post Sep 14 2015, 07:08 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 14 2015, 05:12 PM)
Fiona jie, happy birthday & many happy returns :I
Thanks uncle big boss macik.

QUOTE(KilJim @ Sep 14 2015, 06:23 PM)
Got party ma? Lets go
Free smoke for those smokers. For non-smoker, go get your free trial. Sniff deep deep.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 17 2015, 11:46 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Sep 17 2015, 02:11 AM)
Actually why most ppl bother about the exchange rate differences between several remittance sources?

It's just a mere $0.01 to $0.03 differential.

Just exchange at your convenience la.
0.01 is a big difference leh for us normal folks. 100 sgd you get 1 rm more, 1k you get 10 rm. Wah you drop 10 rm you not convenient to pick it up? That day I lost 1 sgd I flip my office upside down already. Banks operate in 6 decimals, client sure jump ship if you want them to take 5 decimals. 3 decimals you don't mind already ah, can you consider our bank if you want to invest some dough?
Fiona Chin
post Sep 19 2015, 10:25 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Sep 18 2015, 02:49 PM)
Just wonder, if to work in SG and to bring along wife & 2 kids with $6k salary enough to survive? So far, I know renting a 3R flat and sending kids to childcare already cost $2.5k & $2k respectively. Any advice is very much appreciated
My toddler nephew kena food poison, go hospital observe two days, slap with a 5k bill. If you get toto one of your kids sick during the first few months, can borrow ah long already. You need to plan for emergencies like this. So miss the days where one working father can raise 3 kids.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 20 2015, 10:06 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(pakabluegun @ Sep 20 2015, 02:01 AM)
If your child is already in primary level, i dont think you can join the government school at all, you will need to wait until October to take the foreigner test to be eligible to join the lottery draw for seats. International school is 2k++ unless you are indian and want to join the indian international school which is cheaper.

Bear in mind Singapore primary schools are reserved for Singaporean then PR then the remaining seats if available will be open for foreigner and if you cant get a place which is highly going to happen, you will need to plan something else for your children. 
Really? You mean those not so bright children of EP and S-Pass from lower income family cannot have basic education in SG? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif . Let the rich be rich and the poor be poor dumb and dumber? A bit don't make sense leh first time hearing this. Wah lao my future local born non-pr son die liao don't think he will be clever enough to fight the foreign baby talents.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 20 2015, 01:45 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 19 2015, 02:38 PM)
sadly, those days are almost gone, unless you are there in the elite group of top investment banker like deodorant. Then there is definitely a chance.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 20 2015, 10:14 AM)
lol the last I checked you have 3 kids and your wife doesn't work, drive new European car and sit biz class holidays to Europe. Think Fiona Chin oso kalah.
Next time tell daugther find husband must either bank mogul or oil tycoon.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 25 2015, 06:26 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 25 2015, 01:40 PM)
Fuh 3.035 at maybank today.
Hidup jibby! 3.3 next target. Getting pay raise everyday.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 27 2015, 06:09 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 27 2015, 10:01 AM)
Buy few condo, rent them out, every year declare rental income to IRAS and pay tax lo.
Need to have ties in SG. If just ripping rental income might as well take back the PR charge foreigner tax rate.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 28 2015, 09:08 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Sep 27 2015, 10:29 PM)
Stupid question
if we no longer work in SG, PR is cancelled or re-entry permit will not be renewed or both means the same thing?
If PR cancelled, meaning meaning CPF can withdraw in full?
Doesn't sounds right le...
My understanding for SG one is like this.
Permanent Resident, like its name, is permanent as long as you just reside in SG, mean you good good stay here don't work also can but don't go out the borders officially. To go out you need REP (as PR), permit from gahmen for you to go spend your SG money else where. If no REP, you re-enter to SG as tourist. For those PR coming from work permit, bad huh, still go back holding permit, better hold passes like EP more prestige.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 30 2015, 06:54 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 30 2015, 05:07 PM)
so my ep got approved finally, the company wanted me to start on nov1 but i wanted to a break and give me sometime to relocate down and so i proposed december, the company counter proposed for me to start on jan 2016... seems like a long break and am a bit afraid that they might pull back the offer.. what do you guys think?
Economy not so good you know, market down down down, you can enjoy your break when they retrench you. If break too long, you scare company fly you kite, company also scare you run road one. My own experience is 3 months break after graduation company still ok with it. Then my current maternity + 1 year sabbatical leave, let's see next year still here or not laugh.gif .
Fiona Chin
post Oct 2 2015, 08:38 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 2 2015, 06:12 PM)
ya.. now considering jumping into management consulting.

