Big 4 Recruitment Drive

chess_gal
post May 2 2008, 12:37 AM

1,006 posts

CTwai,

wow, are you like recruiting ppl from Msia to SIngapore? Is Sg gov offering some incentive for each ppl that you hire?? I wanna go back Msia BUT... damn singapore dollar is bloody tempting.... so tempted that I cant leave....
chess_gal
post May 2 2008, 05:41 PM

1,006 posts

Singapore is paying SGD2.7k for freshies.. good money

Added on May 2, 2008, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 2 2008, 02:38 PM)
pwc malaysia only.. i wonder how singaporeans are paying though.
judging from your academic, you will go far HOWEVER, not every top-ACCA student likes audit, one of my ex-colleague, Lai Kar Jun, was also from your uni, top ACCA student and EY Global winner, he quits after a year, now with accenture, quitting in Singapore is harder cause we are sort of like immigrants.. we rely on the Employment Pass.. damn mah fan, so before you wanna step into audit, i suggest you to work in Msia Big 4 first, so once you know you like this field then come over and join me n CTWAi!

ctwai... I busy these days all.. at client's place all the time... Singapura Finance

This post has been edited by chess_gal: May 2 2008, 05:46 PM
chess_gal
post May 2 2008, 11:33 PM

1,006 posts

Smile888, whats your experience like? A senior? Scope is the same, I was an A1 in Msia but demoted to freshie sleep.gif cause when they interview me, I was still an A2, but when they asked me to join them, I got promoted but I din demand an A1 position cause A1 here works bloody hard... so took my own sweet time to relearn.

Pay is the same with the locals, but we get 14.5% more due to CPF reimbursement!

chess_gal
post May 7 2008, 11:04 PM

1,006 posts

No worries, I was offered when i was in my first term of my final year (1 year ahead). Until the day I resigned, EY msia doesnt even have my degree!! cause i forgot to submit to them when i join.
chess_gal
post May 17 2008, 12:45 AM

1,006 posts

Was it Christine who interviews you? Not to worry, you will surely be called up again. The next round will be with Soo Fern (Hr DIrector).
chess_gal
post Mar 16 2009, 11:17 PM

1,006 posts

Definately NO

I have worked in EY Msia and currently in KPMG Sg.

They have their own IT Auditors/Consultant.

RAS- EY (I think)
IRM - KPMG

chess_gal
post Mar 18 2009, 12:09 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(kenz002 @ Mar 17 2009, 11:24 PM)
Means they do not prefer any audit seniors?
huge gap for seniors - means, vacancy for seniors level.
chess_gal
post Mar 18 2009, 10:29 AM

1,006 posts

Honestly, yeah, the current situation, alot big four freeze hiring, a few friend of mine graduated from Monash Uni, still waiting for reply,

3 years back when the market was booming, i got a few offers way before my final exam and they never even bother to get a copy of my degree when I finally graduated.

So, better dun be too picky
chess_gal
post Mar 18 2009, 01:47 PM

1,006 posts

Yup, KPMG started with pay cut but subsequently dropped the plan due to the Job Credit, now only managers are affected and OT abolish. But EY is sort of like 'counselling' the seniors to leave.

PWC wise i think freeze hiring.
chess_gal
post Mar 19 2009, 09:39 AM

1,006 posts

I have tried to send a few resume for friends to my HR but none got any reply yet.

Guess, they are not or maybe very very minimal...
chess_gal
post Apr 21 2009, 09:27 PM

1,006 posts

600-700?
chess_gal
post May 9 2009, 12:29 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(superjohn @ May 7 2009, 05:16 PM)
hahahaa.suprisingly, NOT!  icon_idea.gif
i don think they only want oversea students..local much bettercoz the syllabus is mainly on m'sian scope. 

a lot of my sniors got job here n other big 4 too
doesnt matter from local or oversea uni, as long as you perform well during the interview, you are guaranteed a place.

chess_gal
post Jun 5 2009, 12:23 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Jun 4 2009, 09:50 PM)
SGD2.6k. Higher for local ppl.
just for ur info, some has been revised to 2.2k
chess_gal
post Jun 26 2009, 01:48 AM

1,006 posts

My sister just applied for an internship with my company in singapore, despite a scholarship recipient with CGPA of 3.8, she still get the red light. Am trying to push her resume to the HR but was told the hiring has been freezed.

