404 posts

Yes.
differ
post Mar 2 2009, 04:31 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(peach008 @ Mar 2 2009, 12:16 PM)

i am in penang too. have sent out my resume to all four big 4 1 week ago but still not yet get any reply. Deloitte, pwc and KPMG told me tht they are not hiring at this moment. anyone know whether this is true or not? anyway, i wana go into audit
Yes, or at least this is what i understand from the bosses. Did you send out to the local branch offices or the head office?
differ
post Mar 3 2009, 07:38 PM

404 posts

Definitely due to slowdown. A lot of cost-cutting measures are in the works already with bosses. If you don't mind working out of Penang, you should try sending your CVs to the head offices in KL.

Sure you're ready to suffer in Audit?
differ
post Mar 4 2009, 01:30 AM

404 posts

Nobody makes big bucks in auditing. Maybe in lala-land, but not in Malaysia. A lot of work, a lot of experience, not a lot of money, a whole lot less sleep.

1am every night is not unusual during peak period.
differ
post Mar 4 2009, 11:49 AM

404 posts

Never said i was from EY. biggrin.gif

TBH, sometimes the Firm demands a bit too much from the staff however work needs to get done and it all boils down to time management. I always tell my staff to PLEASE highlight to me when they start to feel that they are overworked and we will see how we can re-distribute the workload where possible.

Working "6am then go home take shower and come back to work at 8.30am" is just ridiculous and i would not expect that of my staff, even during peak. When it comes to that, the problem needs to be highlighted to the Partners that the department is SEVERELY understaffed and jobs will be delayed because of it.

differ
post Mar 13 2009, 01:14 PM

404 posts

Deloitte has Deloitte Consulting Malaysia (DCM) which does Tech Consulting, Strategic & Ops Consulting, etc.

They are still hiring, anyone interested?
differ
post Mar 14 2009, 03:51 PM

404 posts

Not sure about interns, but i think they do. I'll ask the people there on monday.
differ
post Mar 16 2009, 01:29 AM

404 posts

Well, from what the partners told me, the recruitment for General Audit is being frozen for fresh graduates however some people on LYN insist that they just recently got in so i guess no harm trying. There is though a huge gap for experienced people especially Audit Seniors.
differ
post Mar 17 2009, 09:18 AM

404 posts

A few years ago, the Big 5 (including Andersen) mostly divested their consulting arms except Deloitte but if i'm not mistaken, the move is to reverse that decision now. IT Audit =/= IT Consulting. We are both consultants but the service lines we provide to clients differ. From Deloitte's perspective:

Enterprise Risk Services (ERS):
Apps Integrity
Control Assurance
ERM
Fraud Controls
Internal Audit
SOX Consulting
IT Security

Consulting (DCM):
Enterprise Apps
Human Capital
Outsourcing
Strategy and Ops
Tech Integration

This post has been edited by differ: Mar 17 2009, 01:00 PM
differ
post Mar 18 2009, 01:44 AM

404 posts

Means we need Audit Seniors, badly. biggrin.gif
differ
post Mar 18 2009, 01:25 PM

404 posts

I heard Singapore also starting to feel the effects of the recession already?
differ
post Mar 18 2009, 03:40 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 18 2009, 01:47 PM)
Yup, KPMG started with pay cut but subsequently dropped the plan due to the Job Credit, now only managers are affected and OT abolish. But EY is sort of like 'counselling' the seniors to leave.

PWC wise i think freeze hiring.
I think she has answered already here. >.>
differ
post Mar 19 2009, 09:36 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(InvinKoh @ Mar 18 2009, 11:31 PM)
I thought it should be
TSRS = EY
IRM = KPMG
SPA/ RAS = PwC
ERS = Deloitte
Yes, but this are the Risk Management service lines. Not consulting.
differ
post Mar 20 2009, 12:10 AM

404 posts

Seems to be getting worse already. I heard some departments will start to request staff to go on compulsory leave if they are non-chargeable for too long.
differ
post Mar 24 2009, 11:53 AM

404 posts

Yes, now is off-peak. Most december accounts would have been signed already (or soon at least). However, i still go back at 11pm on average most days and come back to office on the weekends, hmmm.