but dunno if my experience is relevant/enough yet.. I may need to re-skill take up a masters/mba..

If got foreigner spot, NUS mba 62k for two years... very tempting.

haha.. how to faster.. recently, MoM rejected my app and I thought I had reasonable enough credentials + born in sg  sad.gif ..
Go INSEAD! Borrow ah long die die also must go there. Money flow in like river after graduation. Nus for poor and noob folks like me only. Engineers good what, open company be boss shake leg. I see my hubby half of the time stay at home one.
Fiona Chin
post Oct 4 2015, 07:42 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Oct 4 2015, 05:26 PM)
NUS very god ad leh..dun like that
but is true if want get into top management consulting firm, INSEAD is the best express ticket..

your hubby sounds like my boss, not sure if i am working in your hubby company... shocking.gif
All the bosses are like that. They enjoy we work cry.gif . What do people do in consulting? Ah cat ah dog also call themselves consultants now. Just talk few minutes charge few k that kind?
Fiona Chin
post Oct 5 2015, 12:39 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(propriete @ Oct 4 2015, 11:46 PM)
Soon will be working at biopolis. Planning to bring wife and 2 kids there. Thinking of staying at Holland village area. Any pros and cons for this area?
Holland V is an atas place. It feel like a taman area in Malaysia. Not much high rise. Nice eateries and hangout place. Peaceful surrounding to raise kids. It used to be less accessible by public transport so its not polluted by peasants. Not sure what happen there now after they built the MRT station.

The place get crowded in the weekends. People come in from other areas to destroy the calm. Finding carpark is nightmarish. Eateries full of people. Expensive but ok if you got the money.
Fiona Chin
post Oct 5 2015, 10:16 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(propriete @ Oct 5 2015, 09:39 PM)
Fiona Chin,yrh0413],bearbear

Thanks for the suggestions. Actually was looking for some place like Setapak in Klang Valley. Is Jurong East ok? Condo like Ivory Height/Westmere is within walking distance to green line MRT.
Never stay at KL before so don't know how Setapak look like leh. Jurong East should be ok got shopping complex got hospital. But it is coming up as a new township so rental would be going up steadily. Jurong East like not a lot of housing around it too. Common folks mostly stay a bit further up, Lakeside, Chinese Garden like more housing. Avoid Boon Lay if possible, too crowded with FTs and the air smell like industrial gas. Can PM our resident estate tycoon sgrealestate for recommendation.

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 5 2015, 09:42 PM)
You must have never stayed in developed countries before. Spending 30% up to 50% of your income for rental is common in cities like Singapore, London, Hong Kong...

Last time as student my scholarship is 550 pound per month, but I have to spend 300 pound per month for my room rental - exclude utilities.

Anything less than 20%, then you really are sacrificing a lot of your comfort. If you have dependents staying with you, you won't care about saving for rental
So sad right. Mean those people are mostly underpaid. How can one give up 30% to 50% for rental. Something wrong with those greedy landlords hogging few units each and still keep buying like no people business. Should have AABSD introduce ASAP follow by AAABSD. Lucky I got sugar dad can stay for free wub.gif .

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0633sec    1.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:22 AM