Being in audit for 3 years, this is the first time that HR told me "full capacity" whereas I am always understaffed for my jobs!!!!
chess_gal
post Sep 18 2009, 11:38 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 17 2009, 08:47 AM)
Erm... that sounds fairly racist talk to me...

In the Big Four, the easiest path to senior levels seems to be via a career in audit. Year-on-year promotions are normal and it seems to be one of those jobs where you actually have to be pretty poor if you miss out on promotions... at least up to senior level. Past that then it'll also depend on vacancies.... any auditors around to confirm this perception?
Truth to be told, audit is one or maybe the only line, where everyone get promoted yearly unless of course like what Johnathan mentioned. Otherwise noone would want to stay on.

Imagine the long working hours, heavy workload and intense pressure, gosh I am amazed I am still here after 3 years...

Just checked my retain (Job Schedule), 5 ppl are serving notice in my department. Wonder when is my turn.
chess_gal
post Oct 16 2009, 01:16 AM

1,006 posts

Oh Raymond_ACCA you are in unit G?

Surely know someone by the name Shirlyn Neo, bet she is ur AM? Or Kamenii..okay I forgot who is in which unit.

Added on October 16, 2009, 1:26 am
QUOTE(jayniel @ Oct 11 2009, 10:00 PM)
want to ask if anyone knows whether, if i plan to work in tax line in Singapore big4, can i take P6 Malaysian variant? will they reject me because i din take Singapore variant? (pls dont ask y i dont want to take Singapore variant instead)
i think not, but i want confirmation.. so if anyone knows pls let me know thru PM or here ya..

thanks..
p.s/ is there anyone working in the tax line here? mind sharing some knowledge and experience? how's the working hours like, how's the tax line environment in Singapore big 4, how often is promotion, how fast can reach 5-figure salary, etc.

if you do not want to share here because of privacy you can PM me.. i need to know about this badly before i make my life decision..
Singapore tax is slightly different from Msia tax, but Singapore Big 4 don't really look at whether or not you are ACCA qualified so you dont have to worry about which variant to take. As long as you pass your paper, it is good enough.

Btw, you want 5 figure? perhaps 7-8 years later. When you become an SM.

Finish up your degree/ACCA then we shall talk about career advancement.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Oct 16 2009, 01:26 AM
chess_gal
post Oct 17 2009, 05:03 PM

1,006 posts

Haha... can you spy for me? is she really single??? I'm her best friend/competitive rival back in school & uni. But ever since I came to SIngapore, we hardly keep in touch, or rather, she refused to meet up, citing too much work!

hahaha.. btw beware of her muahahah.. being her friend for 11 years, I know her too well.

Kamenii should be in banking unit/mongolia-related job dept.
chess_gal
post Oct 18 2009, 05:36 PM

1,006 posts

I am not ex-kpmg YET. I am ex-EY KL, now KPMG Sg.
chess_gal
post Oct 24 2009, 02:44 AM

1,006 posts

Life is definitely not a bed of roses for auditors.

Few new joiners came in earlier this month and 3 were assigned to my team. One has got a 9pm curfew, one's a whiner and the other one clueless. And all three of them have got attitude problem, whenever I assign them to vouch or photocopy, they will give me that 'Har, again ah?' kind of look and take forever to do a single task. And to top it off, they will do just that task until 5.25pm, clean up the desk, and say bye bye to the team at 5.30pm.

Not sure whats wrong with this batch but I can sense this aint gonna be good with the peak's around the corner.

chess_gal
post Oct 25 2009, 12:35 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Oct 24 2009, 05:03 PM)
Haha, just threaten them with a bad PE. With peak around the corner, give them a warning before hand, "5.30pm is just half day".
Bad PE? Haha.. they would threaten to quit then.

Btw, Singapore has since abolish OT and all of us are working for free without any OT compensation, so it is kind of unfair to force them to stay beyond 5.30pm.

Anyways, I try not work late myself, too taxing unless it is necessary. Audit can infact be completed with proper planning and sufficient staff allocation (though this is very rare).

0.0215sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:33 PM