This post has been edited by differ: Mar 24 2009, 12:03 PM
differ
post Jun 3 2009, 06:03 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(lauren.2009 @ May 28 2009, 10:50 PM)
Can anyone tell me what Deloitte is like in KL? I'm from Australia btw.

If anyone has any experience working in both the KL and an Australian office, what are the differences? In Australia they are considered the most innovative and were named as one of the top places to work at (the only big 4 to make the list). So just wanted to see what it's like in Malaysia. I know in the US and UK Deloitte is the largest in terms of clientele and revenues (esp. in the US) and wanted to know what Deloitte's reputation was like in Malaysia....

I know Malaysia isn't a financial hub or anything and the big 4 aren't that big over there compared to Australia but I really want to do a secondment in KL. Does Deloitte Malaysia rank similarily with the global rankings (ie. #1 PwC, #2 Deloitte, #3 EY, #4 KPMG)? Also what's the culture like? In Australia, they have the best reputation amongst the big 4 in terms of culture and it's where all my friends want to work at because of that. I think PwC is an extremely pompous place, EY are very dull in my opinion and KPMG are generally considered a joke in the big financial centres of the US and UK. What are they like in Malaysia?

It really depends on which of the Service Lines in Deloitte KL you wish to apply to. For example, we may not be the most prestigious Audit firm but we are definitely for Tax. There are also a lot of other qualitative differences (working environment, etc) which are subjective at best. Depends who you ask, they will have a differing opinion on the matter.

differ
post Jun 5 2009, 11:13 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(drk messenger @ Jun 4 2009, 03:48 PM)
Well said..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
U're from "D" oso?

@lauren
BTW, if u can get a place at Deloitte Aus then better go for it..
A lot of other people from Deloitte MY here as well.

Which Australian office? Sydney is doing quite well i hear.
differ
post Jun 9 2009, 11:10 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(drk messenger @ Jun 9 2009, 06:00 PM)
network engineer, sys developer/analyst..
as for IT audit.. i'm not sure about tat.. u can try 2 apply oso..
IT Auditors are always in demand wherever you go. Just depends whether you're the right kind of person or not.
differ
post Jun 24 2009, 10:39 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(mary51 @ Jun 24 2009, 05:39 AM)
i was an ex-trainee in KPMG KL. due to i late to reply them to rejoin back, they told me that all vacancies have been fully filled. so my commencement date have to be postponed to september or maybe later.up to now they r unable to confirm me.it is sad. so i have to start look for others firm.but i applied many other firms also no reply.r they stop recruiting? delloite did inform that they stop recruit. pwc i applied tax, but failed, dunu why, they said im not fulfilling their requirement..bdo i did success last time during my application as an intern, while i rejected them and joined kpmg, coz it was inconvenient for me to go bdo. well, i applied lately, so shock they didnt offer me, my cgpa is high, as all my other friends who applied early all got the offers.so i called and asked, they said maybe is kiv, and i asked for reason, they said maybe coz my SPM ENGLISH is B,omg, its unbelievable. my spm english caused me cant get a job..

i would like to ask opinion from all, which firms i should apply now?i am lost...i tried to apply small firms, but i nver know the salary is so low, so i put my expected salary as 2k, however, for sure they will offer those put lower salary. some more there are many other fresh graduates, even a small firm i applied also got 90+ applicants. so altot i went for interview, but they r unable to offer me directly just because they wana interview all candidates 1st.

i really dunu wat to do. can anyone help?
And yet, when I mentioned that Deloitte were looking to reduce/stop recruiting, everyone just laughed and said it was not possible. From what i last heard, we are still recruiting albeit with much stricter criteria now.

For one, you can't even spell the name of the firm you're applying to correctly - DELOITTE. Also, you may want to improve on your English, especially your grammar. At the moment (for Audit at least) from what i heard, the Partners are getting more involved in the interview process and they are paying more attention at your English and essay-writing test results.

If your CGPA is as high as you claim, it beats me why they aren't even giving you a first round interview. Try and emphasise your extra-curricular achievements as well, lol. IAFG is around the corner and i'm sure any Big 4 will pounce on you if you have something extra to contribute. tongue.gif

Oh, you will get about rm2400-2500 as a starting salary in any Big 4 these days.

differ
post Jun 24 2009, 11:30 AM

404 posts

There's no paycut or revision. Probably no bonus or increment, that's all.

0.0435sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:15 PM