Remove LED Downlight fitting from plaster ceiling, The best way~

TSshort_tounge
post Dec 5 2014, 09:48 PM, updated 12y ago

103 posts

Anyone here got the skills to teach me, whats the safest way to remove LED Downlight fitting from the plaster ceiling.
Installing it is easy tho.
But removing it is another story as the downlight spring may break the plaster ceiling rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
I have googled around. but do need some opinions from malaysian wink.gif

Attached image(s)
SUSkimsim
post Dec 5 2014, 10:21 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

that is easy lah... just slowly pull it out... unless the plaster ceiling very think and easily crack.
TSshort_tounge
post Dec 5 2014, 10:24 PM

103 posts

Already try. Not that easy. The spring is quite strong. Plaster ceiling already keluar habuk crack a little -.-:
SUSkimsim
post Dec 5 2014, 11:05 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Dec 5 2014, 10:24 PM)
Already try. Not that easy. The spring is quite strong. Plaster ceiling already keluar habuk crack a little -.-:
Crack is normal condition

enriquelee
post Dec 9 2014, 09:54 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Don't worry to crack the ceiling as you still need to patch back the ceiling after you remove the light.
TSshort_tounge
post Dec 9 2014, 10:16 AM

103 posts

Thank you smile.gif
weikee
post Dec 9 2014, 10:21 AM

12,019 posts

If you have spare, check the spare unit
TSshort_tounge
post Dec 10 2014, 12:10 AM

103 posts

It is actually very easy. using scrapper to push one of the spring. take out one spring first. then take all out. wiring is also easy, neutral connect to the spring. feel that i can install it by ma self all 40 unit of downlight for the whole house haha. wireman taking fees of rm40 for that easy job. but i think they too need to earn a living right.
ozak
post Dec 10 2014, 08:43 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Dec 10 2014, 12:10 AM)
It is actually very easy. using scrapper to push one of the spring. take out one spring first. then take all out. wiring is also easy, neutral connect to the spring. feel that i can install it by ma self all 40 unit of downlight for the whole house haha. wireman taking fees of rm40 for that easy job. but i think they too need to earn a living right.
You are electrician or you see your like that the neutral connect to the spring? It doesn't sound correct wiring. And it might be danger if ON the light and touch it.
TSshort_tounge
post Dec 10 2014, 08:51 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 10 2014, 08:43 AM)
You are electrician or you see your like that the neutral connect to the spring?  It doesn't sound correct wiring. And it might be danger if ON the light and touch it.
Im just following the electrician wiring. Red to the red. Black to the black. And there's this green wire looping to each one all of the downlight but only 'ikat cincai' at the downlight spring.
weikee
post Dec 10 2014, 08:53 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Dec 10 2014, 08:51 AM)
Im just following the electrician wiring. Red to the red. Black to the black. And there's this green wire looping to each one all of the downlight but only 'ikat cincai' at the downlight spring.
Kawan, that one is Ground.
TSshort_tounge
post Dec 10 2014, 08:58 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 10 2014, 08:53 AM)
Kawan, that one is Ground.

y

Haha yeah it is. Thanks smile.gif

ozak
post Dec 10 2014, 09:16 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Dec 10 2014, 08:58 AM)
y

Haha yeah it is. Thanks smile.gif
Don't play, play. tongue.gif
zealless
post Dec 10 2014, 02:24 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Dec 5 2014, 09:48 PM)
Anyone here got the skills to teach me, whats the safest way to remove LED Downlight fitting from the plaster ceiling.
Installing it is easy tho.
But removing it is another story as the downlight spring may break the plaster ceiling  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I have googled around. but do need some opinions from malaysian  wink.gif
know where are the clips, put your thumb on plaster board where the clips are.
then slowly pull down the light with your thumb supporting the plaster board.
if you side is down, you just slide the whole light down with the other side with the clip

HMMaster
post Jan 18 2015, 12:26 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

Based on the video above, it seems the clip one is hard to remove without damaging the plaster ceiling... (but maybe they exaggerate a bit la)
IvanWong1989
post Oct 18 2017, 06:12 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Hi. Sorry Necro old thread.

I have a dilemma. New downlight are all led type that don't use bulb. Whenrosak need to change the whole thing.

As seen from above video. Plaster ceiling bye bye.
Should old bulb type downlight be used instead and sacrifice ceiling height ?
mytaffeta
post Oct 19 2017, 01:52 AM

1,326 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Oct 18 2017, 06:12 PM)
Hi. Sorry Necro old thread.

I have a dilemma. New downlight are all led type that don't use bulb. Whenrosak need to change the whole thing.

As seen from above video. Plaster ceiling bye bye.
Should old bulb type downlight be used instead and sacrifice ceiling height ?
my condo was renovated about 2 yrs back, that time also hard to find casing/bulb type one.. now i think all LED, no choice.. i've once replace the faulty LED, if u know the correct way, wont damage plaster ceiling.. habuk a bit normal..
IvanWong1989
post Oct 19 2017, 09:41 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Oct 19 2017, 01:52 AM)
my condo was renovated about 2 yrs back, that time also hard to find casing/bulb type one.. now i think all LED, no choice.. i've once replace the faulty LED, if u know the correct way, wont damage plaster ceiling.. habuk a bit normal..
Hello. Yeah. Nowdays. Super hard to find the traditional type.
They say no stock.

Does your led last long ? What brand ?
Do you see your plaster ceiling deteriorate when you change the light ? I mean.. if let's say every year rosak once. Do you see that 2 3 years later you need to redo plaster ceiling ?

Thank you very much. I have no experience with such lights. It's hmm... Hard decision.
Agent5
post Mar 3 2019, 04:25 PM

89 posts

Selling off my casing type ceiling light. Check my topic > https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4746757&hl=
Kelv
post Mar 21 2019, 10:55 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Did anyone come across a converter cover to reduce the existing ceiling hole size? For example, from 4.5" to 2.5" hole.

muhibah
post Nov 5 2020, 11:22 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Mar 21 2019, 10:55 AM)
Did anyone come across a converter cover to reduce the existing ceiling hole size? For example, from 4.5" to 2.5" hole.

I'm looking for this too. It seems only available in Australia n NZ
mini orchard
post Nov 6 2020, 06:49 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(muhibah @ Nov 5 2020, 11:22 PM)
I'm looking for this too. It seems only available in Australia n NZ
If you cant find .... cover the existing hole with plaster and cut a new hole.
eddie2020
post Dec 13 2020, 11:01 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

If dmg the plaster, can put some small wood board or some rubber /silicon at the edge of the plaster ceiling inner side to protect it from future wear and tear when replacing the downlight?

0.0282sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:41 PM